(2009) Brides of year 2009

lalaa,
mi bf is the supa dupa stupid kinda of guy...his excuse for tahaning them is coz they are elder...I tried explaining to him SOOOO many times tat even elders do wrong things...we can be fillial bt we cant condone them....still, no use....no matter wat his parents do, i hav to forgive them n accept it coz they are elders...

maybe its their family culture, but that is someting i do not agree on and i definitely do not want to see it in my own family in future...

xka,
I know what you mean. That's what my aunties are like too.

You and your HTB must really resolve this issue before getting married. Must sit him down and have a good talk about it. Tell him how you feel. Tell him to spare a thought for you. He should have a good talk with his mum and if that's not an option for him, he must work out a way to try solve this mah.

If not, you guys will end up quarreling every day until one day, you're tired of the fighting and the marriage... which will beso sad...

xka,
He's fillial la. He's also caught in-between. Tell him it's important that he talks to them to let u two move out. It's for the best also mah. If stay together, confirm fight all the time with thm.

elyse,
i koe him too well...he will neva eva tok to his mum abt it....to him, he tinks tat his mum is very nice to me, and tats e wae his mum is...he has lived wif it, and so shld i....

tis issue has been ard for ages lor...bt he's still sitting on it....we are alreadi argueing most of the time becoz of them...n im alreadi begining to feel sick of it....

i toked to mi frends, and they all tink tat he shld do smting abt it...bt he's not...then wat can i do???

saggiegirl --> icic, then have fun trying the gowns. since ur mommy & htb are accompanying u, then it isn't so bad as tat time my poor htb is sitting around waiting for me to change into each gown. He nearly fall asleep.. btw, u choose ur PS PG? My htb prefer Leon as the other PGs are more into artistic style which he dun like.. as for me, I m fine bcoz it’s so tired to think after like trying the gowns for like 4+hrs.. hahaha… Get ur co-ordinator to get u different types of gowns to try on, bcoz for me, I hv nt much idea wat I wanna wear but it seems that halter neck gowns look best on me bcoz I hv broad shoulders & flabby arms. =( initially, I took out my camera ask my htb to take pic for me in front of the co-ordinator bcoz I rmbr reading in the forum somewhere dated some yrs back that the ladies were mentioning that WL dun allow ppl to take pics of their gowns, bt I jus try my luck, test test water. I actually ask my htb to help me take pic while my co-ordinator went off to take some gowns for me to try. I ask him to take a quick snap.. hehehe… but of coz hv to make sure that there aren’t any WL staff ard, if nt, they’ll be watching over u during ur 2nd appt. so can be quite dangerous. Bt the 2-3 pics tat I took are those OTR gowns – 1 WG & 1 EG. Ur co-ordinator will tell u tat this gown is from which series before u try, like I saw 1 designer’s gown which I really like but need to pay additional $300 & it is the cheapest price for the designers’ series, the highest she mentions can be up to $1K+. *faint*

elyse,
i dun wan him to be caught-in-between...smtimes i choose to suffer in silence then to tell him...im seriously considering calling off everyting u koe...if tings continue, all of us will be unhappy...y not i retire from the game..at least, his parents will be happy...n may he find smone tat his parents like....

lalaa,
i hav, bt not him...he's not veri keen...

im so affected by it tat im beginning to feel tat there's smting seriously wrong wif me...If not, y wld my ex bf abuse me for 2 and a half years? If not, y would his family detest me tat much?? Mayb i should juz stay single and not meddle in relationships as i juz suck....

qing> aiyo...ur hubby falling asleep? i dunnoe what my hubby will do leh :P hhaah...we choose Vincent for our PS...
hmmm....hahahaha u all very notti leh... :P

mi also have broad shoulders ...arms wise still Ok lar...but cant grow any further if not hubby will scream at me lor... hhahaha... but i think lar...$300 is still OK lor...the $1K plus is way too much for me lar...

lalaa,
to me, its insults...bt to him, he will juz sae..u koe she's like tat...tok onli ma...oso wun die....juz ignore lor....

wah lao...sae till so easy...i oso wish i can juz ignore, bt i cant lor....initially can ignore la...bt ova time leh...dun tell mi i not hman arh..i got no feeling meh??

