(2009/09) ROM in Sep 2009

Yeap, Cecilia, contact Peony Jade directly but like Rach said, most Sep dates would be gone. I never contact them before so I'm not sure if 09 Sep is still available but what I gathered is, most cheaper places for ROM are already booked for 09 Sep. Only the more ex ones are left. That's why my choices was narrowed down to Ritz, Changi V and Amara Sanctuary.

If you want, I can recommend MUA (makeup & hairdo are done by one person) to you. S$150. But she's booked for 09 Sep evening by me. =p Groom doesn't really need suit for ROM. Just shirt & slacks will do but if you really want whole suit, I'm sure your fiance would have his own right? Hand bouquet you can get at any florist.

If you sign up wedding shoot package, most of the time they'll include hand bouquet and ROM dress rental for free.

Ms Angeline Loi 97272133

You can ask her for her portfolio if you want to have a look. I'm not sure if there's extra charges for public hol.

Hi Elyse & Rach,

Ive booked Peony Jade for 090909..lunch.. also manage to secure a JP for tat day.. at least d 2 impt things which i think may hv to 'fight' with others are secured..

Thanks ladies for the infos.. else i will still b waiting and waiting.. hehe.. :p

I will try to lok for Ms Angeline Loi for the MAU.. think is the most reasonable 1 i c so far.. many charge ard $250 for Make up and hairdo..

Congrats! You must have let out a sigh of relief when those two are striked out of your list right? =)

As for Angeline, I am confident of her (for my own makeup) because my 2 friends got her as MUA before. Hope you'll like her portfolio too.

Hi Elyse,

Ive called Angeline too.. she agreed to b my MUA on 9/9/09.. her response when she heard 9/9/09 was cute.. she told me she got appointment on tat day n is evening.. then i told her i knew it n u recomend her to me..

she sounds v amiable ov the phone.. bt yet to send me her portfolio.. you can send to me?? cant wait to see.. can email me.. my email : [email protected]

nw that ive kinda finalise some of the impt things.. mre relax.. nw let gown n wedding band..

bt another bomb juz drop.. both me n my HTB co are deducting our salary by 10%.. shit lor.. really budget constrain nw.. scare may jeopadise my ROM due to financial..

Cecilia,
Yah, she's very nice and friendly.

I don't have her portfolio with me leh... Sorry. She sent me 2 years ago when my friend wanted to get her as MUA, but I think I've deleted it. =p

What time is your appointment with her? Coz I may want her to start on mine early... =p (So that got time to go around hotel taking photos before my ceremony.)

A lot of places either retrenching or deducting salary. Sometimes I wonder if we've chosen the right time to get married... Sigh!

I have just got married and i had a very good pg and a nice JP and a nice Mua as well. I promised to help them to give good recommendation. Therefore should you need any of the above service, you may PM me and i can send you the details. Just in case the moderator thinks i am doing a business.

Both MUA and PG is charging at a very affordable rate.

Halo Sharon... sent already...
was sharing with the mar 09 brides on the florist details... you can check that out if you are interested...

hi hi every BTB,

realise most of u r holding ROM on 20Sept 2009 which im plannin to hold on tat date too but still haven done any preparations yet.

just wonder where are the places most of u are holding ur ROM on that date?

Hi Elyse,
me long time nv come into this treat.. my appointment with Angeline is in the morning.. at 9:45am.. coz she said she nids 1 n 1/2 hr for makeup and hairdo.. n i nid to reach peony jade by 12.. coz my soleminsation is at 12.30pm..

got her portfolio.. its nice..

Hi, can any1 tell me, when i book for a solemniser will he ask mi for details like couple's name, venue, timing to be sent to him? I juz called a JP and he is available for the date of my ROM and I was so relieved to hear tat as alot of JPs was already booked.

But to think back, he only agrees verbally on the phone, without asking me to send any details to him..

Can some1 enlighten me with the procedures..

Sharon> really that alot of JP is being booked for sept le? yup.. they will ask for venue and timing details... as for couple's name i think he/she will ask oso de... (:

Sharon> the min he should ask will be date and time and venue.. And prob ur name...
he should at least be writing something down ma..

By June call him again and confirm... and u'll have to efile by then too... if u worry.. call him again in March to confirm..

Who did u call btw?

annisan> u still have yet to call ur JP??

Hi Sharon, mos of the JPs was being booked already? Oh no, i still have not look for any JP yet as i do not know how to go about choosin JP for my ROM.

You all can try Mr Chan Kai Yau.
He was my JP when i ROM last May.

He's a very nice, experienced JP.. look for his thread under the JP sections.. great reviews... for his pics.. you can refer to my rom slideshow..

www.melvinho.biz/slideshow/rara

He only has home number though. 62356143.

Hi rach, thks for the recommendation.

come across a thread havin bad review on JP Chan K.Y. but nt sure if its referring to the same person anot.

dolphin> yeah.. read that before.. as u can see.. that was a very outdated post.. the couple had their ROM end 2007.. i had mine May 2008... so who'll you trust? besides, on his own thread..there're much more postive comments than that negative one u saw..

As you can read... the couple wrote Mr Chan asked what they call him for?

Do u think being so experienced, he would need to ask such a silly question?
I guess whenever the home phone rings, 80% of the time, those who are looking for him are inviting him to be JP....

