(2008) Brides of year 2008

Mei: Me done my facial last sat. Luckily my beri last pimple outbreak become ok now heng lah..doin manicure nxt fri. Hair wait 4 big day coz my frd told me unless I do really striking color..if nt k hardly see in pics.

Hey all, any good place for manicure and pedicure?

Hi cyc, i saw Warehouse got sell nubra. And also la senza - About $140. How about tapes instead because Nubra can be quite uncomfortable if not wear properly.

nelle,
thanks for pointing out to me else i'll end up feeling guilty n hungry like d pervious outing, felt so bad when none of u ate much n yet my stomach is giving me d signals :P

cheryl,
i need to colour my hair to a darker colour else will look weird in pics....juz finished my facial n look forward to a pampering mani n pedi nxt wed....any idea how to solve d prob of my nails dat's uneven in length cos 2 juz broke?

just ate a big bowl of pasta...
feeling very full and sleepy now... ;D
hehee...

friday nite sure got crowds everywhere ones...
erm...since i havent met you all before ah, can you all carry a black rose and stand with flora's cat somewhere prominent?

wor... Everyone getting more and more excited over honeymoon...

I custom made my wedding bands so no ring pillow hence must custom made it too...

I think Taiwan can be very romantic too depending on how you plan your itinerary. Else too much shopping might spoilt the moods, especially most guys can't endure much shopping... kekeke...

Hiya everyone... =D

My PS is coming up too.. so excited..

we have decided to go to punggol lalang field, punggol beach (since we r near), henderson bridge during day time...

And fullerton area, keppel bay (pop by to take a few shots if got time) during the nite...

fortunemew> take care, wishing your mum a speedy recovery!

to all, any recommendations on where to go for buying mattresses? prefer those mega warehouse kind, especially straight from suppliers if possible? cut down middle man costs. or does any one know of any lobang? do you think that those sold in Courts megastore are well priced?

just want to get feedback on the time lag between ur PS and the soft copies + album collection. My AD is in Nov and I did my PS in March.Was told that i can only get back the items in Aug, which is 5 mths lag. Is this acceptable. Had terminated the services frm this BS after some issues. Even before termination, they also told us that we can only get back the items in Aug

Hi Meiling,

Do acryalic nail, I did one for my broken fingernail too for my PS.

For all who's consider adding on crystals, make sure you communicate well with the manicurist first. For my case, I leave everything to the pro. and I didn't like the end result, worst thing, I need to pay $54 more for the cystal and additional job. And my co-ordinator said it's ugly. I think french mani and pedi will do, coz any fancy design might not show up well in the photos.

In total, I spent $120 but my photographer did not took any pictures of my nails at all.

I did mine at compass point, 2/3rd flr. Not recommended to go, will look for another good one for my AD. Any good recommendation?

nec, carry a black rose like going for xiang qin leh hehe.

nelle, fish & Co near parkmall still around last time i went my friend celebrate birthday there upstairs got a room but dun knoe whether still hav? If hav then all of us can chit chat inside there and laugh loudly.

leely: Yeah. I knowww...I was quite sad when I experienced autumn 2 years back...I was thinking, it's soooooo beautiful but I'll never get to see it again! But hey, I'm glad I got to see it at all...And after retirement then go lor! Hehe! By then can er ren shi jie with the hubby also, since the kids would be grown up...

Rachel: You going to be a teacher too?? Cool!! Are you done with NIE already or what?
I'm going into NIE this coming intake actually...Anyway, are you on my Multiply already? Will you be uploading the photos there? Would love to see your shoes, and later see your EG!! So exciting hor!! :D

That why, headache loh. Also, my MIL, FIL is going also. They can have a room by themselves. I also thinking of having another one but i just change job, not much leave to spend leh. Maybe, have to wait till next yr bah.