relax xka... let him know u are unhappy and stress abt it... no 1 would be happy when they see their other half unhappy...

tis issue's been going on for ages le lor...and he koe im unhappy...he alwaes sae he will work on it..bt i dun see improvements....its realli coming to e stage tat i cant take it animore...

his mum can drive wedges like saeing tings like tis...last time, woman marry le hor, cant tok to guys de...not like e woman now, marry le still wan tok to guys..(i was msging mi frend at tat time)...then mi bf ask mi who i msging...doesnt he koe im getting married, wat motives he has, etc...kaozz...reali driving mi mad lor...

xka,
Don't say that. Your ex abusing u is not ur fault. I got it for 4 years too, and I don't see that it's my fault.

That's the way his family is, like u said. They are probably the traditional and narrow-minded parents that think no one is too good for their precious son.

After what you've said, I'd say it's really up to your HTB now. He needs to make an effort to understand, to step up and defend u when they are unfair to u, to take control of the situation. If he rather let it slides, then you should ask yourself whether you can tolerate his attitude for the rest of your life.

If yes, good. If not, you must decide what to do next. Bcoz 'bo chap' in this family issue is one thing, but if he does not feel that he has to be responsibile and protect you even in such a 'near', then what about when it comes to all other issues in the future?

A husband must hold his own ground and let his wife feels safe and protected, reassured and loved. He must be able to take care of his family, not only in monetary aspect but also welfare and emotionally. If he cannot even do that, then what good is a husband to us? Then I'd rather be single...

That's my point of view.

elyse,
u hit e nail on e head..

tats exactly how i feel now...been feeling insecure..but cant reali pinpoint how cm i feel tat wae....

im so badly affected tat i lost mi self-confidence, self-esteem, everyting...i juz feel so shitty lor...i dread going back home everydae after work...i juz feel like escaping....

since he's like that, how abt telling him u wish to postpone the wedding as u need to think abt the situation now... give him a wake up call... going ahead with the wedding is like telling him it not a big issue to me...

hi gals.. have been reading the thread.. i'm a nov08 bride.. also staying with in-laws.. totally agree the statement MIL said her thinking is modern but actually not.. very true..

i think my MIL is the worst among MILs.. even her son also cannot stand her and want to move out too..

gals.. as long as our hubby supports us.. that's the most impt at the end of the day.. :D

I do realise thr's difference being their son's gf or dil..think once become dil, they wun be so 'ke qi' with u...they do hv some kind of expectations..im really thankful I dun need stay with them..I really cannot even label me as devil..haha..NO WAY! else i will feel super duper sad

Grace, dun wori, 3yrs will pass fast2...at least ur hubby support u..so long ur mil dun ill treat u, shld be still able to endure ba..keke

Hui, u r wrong.There r guys who do bother.My hubby will want our kids to be close to his parents too.He think his mom is the best cook in the world & close to an angel in heaven :s

I dun really mind if my kids cry for my parents.If they cry for my in-laws,think I will canned them..lolx

elyse,
i feel like telling him all these lor...bt i oso dun wan him to feel bad..i koe how it feels...n i dun wanna inflict e same pain on him...aiyah..i veri contradicting..

saggiegirl --> he din fall asleep, he jus self entertained himself lor, look at photos, play games inside his HP &amp; talk to co-ordinator. $300 is still ok but the more I think I could actually spend $300 on some other things, rather on the gown? As the more expensive range of designers' gown, my htb jokingly tell our co-ordinator not to bring them out for me to try.. hahaha... btw, who is ur WL co-ordinator? Mine is vernice, a nice lady.. =) my arms r growing¡K nw I keep eating snacks.. haiZ~ dunno when can I ever slim down? >.<

XKA, would it be less painful to him if u tell him u wanna divorce later on?

if he's not going to do anything abt it...be very firm and let him make a decision...i think it has come to that point from what you mentioned. sorry to have to say this...

