(2009/09) ROM in Sep 2009

Congrats, XiaoKeAi!!

Me too.. I confirmed my guests liao!

Be prepared brides to be..

A couple of my friends cant make it to my ROM on 2009/2009 cox long weekend..

They goin overseas trip.. =X

jes407 > is urs on the 20/09 too?
i only verbally informed the helpers. but will invite them formally via phonecalls and e-invites. perhaps mid aug like what celine suggested or stick to early aug.

sheyanne > yaps we thought of that too but guess it's a 'bo bian' thing.
one of my best gfs can't come too cuz her dad just passed away.

Hi there.. possible to seek some advise on "Ang Bao" receiving during solemnisation ceremony ? Are you guys expecting any or forgo with it since there will be a wedding dinner sometime next year or two ?

I will be having solemnisation on 20th Sept and is in a dilemma............ cos my parents and also future in laws asked their relatives not to give "ang bao" until our chinese wedding... I am speechless......... =(

Hi Tian Xin,
most peepz frm the older generation dun see e need to giv AP for ROM, coz to them, the customary is the more impt de. Its juz that e fad now is to make your ROM as 'nice' as your wedding. So, do not bear too high hopes on receiving alot of APs. But of course, there can alwaes be exceptions happening.

Most important is to spend what is within your needs, and dun expect to use APs to cover. This is the same for banquet. Dont expect guests to give $150 per pax even if you have it at St Regis or Fullerton.

Sheyanne - guess that's the way it is

XiaoKeAi - m spending within my means, just didn't expect them to tell the relatives not to give. If I were them, I will just invite and leave the after gesture to individual... Well... as as u mentioned... older generation loh

tian xin > actually we prefer ang baos than pressies too. but i think it's not too nice to 'inform' our friends and relatives about that. it's alittle 'su(1) qi(4)'. and i guess whatever they get for us, it's blessings to our marriage =D

but ur in laws n parents so cute also. keke.
my parents did say didn't know must give ang pao also, cuz traditionally they don't practise that. but i did jokingly say of cuz must have lah. keke

but it's hard to cover ROM costs actually.

Ya lor Faith... I totally understand... They are cute..? Yes quite a nice one, know what's my reaction when they told me ??? My face was stiff and went "don't know to cry or to laugh or to say WELL DONE" Lolx...

mayb they meant it out of courtesy?? older generation is like tat de..

my wedding oso i sure lose $$ de...coz im having wedding wedding, and everiting is so westernise..haha....mani peepz still tink its veri cheap to hav a wedding like tat...but it is in fact more expensive than the usual chinese banquet...tink wif e money i spend, can go fullerton le...haizzz

Actually it isn't a must to give angpow during solemnization... Most guests will opt for presents (like those gifts from Precious Moments etc..) Hence, i didn't invite relatives otherwise they will be attending twice for our wedding.. I only invite close friends / colleagues & immediate family members..

Finally i have settle my verbal confirmation & e-invitation.. Now waiting my bf's friends to confirm before i arrange the seating plan..

Currently, pending florist & photography services..

ya i agree usually guests will buy gifts instead of ang pows from ROM reception.
guess when we decided to hold a outdoor reception we should already know it's a loss liao. hehe

most importantly is we enjoy ourselves on that day

Ha... hii ppl, i m also having my ROM in Sep.
Ohh.. most of the times we will receive gifts instead? haaa... i prefer ang baos. yes my parents also dun Noe must give haa..

for my case.. only invited immediate families and a few relatives.. think they will give ang baos.. bt watever it is lor.. rom is nt so costly.. so still ok even if mk a lost.. for us, we nv expect any gains for rom lor.. :p

i agree with u, CH!

I think ROM is usually a loss de..

But not so ex to prepare compared to the actual weddin so not tt bad..

But alot of my friends told me that even their weddin dinner they loss money =X

All Sept ROM couples counting down quietly & patiently.. haha!!

Anyway i have settled most of my preparation, only pending JP's signature for consent form.. oh ya & our shoes & heels.. that's it..

next mon is my photoshoot .. n i haven buy my heels yet.. 1 question to ask, can we wear the shoes for photoshoot to our ROM ? i only noe AD muz wear brand-new de .. ROM need mah?

hi jes,

mi advise is dun wear new shoes for PS...depending on whe u go, u might end up dirtying the shoes....

i have neva heard od muz wear new shoes for AD...i onli koe cant take off shoes...

i think to wear new heels for AD is because bride tends to wear & walk around the house so it'd be cleaner to wear a new pair. (correct me if i am wrong)

My personal opinion can wear the same for ROM & PS (as what xiaokeai said.. dirtying the shoes etc..)

hi all i am a sep bride to ..hope not too late to join this thread. my rom date is on 9 sep..now sourcing for a cheap VG for my rom..any recommendation?

hi ladies!

i just took up another package for MUA and my ROM dress despite already bought my dress for my 20/09 ROM. :/
Very 'jia lat' hor. '3 xin 2 yi'.

But I'm looking to sell the one I bought, it's from Love Potion. A very nice never worn before toga dress. Keke.
Anyone interested???

Now I have to change my decor and hand bouquet too :/

JP: Mr Chia Ti Yu

Venue: Orchid Country Club Ruby Suite

I didnt take up any bridal studio cox our actual day not set yet.

Everything's settled already.. just waiting for the day to come =)

hi ladies, Im new in this thread, I will be having my ROM too on 20092009.

Does anyone of you can suggest a venue to have international buffet? I plan to invite my guests for an international buffet after my solemnization at Botanic Garden?

can try the international buffet at Merchant Court. Is nice too.. nice food, nice ambience..

hi miko, if you are doing your solemnisation at botanic gardens, why not try villa halia? nice food... erm, but not international :-p. at least don't need to think about travelling...

Hi gals!! i' new to this thread. Also having my rom in sep but on 26 sep instead on 2009. Any recommendation on where can i get a nice dress? been searching ard but don't see a really nice one

First wanna congrats all of you for your ROM.
My ROM is also in Sep, 20092009.
A super hot date, many venues are fully booked.

I am new here. hi hi.. hi all.. lol

We hv secured venue n buffet, invitation cards, almost confirm guests, filed online, booked JP n pre-wedding album settled.

Yet we hv not found good gown and flowers yet. so stressed. any recommendation?

Thanks gals. =)

Wee Ling

Hi Wee Ling!

You can try this florist at AMK 500+. It's near Botak Jones beside a DVD rental shop.
De Flora Collection. Sharon (lady boss) is very good and very creative.
her prices are reasonable too.
I got my hand bouquet from her too and she taught us hw to wrap our favors.

Hi Wee Ling

Welcome to the club! My ROM is on 20092009 too. Where are you doing your ROM?

Re flowers and dress, where do you stay? Might be able to suggest places for you if you are in the west :-)

my bf juz received call from ROM saying that the date for collection of cert has been moved forward to 15 sept 1-3pm le .. they said 16 sept too mani ppl liao thats y change.. anyone received the same thing?