(2009) Brides of year 2009

help!! everyone seems all set liao.. mine is still not here not there coz i only got to know the AD date last month.. now then i know 6/12/09 is such a hot date.. no wonder all the hotels i wrote to say they r fully booked for both lunch n dinner.. >_<

cherie> It's not that there's no BS with styles that I like but because I have yet to start enquiring... :p I have sign up for an oversea pre-wed shoot but now need to look for a local one to cover my AD. Need to pull up my sock to get it moving... hehe

mandy> have you just started to look for venue and it's on 6 Dec? Any particular budget? I think those away from town might still have some chance. I faced the same problem about a month ago too... Oh ya, you might want to look at the marketplace for banquet thread and see if anyone else is letting go.

thanks freegoer. i guess have to do tat..
sigh.. wat to do since both htb and myself planned it to be next yr but due to some horoscope thingy we have to get it done by this yr..

anticipate, the problem is 6 dec is a super hot date ... most of the venues are fully booked ard 8-12 mths ago.

yuzu> tiger year mah ...

mashi, hmm if not so good comments think better skip. i usually go to aeon tebrau instead of city square, was thinking of printing cards there coz my mum took the brochure one time when we were there.

yuzu, freegoer> i was told by many people that this year is a super good year for marriage, not sure why so... that's why we're also doing it this year. haha...

yuzu> are you open to doing lunch? what's the number of tables that you are looking at? I was doing my search 3-weeks ago and some are still available for lunch... although I'm on a diff date as you but no harm trying and ask. That time, I emailed about 15 hotels at a go... LOL

Cherie: morning one haven't fixed yet. but mine gotta be early cos my HTB is teochew. hah. the BS called up to fix the session for the evening one. mine's at 4pm cos i got solemnisation at 6.30pm. generally, u might wanna count back at least 1.5hrs to 2hrs from the time u want to be ready. i know most brides start around 5plus 6 if they are the only bride for the MUA for the evening.

saggiegirl: ya my mum's teaset is oriental, still in very good condition, so i can use it. we didn't want too modern tea sets for the ceremony la. not matching u know? haha.

hi all, been really quite sometime since i last posted. Since everyone's onto the printing topic, can I ask if there's a standard template for the inserts?

Besides printing of inserts, do the printing shops in JB do printing of postcard invite too? Anyone knows the price?

yuzu> i saw a few thread to let go package on 6 Dec, some are stake to the bottom. You might want to do a search on "6 Dec" for them. Would you be keen to look for non-hotel ie. sentosa, Asian Civilisation Museum, etc? Might want to try emailing those too.

jetstar hv food but ex lor... their sitting space is reali small...but hor cheap. and to HK only 4hrs so shld be ok to tahan..

XKA u 1 cheaper u can go to Macau 1st dan take boat to HK... can save sme $$

Hmmmm... I keep seeing you gals mentioned about the 2nd fitting... mine is only few days before my PS.. Is there anything wrong about it???

we r looking at 300 pax tats y quite jialat.. most places dun really cater to such a big number of guests >_< think we would most prob take lunch becoz we r both teochew. doesnt make sense to drag until dinner n have such alot of spare time in the afternoon. if dinner, need to cater to lunch also.. pok kai..

yuzu> have you tried swissotel? they have several rooms for wedding, some are big, some are small. hmm... where else... have you tried those around Suntec around - Marina, Oriental, Ritz, Pan Pac all those?

Agree with you... the lunch bit has made us pok kai... cos we do it as tea ceremony and then cater lunch to them.

some of those you have listed got opening.. but its too ex le.. most are at least 900-1k per table.. vomit blood.. if not for the number of ppl i need to invite i would do catering at home suan le.. >_<

yuzu> what's your budget per table? and does it have to be in specific area? let me know and see where else i can think of.

Don't worry, will be able to find a place.

I was like you, 100% bounced back until we heng heng, one couple called in to cancel and that's how we got ours. Waterfront Grand Cop still available when I emailed them previously, you might want to try them but I can't remember the seating capacity.

Hilton is 700+ nett or something like that.

