(2009/09) ROM in Sep 2009

im oso ROM-ing on 20.09.09..

Rach> thanks for starting dis thread... haha...
Anny here lah... din noe there's such a web till u said... lolx...

DnA> u annisan??? same as me???

We are also gonna ROM 20092009!
Looking around for venues and probably will settle for Aloha. Anyone have experience to share?

Cracking my brains on what else do we need to get ready.
Invitation cards, favors etc...

anny> hahaha... welcome to Singapore Bride..
you can log in to MBR's thread too.. u can read abt whats happening... u called them already or not???

Faith> u mean u doing it at Chalet? Mmmm.... have u booked ur bridal packaqge??? BS package normally comes with ROM MU and dress...then u can save on it..

Rach> Halo... hao de (: Oops... haven wor~ i will get the invoice no from des then call them... busi last weekend.. (: Thanks for your help... =P

Hi Rach,
Nope not yet, we dun intend to take a package yet cuz our customary will be another 3 - 4yrs when our flat is ready.
Dun wan to take up now, hehe.

So will have to source for alternative.

Rach> thanks oh.. heard from des u already informed MBR on the changes for us...oso gotta noe my MUA is Apple... (:
Reali Thankful for helping us... =P

Faith> ah.. icic.. Mmm.. it'll be good to start sourcing for a BS.. coz prices are always increasing.... it'll be good to lock in the price now.. haha...and its usually no time limit.. open package.. u can even have ur BS in 5 years time no issue de..

if u really just wanna get a simple dress.. you can try www.bridalcloset.multiply.com Elsie's a very nice lady to rent dresses from.. i got my 12 jiemei dresses from her!

anny> yeah.. i told them le.. i was there yesterday..

Do call them up to fix ur appt for fitting abt 2 months before ur ROM.. ideally, call them in Mar/Apr will be good.. then u can have more choices..

Hi Rach,
I'm just concern that if I confirm a package now their style might not be as good 4 yrs down the road and I chance upon something better I will be really sad.
Haha.

BTW sidetrack alittle. Is there any way we can track the threads?
Thanks for the link! Will check it out and also I heard Empire has got nice dresses too.
How about Dressmeup?
Heard both good and bad comments about it.

Faith> yeah.. u are right abt ur concerns..

I cant really comment on dressmeup n empire..coz i've not tried or researched abt them before.. hehe....

so.. u gotta find out urself.. but bridalcloset is really good..

Mandy> yeah.. u can only efile in Jun 2009..

If u are doin it outside.. u sure will get a slot.. so no need to worry.. if u are doing it at ROM, then u prob have to wait at 2359 at the PC..the moment it hits 12am on ur date.. click to book..especially if its a hot date!

anyone 29 Sept 2009?
Wow.. You all already found your PGs? Thats fast.. Anyone can intro me? what should i look out for when hiring a PG? Or Should i confirm the solemnization venue before hiring the PG? ANd Bridal Package? is it too early to sign up now? 2009 Rom, 2010 AD.
Kinda blur and struck now.. Always thought its still early, Dont know what to start with first.. = (

TheMoments> hi!to know which PG u should hire.. first u should ask both urselves what kind of style do u like...
There're alot of jounalistic styles ard lately...which captured candid and natural shots.. there're also other more old fashioned styles where u just look into the camera and smile..

you can check out www.melvinho.biz

He's good.

You can check out bridal packages and look ard.. its good to sign early...as prices are ever increasing...
Lock in the price before it goes up..

you can check out www.mybridalroom.com

You can check out at least 2 or 3 and then compare first.. before u sign up with anyone.. dun ever be coerced into signing on the spot..with just freebies.. always be able to leave the shop comfortably... and have time to think soberly ... before u decide which is the best u like.. in terms of service, gowns, photographs and staff..

Thanks, Rach!
Hmmm.. will take your advice in consideration. =)

Maybe this weekend, im going to JB bridal shops and take a look, and then 31st Oct, going to bridal fair at suntec, to view too..

Is it better to sign package during the fair? or at normal time, walk in to the shop? hmmm...

Btw, what the normal rating for ROM PG? Do you all know?? =*) Sorry, too much questions.. = P

TheMoments> welcome!

You can try Dawn Bridal or SG Bridal in JB..they are pretty good..

Suntec ah.. i dun think the shops featured are that good... haha..personal preference.. If u really like their stuffs.. i would suggest u go to their shops and take a look before u sign.. usually.. if u are really interested.. they can still give u the road show price package even after u go back... coz all they want is business....

So dun be conned by the people who just simply throw in freebies.. most impt..they must be concerned abt ur dress, service rendered to u...etc..

if u want to.. check out the list of shops that will be featured.. then u go their shops to check it out...then sign at the fair if u really like it still.. its time consuming.. but who says wedding preparation is not?

So.. u can have a better idea of how it'll be like and who's better.. of coz during fairs they'll throw in 1 or 2 freebies... and if those freebies are really important for u... u should check out the shops before 31st.and then go on 31st to sign..

But not all shops listed inside are worth lookin at...some u dun have to go at all.. but some are worth considering..

