(2009) Brides of year 2009

ooh my PS will be on 27th May. so have you all choose ur gown already? i need to take photos early because i need it for my wedding favours, as our restaurant dont provide... usually after taking photos then when can we get it?

saggiegirl --> gd ar, then i believe u hv lots to choose from ur gowns.. hehehe... i ask WL abt if they do provide AD PG & VG, if i din rmbr wrongly (bcoz i din get to write down their quotes) it's ard $2.5K. i find it quite ex...
budget tight... still thinking if i shld meet more PG/VG b4 i decide but i am kinda lazy nowadays.. hehehe.... Now cannot work like siao during weekdays, everywhere in my office is cutting cost, so scary.. they nw like trying to get ppl to resign on their own, so tat no nid to compensate them for the additional 1 mth.. Sigh~ at least i set my hse, bt waiting for it to finish building b4 i can get to move in... it's gonna be a long wait. . . 3 yrs from now~

Any couples still looking for wedding venue? My friend has a 20.09.2009 Wedding Dinner Package at Raffles Hotel Ballroom to let go.

Special date 20.09.2009
$1,200++ per table, min 30 tables.

Already paid $5,000 deposit. Willing to let go at $3,000.

As I'm posting on behalf of my friend, I do not have the exact details. Please email your contacts to [email protected] Will contact you directly. Thanks

Wow, you all are fast. So fast select gowns and going for photoshoot already. We only called up the bs and the lady told us to go only in May/June for the gown selection. Think still got some time for me to try to slim down.

By the way, have you girls decide on your ps location?

Qing, we just confirm our pg and vg with fotowerke. Think their pg and vg package quite reasonable. You might want to consider them.

qing> no leh...our AD PG & VG is less than 2K...so i m not sure how come is 2.5K...unless it is inclusive of the montage thingy...
ya lor...now everywhere is cutting costs lor...haizzz

u can google for more PG & VG like fotowerk* (replace * with e) etc...u can also refer to the table compiled by our dear piggylover...for the list of PG/VG engaged....

Shir> hallo
no lar... we decide on earlier PS coz that is the "easiest" thing to settle first lor... hee hee...then after that can concentrate on more urgent things like guest listing, favours, cards...which is a headache lor...~~ we haven decide on PS locations although got write down potential locations.... hee hee...

akino> u can tell ur BS/PG that u need the photos for ur wedding favours... as now photos are taken digitally, viewing can be done almost immediately or a few days after PS. I am sure that yr PG / BS can accomodate to this small request

Sabine, dun be sad... can go for a short break after your MIL & family goes back ah!!!

Mine even more unromantic... Hubby having exams after our wedding so we are delaying our honeymoon till May... But i think it's important to understand & support our partners, yah!

Just booked my tour to Japan leaving on 8th May!!! =)So looking forward to it!!!

eva,
hmm.. urs abit rushed, but will still be in time.

your wedding is early May or late May?

1. photoshoot
from the time photoshoot being taken till delivered, if rush them for you, shld b able to collect in 1.5mths time ba.

2. wedding cards
from choosing design, setting template, approving, printing, collecting, max 2 weeks.

3. food-tasting arrange?

4. traditional items settled (for guo da li etc)?

5. an chuan date settled, items bought (bed etc)?

6. preparation for AD (iteniary, angbaos, emcee scripts, songs selection, roles assigned to helpers?)

as i write, i yet prepare for no. 6! :p

saggi> i tot is plan a-z .. all diff location and weather conditions ... haha ...
akino> for supr rush jobs, the photos can be seen the nxt day and 2 weeks rdy ... really it depends on the layout and the printers...

Hi Eternal_Mates,
I just bought my slippers along to walk on the road... doesn't matter what colour cos can't it at all.

You wouldn't be wearing it if you are having shoots at the beach.

Hope you have fun? Btw have you consider where to go for your PS?

Morning all..

I need to find a room / apartment for short term rental for about 3 months during the renovation. Anyone has any idea where I can start looking??

morning..