Hihi, I have asked and confirmed with my friends before giving them the card. My that friend confirmed with me. He also told me he asked his WTB already and she is ok cos my wedding is Jul & theirs is Oct so 3 months gap. But just the day before I met him, he told his wife the date of my wedding and it is a few days short of 3 months and his wife told him NO! When he told me the next day...it was too late. Fated I guess.

went to my friend's wedding last month. the groom did an animation to re-enact their love story. very nice. and at the end of the wedding, their close friends gave them a dvd which they played during the banquet. they acted out their love story! the production was pretty pro and it took the gang 1 year. really touched by their effort. piyo, have fun doing your video shoot. I believe it will be very memorable =)

me nothing much to prepare for wedding already cos all done except to send out the invitation card. so just kept buying stuff to make my new house more homely hee hee.

fortunemew,
it must hv been really hard on you these days. Hope your mum has a speedy recovery. Hope you'll be strong and look on the bright side. Take really good care of yourself so that you can take care of your loved ones.

hee hee actualy for PS no need Super good Mani/pedi la... PG usually won't take that on purpose... Unless u do liao then tell the PG MUST take it la... but end up due to "limited" photo selection... you will forgo those pic.. and take those more concentrate on face one :P For me I did mine at Fast east... er.... Cheryl? I think that's the name of the shop.... I quite like their servies... me did a french with silver glitter tip...very lasting!

Ling Ling>> Guess you all should just plan for another honeymoon next year bah... Treat the Korea trip as a family trip..

Erlina>> I thought of flying in to Rome.. But the last time I checked, very few airlines fly direct from SG to Rome and the ones availalbe (I only rmb SQ) is super ex.. There are more flights to Paris and cheaper.. But I'll check again closer to the date..

Thanks for all the advice about Europe.. THink I'll go check out the Rail Pass and see if train or flight is better..

Ooo.. So much talk about DIY ang pow box / ring pillows / shoe decorations.. I'm not too artistically inclined for this, thankfully my ang pow box is provided by hotel and my wedding bands came with ring pillow.. =P

hi Evelyn, you will have to write in for permission to have your PS in National Museum, plus you have to pay a photography fee there, $150 if I'm not wrong.

I have completed my PS today ... hehe .. thank God for the great weather, no rain, not hot either
Went to the classic PS locations - SAM, Botanic Gdns and Changi Boardwalk

Hi Snowball, you may want to consider www.simonvideo.com.sg
They have 4 VGs but not sure if they are fully booked already.

Hi Ally, welcome. How's ur prep so far?

Hi Jane, seems like you have quite a few places for the outdoor shoot. But sounds exciting. Do enjoy and remember to share your pix with us when ready.

Hi fedup, are they doing digital album for you? If so, maybe they need to do layout? Can share which BS is that? Sounds like you have a really unpleasant experience with them. Is there any penalty for terminating their services? Anyway still have time, are you planning to do another PS?

i do mine at polished divas at bugis street. you can watch dvd n use the massage chair, sip on a drink while having ur mani and pedi

leely : You may want to check out going the opposite direction instead.. cos the cities you have chosen are kinda in a triangle with paris right on top.. Also, depends if you want to fly in and out from the same city or not. I know airlines charge more to fly in and out from diff city.

Kailing, those warehouse one don’t really have premier mattress. You have to see what type of mattress you’re looking for. Low end ones or premier ones?

Take me for an example.

I looked thru newspaper and saw this advertisement selling mattress at very low price at Toa payoh. Since it’s so near, I drop by and have a look. I came to know this lady working there and she told us her husband is a distributor of Sealy mattress. So she can give me a very good price if we purchase from her. So we took the best mattress there which cost $2400 for Queen Size. It was a rush decision which we shouldn’t make. Luckily we put $200 deposit only.

Then after purchasing, we went Courts and see if they have the same mattress and checked with we really get it at a very good price. We couldn’t find it then we asked the sales assistant. They said the mattress we’re looking at is the older series. Then we realize by paying a few hundreds more, we can get a better range one at Courts. So we called back that lady asking if her husband can help us to get the one we saw at Courts. She said cannot cos Courts and Robinson had bought over the models and distributor cannot sell outside. That means that those other warehouses selling are those low range ones which you can’t find them in department stores.