Kath.. my BS also willingly agreed wen they realised its for Styleweddings.. haha.. goin for gown selection dis fri too! n she said she will personally select her best gown for the contest.. haha.. for my AD i can choose other gown if i wan to.. anyway my actual gown selections will be later on.. dis fri is only WG selection for the contest..

il probably get shoes later on la.. i dun wanna spend too much on it.. my ROM shoes spent ard 100 n neva use after ROM day.. i feel its such a waste.. maybe il juz re-use those shoes.. but its gold.. dunno if it will go wif my gowns.. hmm

i checked jet star le...tink its abt 321 including tax...so im wondering if its cheaper to get pkg direct from agencies lor...coz i havent find hotel yet...

go to macau n take boat?? hmm...wait i lost how?? haha...

not superfamous!,
haha.. u can check the place out b4 u decide ba. juz make sure they knws wat u wan...

vt,
there is a standard template for the inserts. Printer shld hv the templates. but also need to c the size of the inserts u need lor.

if u do nt doing the inserts fr ur hotel printer, then remember to bring 1 invitation card dwn for the printer to measure the size of the inserts.

hmm. shld hv. but never check out the pricing. best if u wan, drop by the shop to have a look before u decide.

iris,
there is nothing wrong wif it. We have 2nd fitting so far fr PS is becoz we haven finalise our gowns.
For me, i haven choose my PS outdoor gown. thus, need to go dwn for my 2nd fittin earlier. if everything ok, then i will need to wait til my PS date then go dwn to my BS liao.

If still haven confirm then i need to go for 3rd or even 4th fitting. haha...

Xka.. very weird but i dreamt abt u 2 days ago! haha.. cannot really rem the dream exactly.. but the 2 of us wer in some buildg wearin cheongsams :\

yuzhu> hilton for dec 6 is full ... completely ... 6 weddings on tat day in all 3 ballrooms.

For dinner 900-1K is common.
For lunch slightly lesser.

thanks anticipate. we'll try again ^^ think our budget is depending on the location bah.. max 800 for hotels but we are trying to see if there are nice n good deals also. coz our dream wedding is to have our solemnisation outdoors :P

yuzu> you might want to try fullerton waterboat house, not sure how much that is but they have indoor and outdoor.

Do you require a proper sit-down lunch or canape/high tea is fine as well? I heard esplande rooftop is nice, never been though.

ACM's river room (indoor) and river terrace (outdoor) comes together, more suitable for buffet type cos they can only accomodate 15 tables for sit-down.

How about country club? some are nice and rates are cheaper than hotel. ie. Orchid CC

still trying hard to lost mi tummy leh..haha..

btw, i finally convinced tat JP who turned me down, to agree again....kip mi fingers crossed tat she dun change mind last min again...haha...

mashi> thanks for your advice. can tell that you're really on the ball planning ur wedding.

Sorry for the being a bit backward. What is the easiest way to get to City Sq or aeon tebrau from here? Prefer not to drive to JB actually. Can someone provide me with the exact address to these 2 shops pls? Thanks

vt,
still ok lar. becoz got hear ppl say also. haha..

City sq is very easy. the custom is link to city sq. so if u take bus there. after passing the msia custom, can follow the walk way to city sq. somemore is covered walkway. wun get wet if rains. haha... the shop tink is at level 4. there are 2 shops. but the 1 i will b goin is T&amp;T. very easy to find...

aeon tebrau, i dun knw. so cannot help u. keke..

felicia,
nope. not yet. takin next mth..

hmm.if u say drive then nt so near. but u take public transport then ok.

i went thru there once. ok lar. still walkable distance to city sq... becoz all the way shelter. shld say better than the old custom.

but tink for driving then not so gd as is very long way to the custom...

felicia,
Add u liao. ya.. custom nw is very diff le. haha..

saw ur pic. hmm. nt bad. u go to JB beach area to take ar?
keke...

care to share ur details here... if u c our achieve, there is a table for all the btbs here to share the details...

iris> My 2nd fitting (last before PS?) is about 10days before my PS, so also quite late. However I called up BS to fix another one next month to take a look if there are new gowns and also to select my remaining PS gowns.

vt> I believe yr hotel/restaurant have a standard template for the invitation card. U can check with them.

Anticipate> actually even OCC also like $800++ for lunch / dinner... so quite jialat lor...

Yuzu> no worries ....i am sure u can find a nice venue...u can try Grand Mercure Roxy, Seletar Ctry Club, Hilltop Garden etc...

6 dec 09 is quite hot coz it falls on the 10th lunar mth (ten = perfect figure)... and that day is good for weddings, guo da li, an chuang, new shop opening .... but not good for those born under the rabbit horoscope though

so my helpers cannot be born in the yr of rabbit....