(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Hi Butter,
Glad to hear that the cake tastes good!

I requested top tier cake to be Ribbon theme, follow by those small micro cakes similar like those whimsical blush.
She will look in the colour scheme when I confirmed the colour of my venue n also the table cloth.

My Rom date is actually in July 25.. lol

tt sounds lovely... do you hv a color theme? tt would help with the color scheme.. mine was kinda white, pink n brown.. haha...

think hotels usually hv like white, ivory, pink, red, brown or gold for tablecloth as well as napkins.. so if u hv kinda a color theme in mind, its easier when u go n choose the color for ur tablecloths n stuff...

She is working with pastel colours, will be meeting up with her soon to cfm the colour thou.

i choose my tablecloth colours n all..
mine is metalic brown . keke

cool.. can't wait to see ur cake..

on my ROM day, apart from saying 'I do', that was seriously the highlight of my day.. when i saw the cake.. after my make up, i went straight to see my cake, bringing along my PG... haha...

onz.. all the best in ur prep!!

feimei> hows ur house reno thingy goin on? we got the place we wanted!! yay!! now goin thru the hdb loan paperwork.. all the housing terms very confusing... :P

butters> coming monday gg down for my 1st appt @ hdb....act..after i submitted for my loan, while waiting for approval...i have been viewing units lol....(so as not to waste time) and time was right, when my loan got approved, i found the unit that we like...
very lucky!!! but we act waited quite long for the loan to get approved becos our income exceed 'abit'...so write in to appeal and waited longer than normal request...

have got two quotations for my reno....actually, i looking to reno kitchen n two bathrooms only....after 1st appt...still have to wait approx 2mths for the key...so meantime...will look out for best bargain...(i sound like auntie horrr)
bo bian leh....doing all these, really need a huge sum....soo must make sure every cents spent will be worth it....try not to have any unneccessary expenses.... =P i not so gd @ calculating, my htb he is very gd...i just find any good bargain...then he will 'analyze' if it's worth it....hahahaha....

feimei> so smart leh u.. we only applied for the loan after we found our place.. stupid agent shud hv told us can do tt.. :P

but i tot loan will definitely get approved? only the first timer grant thing (30k rite?) tt cannot exceed the 8k combined income? tt is the one tt im worried abt cos i think me n my hubby's pay will exceed leh.. all these rules and regulations are getting me very confused... plus all the housing terms... how long it took for ur appeal?

ya i will also look for best bargain.. like u say, bo bian leh... my unit is the very basic hdb one, so prob need to reno a bit more but still trying to see wat i can do to keep the costs down.. then hv to buy new furniture, kitchen appliance, etc... *faint*

butters> aiyaaa....not smart lah...just plan to take which steps 1st lol...thats my htb style

tats wat i tot will definitely get approved...but our combine income exceed the 8k...by right it shld get approved by two wks but i waited for one mth...dan we call in to enquiry...they actually waiting for us to enquiry dan they told us that they not gg to approve, want us to appeal...
after appeal, waited another one month....hai~~~wat to do..wan the loan....hv to wait lol....
yes...1st timer purchase of resale will get the 30k grant but next time u buying new flat...u have to pay back....so...in other words...they not giving u FOC horr.....

correct....alot of things need to buy but somehow...my MIL got alot of things to pass to me...so in some way, will save abit...
even after reno...will slowly buy the things need lol....no rush to move in...slowly get it setup...enjoy the process...

feimei> sigh.... wished my hubby told me abt that can apply for loan 1st.. cos our OTP expires in 2weeks... left all the housing stuff to him while i was doing the wed prep... now thats over, im finding out abt all the housing stuff.. if i knew, wud hv told him to apply for the loan sooner... silly property agent shud hv advised him better..

so its 1st timer for resale will definitely get the 30k grant? but the loan is subjective to approval based on our salary not exceeding 8k? think need to go contact our MP now.. mind sharing how to go abt the appeal? email them or have to meet them during those meet-the-ppl sessions?

why cant hdb jz call u n tell u ur loan not approved.. must wait til u call then say.. irritating leh..

your MIL so good! think we hv to buy all our stuff... ya think will jz get the essentials 1st.. then slowly move on to the rest.. but i wanna move in as soon as possible leh.. wanna start this new phase of life as soon as possible.. :P

butters> oooh...ur OTP expires in 2wks? Errmmm...if ur combine income did not exceed 8k, shld be very easily get approved, dun worry.

yes, 30k is confirm have for 1st timer buying resale flat...my hubby email them to appeal and follow up by a call to show our sincerity lol...lucky the officer who handle our case, is kind to understand our situation lol....*heng ahhhh*

ya...she is very nice...she even keep buying n collect some stamps so that she can exchange a cooking wok for us...hahahaha....really appreicate her thoughful thots....

feimei> no leh.. think will exceed 8k leh.. cos they count gross salary rite.. diez...

ur hubby emailed ur MP to appeal? so, dun need to go to those meet-the-people sessions? need to show any documents for the appeal?

ur MIL so considerate.. so sweet of her.. then think u shud do a quick tea ceremony thingy jz to show appreciation.. :P

so how is ur prep for ur big day? slpg enuff? drinking enuff water? pimple heal oredi?

