(2009) Brides of year 2009

Mashi, Sue> Thanks for the comments

Ete> Those are fake flowers you to any shop sell lots of fake flowers and you will get those. It dun look like real.

Sue> Oh you looking for BS ah... if you want I can sent you my package so you know what you are in for. You want my package?? If want you PM me your email address than tonight I PM you la.

Christy - I was looking at your pics. U look so beautiful
Pics are very nice...

Went to my Hotel yesterday for Wedding Show.. Saw the themes and some wedding favours.. Finally have a chance to meet up with my new Banquet Executive.

Christy> Your pix are nice! And your gowns very unique too! Oh, so I guess your hubby also cantonese? Saw the roasted pig! Looks yummy! hehehe

Mashi> Dun be sad la...The wait will be worth it want. Hehe

Pekochan - Hehehe.. how to agar?? I believe all gals in here keep reminding themselves not to "burst budget".. but in actual fact cannot lor.

I keep telling myself "will not to up" anything for my BS.. but look what I've done? I top up for extra EG.. I really cannot imagine what will happen when it come to photo selection.

So what is your budget leh =)

Iris> Thanks thanks... haha I still cannot get over my pics also kept looking at it :P

Pekochan81> Ya lots of pple say its unique too.. something different lor.. I heard from some brides who are with my BS say that my gown actually look like its from the fashion show...

My hubby ah not cantonese la.. he is hockkian.. I am also not cantonese but my family follow the cantonese law hahahah.. cause we speak cantonese most of the time lor. Ya the piggy is huge mah.. my mom paid the same price for my bro wedding but mine looks bigger maybe of the swine flu now the shop give bigger one to us :P

Thanks Christy...

Hmmm so on average u gals took 200++ photos? My PS said he took 400+ and hit his memory. May be each side X 2 that's why it's twice the usual hehee

We set aside 1k for top up

ete,
not really. i understand ta my PG took less than 200 for certain couples lor.

so it rounds bk to ur PG. c wat he more into, quality or quantity? my fren fr other BS say her PG took ard 300 lor.

so the more they took the more difficult to choose lor. keke... so gd luck. 1k mayb nt enough. lol....

iris> our budget is 0 budget actually! *IF possible* hahaha...maybe the most will top up 1 or 2 fotos juz to make the album look nicer. My hubs is the more rational one, so hope he can control me lor. Plus, our house all on reno liao, so cannot anyhow spend liao wor.

Christy> Hahaha...how come u is follow cantonese law wan? Oh! Are u on renotalk too?

Ete>

Pekochan81> Hahah I also dun know Hahah. Funny hor
maybe my mom want to claim back a piggy so she follow the cantonese law lor :P Ya I in renotalk too.. some of the SG Brides know that but I think you are the first to know in the Oct 09 thread.

Pekochan - I oso 0 budget coz saving = -000 now... whahahahha... got a new flat and had juz finished reno in early Jan.. vomitted out about 30K for it. Got to start from scrap again..

For ppl like us with new house and wedding preparation all together really super "sheong"

So all of U in RenoTalk?? I oso in there.. hehehe.. really informative =)

Iris> I understand how you feel cause I also doing reno and wedding at the same time. I have to finish the reno before July 2009 and move in and AD in Oct. Is super duper stress le when come to the reno part :P

tink all of us the same lar. if u hv to juggle wedding n reno, sure very siong de. be it mentally, physically or money...

so tell other ppl. dun plan all at the same time. try to spread it out. keke...

my flat nt here yet. tink only after AD then can get the keys. so dun even dare to tink of it. haiz...

my flat is not here yet too. haven't passed the 1st appointment. but it is tomorrow.

Still got to wait for the owner to get his house first before he is willing to move out. So, kind of rush for him since, the 2nd appointment should be arriving in 6 weeks time. He would not be able to continue his stay once the transaction is completed. Hopes he could find his house before 2nd appointment.

Christy & Iris> which ID did you get? inside RenoTalk, but purely read only. didn't post since I still looking around for information.

Exactly.. mine is not those D&B flat. Got to source for IDs.. discuss design.. select tiles.. more n more..

Luckly hell is over.. my hubby lost alot of hair during that period of time.. so poor thing..

peb> yes its chilli red! the top is satin n halter is black strip with crystal correct. think its mine. hehe long time didnt see that dress already. infact only seen once. this sunday going to see it again.

so the nail polish is better that finger n toes are about the same colour? i was thinking of RED for toes n pale pink for fingers.. humm

Mashi> Haha good luck to you too when your turn come to the Reno part :P

Dac> Tomorrow 1st appt excited
I got EL Design Solution saw his work in my frnds house "nice" theirs a EM and totall overhaul. I trust the ID/Contractor cause he is very detail in his work and give elect plan in 1st revision of his quote... layout plan given to us in first quote. Quite impress on his paper work and he is a Uncle.

iris> yah... need some time to change the layout. I had already sourced some ID/contractors, but the budget kind of high. So, i guess we had to reduce some carpenter work to save cost.

Haven't get to the selection of tiles yet... haiz.

Dac - We changed the layout twice.. cannot be too fickle minded coz in the end, both U and ID will get blur. Communication plays an important part.

