(2009) Brides of year 2009

roast pig ... try tiong bahru? think it's either 100+ or 300+
I should be getting 100+... though i'm hokkien haha i just want the atmosphere haha

hmmm then i better start counting the # boxes of cakes i need

reine> My AD 11 Oct. We haven fix date for GDL. Haven really talk abt what things to buy. Haha...so I think you can put your mind at ease a little.

paradise> We might be getting a pig on AD since we both Cantonese. I think the Tiong Bahru wan not bad. Here's the website: http://www.tiongbahruroastedpig.com.sg/index.htm

felicia> I stumble this website when reading the thread on GDL items. http://www.goldenhappiness.com.sg/index.shtml
Looking at the no. of items to buy really scare me a little! Haha...and my parents don't seem kan cheong either...*pengz*

reine, mine is can 1 lor...

hmmm mine they got print at the back...

paradise, same same i also got to slowly write & tie the ribbon.

hi gals, thanks!

hahaha im not hokkien. the roast pig for hokkien / cantonese only?

any other non hokkien or cantonese people hvg roast pig?

Peko / ete: i got chk tiong bahru but hor the uncle say wedding no one order the 100+ leh... the bigger one is $388 wor... a bit too expensive!

paradise> Hahaha! I think the uncle say that so that can rip us off wor! Coz they only earn 1-time off from us mah. I don't think I getting such a big one. Coz later wan to carry here and there also jialat. hahaha...the $188 one looks good

Vicki - ya roasted pig is for my AD
canned will be for GDL... get from supermart. it's yellow color if not wrong

Vicki - NTUC does sell.
May be will order soon also. else ask mama if any taboo to do it in 7th mth
tea set - those shops in chinatown that sell GDL stuffs shld have

Saggiegirl> Wah.. So sweet that your B-day is the same day as your wedding

Garfield> Enjoy your photoshoot
Mine is only in Sep.. Hee hee, still hav

Doll> I will only be going for a short trip in Dec after the wedding.. Can't take long leave due to work commitments

NTUC got sell tea set? I wan to buy those cute cute cartoon ones leh haha.

I'm deciding between Sweetest moments and choz for my GDL cakes! Any reviews? haha

I also AD on 4 Oct and GDL is 3 days after 7th month...

Now also rushing so that no need to rush after the 7th month...

Will going for Reservist ICT for the whole month of Aug...sigh..

Luckily done with all the major items...Food Tasting, Chosen the photos for PS, bought most of the GDL Stuffs, Printed the invites...etc...

Now is to do up the invites and see whoever can give will give first, those not able to give have told them verbally and to give after the 7th month...

Now is to slowly tighten the loose ends with the Hotel for some of the requests..

reine> hehe...I think what the gals meant is that the canned pork (or pig trotters) can buy from NTUC. The cute cute tea set I saw in Far East Plaza, think it's level 4...right at the end, got this shop sells wedding stuffs wan. I also saw on the golden happiness website.

Haha, sorry i'm blur. But i'm going to buy 1 cute one for the guy's side, my side I will use the pass me down from mum. heee.

Bryce, at least you managed to finish most of the stuffs!

mashi: thanks 4 e advice... but my relatives say, bride side invite s earlier than e AD.. so doing it 1 wk b4 my AD... wil b super busy tt wk, cos GDL n fri n sat banquet @ malaysia...

fro wat i know, GDL e bride side need to giv 1 set new teaset to e groom... then bride side can use our parents tea set.. e set tt we use @ e groom side wil later b keep by us n for our gals to use...

has visited 2 shops @ chinatown market (near CK), 1 @ jurong east n 1 @ e hawker centre near OG sellin GDL items.. we chk wif them abt e GDL items n price.. 2 of e shops veri 'dao' n price not label.. e best service attitude tt we recd s fro e shop @ OG n all e items r label wif $ so @ 1 glance we know how much which item cost n they provide free delivery too if we buy whole set.. n they oso display e 'standard set' there for us to c, so we know wat we r payin for.. whileas e other shop onli tell us e cost s abt $100+ to 300+ dependin on e items we wan....

so we decided to order from e 1 near OG as their service n attitude s really gd.. we wil b orderin b4 e 7th mth as my GDL s in mid-oct..

peko: hahahaa u cld be right!! uncle say give too small the guy side lose face. actually it doesnt really bother me. now hub hear liao feel uncle say is right. but im not willing to spend so much on that scary looking roast pig leh... maybe i try convince hub on the smaller one la.. hehehe