My HTB was pissed and insist we look out at Robinsons also. In the end, we bought the premier range of Sealy mattress cos my HTB said it’s gonna last us for 5years or more hence paying more is worth it. It cost about $5K and our PIL paid for it.. Hehe

annabella,
thanks for ur advice! think i needed to do 2, hehehe....im gona do simple french mani n pedi for my PS....not gona waste $ unless it's my AD n many ppl can see :P

lynn,
u r patronising d same nail parlour as sue n tinkybell.....hehehe, i do go there wif them smtimes but i'll b going to my nail parlour at novena - house of colours :P

nec,
I always find indie wedding fascinating. Do you have any photos to share? What is an indie wededing like? Do you need to prepare wedding flavour for the guests? Nec dont say that cheapo shoe i am also like that.. any shoe nice i just buy .. can change more but if it exp shoe must consider n consider...

Shybride,
Big day getting closer right.., Congrats ... dont be too stress there are still us to chat chat with... So good soon u will be moving to the next stage in life...
so relaxz and be a mei mei bride ok!!

but the 1st march in will be before the commencement of the dinner.. so pretty safe.. yesterday my sister bought some nice toys for her company, and she got it from Tekka Mall.. I must go there and hunt my bubble guns later.. update u girls on the pricing tomorrow..

actually i also finished most of the stuff.. but my HB not satisfied with my photo montage, so got to re-do.. so angry with him.. before I start doing, i told him to give me more photos.. so i can choose.. then he says nevermind.. now complain he got so less photos (ok, i know it's not him that complain, it's someone close to him.. haiz..) waste my time leh..

hey bridies... sorry was so bz hardly have time to be coiming into thie forum . m flying tomorrow night and will only be back next friday.. till then.. seeya... and take care ya..

i am feeling very moody.. not sure if coz i am going for my biz trip which i am relunctant to go or coz my period is overdue and not here yet but i can feel my stomach feel so bloated. i took the hormone pills from the dr ytd to delay it from coming... not sure if it is good but i took it anyway ytd... and i stop today... aiyo. maybe i will conitnue tomorrow all the way la. till i m back.

hvn't been in for a long while keke... hvn't been doing much for wedding preparations so no advice or input lor. Just went Barang Barang to look at their sale items... not bad. 40-50% off.

I've decided to take the bustier gown i posted in my multiply, but found the design too simple, so topped up to add additional appliques and also keep the gown.

Now hving problem looking for a pair of nice shoes tt's not too high. Anyone has recommendations where to get those covered toes shoes? Saw some nice ones online, but not enough time to buy since the shipping will take quite some time.

Photoshoot coming up in mid July. Invites not printed yet. And my banquet coordinator is so screwed up. Argh...

FH going reservist on 27 June. If I don't need to pei him, can join you ladies? But how's the food at Delifrance? I heard the warm food not v good but never tried.

koyoyo>I'm the same! Always buy cheap shoes, wear a few months spoil then buy new ones. :p this way, I've more variety.

Nec>ya, never attended an Indian wedding before. How is it like? I tried on my sari for FH on Mon when I got his help to clear my cupboard. He say doesn't look nice on me cos I lost weight since I got it made and it looks too loose on me.

Ling Ling: Hard to go against in-laws, so Korea trip just let it be lor. I think most important thing is getting your HTB to understand and to promise you that he will give you a proper honeymoon next year. If it makes you feel better, I'm only going on mine probably in autumn next year because we're too poor after the wedding :P

Leely: Yah, why don't you go in a circle to start and end in Paris?

Sotong: Wow, now I'm tempted to go to Taiwan for honeymoon instead of Japan...What's F&E?

Speaking of rings, we haven't bought our wedding bands yet. I heard it takes around 2 weeks for engraving and stuff- anyone knows how I can do it faster, e.g. a few days? Cos as you know, the HTB's only here for 2 wks in July.