Noknok too bad all the spare rooms in my house r rented out if not i can rent to u..
u can try Mocca.com or Facebook Marketplace..

all> Initally i thought of going to europe, but then its so expensive... then forget it.

not superfamous> must put some heat pack with you during winter in order to you warm.

nok,
My friend does rental. You can contact her, Jazelle at 9687 6774. She's a freelance agent though, so there will be charges.

Alternatively, what I used to do is to go nearby MRT or town centres to look at the signboard put up for people to paste flyers. Usually there are a rental or two direct from owners.

wow cosyouaremygal,
you dun want to have kids ah?

hmm... dunno leh
i dun wish to have kids so soon... but i feel that i will want to have kids in future... otherwise, what's the meaning of getting married...

just my personal opinion

nah dun worry cosyouaremygal,

i am also like you, I want neither parents to take care of my child. Both will spoil. I see the way my hubby been spoiled by his mum, I dun think its a good idea to leave my kids in her care.

I dun wan my parents to take care not because i dun wan them to be close to my kids but i felt they are old already and I hope they can rest more. Its our turn and responsibilities to take care of our own kids, why throw them back to the parents. Its ridiculous. My parents time they cope even though they work, so I told my hubby we should at least work hard for our own kids too.

MIL are like tat. My MIL was also very nice to me when I was just a GF. Then expectations will rise after u r the wifey. Hey grace, i dun think you are rebellious lah, even married already u are still a daughter to your parents. Why cannot go home and stay? No logic lah. Thats too traditional, by the way your reasoning is valid, 10pm is too late, travel here and there is ridiculous, should stay over.

My guess is she trying to say you married in liao..so 'belongs' to them, more like controlling you. Some..( i din say all) MILs think they must control and order the DILs ard to show they are in power and authority.

but getting married doesnt mean must have kids lah...

its more of individual choices. Its fine for some couples. Subjective.

I like to have kids but not soon cos I felt must be ready and be comfortable. In fact I like to have a daughter a lot. Cos daughters are closer to mummies and can shop together. Thats what I am now doing with my mum too. I stick to her like glue.

saggiegirl and freegoer...hahaha u 2 are cute =P

for wet weather, I'm leaving it to my PG =P but in any case, a number of my venues are "indoor-ish" so i'm not worried

sharon,
I think the distance is very far..maybe u can consider apply for a maid & put her at ur in-laws plc to look after ur kids.Then ur mil can monitor her.Travelling is too tiring le

Grace, I think is not adviseable to go against ur mil too obviously..u have to put up with her for 3yrs man..Ask ur hubby to explain ur situation?she shld understand..u tell her wkend is the only time u accompany ur own parents.
Dun wori, looking after grandchildren n washing clothes r two differ tins..haha..I think sometimes is see mood one ;p

Hui, u stay near ur in-laws?? since u stay so near ur own parents, u tell them the distance difficulties lo..if we let in-laws tk care, dun like their method,also duno hw to open mouth tell them..own parents easier

cosyouaremygal, think no worry ba?mom wun lost touch ba..afterall she brought u up

andrea> aiya...we old already...not cute already...

ya lor we also plan for certain number of indoor venues ....in case of rain.... but May usually is sunny days ....

True lah I agree with DesjO, grace you still staying with ur in laws..better be nice to her lah...3 yrs is still a long time. In the meantime, let her be lor. I think she is also adjusting to your habits too.

oh ya.. hey babes..

any1 noes the things to buy or bring for 'Guo Da Li' day?
my hubby-to-be is going to ask his aunti to come over to my house soon to 'officially' ask for my hand.. heez... not sure of wat to do.. heez..

Eva, I just got my photoshoot done last week and my second photoshoot date is not even set yet. My invitation card design I already chose but haven't print as well. Food tasting in mid March. I think still can make it bah, hee.

gd afternoon!

so quiet today...i was expecting 2 pages of post to read...Nok...my block got an unit for rent...but i think it's malay family. if you wish I can help u ask...it's at bedok res...

if not i ask my agent? need fees though...

cassabelle> hmm....i have the list but my mum is buying simple things for me...so we are not following those real traditions (i am a hakka bride).....