Reine: previously i emailed sweetest moments to ask if i can buy a sample box to try the cakes b4 ordering. i was told can. then a mth later i went to the shop to ask, they say cannot. I go dig the email out n reply to the lady. Barely a mth difference only, they say they change policy. so hubby say so ya ya anyhow change policy, he dun wanna let them earn our money. hahahh other than that not much review abt them... I tried pine garden's cake. its really good. dunno wanna get fr them anot. :P

Gals, chinatown market oso got a few shops selling those cute cute tea sets leh.. the market behind CK dept store de

Bryce> U are a Groom to be ah? Or i misunderstood? Yr wifey nvr join this forum? My hubby also hv ICT the week before our AD for 2wks..so we also got to rush alot of stuff..

cheer: which level is the shop on the hawker centre? wanna go down to take a look too...

paradise: you mean sweetest moments like that ah. My mum prefers chocz actually ahhaha but i like sweetest moments for the packaging..
The market you talking about is the same hawker near OG right?

cheer> The shop at OG that you mention is it the People's Park hawker centre ah? Do you have the exact location? You're right. Chinatown got a few shops, but either poor attitude or they anyhow cut-throat the prices.

paradise> hahaha...ya lor! I also not willing to part off so much on a roasted pig lah. After all, it's juz a formality to let my parents have a 'feel good' factor in receiving the pig as a sign of "jia nu-er". hahahah

reine: i think its diff market but i knw which one cheer is referring to. The market beside OG has one i think on 2nd or 3rd level and the shop front is facing OG de.

THe ones i referring to is inside the market next to smith street... beside CK dept store.

ya a bit pricey but if service is good, cake is nice stil nvm wor

we wanted to pay for a box of their cakes to try they also dun allow... maybe business too good haha

gals, for those who need to buy canned pig trotters, better go get from NTUC now! got offer!! hehehe..each at $2.95! just bought ours over the weekend..28 cans!

this offer one is the "gu long" brand..not the "narcissus" brand but still quite nice!

as for GDL cakes, i'm getting mine from Choz! sweetestmoments not bad either but i think Choz looks better in terms of the cakes and pastries! sweetestmoments is nicer in terms of packaging ba..cos they have the mini customised wedding card!

just gotten most of my GDL stuff as well...all at chinatown..been walking and walking till i dun even know where i've been to le...got the dragon and phoenix candles, teapot set, bowl set, nuptial lamps, bedsheets & pillow cases, towls, the "Xi" stickers, umbrella, fan, etc..spent so much over the weekend..

but glad to settle many things le..

i got all e namecards...

1. cheok keuw bridal co
blk 506 jurong west st 52 #01-180 s(640506) tel: 6566 0311
tink tis s quite a popular shop, recommended by few of my mum friends.. e guy s quite friendly n share wif us some of e customery.. but e sis s e one sellin n know e price of e items... find their price a bit x for some items.. my mum friend spend abt $200+ for e drowny items.. e shop wil help to write wat 'ang boa' to giv to e groom side..

2. jia jia wedding items (in chinese)
Blk 335 smith street #01-226 chinatown complex s(050335) (behind CK)
e boss seems to b fro china... e price r quite reasonable for mos of e items... but some of e quality doesn look gd...

3. tiao xiang wedding n gifts
blk 335 smith street china town complex #01-77 s(050335) [behind CK]
tis shop veri bad service... n items seem x... but quite a few customer when we r there... so tis shop s out for us...

4. the wedding shop (by world of fortune)
32 new market road food centre #02-1098 S(050032) [beside OG chinatown)
service e best of all, price tag on mos of e items, display e std set of drowny/GDL items so we know wat we r payin 4 e price... can change items but may need to top up e price diff.. n hav free delivery.. they hav a website but nothin much there..
http://www.worldoffortune.com/fuyuan.html

went to e abv shop wif my mum n e abv comments r our personal view.. so u all may wan to go n take a look n decide for urself.. cos u may recd diff service fro us...

supergal: wow.. u bought so many cans... we still hadn decide to buy e cans, roast pig or ang boa... so wil buy later...

i oso bought a bedsheet fro chinatown.. cheaper than aussino for e weddin series..

cheer..yeah, cos my mom want 28 cans..initially she wanted 48! nearly fainted..so asked her to reduce a little lor..hehe!

then AD will still get roast pig..then fetch bride still need to get a raw pig trotter! everything to do with pig pig pig! hahaha..

yup, i guess chinatown sells the bedsheet set much cheaper than aussino...got mine at $70 after some bargaining!

supergal: ic... thot need to buy a bit more to return to hubby side? u so lucky! got mine @ $78 after bargain.. bought e red one though there s pink n beige... wat color did u buy?

cos hubby side said they don't want so many..so perhaps we just return a few cans will do..

the salesperson also highly recommend me the red one..but since my mom already got us a red bedsheet and quilt set, i took the cherry pink one!

actually, i think the prices for wedding items are quite competitive! when i go around asking them for the prices, most of them just give me the price range and not the exact price! i also went to a shop that sells $78 for the bedsheet set..but hubby forbid me to buy at that time..say there could be cheaper ones elsewhere..so ended up getting from other shops..

