(2008) Brides of year 2008

hey gals..
need to decide on the PS locations too.. was thinking botanic gardens.. boss suggested we spilt the indoor and outdoor into 2 days.. extra charges = $200.. what u all think? $200 is for the makeup artist.. he also said he can arrange photoshoot at raffles marina to take photos together with yacht.. how?? any advise??

meiling
u bought another CS?! OMG.. LoL... so scary... you're going to have a hard time deciding which of the prettiest to wear soon hehehe, but never mind, just hope for a DnD that has a Shanghai Night theme and your CS is recycled

Meh overseas shoot are nice to look at.. but if you going to add 6k for that - you might as well just go on holiday le~

koyoyo
if you feel and look like a bazhang.. I'd say that bazhang is a bit small and lacking lor! Muahaha... I've never seen such a small bazhang in my life.. unless you mean the alkaline water ones...
If I can squeeze my tummy fats into one, I'm pretty you can too heheh.

cyc
heheh your FH is so nice to factor all costs in :P I think if I did that - my FH might die of a heart attack after he sees the bills at the end of the month

NO la, blading is NOT my idea. I can't blade very well at all, ended up running over my friend repeatedly LoL.. almost killed him several times, luckily we ended up cartwheeling into the grass hahahah... we decided next week we'll wakeboard instead.. seems like a safer option to just land in the water than the grass.

initially i thought it'd be pretty fun to do it in a crowded place in suntec, simply cos its where we first met. but FH doesn't think its a good idea at all cos everyone would be staring at us. heh anyone doing it in the malls?

Hi nelle, I like the way you put it. If didn't mean anything, it's costly. If it means a lot, I guess it's priceless..

Hi ladies, I would like to go to Changi Beach and Orchard for outdoor PS. Changi Beach cos we used to work at Airline House and Orchard cos our first date was at Orchard Party World. But my HTB don't like to take photos at Orchard. Same reason as msclaire's HTB, it's too crowded. All of the sudden I was thinking maybe we can do the PS inside Pary World itself... Hmmm... giving me ideas again. I will tell him my new idea later.

Hi Meiling, are you seated near the stage during the MM wedding show yesterday? I think I saw you, but cannot confirm, so don't dare to say hi to you.

green> maybe u can try bridalcloset.multiply and see if they do just purely alteration?
Coz their rental of bridesmaid dress includes free alteration.. so u might just wanna try..

Berry_egg, ya abt 3 to 4 weeks. Insert is the paper that print the name and event details. if u just print on the card tat's mean it's not prining on inserts. usually onli our names and our father's name will be inside the card. guests name need to write ourselves.

hi iris: mine is 1025.. hahaha.. both T-dragon and us slipped out of our mind about the names.. i've written all the details for them in a paper before I go.. but just forgot about the english names.. probably too engrossed with the chinese wordings.. so blur me.. they say they will send the draft to me by this week. ask u something, for the chinese wordings, did they mentioned to you that u got to write something about grandparents thingy ("fen chi ming" something like this) on the card if ur grandparents are ard.. do u know whether i can do away with that?? T-dragon explains until like must put one.. but both my families think not need..

hi berry_egg: to add on to iris's explanation. printing on inserts usually are normal printing of all your wedding details (including our names n fathers' names) onto a piece of paper and you got to stick it onto your invitation cards yourself.. printing on your invitation cards mostly are hot-stamping all your wedding details directly onto your invitation cards.. but it will cost more.. for name of guest, there will be a blank line for you to fill up..

i did my PS in the school. Drove in and find a classroom, then proceed to canteen and shoot. Was thrilling becos no permit. Haha...

OK, so I've signed the contract and paid the deposit to the hotel. What happens next? Do we just wait for them to call us again?

Kirei>wah, your company so good give you HK trip? So envious...

Rach>your 1st May plan sounds good wor. Maybe can have a nice seafood meal there too. Cross fingers can get enough people to go.