Haven't even started thinking about ring pillow stuff yet :D

sue,
take care ya, have a safe trip....gona miss u lotsa...will update u on my PS when u r back

dun feel moody le, must b happy ok?

lsntyl
wah....so gd.....u lost weight? dat's sth dat nv happen to me wor....sad sia, given dat my PS is juz ard d corner....when i told my colleague dat i wana lose weight den she said isnt it a bit too late for dat.....so sian, envy ppl like her wif perfect figure

nec,
i oso nv attended a indie wedding b4, only saw on tv...d bollywood style, is it similar? wif lotsa bright colours, flowers, dancing n merry making? n den got drums, elephant rides etc....
i went to see ur shoes le...i like d blue one in particular, v bling bling n oso in my fav colour....i wana buy too

meiling>that was from one or 2 years ago when I made my sari. Now, still pui pui leh. esp my arms which are so flabby. sure kena scolded when I finally have my fitting cos I was told to tone them up. :p

lsntyl,
same here....my arms, waistline n hips didnt show a decrease....sure kena scolding de....n oso feel sad when i cant carry off my gowns nicely when i go for my fitting on sat n my PS nxt week
now alrdy kena suan by my own mum alrdy, say instead of growing slimmer i grow fatter

dor>saw some nice shoes at Aldo yest but they are more bling type. If you want simpler shoes, I think URS have some white shoes that are not bad.

Went to Winebos and B@rworks to sample their wines and shortlist what we want to get yest. Quite interesting experience. Winebos is more professional but the salesperson not v friendly. FH and I will prob go with B@rworks in the end as the wine we tried was just as good and is cheaper.

Hey ladies,
I went to Tangs to get my silicone bra as told by my designer...wow, it can really push up...but i'm worried I don't know how to wear them the right way still...when i first tried, i was wearing them incorrectly...

Meeting at orchard sounds good....like Nec, I haven't met you all before...but from multiply, shld be able to recognise some gals here....

back to the weight issue, i need to tone up too....have been gaining some weight i think....will join a gym soon!

Thanks chimes and Jane. Have to pay to take PS at national museum... So sad. Maybe need to think twice. But taking photos there is nice!

Then it will be Fish & Co near Parkmall!!
ok, here's the 1st announcement:

Event: 3rd meetup (dinner) of Jun-Dec 2008 brides
Date: Friday 27 June 2008
Time: 7pm
Place: Fish & Co @ The Glass House (building next to Parkmall)

I will try to make a reservation for +/-6pax at the moment so those yet to see me/us before can ask the staff to direct to the tables.

Earthsea>> I think engraving is very fast one, it's the size that's the problem.. If the shop has stock of the rings of your size then should be able to get quite fast.. But if they need to send back to factory to make your size, then need to wait at least a month..

Hi Earthsea,

F&E = Free & Easy.
R u interested to custom made ur wedding rings? If so, I can recommend u my jewellers at Park Mall. She would be able to meet your tight timeline.

Meiling>hee, I know what you mean! I can't seem to resist all the good food. :p

nelle>thanks for arranging. Will try to confirm if I can make it soon.

lsntyl, so nice your clothes getting looser!!!
if mine ever get loose, be sure to buy 4D ah everyone.
TOTO, 4D, Horse racing all bao jiak ones!!
maybe even can see snow in singapore, mt faber!!

indian wedding ah...well, got flowers, got colors, got a lot of sweets (which i dun like).
but no elephants cos mine is in the city....even tho i want also!!

meiling,
if you tell me your shoe size, i can ask my mom buy for you.
but if you never try, how to see if fit or not? diff shoe, diff cutting and comfort level leh.

if that shop has an online one, then best, their shoes ALL super chio and bling ones.
had to really control to just buy one pair.

flora,
tell your cat, we going fist and co. i'm sure he cant resist fish right?
lol.

black roses everyone, cos i'm really bad with faces, so even if isee in multiply, doesnt mean i'll recognize in real life.
after see once, can also forget names/faces,
oh, you all must wear name tags with your nicknames ah!!!

aiyo, then no choice... those who has yet to seen me/us before will have to find the table where ALL the pretty girls are.