(2009) Brides of year 2009

saggiegirl

littlewoman> no mention at all

weddingdoll

^^ hurhur.. just for fun (im compiling preweds for my montages) here's a few shoot taken last year by BlissBridalStudio. however, DigitalWorks are totally done by myself. all taken at studio with plain backgrounds. =)

1260962.jpg

inspired by Kenzo's advertis

1260963.jpg

inspired by a SHE's poster. haha

and here's one inspired by (obviously) the term Enchanted Forest..

1260964.jpg

actaully i wanted to set up a online biz offering this kidda digital enchantment.. just wondering..

weddingdoll

1260973.jpg

here's a Cinderella inspired. Its not me, its my coll. i did for her as a present. haha.
its also taken against a plain white background @ studio. the gown is actaully pink. I made it Blue to suit the theme..

any of u girls interested? haha

bliss_bb

Doll > We have requested our BS to do something like Enchanted Forest for our PS layout for some of the pics that were taken inside Studio with plain background. Hubby's fren did her PS and gave us the copies of her Photos for reference. We like the theme and layout as they are unique = )

bliss_bb

hi ladies, need your advise abt GDL.

For those who are staying in your own love nest or staying with own parents after wedding, what shall we do with the bedsheet which is suppose to present for GDL?

How abt towel, slippers, toothbrush & toothpaste?

bliss_bb

saggie > U have these for your dowry thus what will you do with all these item after GDL since it will not be given to the guy's side?

junel

Doll your design is nice!!

wah Ling...
GDL thing i dunno lei..
the less i know the less things will happen hahaha... my mum will be handling it... If she doesn't say anything then anything is ok!!

alxhan

Ling,
For my case, the bedsheets are to be used on the an chuang and till the actual day.

The towels can be kept at your new place, but those for the In laws will pass to them. Slippers, my mum told me to wear it on the night of the wedding, planning to bring it to the hotel, wear for a while and keep it. =)
Toothbrush and toothpaste and keep it for later use. Actually i still have alot, like soap containers, basins, bathtub, powder puffs. Grandma told me to keep those for later use.

What's gonna happen is on that day of GDL, hubby will bring all to my in law's place and then bring it back to our own home after 3 days.

bliss_bb

Doll, I will get to see my 1st layout early dec. Will share with u ladies = ).

wow.. thanks to my 2 ladies for their fast response... heheee...

Junel> my mummy didn't know anything but we buy cos it seem that most brides get it for their dowry.

ashley> oic.. wow thanks for your advise. I am thinking what should i do with those stuff especially my dowry which inlaw will get to see what the gal side buy during GDL.

Ling: For my case, I have 2 sets of bedsheets... one for GDL and one for An Chuang... I didn't buy those towels... but my mum told me to leave the toothbrushes on the bed after An Chuang till AD...

bliss_bb

littlewoman> oic.. hhumm... so 1 set of bedsheet which will be given during GDL then by when can we bring it back? Oh yes, did u buy the slippers?

Both of us same boat cos we stay with our parents = )

akino

i dont think we are doing the an chuang. as we are not buying new bed yet. think no need la hoh..

we only buy red bed sheets, towels. no basin no slippers...

saggiegirl

Ling & all> all the items for my dowry will be presented to in laws on the day of GDL. Thereafter everything will be transported via my FIL taxi to Woodlands which is our love nest

jenshines

My GDL takes place before an chuan so the bedsheet for GDL will be used for an chuan a few days later.

I see some brides selling off some of their GDL stuff at the buy and sell thread but I think this shouldn't be done since it is our parents who gave these things to us as dowry and they can be used in the future - things like towels, basin, etc. Heh. Or maybe I'm sentimental.

A lot of the items are already at our new house and we ll just put it here. On GDL day we will just bring the Teochew biscuits and cake vouchers to my parents place. From there we will start to go to relatives' house to distribute the items

hammiebao

pudding, u mean u giving angbao to those hotel banquet team? Or just your friends who help? Around how much?
I wanna ask how much is the angbao market rate for the following pple:
1)MUA
2)PG
3)VG
4)COORDINATORS FROM HOTEL
5)who else need angbao ? Haha

Thanks alot !
Things to be done by this week! 1 more week to wedding!
Emcee script, speech, photomontage, ad program list, coordinate with my pg,vg.. Hens night, bao angbao, bring everything to hotel....spa, nails..
I just read an overdue wedding magazine n it says brides should doing spa 6 months before the wedding.. I was like just started with scrub for my shoulders today.. Haha..

akino

my mum is always telling me she felt like kanna cheated. as both of us sharing... then she said why still need to give her tables as my own daugther is paying? wah lau... very stress...

babyhamham

hammiebao, u can refer to this thread for the rate that some couples pay http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/672693.html?1256568258

i estimate from there as well. my banquet team i only give yi si yi si $38, will pass to the banquet manager to disseminate to the team loh. Give here give there, really alot of $$ haha..
My MUA, PG, caterer, driver all give small token of $8 since we already pay them to engage their service. My hotel coordinator i tik is $18.

You need to give ushers, receptionists, overall in charge, flower girl, page boy angbao as well.