Green>Maybe you can try Mama&Misse at IP? Cos they do tailoring for cheongsams and evening dresses. If you interested, I can go hunt for their contact for you.

praisey, u din asked permission fm the sch? i wanted to do PS in the sch too..bt feel that it is too early to ask for permission.

toking abt proposal...my hubby only 'proposed' 2 mths before we registered our marriage. i put 'proposed' coz he din even asked me the magic sentence "will u marry me?" very disappointing..somemore, i knew that he would present his proposal ring on our anniversary...well cnt really blame him =( thanks to myself, i spoilt my own surprise..i tried to remind him over n over that i could choose not to marry him if he din propose. i guess he was pressured and sick of my nagging. in the end, blurted that he had bought it long time ago..

maybe the 'proposal' is the most lame that i have ever known. bt then i was touched by the fact that he actually prepared the ring long time ago. It's just that he wasn't sure when to present that to me...well..until the day i spoilt my surprise...

I have saw a wedding dinner march in with their parent-in-law, their parent, and even their slibing and in law. They will march in first then sitted at their red table and there after is the couple.
Maybe u gals would like to try this?

hi R&J, they need mention that if my HB still had grandparents around need to write something. my HB's grandparents not around ald so dun need, cos onli applied for guy side. I tink if both ur families tink dun need, then can dun put, but to play safe, u got to ask if ur grandparent mind a not, cos they said not grandparent around then dun need to put, so relative might feel no respect for the grandparents. for us, we seldom read those chinese words, so we feel still alrite not to put but other ppl may not tink so.

I have finally confirm bridal shop. i tried to update in the table, but dunno how to copy the box format. hehe...pls help me to update :-
Bridal Shop : Sophia Wedding
AD PG & VG : Sophia Wedding
Tks!

Seems like most of you have rings for the proposal. I told my HTB long time ago not to get me diamond ring cos most probably I will use the diamond to hit him... So when he proposed to me, he gave me a scrap book and a penquin soft toy which I keep asking him to buy a second one for me. But he promised he will buy a watch for me in place of the proposal ring though.

green> i can't remember which floor.. Hans cafe is on which floor.. its a bigger alteration shop near the toilet.. haven't been there for some time.. not sure they are good in gown alterations..

hi ladies.. thanks for all the advice..
fifi, nope.. me no bleed.. but just feeling something is against my bladder and wants to pee more often..
hopefully 2nd tri will come soon.. =P

nec: I might be interested...The thing is was thinking of just taking up the one fr the bridal studio since we're not very particular about the VG. But does he have an online portfolio that I can check out?
Long time no see, by the way!!

Hi ladies, i've done with my gowns selections last sat. Was a pleasant trip and i've tried alot of gorgeous gowns! Finally i chose 2 WG and 2 EG.
Aiyo i can't wear to go for my photoshooting in jun lor!!!
1 big and 1 small problems i've on my body...
1 Big tummy and extra fats at the armpit there!
>.< Need to train for the tummy lor!
Extra fats at the armpit there really need editing liao lor...no choice

Anyone knows how do i apply permit to go into Tanjong Pagar Railway Station to take photo ah?

Meiling, i read you said your PG don't want go so many places for your PS. How many places you choose?

Mary, my bestie is going to Orchard for her PS. She likes crowded places...
Oh ya, can consier Emerald Hill if you go orchard take your PS. There quite nice leh!

Flora, sec school seems nice if there is where both of you met

Hi Hpryn
I thought about doing a family march in but when I tried to sound my sister in law out she did not seem so keen so dropped the idea.

Kittyng, glad to hear that your food tasting went well... which wine did you choose to go with? how was it?

Hi Queenie,
My 1st song for church wedding march in is 'I will be here' by Steve Curtis Chapman. For Christian brides who r agonizing over the choice of lovely meaningful songs 4 march in @ church, this is a good choice. (simple type this in U tube 2 hear e tune...so touching tat will make one b swelled w tears...to play this while signing the marriage cert...n probably put another more upbeat tune when my hub n i announce as M&amp;M...

