(2009) Brides of year 2009

Well, just my 2 cents worth.

Our AD is in May 09 and we've paid the deposit for the hotel already. Contract just arrived so we're gonna sign it soon. Guess it would be best to book your desired banquet venue early cos Dec is quite a hot month for weddings. End of the year got more time mah, esp for folks like those in the teaching profession.

As for BS, I'll prob settle the booking soon just to get that little detail out of the way. Then at least can concentrate our energies on looking for our new home. But sheesh... property prices now r really ridiculous!!

hmm..renne, if the wedding show isn't too late, i shd say u can still wait...cos it seems that after june this yr, the prices for 2009 would increase again...

mandylammy, yup...alrd booked my banquet venue...going to sign contract this week...BS also booked liao...likely to take PS this yr cos my BS is in penang..

haiz, itzbitz from the looks of it, it seems that property prices would be like that for at least another 1 yr

Hey pringirl, no leh, not yet book my banquet, cos currently very tied up with work...
so when is ur big day? The last time i heard from you is that you are still fixing a date...

managed to go for marina mandarin wedding show last week...saw the cha-cha dance they used as their food presentation...very funny.

thanks piggy (i hope i can address u as tat..hehe) for the info!

Would be grateful if you could PM me ur shifu's contact.. i need 2 source for 2 venues (one in SG and one in MY), hence having a date is very very impt.

Suzanna, me too eyeing for Hotel Intercontinental..hehe, simply love their ballroom. I will start emailing them for package details first then..hope i m not too late in starting.

what abt bs?? u gals taking packages or ala carte?

hi emerald. ya that's one of my options but 2009 year end prices wun be out till june 2008, unless u wanna get it now + 10% of the marked price. (that's wad im told by carlton hotel when i went to the wedding show yesterday)

btw, the carlton hotel's ballroom (the bigger one) has 4 pillars right in the middle of the room. didn't like it...

hmm, anybody knows if there's any hotel that offers free flow beer on saturdays? my bf's colleagues all heavy drinkers. sigh..

i juz assume most hotels do that. correct me if im wrong :p

hmm, i got psycho-ed during the wedding show and signed up with L@ belle couture yesterday. although it should be a task ticked off.. i feel very insecure .. anyone with the same BS as me?

i feel that im freakng out, feeling insecure abt everything. maybe its the perfectionist streak in me :p

enjoy the wedding process babes!

Renne, i would advice you to start already. My wedding in Oct 2009 but i have already settled most of my stuffs.....cos very scared hotel venue being booked for weekend or auspicious dates...

i got my date from this master:

Name: Bro. Alec Chia Rong Teh

ayukie, u took meritus mandarin ah? heh.. last yr went to look ard, seems like only meritus mandarin gg to have huge reno..

ya.. my AD is on 3 Jan... book before our rom even.. haha..

Even i'm the first to book and confirm, but most of my close frens getting married this yr suddenly.. coz of housing.. some within 1-3 months from my AD.. so we decided not to care abt the pantang thing abt not attending each other's wedding..

Even yesterday, one of my hubby's fren going to have her wedding on the same day.. and we decided to attend her church wedding if got time.. she'll be attending our dinner.. haha..

so jialat.. sometimes choose a good date also got it's disadvantage and worries..

wahhh ... u booked b4 rom sia .. shice why am i always so lagging behind u sia ... lolz ..
yeah took meritus mandrain in end after discussion with my bf they were closed for booking till may this year but luckily for us i guess and kinda like fate ... we attended the wrong mandrain wedding show due to my mix-up and the hotel postponed their reno to october so kinda like gt fate .. furthermore the food's not bad .. my co d&d last friday there furthe confrimed ..
me is not because of house my housing still no luck but the price for banquet getting too steep if i contd wait and i dun1 wait banquet and house come together that 1 can cry ..
i dunno my geomance says min 4mths cannot go so we not gg to bf ex classmate wedding but then i think im gg to have probs abt jie meiz coz my mama says jie mei must get single galfrenz ...
hmz kinda bah ... like me im limited to nt my chioce day: saturdays ..

Hi suzanna =)
Some hotels do offer free flow (like HIPV =P) but some hotels will help arrange for u if u "bargain" so do look around.