Yeah i agree with aroh.. i think it would be even more painful for both of you if this issue doesnt get resolved and becomes the cause of a divorce subsequently..

best to attend MPC... juz take it as doing things together... but if after attending and he still the same den guess the answer is very clear...

qing> i think my hubby also will self-entertain lor...chatting with other coordinator, my mum, playing with my accessories lor.... LOL.... my coordinator is Agnes...hee hee.... haizzz now i also trying to eat more white meat like fish...to build up my constitution lor...

can slim down de...last time i tried hor...weekdays work like siao, weekends partor and driving and house hunting....sure can ...

hahahaha...dunnoe what hubby wld tell my coordinator... :P wait he say take out all the nice ones that top up a lot of $$$

ahhh i feel relieved reading all ur posts here. and i totally agree that mil treat us differently when we are their son's gf and when we are their dil. Totally DIFFERENT!

Yup, I think I am officially labelled as bad in her eyes cos' she actually don't allow me to go back to my parents' place to stay over, can only go back for visiting, but i don't care and went back every weekend to stay for 2 nights. What's the difference staying in ur house and my house? Not as if my hubby never go back with me. Kaoz.

at first she told us she's ok washing my clothes since all put into washing machine. After 1mth, she tell her son 'ask ur wife wash her own clothes.' I told my hubby to tell her next time no need to wash/iron her clothes. i hang clothes on the bamboo pole, she also no need help me keep. Walauz, see mood say things one loh. PMS then tell me wash my own clothes. In the first place, she offer to wash hor. If she continues her nonsense, I am going to tell her to cook her son's dinner, no need to cook mine. cos' i come back will cook my own. Ridiculous!

but i agree with u desjo, i can still endure. just need an avenue to vent. Vent to my hubby sometimes useless, he will say 'jus get used to it'. Else, he will just say 'ya lo, i also think she siao, duno wad she wans.'

well, i juz msged him, and he claims tat he alwaes tok to his parents lor aft wat they sae....

bt then no improvement...haizz....duno how to sae...

n from his point of view, he tinks he has done everyting within his ability lor...mayb im reali e one wif problems, not them...

yeah he is not keen but if he really wants to make the marriage work he will go... wat we learn in MPC.. it a decision to love... if he love xka he will make the effort...

huh? ur mil dun allow u stay over at ur parents plc?u nvr ask what reason?
nvm, chinese got a saying 'one wink of eyes,time will pass by very fast' ;p

keke... ya mil don't allow me to stay over at my parents' place. she din tell me, she pressure her son. So my hubby no choice have to tell me. My hubby ask her why, she say this kind of thing no need reason de, married le should not stay over there. Even want, the max is 1 nite. How come must stay 2 nites.

She really not understanding la. cos' she noes my parents come home for dinner at abt 10pm. i stay at my place only after 10pm then see them, sit down, eat and chat. she says can go home after tat, wad time liao?! everytime tk cab very ex leh. somemore jurong to amk is far de lo. hai... but i really rebel. i stay 2 nights every weekend whether she likes it or not. but my hubby got very unhappy w what i m doing.. but after what she told my hubby abt the washing clothes, my hubby decided that i can stay all i wan at my parents' place cos' he determines she's crazy and don't know what she wants. LOL!

I feel like telling her 'even ur son also stand by me, and thinks u r crazy!' very mean hor...

dun start blaming urself...persuade him to go for MPC...think that's the best way with a trained counsellor to talk to who is objective too

my hus also think his parents are the best...
i never think his parents are bad... of course.. but i myself of course will think my parents are the best...

But i got a feeling, once my kids are taken care by my parents-in-law, they will cling to them... and like what vallous say, cry when never see their Ah MA.... i think i am a real-life example when i was young, i behave like that...
i dun want that... i am selfish too, of course i won't want my kids to hate their grandparents.. but i want them to love me and my grandparents more.... hey its I ¤Q¤ëÊä­L one okay.... Not Grandparents okay...

another thing as what Vallous voice out... i see the way my mum-in-law spoilt her son... i know how my kids will turn out to be liao if i let them take care.... thats why i am very worried if they say they want to take care for me, i can't reject also... Unless i really JUE QING, just tell them No i want to take care myself or let my parents take care...