4 evening, may choose e following...(yet to confirm)
1st March in
a. All I ask of u by Sarah Brightman/Cliff Richard
(hmmm...their high pitched voices...wonder if e
which will break in e ballroom 1st...
chandeliers/ glass/ guests' ears...haha) Like
this tune 4 itz harmonizing...meaningful words
and nostalgia (Most imptly...itz a bit dreamy
feel...)
2nd March in
b. After changing e EG, when e guests hav viewed
e montage (my hub n i will await outside 2 get
ready), we r thinking of a special march in w
2 page boys... song, mayb something cute
E.g. L.O.V.E (By Michael Buble)
c. Champagne pouring ~ Queenie, u hav a song 4
tat? WOW?! Pray share wat is tat? Sounds
interesting! Usually i thot during champagne
pouring, e background music is jus ongoing
CD music...hmmm...mayb i will use 1 song/
classical music without lyrics to dramaticize e
pouring effect.
My personal favs 'Heaven/Love Song' from
Ronan Hardiman (from Eternity CD)
D. For the rest of the night, will b using CDs frm
e likes of Classical Music/Jazz/ Michael Buble/
Josh Groban/ Sarah Brightman etc.
I like e dreamy, ethereal feel of such music.

U mention abt e Indian Chef w Pot Belly 4 1st dish. Sounds familiar...is ur banquet in one of e Holiday Inn? Cos my bro had his a couple of years ago...sounds similar. Aniwae, i believe most of us r busy multi tasking a lot of things together.

My mommy so sweet...spent a neat sum buying bird's nest...all in e hope of making me a pretty bride...really touched! Sighz...gonna miss my mommy...cos i onli gal @ home...n 2 bros.

Take care ladies, so excited 2 see our prep coming into fruition!

<font color="aa00aa">hmmm.. May 1 sounds like fun... but... i might have to work.. cos it's another monthend for me... i see how, maybe i will join haaaa...

so quiet here these days... all on MSN ah...??</font>

I won't be joining you for the JB trip. Most prob not in Singapore. Furthermore, I'm printing my cards a t T dragon to save the hassle, and I don't eat seafood... hoho

Hi every1, I'm new in this forum &amp; hope to befriend many other Oct brides-to-be.
I suppose that many brides may have faced many similar challenges in preparing for the big day, just like me...
I'd like to seek advice from all the experts out there on the following areas:
1) I'm sourcing for flower petals to be used for march-in &amp; hand bonquet for ROM. So is there any recommendation on florist shops (preferably in eastern Singapore)?
2) Does anyone know where I might be able to find nice wrist corsages, guestbooks, wedding favours and ring pillows (i.e. wedding supplies shops)? Where can I purchase Chinese customary items e.g. tea ceremony sets?
3) How effective is IPL for hair removal? Is it permanent? Any recommendations on where to undergo IPL treatment?
4) Is it necessary to have ampoule on actual day? If so, any recommended brand &amp; where can they be purchased?
I look forward eagerly to suggestions! Cheers! I sincerely hope there will be kind souls to reply my above post.
In return, I would like to share with u a bridal shop checklist which I had came out. The checklist will cover many areas from gowns, cars to VG, etc. Thks!!

kitty> okie leh... seen in a few weddings before..

And i'm not the first. u look at last year's Brides and style weddings also got guide on the sequence of march in.. also got jiemeis.

YL> yeah.. so for now.. is u &amp; FH, me &amp; FH. hehe...
we shall see anymore going on 1st May..
Shopping and seafood then we come back..

xinglin, we were sec 1 classmates then, sat next to each other. But our original sch campus has been demolished. So no point having the PS at the new campus. We have no memories there.

Hi every1, I'm new in this forum &amp; hope to befriend many other Oct brides-to-be.
I suppose that many brides may have faced many similar challenges in preparing for the big day, just like me...
I'd like to seek advice from all the experts out there on the following areas:
1) I'm sourcing for flower petals to be used for march-in &amp; hand bonquet for ROM. So is there any recommendation on florist shops (preferably in eastern Singapore)?
2) Does anyone know where I might be able to find nice wrist corsages, guestbooks, wedding favours and ring pillows (i.e. wedding supplies shops)? Where can I purchase Chinese customary items e.g. tea ceremony sets?
3) How effective is IPL for hair removal? Is it permanent? Any recommendations on where to undergo IPL treatment?
4) Is it necessary to have ampoule on actual day? If so, any recommended brand &amp; where can they be purchased?
I look forward eagerly to suggestions! Cheers! I sincerely hope there will be kind souls to reply my above post. In return, I would like to share with u a bridal shop checklist which I had came out. The checklist will cover many areas from gowns, cars to VG, etc. Thks!!