My Bridal Room wont be at the fairs though..

ROM PG can range from $250-$1000.. depends on who u engage..and whats ur preference and budget..

Hey Rach!
you replied fast.. Hehehe...
Yeah, heard alot about SG bridal. Just wonder hows fable and venus too.. So this weekend will travel down and have a look.

Just check out My Bridal Room website.. Nice Nice.. But is their service good? I have lots of friends sign up with GHA.. Cos of their good services.

Haiz.. Just afraid making wrong decision. = (

The Moments> haha.. yah.. was at the PC when i saw ur posts..

Yah..SG Bridal is really not bad.. have a Sept Bride from there.. but then.. abit msia style loh.. but still..its one of the better photos we've seen..

She has a good figure too la..

Venus is so so la.. have a personal fren from there.. i've seen a no. of PS too.. haha..all similar..

MBR service is VERY good..

Why dun u check out their thread.. go to Bridal Studios...under My Bridal Room..

I've people said GHA very pushy.. but i find their gowns pretty too..

They are one of those i'll ask people to consider too..

CHeck out a few... see which u are most comfortable..slowly decide.. dun be coerced into signing..

Hi Rach!
Hmm SG bridal, is good. But i dun quite like the album design. But will still take a look. Venus, i agreed. All similar.. Hehehe.. GHA i feel ok ahh.. service good. MBR, i will go down and have a look too. BTW, who is your coordinator? How about YC?? what you think?

Hehehee.. yeah.. i dont wish to have too much choice. So i limit myself to 3 Spore, 3 JB. If not, i will be stress on comparing. wahahaha.. = )

TheMoments> yah.. i saw my fren's individual shots from SG Bridal.. very nice. haha.. but didnt get to see the final layout though..

What abt the albums u dun like?

I was served by almost everyone inside..so all can be considered as my coordinator..

Look for Uncle Quek to talk abt package.. he's the best person to negotiate..

Tell him Rachel introduced u there de..

YC ah.. Mmmm.. u better think thrice loh.. i've a fren who was totally disgusted by them.. but well..i've never been there.. i shant comment.. you can check out their thread in the forum also..

You can have a better feel ba..

haha.yeah. u are right.. how abt Di Gio? Nice albums too..but i heard their EGs not that fantastic..
Only nice WGs..

Rach,
erm.. i think individual have different opinion. Their shootings are nice and great. but just that the smoky and mystery feeling and the color combination, i dont quite like. hehehee.. But i will still travel down and take a look.

YC? what happened? care to PM me share? i nearly sign up with them. Their gowns are nice.. and i feel quite ok, but abit pushy.. hmm.. oh.. care to share abit on ur package as well? kekekee... PM me woh!

TheMoments> wah.. thank God you didnt.. i prefer u find out from the thread urself ba..

Have a sept bride from there too..she wasnt really happy with them..and i've heard some stories too..
but just hearsay.. u decide for yourself ba..

My package ah.. i'll PM u..

Rach:
Wah... thats serious? Hmm.. whos the sept bride? can give me some feedbacks?

Rach, how long or when you sign up with MBR? Your big day next year??

hihi all..

I am new here.

ROM on 20092009 too. But really have to book the JP and PG in advance?

I am suddenly panicking that i cannot find one who's free that day!!

HELP

sheyanne> you can start to call the JP about 6 months in advance.

Before that. fix ur ROM venue and timing first.
Once that is done, you can call ur JP and check if he's available. Timing can be adjusted if need to.. check back with ur venue to see if they can change the timing booked. say from lunch to High Tea. or vice versa. being a hot date..there's a lot to confirm before hand.. coz alot of people will be booking JPs for this special date!

Venues are also another problem..
Make Up Artists too..

So, please ensure u start sourcing and book them now..

You dun want to end up doing the MU yourself.

PG you can already start booking..there's plenty in the market.. look for one that is within ur budget.. it ranges from $250 - $1000 for just ROM shoot... depends on how pro and nice their shoots are..

you can check out www.melvinho.biz he charges $588 for ROM though..

U can also start to look for BS if u intend to have ur AD in the next 2-3years. its cheaper to book them now than to wait till later on then book them..

My BS was www.mybridalroom.com

Usually they can throw in free ROM dress and suit...
Top up about $70 for hairdo + transport.

Its cheaper that way. u can save more..

there's a lot of thread in SB forum..check them out...see their comments and reviews of people who have used their service... go down talk to them...and see which is the one u prefer..

Do not be enticed to sign up at the first try... try a few shops..see the diff first...

Some shops tend to be real pushy..so be determined not to sign on the spot.. even if u leave and come back another day, i'm sure u can get more than what they promised u on the spot.. dun be conned into what they say...

Always give urself time to think over which is the shop u prefer..

Try some gowns.. test their service..

You'll learn after going to a few shops..

3-5 would be a good gauge.. but do check out the forums first before u go check out the top 5..

Jiayou!

Just realised Faith asked about tracking the thread...

there's a section under ur profile... send me emails to replies to my post.. check that box...