Thanks elyse n aroh..

dun wanna go through agents cos it's only for 3 months

aroh.. I got dogs leh.. think they'll mind right.

Hello saggiegirl & andrea,

Care to share some of your locations? We are clueless on it. Hee.. I was thinking hard where are the potential indoor-ish places, but none appear in my head. Hehe..

Think we probably going to have the ps in July or Aug. Seem like pretty late comparing with you two. Hopefully, the weather in Jul/Aug is going to be sunny too.

Hi cassabelle,

Your hubby-to-be is coming over to Ti Qing or Guo Da Li ? I think Guo Da Li is usually few weeks before the actual day. Cause sometime there is giving of cakes which the bride side will distribute to their friends/relatives and at the same time as about their rsvp for the banquet.

shir> hee hee...indoor locations like museums, shopping centres, CHIJMES, millenia walk? hmm....

actually jul/aug is also Ok but it could be quite rush lor..hmmmm.....

Either I rent a room jus for my sister and i stay with my HTB, or I rent an whole apartment and both of us move in for 3 months.

thanks girls for ur views/suggestions! really appreciate them. Yes, meanwhile i will be enduring as much as i can. seriously i dun tink my mil needs to adjust to any of my habits cos' i go out 7 in the morning, return home 8+ sometimes 9+ at night. Only bathe and then hide inside the room le.

I feel that my mil is more of those who feels that she should have a control over me as i 'belong' to them. She just wan to feel her power to influence my hubby to control me. and i m seriously pissed off by her actions which totally grants no respect from me. if i go club every night, she say me i really nothing to say. Hai...

anyway, kids r lovely! I feel that they bring joy to the family!

oh, i see i see. Can we take ps at shopping centres? I thought need to pay for it? Think museums and Chijmes need to pay one.

yesday went to see the final layout. All settled. Maybe end Mar, i can collect my photos. looking forward to it.

Poohise, dun mind can u pls chg pheony jade to holiday inn atrium under the hotel/restaurant column. thks.

grace, i feel your MIL is very ridiculous
she still live in "olden days"

I dun think she would treat her own daughter like tat, to be frank... if it is her own daughter, she would also hope her daughter to come home eat everyday, you think she will say "hey u marry off liao dun come home so often"
No lor... just because not her flesh and blood then she want to act like she is dowager

if my MIL forbid me to visit my parents, i think i will show my black face instantly

no lah, i love my mum but there's something about that i dun wish inherit to my children and i always remind myself that there are things that i do not allow myself to be like her. As simple as as it is.

Hubby loves children. I will compromise, just not so soon.

Do you all have any preference? My hubby wants a girl. MIL wants a boy first. Sis-in-law says a girl first. OMG! I told my hubby old folks still chong nan qing nu. It's a proven fact.

I prefer my baby healthy, no matter boy or girl.

Just not sure if i can take good care of them. I am a blur sotong myself.

Is ClubMed Promotion valid only for UOB card?
cos i got the promotion pamphlet together wif my credit card bill leh.. but must book by march09.. dunno if i can make a decision so fast le.. hmm..

Airfare to Maldives for 2 is S$1996 after taxes.

The price I quoted for Club Med is their NATAS promo: 2nd adult stays FREE. So must book by 1 Mar.

I think it's valid for any cards.

i prefer girls. Hubby says both also can. and mother in law definately prefer boy lor. Their family is also the chong nan qing nu one. Traditional chinese is like tat. If its a boy i lagi wan to look after on my own...they sure spoil him to the core.

cosyouaremygal,

no female is an instant mother overnight. I also dunno how to look after babies. Learn lor. I will just try my best to be a good mum. Preference or not, its not up to us ladies to determine, its destined plus we only have one type of chromosomes...blame the guys if its all girls. Not our fault lor!haha.