FeiMei, same with you I am also looking for contractor to reno my kitchen and 2 toilets only and all seem so ex! How much have you been getting?

So far my 2 contractors gave about 14k+ for overhauling, so I approached an ID today. see how it pens out

Butters, I hear from a friend that you are also with La Belle Couture. :D

Its almost the end of June le... So all our BTB here have gotten ROm-ed already.

Congrats to everyone.. for those with an AD, its now time to move on and prepare for the next thing.

Would you gals still be here to keep the thread active?

hi everyone. =) seems like everyone here busy looking for hse and reno stuff. haha.. I'm also reading up alot on reno till my hse comes by end of this yr. =)

vilopup> yap...i just got my 1st appt signed this morning....*kind of relief*...

i not doing overhauling leh...just desmentaling those cabinets and put up a new one...as for toilets, just the toilet bowl n basin....normally if u hacking the flooring n tiles...i think tats the price u will be getting...i will be keeping the flooring n tiles...try not to spend too much...anyway, the floor n tiles still looks good so just need to spring clean...

i have gotten quotes from chew interior n northwest interior...both given wat i wan ard the same price...i actually went down personally to northwest @ tradehub in jurong east...the ID very frendly and patient...he explain everything very clearly and did 'fit' into our budget. u can ask for Winston...he is very helpful....

i still looking ard lol...will be taking keys in 6wks time...soo still got sometimes to look ard...i think u shld go all out becos now still GSS...sure can bargain n close a good deal... ;)

butter> yap...combine gross...we just exceed abit bit lah....but heard from my agent...if exceed more than 300...will be abit difficult lol...

no lah...my hubby jus email the loan offcer and she will seek advice from her senior officer, so have to wait another two wks.....

finally i done with my 1st appt today....my agent actually requested to complete whole transaction by 5wks but the resale officer said min. 6wks...any way, not much diff...just a wk...hahahaha...

ha...she wan dinner...hai~~~c how lol....maybe next yr, when hse done....just do a simple tea ceramony @ home and have a buffet...hahhahaha...buffet again.... :P

appreciate your concern....small small irriating pimple keep popping out....Arrghhh....*angry*...no choice lol....have to try hard to rest more and dun stress....i drink alot of water daily...just like a water pail....hahahahaaha....actually nothing to prepare leh...collected my framing ytd...very pleased but the uncle who do the framing abit careless becos he did not clean the glass when framing, can see some dirt on the inner side of the glass....

hope everything go smooth that day.... :D

blur_btb> huh.. how did my name came up? do i know ur fren? :P are u with labelle also?

feimei> haha.. dinner buffet at home! :P congrats on ur place tho... how i wish mine is signed sealed n delivered.. hate all these waiting.. think will call the loan officer to chk every other day... :P

i went to renotalk.. this ID company - summit design - seems to get quite good compliments.. mayb u can try them also?

Butters: nope, I am not with La Belle. My friend's HTB is very funny... he reads up and research on everything and even want to come with us on our PS to see how things are.. hahaha hard to come by.. I am with Printemps at City Square.

Yesterday Wilson from D'esprit ID came by to talk to us. He will send through a quote. *cross fingers* getting tired trying to get a dream home... and I dun want to stress the husband too much also..

feimei: Understand totally.. at first I din want a dinner at all.. but ILs want, so got to go through with it lor... But I have stated that I do not want table photos taken... I feel silly gg from table to table to just take a pic and disappear.. no time to even talk to anyone... So I hope that you can get your dinner buffet!!