I already minimise my carpentary. Did only a TV console, a shoe rack, kitchen cabinets and master bedroom's wardrobe. 30K purely Reno wzout furniture and lighting.. Kinda Ex

My ID throw in "freebies" such as hood & hob and dining set. But in actual fact already incl in our Reno bill. *blah*

Mashi - Not to sure what will be the interest like.. But I know that some IDs "tie up" with Banks and they give good rates if U signed up wz the IDs.. U may want to check with your ID when you sign up with them

Dac> I dun think Uncle got website... I go back and check and PM you my ID contact and I give you one more which also very reasonable.

Mashi> My gf and bro both take reno loan they told me that the interest is 7% which can kill. Even some bank website they say like 5% but after calculation its 7%. I am not taking bank reno loan.

Iris> Mine price is with elect cause we not hacking walls and floor tiles. So that one save about S$15k liao. Carpentary is ex lor.. and elect also ex.

Iris / Christy,
Thanks. keke. tink will check wif the ID first. then check wif banks.

haiz. doing up a flat is nt cheap lor. keke...

agree that carpentary is 1 of the killer.
do remember to check on ur elect n piping if u taking resale flat. becoz this 2 items muz b in gd codition b4 u move in if nt will hv probs in the future...

also check ceiling whether got any signs of leakage...

My PS is on this Sun but still haven have a fix locations of where to go for outdoor shooting. Wanna go for nature instead of buildings, am also trying to avoid places like Botanical Garden. Heehee~ Any good recommendations?

Mashi, where u go for ur outdoor PS?

Chris,

hmm. u can try horte park n labrodar park.
my PG brought me there for PS.

Horte park got alot of small corners suitable to take diff kind of pics. u can consider.

Iris> No choice de la.. reno is like that one... our house the elect cost S$1400+ plus we want to change all switch to designer switch another S$300+. This is the cheapest I have seen some other ID quote us S$800+ to just change all house switch to designer switch *Faint* Our is a 5I house.

Christy> Yeah! we're on renotalk too, that's why I saw your nick very familiar in there. Hey, we also took bank loan. Basically the lawyer will help u do everything. Even for the 2nd apptment, u don't have to go & collect the keys. Just prepare the cashier's order payable to HDB & pass to lawyer prior to yr 2nd aptment. The lawyer will then go thru with you all the necessary stuffs and they will act on your behalf.

iris, mashi> Yes! Planning wedding & reno at the same time really quite a nitemare! Now the weekends are like gone in a flash! Anyway, our reno will be done by this week! *yippie*...So probably this Friday will gota start the nitamrish cleaning process!

mashi> Reno bank loan really not very worth it. Coz we also did our sums & the interst is really a killer.

Basically if any ladies here gg to start your reno, prepare a list of stuffs you want to do, then email the list to those IDs u shortlisted. From there, you can compare the different rates on an apple to apple basis. Of course, must find reliable IDs. Same for electrical items. What we did was compile 10 electrical items of the model no. we gona purchase & mass send to the various electrical shops. You'll be amazed by the price they quote you for the same items! Hoped that this helps for those who're starting their reno!

Pekochan81> Aiya your information come too late lor I already got my keys 3 weeks ago and this week applying for reno permit liao. Hahaha.

Just to add on reno part> You and your ID/contractor must click also.. else also difficult to work together one

Pekochan81> I also have the same feel on the designer switch part le.. but hor I dun my hubby le. If I give the Uncle to do maybe i want to ask for Legrand Designer switch.

pekochan81,
can PM hw much u loan, fr which bank n the mthly repayment?
wan to get a rough idea on the loan tingy.

then tink whether shld we get loan or nt. haiz...
prob prob.

tink my reno will start after my AD. so shld b abit better ba...

Christy> Oops! Hahaha...pai sei! Guess u muz be excited to start your reno liao! I think even for the designer switch part, you can source for the particular brand yourself then pass to the Uncle to install. Confirm oso cheaper wan. Oh, then the VO oso can be a killer that will burst your budget. So make sure discuss & nego first before you sign on that part ya.

Initially we oso wanted to change to designer switch but our ID suggest otherwise. At most change those at prominent spots. In the end, we give up the idea

Pekochan81> Haha its ok la... infor for other BTB here lor. I know where to get the designer switch but was wondering how much more uncle is going to lower the price for the change of whole house switch to designer switch to just install and no supply if we buy our own switch :P He is charging us S$350 and I think its MK/Clipsal Designer switch.

mashi> Hehe...pai sei. No wor, house reno we no take loan. That's why nw is 0-budget liao! Haha

iris> We also changed the designer switch in prominent spots only! Hehe...like that can save some cost! Hehehe. Oh, but why yr designer don't advise?

Pekochan81> Usually the VO what they normally add har?? Cause I see from the reno quote its quite detail liao le. The electrical plan also out liao. Can advise the VO part usually what is added??

Think I will ask the ID/Contractor what brand designer switch he is giving :P

iris> Oh...okay. Actually it's okay lah. But of coz if got budget, best is to change all. haha

Christy> I think it depends on your reno process. Coz sometimes is in the midst of reno, you'll realised that adding certain things like false ceiling, lightbox or glass panel will make the whole place nicer. Of course you can choose not to add those items lah. Anyway, before they add anything, they should inform you the cost first then you can decide. That's what our ID did. For electrical parts, sometimes is when you go down on-site, then you decide to add in more points for future usgae. So that one also muz take into consideration.

Pekochan81> Oh I see... thought what.. I dun think we will adding more things cause no money unless Uncle want to give free... we try to bargain for S$16K incl of elect but fail... his quote came with discount S$18,500 and we ask for S$18K. Initial qtn was S$20,500 than we take away some item.