(2009) Brides of year 2009

xka.. hv 2 take 1 step at a time. I'm worried abt cost overrun 4 my hse now. My existing Variation Orders already choke up more then $10k. Expect to bleed another $10k.. sigh..

anticipate>> i have not seen one with guests sitted down yet. but u can always be the one to start!

anticipate> i think end may should be something like sg weather so should be fine.. just look out for wat are the flowers in season and go there to have fun
i just love the makeup done by their makeup artists. Zhan!!

erm.. do be prepared to overspend on ur PS gals.. coz both of us say we will stay within the 36 photos given in the package end up we overspent coz we just love the photos so much.. think tats how they earn $.. lol..

Mashi,

ya u are rite! then mine consider rather late liao.. My coordinator is Doris, she actually arrange it during june for me.. maybe too many brides liao! hehe..

Oh so just 2 wks later for your photo taking liao.. thats fast! enjoy the day!

aroh,
tink i more stress than him..haha....

anitime nt enuff $$, his parents can pay ma..nt like they got no $$$...onli ting is they stingy nia...haha...

i got to pay half of everyting leh....n hor, duno y he alwaes seem to be more vroke than mi...so far, im paying for the bulk of the wedding lor...

haizz..damn headache...if nt u tink need work parttime??

nok,
ur wording veri chim..i dun understand...

Anticipate> for all the weddings that i have went to...be it lunch or dinner...all the guests stand up and cheer ....besides the AD PG snapping pictures....also hv frens & colleagues taking photos.... LOL...

yuzu> it is "normal" to "overspend"...haha... that is my initial package is 45 photos...

Sharon,
tink becoz Vincent tis mth go Korea to take photoshoot. so May might b abit busy so arrange for u in Jun. but still ok lar. not too late.

yaya. another 2 wks. will enjoy de. keke...

Anticipate - to me i prefer my guest to sit down so that all of them can see when my hubby n i marched down. but my idea was strongly objected by hubby coz he said not respectful to us. To me i would rather all of them can see. Haiz!!

Oh i too took my PS at Taipei. signed up with LiShe. also got hooked on my first stop to the bridal show. haiz! though i had a package here, i still signed up. But it was worth coz the scenery is fantastic APART from the freezing cold i have to endure for 10 over hours.

i'm trying very hard not to loan from parents le...my mum already loan mi some...eva's parents also loan us quite an amount...

xka, he broke cos of car is it?

saggiegirl> haha.. yalor.. especially when in our mind we r thinking.. "its once in a lifetime experience" lol..

an an> i'm with LiShe too! when did you had your PS? it is all worth it when u see the pics right? lol..

Jasmine> tat was wat my HTB said.. LOL.. do update us ya? :P

Jasmine - unless both of u are super stubborn, i am sure u will top one de. the sales from BS will 100% push their photos. saying all nice lah.. then add 2 - 3pictures to 1 page to make it look nicer & add art work. all add up can be a bomb. i had a friend who spent $13K in total for photos only - had 2 super big bulky book, 3 small ones & some loose photos for distribution. all photos are with art work.

anticipate> back to your question, i think it is a norm for guests to stand up to clap when u march in.. sort of automatic thing.. coz i have went to banquets tat the emcee did not ask ppl to stand but everyone stood up.. think if 1 person stand everyone will stand bah.. cant ask them to sit down also.. lol..

jasmine>> heehee... cos my MIL said we 'invite' them for dinner, how come still have to stand. Then my FIL said on that day the bride & groom is biggest so naturally people should stand and sit. Actually, both my hb and I don't really mind, we just want to walk fast fast and done with the march-in. hahaha...

Now, I have no idea who one to do cos each has it's supporter... haiz...

all>> i think it's very difficult to save on photos. I was telling my hb that I'll stick to the 40 that I have and he still bet me to it that it's not going to happen. LOL I think easily another 10-20 or so... but seriously, if getting 20, can negotiate a price to get all photos returned right? Then can go outside develop and stick all over the room to nightmare my hb. :p

an an / yuzu >> LiShe has a branch here in SG? I seem to hear their name often, as well as the Romantic Life. Was hooked by the sceneries too! LOL

yuzu>> if the final tug-of-war winner is to sit down (heehee...), then we will announce for everyone to remain seated. So we're still dangling in-between now.

Oh ya... does your emcee speaks in Mandarin too or is it just in English version? Suddenly seems like I have a lot of questions... :p

Mashi,

mine is at Parkroyal Beach Road. i did went there b4 & its one of my shortlist htl too. yours is the big or small ballroom?

Anticipate - LiShe do not have a branch in Spore.
here's their official website is http://www.lishe.com.tw/ec99/Profile.asp but if u need to enquire can send them email in english but they will reply in mandarin.

i agree wat u said. it is difficult to save on pictures. i top up the photos i took from taipei. so had decided for Spore, i will not top up. hope i can do it :p

anticipate, I think standing up oso easier for them to shift around and make sure they can see you during the march in.. sit down abit difficult to turn around.. haha..

Ya, we r all like spending our lifetime savings for this one event of our life..n oso our first hse... But we can alwaz earn the money back..so we muz make the spending worth and njoy this period of time ok?Dun spend money to be stress...if stress, go for a short holiday..