Butters: Sorry, I am lost in the thread also.... how much did you get your cake for ah? Want to budget in... Either that or will order cookies as wedding favors...

blur_btb> wow ur fren's htb really hard to find... ur fren is really lucky.. haha..well if he comes for ur PS then u hv someone to help u with stuff...gd deal... :P

the larger cake (1st tier) plus all the smaller ones (65 micro mini cakes) costs me ard $200 (plus some boxes for the guests to bring the cakes home).. i tot was very worth it cos a lot of my guests complimented on the cake...

she has diff sizes - cakes, mini cakes n micro mini cakes, so can tailor to ur budget.. jz go to the site i posted n chk with her.. she's a very nice lady... i always go into her site now n then to see wat new creations she comes up with.. :P

this is for ur AD rite?

butters> eeehhh...not buffet @ my new hse leh...hving tea ceramony mah...soo shld be @ IL hse mah....hahahahaha....

dun worry...ur day will come very fast...so can ur agent hold on the deal for u while u waiting for ur loan approval?

feimei> yay! got the loan approval from HLE.. phew... now one worry out of the way.. but still hv so many things to do.. had my property agent explain to me but still blur... *faint*

then buffet @ ur IL's house!! haha...

2 more days leh... nervous anot?

blur_btb> yah very reasonable.. so u ordering from her? or ur fren's htb planning to order from her? haha...

butters> congrates! tats fast for ur HLE to get approve....

my day was over....*phew*...everything was smooth but i not tat nervous leh...like very casual....hahahahaa....

feimei> Congratulations!! glad to hear that you enjoyed the day and that it went smoothly.. pls share the pics when you get them k...

i just saw the pics from my PG, now need another week for him to touch up the ones i wan... will b able to post it then..

ya quite fast.. thank god.. but actually, had to re-submit docs for a few days, so it actually took abt a week but they approved the next day when they finally received everything.. but can only do the 1st appt with hdb in sep cos appt dates all fully booked..

usually after the 1st appt, how long b4 you get the keys?

butters> appreciated your conern....

actually...if both parties agreed to complete the whole transaction asap...both parties can come up with the earliest date which is min. 5wks for hdb to finish up everything...for mine case...both parties agreed for 5wks but when my agent propose to the hdb officer...she actually say min 6wks lol...so we no choice...better then nothing....soo 6wks lol...if both parties never request for any early date, hdb usually will give 7 - 8wks ltr....which is abt 2mths lol....sooo both of u must be proavtive to propose for the earliest date...i will be getting my keys 6wks ltr which is next mth....hahahaha...very fast worr....

feimei> hey thanks for sharing ur photos... very nice. u look great and very happy.. ur cross stitch framed up is very nice and ur necklace too!

think the seller wud also wanna finish up everything soon but my property agent say booking for appointment is online and the earliest date is in sep leh...
so ur appointment date wasnt booked online? tt means can actually call hdb up and propose or request an earlier date to the hdb officer?

butters> thanks for ur compliment!!!

my 1st appt was booked by my agent manually...he submitted the docs manually by gg down to hdb, tats y the date was like quite fast, approx 1mth waiting only....as for 2nd appt (which will take keys and close the whole transactions), both parties have to agree to handover asap, so tat agent can propose to hdb office tat both parties agreed to complete everything by fastest date (which can be 5 or 6wks lol), if not, normal pace will be 7 - 8wks....u get wat i meant?

feimei> thanks... ya got it.. but my prop agent say can onli set appt online.. gonna tok to him lata.. he doesnt seem sure abt things one leh... but he thinks he did a lot for us.. he n my hubby agreed on 0.75% on transaction price for his fees but then the other day wanted to make us sign on a fee that was based on 1% leh... i find it very dishonest..

anyways, so how is married life? :P
after my ROM everyone kept asking me that.. life seems the same to me leh.. jz got different title now.. haha...

butters> horrr....from wat u say, ur agent sound very dishonest worr...anyway, no choice lol...but watever paper he ask u to sign, do read properly....online dates normally is later...unles he is so kind enough to travel to hdb n submit the doc for u lol... -_-"

ehhhh~~~married life? no diff leh...not even title...i will not use Mrs....hahahaha....

feimei> ya lor... no choice d lor.. ya, he didnt know can go hdb to propose an earlier date (maybe reluctant to also...) until i told him someone told me can do that.. i mean if i was him, i'd finalize everything sooner so can get the money then can concentrate on other clients lor...

eh.. y not using Mrs leh? easier to use ur maiden name at work?

butters> Ummmm~~is ur agent new in this line? he sound newbie, need his clients to tell him....u r right, if i was him, i also wan to quickily cling the deal n focus on other deals...dun wan this dangling here n there...canot get comm also...anyway, wat is done cannot be undone...just wait for the day... *o* u will feel excited when the day is nearer n u will be like idol, signing alot of papers....hahahahaha....

hahaha...i use my christian name everywhere...not use to use surname..... =P

feimei> dunno how new he is lah... but he is doing this part-time.. told him jz now to go there to get an earlier date oredi... he said,ok ok.. hopefully he can do this rite.. *faint*

so happy for u tt u r getting ur keys soon...cant wait to get my keys like u.. haha...

butters> ya...i think u must keep pushing him...no wonder, he is part-timer...no wonder not so proactive...nvm lah...dun give urself more stress....relax!!!