fifi....there are lots of food dat preggy need to avoid....sum based on granny myths but then again beta believe to be sure for the good of baby lor....non scientific includes mutton, starfruit etc...

yun...do keep us updated on the progress of ur baby okie....=D

hi all, my cards are also from t-dragon. now waiting for the cards to be ready. the first meeting will be choosing of the card design and giving the coordinator your details and design requirement. About 1 week later they will send the softcopy of the artwork for your approval. Then about 10 working days the printing will be done. That's for the case of printing on the card itself, not sure if it is the same for paper insert. due to the type of printing that we chose, we spent about $1 per card for the printing which is more than usual. but hopefully it will be nice =P

hi winwin,

for ur honeymoon F&amp;E, did you book everything yourself or did you get a F&amp;E package from tour agency? May I know where are the places that you will be going in Hokkaido and how much is your package? I'm enquring as I am also going to Hokkaido as part of my honeymoon.

hi luvz17: i didn't ask for permission, don't learn from me. Very risky. Was hit and run!!! Today i saw my PS pic, the school ones were my fav though. The risk were worth for me.

lex,
yes....i had a hard time deciding which is nice on me...perhaps will post up n ask for voting when i collect my CS :P i doubt there'll b another Shanghai Nite Theme as d sch has got 1 2 yrs ago...hehehe, have to wait till ppl's big day den i got d chance to wear a CS liao :P
yah lor, dat's y i was reluctant to go for overseas PS cos i doubt i can have as much fun n oso d location doesnt really appeal to me :P i rather go japan or europe for my honeymoon, perhaps need to shelf my europe plans cos i wld prefer a warmer weather rather than yr end but see how 1st...d payer gets d final say :P

hi cheryl,
welcome to this thread!

1) for petals, u can get frm any nursery, florists or mkts...will b cheaper...as for d hand bouquet, heard dat blk 85 bedok has a v gd n cheap stall so u may wana chk it out...
2) there r lotsa shops selling wedding stuff e.g i-dear collection at far east, amanda weavers at chinatown etc...there r some online sellers as well
3) not too sure
4) im gona have ampoule on my AD...most MUA wld have their own brands n im not sure if they'll b pleased if u bring ur own unless u apply b4hand n tell them u dun need to use...

I'm a bit lost now, think the topic is PS locations?
Lost, i like the idea of having pics at the marina, think quite romantic, like can sail off to a faraway land anytime.

Mary, that's a very unique wedding proposal gift u have.

msclaire, mary, orchard rd is not so crowded during weekdays, but sure will get a lot of stares. I'll stare if i'm in the vicinity

xinglin, hi, gd to see u here again.
Where will u be going for PS?

Flora, u have been together with HTB since sec 1? That's a real long relationship.

paisey, what an adventure, think i'll be so scared of being caught that i may forget to smile, but glad that it all turned out beautifully.

msclaire,
no worries, juz try to join us d nxt time ok?

lost,
i agree wif nelle, it's meaningless to pay extra for sth dat carries no significance to d both of u though it'll b cool to take pics in a yacht, but it really depends on wat u want

mary poppins,
oh i love orchard or town area whereby i can hold shopping bags n walk on d streets but it must depend on my PG n see if my time permits cos i feel it reflects my shopaholic personality...go to d movies, buy some popcorn n go to games cafe whereby it was d same setting as our 1st official date cum bday celebration :P den oso in d sch dat i wk in cos dat's where we got to know each other

yah i was sitting near to d stage....hehe, oppsss...where were u seated?

praisey,
u r real lucky....u went into d sch w/o being stopped by d security? i wk in a sch as well n rite now all schs r pretty strict abt entry except for poly n uni....

xinglin,
i was thinking it wld b easier if i can find some places nearby each other, im entitled to abt 4-5 places...including d nite shoot