We same wedding day 21st right? Haha... i also kanchiong lol... what else u haven't done? Hey i didn't even go spa to scrub loh, i only DIY! Must go spa meh? lol

saggiegirl

akino> for ours, is hubby & his parents paying it

Garfield> similar case for a colleague's mother in law just passed away recently... for us we sort of having a mutual understanding ba....
... so i will not be inviting him to our wedding dinner....

rierie

headache manz...though my wedding in singapore is over, i still have one more in msia.

now hb tell me to change my gowns..cuz too revealing...does anyone know where i get nice gowns below $300 each?

need 2..

akino

hey ladies, do you all have this practice that normally on AD. when we go groom's place, do we bring along some cakes, or actually the groom has to bring to bride's hm after the tea ceremony there?

my MIL request again.. sianz, she requested more than bride loh.. well as what i know my cousin (groom)whom just got married actually brought some cakes to bride's house after tea ceremony. so i just wanna clarify

Charmaine > I actually sounded her ... and she mention to me, she waited for this day for many years le.
-.-"

saggiegirl > That's what i felt too, play safe, don't invite.

All > So happy, confirmed my GDL cakes today with Malaysia Yong Sheng too ... By the way, how come groom need to buy additonal set of "long feng" candle over to the bride on GDL day for her comb hair ceremony?

saggiegirl

Garfield>
ya... play safe lor...

for us we dun exchange long feng candles
we do away with it with the consent of both side parents... just the simple hair-combing ceremony lor...

done with our albums etc collection, final fitting, AD car, AD car deco, AD bouquet selections
now just left with gown collection on 3/12 PM

taime81

Just spoken to my mil, she also not sure what are the things to get / do. Ask us arga arga loh. =)

Garfield > It really depends on yr family if pantang a not. If it is my close friend, i will probably invite her if she and her family do not mind.

alxhan

Garfield,
As for the candles, i think it is bought by the groom's side and they are suppose to give one set to the bride on GDL day( leave the "long" candles and bring back the "feng" candles. And some brides will return another set of red candles in exchange of the "long feng" candles, which they call "花烛" so that it will still be in pairs. My mum bought it from those wedding stores. Don't think the candles are for hair combing day... thought its for the AD. But some ppl might be doing hair combing early morning of the AD, hence they light up the candles too. (i think so la...)

Charmaine,
No worries on not knowing what to get for GDL and all, for my case, we were blur as well. All we did was, we went down to the wedding shops at chinatown, asked the person and mentioned that we are getting dowry, they told us what to get. Most ppl will use angbao to represent certain things like the spittoon, basin, bathtub, etc. Some still prefer to get, like my mum insisted to get the full suit.
The items are actually not cheap. Spend about $500 odd just getting those items.

saggiegirl

Charmaine> cost of getting dowry varies
for us we went to chinatown market... less than $200 settle whole set

of coz the shops there will advise u what to get based on ur dialect group
the folks there are experienced and nice to guide u...
bring ur parents (mum, dad) along to get their 2nd opinion before making any purchase lor

peaberry

Oh gosh, less than five days to the wedding and we found out today that my FH's wedding ring no longer fits! I doubt we can get it resized by Saturday...
Ahh! Ladies, do remember to check your wedding bands okay!

akino: My HB and I are paying for the wedding dinner... But I am still giving my parents 10 tables; meaning that all the hongbaos for that 10 tables will be passed to my parents instead of my HB and myself.
For AD, I probably will be just bringing along a pair of Mandarin oranges.

octo

Hihi Ladies,

Hee.. here's my checklist.. seems like still quite some stuff to do. Hee.. burst through the Z.. hehe.. Is there any more stuff that I left out?

a) <strike>Collect wedding cards from hotel</strike>
b) <strike>Look for printer to print insert</strike>
c) <strike>Select my AD gowns</strike> Go for final fitting in early dec
d) <strike>Look for jm</strike>
e) <strike>Prepare for GDL items &amp; date</strike> Confirm with both sides on the list and proceed to buy them
f) <strike>Book food tasting date </strike>Meet up with hotel coordinator to discuss menu, wedding favors, ballroom deco.
g) Prepare our wedding shoes, groom's shirt accessories etc
h) Look for songs
i) <strike>Look for cakes suppliers</strike> Collect the cakes on GDL day
j) <strike>Help my mum with her outfit </strike>
k) Book mua for my mum
l) Start my dieting and also start to do facial (er.. still in time?)
m) <strike>Check with my colleague on their attendance</strike> Give cards to them &amp; RSVP 3weeks before AD
n) <strike>View my album layout, confirm the layout</strike> Collect album in early dec (during final fitting)
o) Select the hand flowers for the AD and car deco
p) Start on thank you speech
q) Start collecting pics/photo for montage and work on it – maybe skipping it
r) Do up the Angbao box
s) Order corsage flower for jm
t) Work on AD schedule &amp; dinner program
u) Prepare and check the teapot set to be use on both side
v) Order lunch buffet for AD on both sides
w) Buy the 4 dian jin
x) Settle on the guest list
y) Get floor plan from hotel &amp; prepare the table arrangement
z) Prepare angbao for AD (ie. Change for new notes, confirm the no. of ABs &amp; buy the packets)
2a) Book appt for manicure &amp; pedicure
2b) Email VG &amp; PG to finalise the AD details.
2c) Buy red wines and arranged for its logistics.
2d) Apply for Marriage leave with company
2e) Arrange for temp. credit limit increase with credit card co.
2f) Work out the list of item to bring on AD and the duties of XDs &amp; JMs
2g) Meet up with the XDs &amp; JMs to finalise the details on AD schedule &amp; duties
2h) Prepare HM stuffs (such as clothings etc)
2i) Change money for HM.