(2009) Brides of year 2009

I noticed that alot of BTBs are DIY-ing the jiemei corsages.. i'm a total DIY-idiot.. tinking of buying them instead..

did some homework and saw that there are 2 types of corsages: the ribbon-flowers type and the real-flowers type.. i'm more inclined to get the real-flowers type but curious to find out your views.. which is better/nicer?

Sigh...agree with Dianna,

They always reused the gowns and let other brides used it even though we booked it. I even chanced upon another bride who wore the same evening gown i chose for my AD and best ..my hubby's colleague called us to ask us if we mind cos my cheongsum tea dress i chose, his wife is wearing it for AD evening gown.

Sometimes I wonder why they dont have more choices..always keep on bringing out the same old ones. Whats the point of being 'exclusive' and "selected" or "reserved"....hmmm

Good day to all April 09 BTB. My AD is on 25th April 09. Happy to know so many April 09 BTB here. Hopefully more April 09 BTB can join in here and exchange ideas.

starskyz> I think ribbon-flower is nicer then real flower.. and real flower cant last till the banquet. you can go to plaza sing, sportlight shop to find the kind of ribbon and ribbon flower u like. they have quite alot to choose from.

ID Wedding Date
edazz 18th April 09
Des Loh 18th April 09
Soulsista 18th April 09
hpc 18th April 09
Sabine ?
Melissa 4th April 09
Min ?
Khim 25th April 09
Bearbearwife 25th April 09

mi too an Oct 09 bride to be..

ROM date: 28/10/07
ROM venue: Orchard Hotel
AD Date: 30/10/09
AD Venue: Searching
ROM PG: Academy
AD PG & VG: TBC
BS: Frech
Proposal & Wedding Bands: Lee Hwa Destinee
Lovenest: still searching..

Mine is confirmed 18 April. have confirmed dinner venue and now trying to confirm the BS (without photography as we want to choose our own photographer) and then find a suitable Christian church to hold the wedding.

So far, everything is under control and later this year, will work on buying a resale flat. For now, its to start to look out and pray that prices drop

Starskyz,

I find ribbon flower nicer... can wear until night too. not sure if real flower will still look fresh at night or not.

hw much did u pay for ur custom-made heels from leaping lizard? I intend to go down probably only in november. how long do they take to custom made the shoe?

my PS on 20Oct. let's pray for good weather!

Starskyz>> Real flowers petals drop easily. I tried once for my fren's jie mei. less den 1 hr my petals all dropped (cos i too "chor lor" liao)

DIY-ing can be quite time consuming. i DIY-ed one corsage yesterday. took abt 1.5hrs to complete the whole thing cos keep trying to perfectised the thing but I'm very happy with the end result
There's a sense of satisfaction lor. Will update my multiply probably tonight or tmr night so that I can show u ppl my workpiece. hehehe

Meiting>> Try Anna Nucci at harbourfront.They have nicer shoes than the one at Far East Plaza. I'm very happy with my purchase as I got my shoes last mth and there's a discount. Usual price is $69.90 I got the pair for $35. It's worth the buy.

Bought another pair of Lucieno shoes for my AD. 10% discount at metro last saturday. so is 10% off $99.90. *Yeah*

Will upload both shoes in my multiply as well.

Hi BTB,
Have u all plan the MC speech during the banquet?
I totally have no idea what kind of speech to write for my MC.

If u all have, can share with me thanks....

Now times are bad and everything so expensive so no choice have to DIY alot of things. Another DIY thing I did is my AP box. I know i very kiasu hahaha!

Btw i also tot of DIY-ing a cartoon slide show of hw me n my HTB met. hehehe.. cos the way we got tog is quite interesting. ;)

Joann>> Hotel will giv u a standard speech for the MC. Unless u have extra requirements I tink the standard speech shld be gd enough. Anyway at the end of the day who's gona rmbr ur MC. Hahaha! Unless is some shuai ge mei nu.

Ya $3 for 6 Ang Poa is kind of expensive but it is really cute. Something like that. Wanna get cute Ang Pow cause on my ROM all my friends give me nice nice Wedding Red Packets which are really cute and nice. So wanna get something special for them too but not sure what's the rate. $3 for 6 is expensive? Any idea what is the usual rate?

760210.jpg

i am also an oct 09 bride..

realise alot of btb are still searching for their lovenest.. all looking for resale flats??

I am also looking for my lovenest..

Hello gers... I long time no come in~

seem like I'm not the only one having problem with my BS. Btw~ care to share which BS u all talking about?

For my case, I didn't get MTM gown cos I prefer to see the real thing. End up I couldn't get a "Wow" feel kind of WG or EG. If to change BS now also not in time, MTM also rush~ Haiz...

May>Ya the hotel will give a standard speech, but too formal le.

My htb now is learning to DIY the video of how we met too.. but knows plain...
DIY AP box, i tort the hotel will provide for u??

glympse: hey guess what? just booked my bridal package and in the end, i didn't book the one my HTB was related to. He kinda of didn't want me to take it since i didn't really feel uncomfortable about it. for now, we're keeping it hush hush first... hows things for you? still gonna be a July btb or gonna be a Sweden BTB there?

You dun have to follow word by word ma can modify the speech abit. Make it sound fun or naughty. Ultimately depends on the MC if he/she can bring out the mood. If speech prepare so nice den end up MC is boring everything also go down the drain liao.

Hotel nv state got free AP box leh.. Only wedding favors for guests...

If u see my multiply i did a "cartoon" of me n my HTB in wedding costume. I shall put tat pic at the end of the slide and say "Happily Married ~ EnD"

hahhaha! Abit crappy. My HTB say i story writer :p

miss cupcakes - good for you! glad that u have a supportive and understanding HTB, that makes the difference
happy for u!