Hence, i feel its the way the couple called and ask la.. he prob felt offended... one other thing to note would prob to ensure that when u call... he actually note down ur details.. once he write it down.. i dun think he'll forget.. not to forget.. he has the right to accept or reject a couple who calls him too.. if they are rude or he dun feel that he's interested to help..any JP would be able to give any reason why they are not available..

Of coz.. we will never know the real reason... but personally.. he's been very very polite to me from the day i called him.. just a bit sacastic on the 1st time coz i wanted to have my ROM at a very ULU place initially.. he asked if its coz we love fishing thats why we are having it there... but i did change my location later to Merchant Court Hotel which would be better for him coz he was rushing from another ROM in town to mine...

So my change of location was also partly coz i wanted him to be able to solemnise our wedding..

I assure u'll never regret having him as ur JP.. just like many of us in his thread..

If you look at the count of the posts posted on his thread.. you can tell.. he's indeed one of the most popular ones...

of coz.. another one u can try is Mr Chia Ti Yu... alot of good reports abt him.. and my PG met him like 10 times for ROM liaoz.. they even like know each other by name... hahahha..

rach> not yet wor~ i will act fast now le... hopefully i can get a good JP... *pray hard* nv knew that sg brides are realy that kiasu man.. lol =D

After looking thru Mr Chan Kai Yau pics.. think i saw him solemnizing at my HTB bro ROM.. he nt bad.. can joke alittle when he ask the bride n groom to look at each other to read the vows together..

bt the thing i dun really like is the way he wants the couple to read after him tat time.. coz cant hear wat he says properly.. coz they solemize in chinese.. i will b soleminzing in chinese too..

Cecilia,
I don't have her portfolio... =p Care to send to me? =p

Then I can get her to do my makeup earlier. Hehehe...

Hi rach, tare_dolphine

I didnt log in for a few days, thanks for the concerns n advice given. 3-4 days after, my JP, Mr Tang, actually sent my HTB an email to confirm the whole matter. Relived.. He is very responsible in a sense. I gt worried for nothing..

tare_dolphine, most of the recommended JPs in this forum are mostly booked on the day of my ROM (09/09/09) and my timing of 7pm..

Do act fast..

sharon> oh most of the recommended JPs in this forum r booked for 09/09/09 liao ah.

but i gt a couple of other dates in mind just in case the venue i want to host my ROM is taken up liao as i still have not confirm a venue yet. my god -_-

tare_dolphine> yeah some of the JPs i approached like, Mr Yeo, Mr Chia, Mr Koh are already nt available on the date n time of my solemnization already..

I oso haven confirm my venue.. :P

hi ladies....

yesterday i've just gave the JP a call... haha.. lucky she is available. but then she asked me to call her again in july... my rom is on 090909. she said me abit too kiasu now to book her but she can understand our feelings because it's a popular date. LOL...

Phew.. finally settled my venue, JP, wedding bands, BS package..... all those impt things are done!

Hello!!

HTB and i called up a JP too! JP's actually my future FIL's friend and he too said we were abit too kiasu to call so early and asked us to call him again in Jun. Haha..

My rom is fixed on 20092009 lunchtime.

Gosh.. Seems like there's still quite alot to do though venue, JP, wedding bands had been settled.

*faint*

carol & sheyanne> wa ladies so fast u hv settled on ur rom venue, JP etc. for mine, nothin settled yet -_-

by the way sheyanne, where would ur venue be at cos im thinkin of holdin my ROM on 20Sept 2009 too?

are you gals sure that most of the popular JPs are taken up? coz i read in another thread that most of them dun accept any booking syet becoz it's too early...Can clarify ma??

> XiaoKeAi & Elyse: I am not sure if the popular ones are already booked cox as i said i called and he asked me to confirm with him again in Jun. hehe..

>Tare_dolphin: HTB booked Orchid country club in 2008. =D

sheyanne> tats fast u hv booked 1year in advance then u should hv feel more relieve nw since venue is confirmed le, one less thing to be worried abt

Oh ya, i want to thank Rach for the help given during my first log into this forum =D

sry that i MIA for so long cox i lost my password =X

> Tare: haha. Ya, booked in 2008 cox HTB was working there previously.

thought he was a tad too kaisu but thinkin bk, i am glad he did. =D

haha... my JP said I'm kiasu too... she asked me to call her again in July. Hopefully there's no hiccups on that time if not i'll faint!

Most of the popular JPs really being booked leh... or they are not free at the specific timing you want, so must ask early better.

I think most JPs will ask to return call again 3 months before the actual day.

But some really allow you to book early in advance..

Like in Sharon's case =)

sheyanne> haha.. u are welcome.. just sharing some advice from experience...

those still looking for PG..and have the budget can consider www.melvinho.biz he's charging $688 for ROM.. but he's real good..

yes they will ask u to call again to confirm.. but u never know if you are fast enough.. and they'll understand de.. but the fact that u call first.. at least they have an idea..
u dun wanna wait till u call them in june nad htey tell u they are already taken.. that'll be very sad..

XiaoKeAi >>> the JP have to depends on ur timing if they are available or not... so cant really tell u who are the popular ones tat are taken... for wat i know, those popular ones are not available for the timing i want