OOPS ,my hus better dun see this... wait he will scold me one

that time when we apply for flat, hubby say his mum can look aft our kids since nearby.. now his mum say CANNOT COPE LAH...blah blah....
i very jialat, mil busy looking aft SIL daughter so she say next time u give birth liao let ur mum look after lolz, i was like? wah lau, from Sembawang to Bedok Res is dram far lolz?? so if i really got kids, i'm really duno wat should i do? haiz....

Desjo: mi working in raffles leh? where got near! hahahaha.... now currently with in laws....

Grace: i agree with u when dating tis story aft married another story....duno when then can end.... ur MIL i tink she got menopause..wahahahha....

hi hi...
oh... how much u paid for the AD VG &amp; PG?
got any recomend??

ya.. heez.. my BS is venus.. i like their background and theme.. haha.. got victoria style, cinderella style.. etc.. kekkeke...
i tink all bride-to-be loves such theme.. ha
or is it only me.. kekeke

sharon... exactly what i fear. MIL told us faster have baby, she will look after for us. Judging from this wash clothes thingy, i have a hunch it's all a coax. if i have a baby, she will tell me she never ever said that. Then I jialat liao, cos my parents cant look after. I don't know how. Better play safe...

May i know how long it takes to print wedding cards?

I've not done mine yet.

Also, any recommendations for nice indoor locations (e.g. cafes/pubs etc) for photoshoots? I'm only doing mine next week!

Many things, so rushed, abit panicky now...

heez.. hi piggylover...

ya ya.. i saw the 3d rose gdn.. very nice..

if you go to their website, they got new theme.. heez..
i like it alot...

one ting why i chose Venus is becos.. in singapore, those BS's bkgrd seems quite plain.. but of cos.. plain has its own beauty in it as well..
but for me and my hubby.. both of us like fantasy theme.. heez..

whr u took urs?

cassabelle> hee hee my fren also took venue in JB coz her and her hubby are from JB so easier for them ba...but their photography is quite good

my BS is whitelink...same BS as Li Jia Wei...LOL

hmm...we paid $1988 for AD PG, VG, morning express highlights...with 2 CD and 300 photos in slot in album...

alkalime> hello
my ex-colleague took his bridal at Di Gio and attended his wedding in dec 08...photography is quite good and they allow couples to bring their own pets there
i think there is a designer called Casey (lady) and one MUA called Elson (guy) ....u can see their portfolio...

hi cassabelle, wow.. new theme sound real cool lor. hehe.. me n my frez did plan b4 take our gers frez PS there too.
the boss ( the PG) is very gd n friendly too.

im with bridal concept in s'pore. will b having PS in Apr09. exciting nw.. hehe..

hi saggiegirl...

so you took ur PS already? can share share ya? heez..
i heard abt whitelink oso... review not bad wor
so in total how much you paid for your PS?

hi piggylover,

heez... u got go venus b4? then u nv take up from them?

ha.. when's ur AD?
my hubby super gan jiong.. heez.. our AD is in Dec 09.. he say apr must go take photoshoot le.. keke.. tats y i now dieting super hard.. keke

i oso super excited.. hee ;P

ur PS how much ya?

cassabelle> our AD is on 6 dec 09...and PS on 15 May 09...LOL... we top up our package to 45 poses at a special rate lor...coz hubby worried mah...so in future we top up slightly more photos then the amount of $$ is not that much....hmm...our total package incl AD stuff is abt $7K as of now...

hello girls, i am a bit different from you all. Very contradict. I want neither parents to take care of my child.

I think they will only spoiled them and teach them things i do not wish my child will learn. My hubby thinks his parents can teach children but he has forgotten that they are promoted to grandparents le. It's different de.

I doubt my mum can take care of the bb. It's been too long since she last did. Plus, there are things I wish my bb will not learn from them esp if my bb is a girl.

I think i am the most selfish one haha.
But i need to work.

So i prefer no bb till i think i can dun work... (wishful thoughts)

;s

Jo, dec is winter in japan, i wanna go hokkaido during winter!! it's very cold but there's plenty to do! dunno how i will tolerate the cold though, coz when i was in tokyo in march, it was spring but i was already quite cold :P