Actually, no longer going to be a July BTB ... now going to be an April BTB cos confirmed moving to Sweden :P BUT i'll still be keeping an eye on this thread!

May-> Your case is that you need to look for Jie Meis. My case is that I have too many ppl wanna be my Jie Meis. I came from a big family lo.
I have 2 sister, 4 cousin and 5 friends for Jie Mei. But my HTB only have 5 xiong di. So I wanna to have less ppl so that its easier to "manage"
At the moment, I'm unable reduce to only 5 persons yet. Its going to be a big headache for me.

I will be add you in my multiply. Look out for me ok?

thebsea and Starskyz -> I just had my parent meeting session last Sat at Red Star. Its very crowd lo. That is the first time I been there.
I took the corner seats as it is quieter there. But seating in the corner has a lot of bad points. To cut things short, I dont sugguest to go
"RED STAR" at all.As for Fortune Resturant, I saw online that the reviews are not very good. If I can choose again, I will go Dragon Gate
for Dim Sum. Just my thoughts

Joann :: Nope I din request.. Anyway nvm ba.. Already did mine so I'm alright tat the hotel din provide the AP box

fat fat :: Ya perviously I also had the same headache cos I have 6 very close frenz and some close frenz tat are not within the close frenz of 6 so hard to decide my jie mei. now is heachache no jie mei. very contradicting. someone one is them pregnant now... cannot be my jir mei liao.. cant even attend my dinner cos she shld be giving birth during that period. everything seems so wrong... 2 gd frenz getting married and giving birth at the same time. one of my jie mei also planning her 1st child liao. i ask her to hold back hahaha

Hey May

Dont mind me saying this but I think you should not put "Happily Married ~ EnD" Maybe "Happily Married ~ To be continued forever!" Something like that.

hahah! thanks fat fat for the idea! nice one! *thumbsup*

actualli stil tinking of wat to write for the story. maybe u can giv me some ling gan

Hihi! Haven't been checking the forum for a while cos been slacking big time. My AD's in May too.

AD:Sat 2 May 09
Dinner: HIPV
Bridal Studio: Dreamz Wedding (likely)
AD photographer: Lightedpixels
AD Videography: Forrest Productions

Just wondering, is it really expensive to engage a live band?

can add me in your list.
My AD is also on 21st nov, my banquet will be on separate day 27 nov, Intercontinental.

Still deciding bs, considering My Dream Wedding..

Hi fish, ya... YC charged about $1.8k, too exp for me. dun worry lah. i tink yvonne creation shud b alright, their gown very very nice!!!

the pistis studio, was trying to get into the website see VG sample but they do nt have it.. so sad.. wat u tink of their video work?

xiaokeai, yeah, tis weekend go shopp wif GF so may drag her along, since she's my bridesmaid cum coordinator! haha...

guinguin> i've seen pistis's work, not my cup of tea either. Mayb i shld go down to their office n take alook at more samples ba..

btw, wanna ask you gals..hw mani bridesmaid do we need? Does it have to match with the guy's side??

hi may

thanks for the info. will bring my frd to the harbourfront branch. didnt know they have a shop there.

anyone has any recommendation on the JOP? how do we "book" him? via ROM website?

Mine is also a resale at Queentown MRT, 4 room. I tried balloting but always fail, so end up with a resale.

Luckily the flat is quite nicely done up. This can save alot of $.

No problem. The outlet at harbourfront is new tats y they having sales when i walked pass the other day. not sure if they are still having the sales now...

U can find a list of JPs via ROM website. Den u select the JP and call him/her to ask if he's/she's available on ur wedding date. it's that simple. He/She will advise u wat to do next.

1st May: Benjymocha, Raine
2nd May: itzbitz
3rd May: poohise
8th May: Silin
16th May: YF (deariebride), geminiger, April
22nd May: ene
23rd May: envymoi, Jasmine
30th May: Lorraine
31st May: Blinkblink

So nice to see more and more ppl coming in

joann/meiting/may> okok, i get the drift now.. hmmm, you three are right.. mayb i should forgo real-flowers.. oh ya, i forgot to add, i have seen silk-flowers type in some webbie, but have not seen it in real life.. dunno those looks weird or not..

meiting> my customised pair costed me $190, lace and satin only.. said to take around 1 mth to be ready.. but in between, you'll have to go for fitting(s).. if major amendments required after the fittings, it may take longer to be ready.. mine took around 1.5mth cos one side require cutting(i have different sizes feet).. once i figure out how mutiply works, i'll post the pic of it.. =)

fatfat> hey, u had ur parents-meeting session liao? how was it?? thanks for the feedback.. yah, i noe how it's like at Red Star on a weekend.. hmmm, me gota re-tink abt going to Red Star liao.. have not been to Dragon Gate b4, is it good? more spacious?

Guess every yr is the same? :p
Some might want to prevent getting married in year of tiger, just like some of my friends prefer not to have a tiger bb? hmm.. :p

fatfat,
Thanks for the info. Maybe will consider the rest that Starskyz mentioned. Dunno how to go about the parents-meeting session. Any advice??

Hi Sabine/Min, please update us when you all have confrim your AD. Thanks.

Hpc-happy that you confirmed your wedding date.I will help you pray hard for resale flat to drop. LOL.

i also bought a resale toa payoh central 5-rm flat as HTB and I gave up on balloting. We tried twice and our nos are like 6000+

Updates

ID Wedding Date
edazz 18th April 09
Des Loh 18th April 09
Soulsista 18th April 09
hpc 18th April 09
Sabine ?
Melissa 4th April 09
Min ?
Khim 25th April 09
PK 25th April 09
bearbearwife 25th April 09