All replies to ur post will be sent to the email u registered..

You can read from there...and come here to post..

Hi Rach,

Thanks alot for your help!

I will ask HTB to call up his dad's friend who is a JP so we can book him in advance first as it's a HOT date (20092009)

We have booked our ROM venue and date already.

Will definitely take your advice and look up a photographer. =)

btw, do you have a checklist of what to do for ROM?

As in the planning part.

sorry for being so clueless =X

sheyanne> hi, actually there's nothing much to do now for ROM..

Basically, since u've already gotten ur venue and date already, just need to ensure u get a JP confirmed...

THe rest will be ur Make Up, PG, VG (if you want), Dress, Suit, Bouquet...

And also send out ur invitations to ur frens and relatives...being a hot date, many of ur fren's frens would be getting ROM too.. u would want to ensure ur frens can make it for ur special day..

Just them know and book them in advance..and confirm ur no. of guest with ur venue..

ROM is much much simpler.

You need to meet up ur JP to sign the consent form.. it be be after or before u efile.. as long as u have the consent form signed 3-5 days before ur ROM..

Once you efile, earliest u can do so is on 20th Jun 2009..then you wait for the date that is allocated to u by the system to go and collect ur cert and make some declaration.... after which....

You just give ur JP a call again to inform him u've collected ur certs...

Then...just wait for the Big Day to arrive...

One thing to note when u efile...

For the Venue, please dun write in the whole address...it'll look very ugly on the cert.. unless ur address is very short....
For Example.. i had mine at Merchant Court Hotel...

So we wrote:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside Upper Deck
20 Merchant Road, Singapore XXXXXX

It appeared as:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside Upper Deck 20
Merchant Road, Singapore XXXXXX

As if its Upper Deck 20.. u get what i mean??
And in the end.. we had to spend $15 to reprint another cert.. coz i just dun like the Upper Deck 20 part...

So ended up with just writing:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore.

Some poeple may ask.. what if the place ceased to exist in future?

Then its raelly up to your own preference la..

Just something to note... if u know how the cert looks like... the cert will put something like...

xxxx & XXXX were solemnised at ___________________ on date......

So its very funny that u are solemnised at the whole address... u know what i mean?? ahhaha.. :P

babe,

ur such a great help!

and you can reply fast.

=D okok, so for nw, htb n i shall go hunt 4 a bridal studio and get them to include ROM Make Up, Dress, Suit and Bouquet..

LOL..

THNAKS BABE!!

hey rach,
i didn't know that the printing will look so out of point! luckily u mentioned this. i will just put the name of the hotel then! haha.

sheyanne> yeah. u should..and rem to check out www.mybridalroom.com as well..

they are really nice and good service..

tell them i recommended u..

Better deals. hahaha...

Pebbles> yeah.... and its automated by the system..cant alter or change at all.. they wont know how it looks like till its printed out...sianz loh.. haha..

I'm planning to do my ROM on 090909 too. =)

Faith,
DressMeUp is so-so only. They are mostly very simple designs so if you want something really special, they may not be the one for you.

Plus,I feel that some of the dresses look too worn. And you had to travel all the way to her house to view...

Thanks elyse.

Will probably go look around for others.
how about empire or jess ?

heys sheyanne! we are having our solemnization on 20092009 too!

you're welcome, faith!

don't know about empire or jess though.
try daniel yam's dresses?
my cousin recently bought a pretty white dress from daniel yam at tangs vivo, and it was only S$90+

We intend to hv our ROM on 090909... bt me scare cant get the date coz its a hot date.. intend to hv it in the ROM center.. bt scare cant get book a slot at 090909.. then last min cant get JP..

headache.. ladies, any suggestions any bridal shop hving cheap ROM package??

Hi Cecilia,
If you're going to hold your ROM at a hotel, most hotels are booked. What I know, Amara Sanctuary, Crowne Plaza and Mandarin Oriental are still available.

If you wanted only ROM package from bridal shop, then might as well DIY yourself. Unless you are getting the wedding shoot package (then your ROM dress etc will be included free), then it's not worth it to get from bridal shop.

hi Elyse,

DIY as in get the ROM dress separately.. hairdo, makeup..groom suit.. hand bouquet.. all separately?? izit tat more exp??

actually intend to hold a simple lunch cum ROM at peony jade.. but nw, thought of having at ROM center then go peony jade for lunch or dinner..

any idea if peony jade still available??

Cecilia> i think if u really wanna do it at the ROM.. u gotta stay at the PC on 8th June 2350pm...
once it hits 12am.. u gotta book liaoz.. and u better go to the website to get urself familiar with the screens first so u can be fast..

Why do u want to do at the ROM? Consider outside? it'll be nicer..

CHeap ROM package is hard to find.. but if u take up main package for AD.. they'll usually throw in ROM package FOC..
when's ur AD? if its in 1-2 years time.. u can consider getting a full package now..

can check out www.mybridal.room

There's a thread in the forum too..

You can call Peony Jade direct loh.. i know sept most dates are gone..

It might be better to just hold it at Peony Jade direct..why travel here & there?