We shld juz spend within our budget i tink. If really short on cash, then do away with certain things lor. Memorable weddings can be created by intangible things too...

an an>> I have skipped the PS in SG... too much of a risk to take, in case I go 'i like i like' then our pocket becomes one big through hole... LOL You must be really determine and discipline to counter and block your eyes off the nice pics. hehe...

zinnia>> our room is very small only... about 23 tables so if everyone is standing, might block too. And the other reason is, they are all relatives (95%) so kinda of weird to get the elderly to stand and applaud for us...

YuZu - sorry din answer your question. My taipei PS was taken in Nov 08. freezing cold esp i went up to hills, into forest, sea & beach area.

Antipate - good tat u skipped PS in Spore. juz rent gowns from local Bridal will do. Have your PS overseas will be good!

Anticipate, Oh i see.. ya i agree if the room is small.. the view might be blocked.. I guess it alright to have the guest sitted
As long you and your hubby is ok..

By the way.. anyone know i can find emcee?

Yuzu - to add on. yup all pictures r worth my suffering for the cold. when i saw the pictures, i wana buy all but Mr $ says NO..

my mum tot it was not cold but nv did she expect i was shivering when taking the pictures.

By the way who is your MUA? mine was Yang Lao Shi....

an an>> wow! climb mountains, into the sea, etc, etc... sounds like a lot of FUN!!

zinnia>> what criteria are you looking at for emcee? celebrities, tv host or ...? some ranges to a few thousands, depending on your budget and the type of emcee.

yuzu>> yeah!will keep all of u updated. hahahha.

anticipate>> hmm, as for ur dinner wil be mostly relatives (r there alot of elderly?). if yes, i think sit down is a better idea.

i will have 2 emcees, one for mandarin, one for eng. mandarin caters mainly for the elderly.

I guess nowadays alot of emcees are actually friends of the bride or groom. usually one is speaking in english and one in mandarin. but my personal opinion is must ask them to have a script to translate what they are saying in each language and not answer each other questions in the designated language else very weird especially for those who only know one language..

an an> mine is also yang lao shi! she's so cute n sweet right? hahaha.. if i have $ i'll ask her to come over to be my MUA.. :P yalor.. my family also thought it's not cold.. lol..

YuZu - Wow!! seems like those customer from Spore will get her haha! they try to provide the BEST service afterall. ya Yang Lao Shi is GOOD & cute & sweet! she will hug me when it was not my turn to take the picture coz she knew i was shivering away.
i paid extra to bring her out for PS.
guess what? we r the last couple to go back to the BS tat day. Taiwanese pple dun by 4plus to 5pm will go back le. we went back at 10pm haha!!

one fun thing was that i had my Smelly Tou fu by the street while in my evening gown. everyone was looking at me haha!!

jasmine>> actually I don't know who are being invited... we leave the list to the parents and they will go sort out the RSVP, etc. As for us, I think only 2 tables or so = helpers
Haiz... leave that to later part to headache.

As for language, I think it would be more of my side. Some only understand mandarin... his side all ok, even grandma, etc knows English... So it's seems a bit weird to speak in Mandarin too.

yuzu>> agree with you. Some are conversing in different langauge, makes it hard for people to understand.

An An, I am thinking of having one emcee that can speak both mandarin and english.. hmm maybe not more then a thousand.. but not too sure whether it will be weird.. like talking to himself/ herself.. haha

Anticipate, I dun really have any criteria.. able to speak well can already.. wah.. really burn a hole in the pocket man.. me and my htb will be a peasant after we come back from honeymoon.. hehe

Yuzu, most of my friends very shy so guess we need to seek professional help..

an an> it must be very interesting to c a bride eating smelly tou fu coz usually BTB will have xing xiang bah.. hehe.. yalor.. for us we also went back at about 10 coz we skipped the studio photos and opt for more night scenes instead. we told our photographer tat we wanna have some Taiwan street shots to show ppl we r really in taiwan and we have not superimposed the flowers n sceneries.. :P

Anticipate> u mean u do not have a few tables for your friends? maybe u can do a draft list of ppl whom u wanna invite. i read somewhere tat to minimise loss in case ppl dun turn up, u can have A list, B list and C list. so in case the ppl on A list is unable to make it u have B list or C list to fall back to.. thought it quite make sense especially when banquets are so expensive nowadays..

zinnia> if u don't mind having a standard script, u can ask the banquet location if they have anyone who can assist in being an emcee. they usually can provide that for free. :D

YuZu - ya we too skip studio n opt for all outdoor. we too wana take streets tat represent taipei. haha! so our pictures hv taipei street signs haha!!

Zinnia - if 1 emcee speaks both language seems funny. like u said he/she will be like talking to oneself :p

an an>> ya lor... let FIL and MIL debate and see who wins... heehee...

zinnia>> do you want to speak to the hotel? sometime they have really good ppl who can do it, otherwise, they might have contacts. Check with them and see what options they have.

yuzu>> our room max at 25 tables but think that's too cramp so we kept it at max 23 tables. Almost 21 tables taken by relatives so no more room for us to invite our friends...

xka,
My dinner costs S$120 per head.

Btw, financial wise, you and HTB better make it clear who's paying for what. Don't later bicker over all these money.

For mine, HTB is paying for everything. But I offered to pay for our pre-wedding photoshoot package. =p

kath,
Agree with you that we should spend within our budget. I see no sense in forking everything out or loaning from people in order to pay for the wedding.

elyse,

wah u same as me hehe... me also only pay for pre-wedding photoshoot package... sama sama...

but still feel the pinch.. everything is so exp!