Saggiegirl > Thanks a lot ….

Ling > Xie xie ni ….

Akino > Maybe too excited liao, can’t get to sleep …. hee hee

Freegoer > Thanks for your concern.

Yvonne > Will enjoy my Photoshoot de, worried might be very tiring nia. Yours is in Sept, wonder will it be very rush?

why got to buy pig trottes de?? can buy just pork meat?? liek those canned "spicy rou Ding" tat one everyone in both our family likes and got eat de?? haha..trottr no one eat de..too unhealthy le and i think cheap cheap canned one also wont taste so nice as those directly cook off the stove one..

need some advise about the AD morning schedule. I not sure which should be the best sequence of event. wat i have in mind -
(To be completed in 4 hours)
1. Bride's house
2. New house Groom family Tea ceremony
3. Nearby Photo taking
4. Bride's house Bride family Tea ceremony
5. New House - Catering

His Ah ma is not convenient to come to our new house for the tea ceremony so we thot of:

1. Bride's house
2. His Ah ma house - Groom family Tea ceremony
3. Nearby Photo taking
4. Bride's house Bride family Tea ceremony
5. New House - Catering

I would like to have some phototaking with the bro and sis and make full use of the PG,VG,Rented car to take pics preferably in WG. But once after groom's tea ceremony have to change back "kua" or another "tea ceremony dress" before going to bride's house? In this way, i got lesser chance to take pic in the WG??

how you gers get your schedule planned?
(FYI, my Bride fetching got to complete by 7am, bride tea ceremony got to end by 11am, my mom house + our new house is only 5 min ride away while his mom/ah ma house is ard 20 mins away).. help meee..another headache thing.. his father altar actually at another place 5 min away from our new house should we go there too??

Kv > As long as ur in law side okay with 2nd arrangement, why not ? but this topic a bi sensitive, perhaps u should get ur the other half to do the talking..

Kv Tan-Teo> Hi I completed my GDL in May 09 and my AD is Oct 09. I am also a Fuchow bride and hubby is a hockian too. So qiao :P

We did not get the triditional cakes my IL buy fm Swee Heng and they got the normal butter cakes at S$5 each which is very cheap liao. Triditional cakes are more ex.

My IL ask if my parents want any nos. of cakes my mom say anything no need so much and I tell my IL to give 6 boxes enough... than my mom also went to buy few box to exchange 2-4 boxes with my IL cakes la

Mrswong> You went to Minah too
Glad that you like the service also... I find the Uncle Desmond talk very loud hahah but he is very clear in his explaination :P

wow, 1 nite time, the thread so long liao. haha...

My wedding bedsheet is bought fr Robinsons. haha. as my mattress is 14" thick. so normal bedsheets dun fit in. so need to get the better ones. bedsheet color is nt the traditional red or pink. is more to bronze brown color. but wif the word xi all ard the bedsheets. look quite modern. can use again after wedding. haha...

Kv Tan-Teo.
I tink be it wif which arrangement, the groom side muz agree lor. c where they wan to have the tea ceremony. only after they say where they wan to hv the tea ceremony then u knw which arrangement is better.

If u wan to hv some photo taking in ur WG, then u shld go for some short photo taking after fetching the bride. before goin to the groom side for the tea ceremony.
As after the groom side tea ceremony, bride will change to kua or tea dress le.
U hv to gauge ur timing as we do not knw hw much time u need for the tea ceremony for both sides family.

As for whether to go to his father alter, u hv to ask ur HB to check whether is it needed to go or can go or nt. as some elders might say nt so gd. then request the wedding couple to go another day after wedding...
tat is wat happen to my sis. They wan to go pray to her FIL alter tat day de. but the groom family say no gd. ask them to go another day after the wedding.
so u better check wif ur HB family first.

For mine. is simple. will be fetch bride, go groom house tea ceremony then back to bride house tea ceremony, buffet. then end. haha..

juz tat if got time then we go nearby to take photos. but difficult to say as our house are ard 1/2hr drive. so hope morning no jam then shld hv time...

Yvonne> hee hee
this date is chosen by my master...very auspicious date...

how come ur PS in Sept..? it could be quite rush for them to do the album considering that there r so many couples having close ADs as u...