There are more hotels opening for 09 bookings liao so jia you! =)

What you can do is take a look at the forum n see if got L@ Belle thread then see the comments there lor =)

emerald, hehehe.. np, piggy same same de le.
i had pm u the contact of long shifu, let me knw if u hav any problem receiving it okie?

andrea, got ur email of Vday gift ideal. very nice n uniqe ideal as gift.

suzanna, some of the hotel u can ask for free-low of beer. i been to the following hotel for this request:-

1. NCQ - they can accept the exchange from 1 FOC wine per confirm table to b chg to free-flow.

2. FRF - talk to the sales person during discussion, they can throw in for u if u request to them (even their pkg do not contain).

3. HIPV - already come with free-flow of beer, with lot of perk as compare to other venue.

as for my final choice OCC, do come with free flow of beer too (mini 40 tables).

yup, agreed with andrea too. u can refer to L@ belle thread to see their feedback & comment.

no worry le ger, just check through to make urself feel more secure.

hi mandylammy,

because both me n hubby did personal reading oso dats y i not cfm the price for dates selection is how much. mayb u call n check with him.

but he is good in a way he no need to wait for tong shu...he has this "wan nian li" like 1 million year tong shu like dat

Nice pics! But i think he quite ex right? I think its a very good choice! Hope he wont burst my budget. Did u secure him based on 2008 or 2009 rates?

hee. i checked thru the website already. comments are good. more relaxed.

aniwae, dun mean to scare anyone, but my future father in law emailed me a 2009 tong shu. in it, it says that 12/12 is a 大凶日.

but then again, i dun really believe it, but my bf's side already said no no no to 12/12

if u want me to send u the 2009 tong shu, juz leave ur email here ok?

morning everyone~

ayukie... regarding the min. 4 mths cannot go to other ppl wedding izzit general for every couple? My AD in Jan 09, my friend holding his wedding in Oct 08 mean i cant attend is it?

and is it a muz that jiemeis have to be single?

erm my geomancer says 4 mths lor u might wanna check with urs..
jiemeis wise i also dunno its my mama specification i haben asked geomancer yet ..

ok lah, since we not taking MTM gowns, it's ok...hehe...since my hb's from penang lah and we always go visit his parents mah...kill 2 birds with 1 stone loh

i booked him last yr end...i think his rates not based on year de....but i heard he adjusted his rates by a bit...when we booked was 1600 now not very sure how much. but he still got include the magazine album which is very worth loh

i wanted to book expressively joho de..cos i engaged him for my ROM but he is very ex so i went looking for alternative....

this is my bestie research de then we went together and booked. think his price very reasonable for his works....

Hi blinko,

If I'm not wrong, normal pratices is 100 days before ur AD (which is abt 3 months)...that was wat my mum and grandma told me...

With regards to jie mei...The elderly will tell its wise to have jie mei who is single...but nowadays...no one really bother...furthermore..our gd frenz r mostly the same age grp as us...hence most of them are either married or ROM...

Anyway...out of the 6-8 jie mei i have in mind...2-3 of them are married already...so I dun really care...hahahahaha

yeah but 4 mths to play safe ..

happy - i oso think so .. alot of my v gd frenz married ... haiz .. so nw headache ..

anyone been to Bridalveil,the wedding present or margaret brides? considering among these few.. cause me dun like too complicated stuff... any recommendations?

Huh... 4 months ah... my grandma says 3months ok liao... aiyo then i cant attend my HB's cousins wedding liao ma? His side relatives kept asking us to go man... sigh how ah like tt?

Welcome Lindaho!!!! Congrats to u being the 1st 09 BTB!!!!!!!!

actually i have a question
do we need to arrange for our PG/VG to eat at the banquet?
and do they have their own car? or we need to get them to sit in our car?

Suzanna, its best to listen to the parents & in-laws when it comes to date esp since they r the pantang type...no matter wat date isit, not impt at all cos it wont affect the marriage one...have seen so many examples around me already...spend so much $ juz to get a date & end up also divorced. Since ur bf also reject 12/12, then can juz choose another 'good' date lor...at least everyone's minds & hearts can feel more at ease
After the wedding hor, the date doesnt matter anymore...Personally, i tink 20/09/2009 this date is real cool...lol.