Ummm~~~seems like will have alot to do if take keys n i think after one mth ltr....lunar 7th mth...dun think i can do anything lol...either hv to do fast before 7th mth or after lol....haiz~~~n i will oso busy @ work, my colleague gg on leave then gg on reservist, have to cover him...i think i wun have much energy left to think for my home...everyday will think of my bed instead....hahahahahaha...

feimei> keep pushing til i fed up leh.. some more my hubby knows him from the gym they go to, tt's y asked him to do.. if know he like this hor.. would look for someone else...

lunar 7th month starts 20aug rite.. better dun rush, what if dun turn out nice..

luckily ur ROM over.. so bz.. must get enuff rest.. so wont fall sick..

Huh, i also not using MRS leh.. in fact I havent even change IC to the new address.. there has been some hiccups, I think cannot reno or move in yet... sigh...

Do you gals feel that your single friends (esp those in a clique) feel further now that you are married?

\

butters> dun get fed up too much....anyway already in process liao lol...no worry...u will be fine!!!

vilopup> but if u staying perm @ ur new home, dan must change add lol....

Ummm~~~actually not much diff lol....still in contact, maybe more topic to tok becos things like hubby, kids, ILs....hahahahaha...just only diff area of topic....hahahahahaha....

feimei> thanks.. hehe.. will try not to get fed up...

vilopup> i used to kinda tune off last time when my married frens tok abt diapers n stuff.. haha.. but actually other than tt, still the same leh.. tho hvnt had time to meet up much with them recently cos had so many things to do..

actually i'm also not using Mrs.. :P in fact still getting used to addressing my ILs - mum and dad.. hahaha...

butters> hahaha...@ least u called ur ILs - mum n dad, i still calling - uncle n aunty...hahahaha :D but anyway, high chances will hv tea ceramony next yr, so maybe after tea ceramony dan call bahh....shortly after my ROM, the next day when shopping, my hubby's mum already 'lure' me into jewellery shop...bot a pair of bangles for me...she actually bot her 2nd daughter-in-law (hving customery coming Jan) the bangles already, she choose them then she say looks plain so as for mine, she dun wan to choose, let me choose myself...i was like -_-!!!
no need sooo fast bahhh.....anyway, i just choose the cheap one...hahahaha....dun wan her to spend too much + i will not wear also...only wear for a day n keep it...wats the point? =P

feimei> tea ceremony then with the GDL and all that? i try to call them mom n dad but always forget... :P

my MIL gv me some jewelery for my ROM, hubby's aunt also gv me some jewelry.. then my mom also gv me.. in gold lor, i dun wear gold one... keep telling them no need, waste money, but still gimme...

butters> eeheheh...no need GDL lah...since my mum not ard anymore n my dad oso not soo particular, so just go without GDL lah....very troublesome one...beta dun waste the time n $$...

she already bot necklace for me...long one becos i fatter than her 2nd DIL, is onli the bangle...not sure if i can fit, so beta to let me try on the spot n last sun was a good 'catch' of me... -_-!!!

hahahahahahaha~~~~as i told her also, i will not wear one...no need lah...dan she say must...dan i dun wan tok back lah...if not wait she not hapi...

Wah all of you are v lucky sia... no jewellery or ang pao fr my inlaws for Rom... i dont foresee much for AD as well...

and ya, MIL insist that i call them Mum and Dad also... a bit hard to adjust

Blur btb> me also no jewellery from my inlaws and they also asked me to call them mum and dad liao...so awkward lor. I just smile smile & say something else to divert attention. Itz not abit hard but supper hard to adjust lor....

Feimei> my lovenest will be at punggol, coralinius. Will receive my keys at 4th quarter this yr....=) Wat abt urs?

dear ladies, if u r given with the jewellery, will u wear? no , right? we r modern woman mann...hahahaha....where will we wear gold??? soo rather they dun waste the $$$...

valerie> i will be getting my keys next mth...shld be after national day worr....kekekeke....i getting resale...jurong west...between boon lay mrt n pioneer mrt... :D

waited 4yrs for new flats n oways get the queue numbers like two or three times exceed the number of available units....sian liao....n really lucky to hop this resale unit during May....@ reasonable price...

ya jz had a slip of tongue and called my MIL auntie again yesterday, and she commented to my hubby.. haha.. say must try to call her mom from now on... :P

feimei> ya lor... i think the GDL is quite a waste of money also leh... the gold jewelry also waste cos like u say we wont wear one mah...
but old ppl like their traditions...
ur place is the complete opposite end of mine, which is in pasir ris.. haha...