(2008) Brides of year 2008

Melvin will not be free on 13 and 14 Sep cos this two days are also hot dates

13 Sep is booked by me le, hehe

Hi eelin, yeah ... I think u can rest assure you're in good hands. My colleague took Bridal Veil for her wedding last Dec and the gowns were gorgeous

hi queenie,

im nt too sure either. perhaps for my case, the young kids r mainly frm my mum side. so i let her decide. =)

when is ur wedding? u starting planning the seating liao?

nelle,
finally i get to see ur cinderella shoes in d forum....so smart....i must go n read d steps b4 i post up nxt time :P

providencia,
i find it v hard not to touch my pimples...think i need to chop off my hands in order not to do so, even my beautician said i got v itchy hands when she looks at my scars everytime :P

rach: maybe it depends on the photographer? We engaged Adrian and we think he shoots well or at the very least, he manages to create a theme for his photo albums so we got him. I've known quite a few photographer friends in my university days but they are charging rather expensive rates now cos they're more established now, can't afford to engage them. Hence, we chose avenue8 and got linked up to adrian. maybe you can send me the link of your friend's photos? paid 500 deposit. we pay the rest (688) after everything. I just want a dvd with all the high res edited photos cos I intend to compile and make a magazine style album through online avenues.

should I panick about the solemnizer? I gathered that they don't really like to be booked way in advance. anyone knows who is already booked on 14th Sept so I dont go running to them. haha.

ya, mei, I just re-size the pic to 30% vertical & horizontal then presto, the file size become very small liao.

Very happy now... hahaha...

Hi R&J - My Dad told me the same, but when I asked for the rationale he couldn't explain, hee... So I'll still be attending weddings.

Hi JJ - Yes 2 VIP tables, 1 guy & 1 girl side and the couple sits with the guy's side. If both families can fit into 1 VIP table, that's fine as well.

And here's my question - anyone heard before that pregnant women cannot attend weddings? My MUA is pregnant so she's asking whether my elders wld be ok with her doing my makeup on the AD

Sue, i am hardly on msn during office hours... got come online then get the pics from u...

Meiling, thanks for all ur words of assurance... i am praying for the best...

Jeslyn, congrats on the confirmation of ur gowns.... jus wanna check with u is it true that WG should be white??? i have confirm my choice on a ivory satin n do not wish others to have seconds opinion on my choice...

Cyc, i saw the McGriddle banner every morning at Mac when i walk into my office but nv have i order one for myself. maybe i should do so tml....

Lex, how r u??? din see ur post for quite awhile... Koyoyo too, muz be busi at work...

Rainydaes,
my wedding is 17th May 08,i started planning 1 mth back. I already settle mine & my mum,just that its the kids seating make us more troubled. Will discuss with my coordinator when i get to mit her next mth.

Thanks s'rene,
how about if the siblings are unable to fit into 1 VIP table only, then is it approriate that bride side has more people than the groom side, i.e. bride sibling sit at VIP, while groom siblings dun.
will relatives have negative views on that?
can the couple just decide n ignore what parents want??? stress man

i have vaguely heard about pregnant women cannot attend wedding, but think now a days people don't really follow the traditional so strictly la..i have seen pregnant women attending other people's wedding.

ya, i don't understand that too.. tot is happy occasion.. if funeral, then i will not attend lar..

i also heard about the pregnant thingy.. think it's up to ur family whether they mind anot.. like my wedding, my cousin will be attending.. she's 8 mths pregnant liao.. both my families don't mind.. actually what i scared is that she maybe too difficult to come.. but she said she's fine.. so i'm more than happy to invite her.. she's my childhood playmate leh..

McGriddles is filling.. its 2.30pm now and I'm still full! hee..

koyoyo is expert in JB shopping? well, if we are all keen, can first locate the place to buy wedding stuff then we can all drive across together. safer in a big group i guess.
can go on labour day holiday.. but may be v crowded at the causeway.. then again, weekend will also be crowded.. ok. we need to plan a bit.

Hi at this point of time we should have confirm:
1.venue
2.BS
3.Photographer & video
4.Actual date
5.shoes
6.check out car rental service
7.checking out on gold jewellery.
Anything else?????

hi kailing, like LSnTYL said, best to call them to check their availability. I finally found my JP that's available on my date 13 sept on my prefered time.. like you, i m opting for outdoor (for my case poolside), but the first 3 JPs i contacted were either not available, or only after 7.

heheh wah... all planning to go jb for cheap and good deals ah..

tinky , no prob when i c u online then i send you the pics.

mac griddle...wah .. got so filling ha.. what is the diff between that and the normal macmuffin ah... sweeter? or ? i see it has some maple syrypy thing... issit?

wow tat's fast. haha... me haven got my seating plan yet.... think i will get it next week ba den start to crack my brain cell to plan. =)

straylamb>ooh... abit slower..someone else booked him.. hehehe..

Never heard of Simon... try injack studio?? heard not bad..

YL> fitting was great...settled all my PS gowns.. My EG ah...secret...FH say cannot show people yet.. hahaha..
Surprise factor.. hehehe.. so later then see loh.. still didnt get to see my EG...
Its not done... so 24th will go back and see.. and try my EG.. hehehe....
Oh btw, i changed my WG liaoz.. saw another one that was just returned back.. somebody MTM it..
VERY NICE! and the train can be hooked up to make it look shorter for the day time..
Its sooo nice loh... i like the lace and embroidery in front also..
Its rather different from my original big purple ribbons that i showed u all..
Now its off white WG with black trimmings... very unique...and my frens loved it.. hahahaha..

PS & AD gowns are same... but AD i'll only get to wear 1 WG, 1 EG & 1 Teadress/Kua ma...
PS i have 6 outfits... so i went to choose 3 others... 2 for OD, and 1 more EG..heheh..

crown>cool... u've gotten him as well..

Then can get quotes for ur reno from my FH la..

KaiLing> I already placed the link earlier ah.. u missed it?? www.melvinho.biz
He's recently taken a number of ROM & AD shots... VERY Nice!!
He charges $688 for whole day PG + editing into a slideshow + all images returned in CD..

He do not do printouts..

You only need to pay him on AD.. think he dun need deposit...

You can just call those that u like and ask if they are available first..since its soo popular...better to book in advance.. can start calling the JP liaoz..

Have u booked ur BS?? (Bridal Studio)

lex,
me too....i duno d way cos im always ferried there by my cousins, have not been going for a long time as d kids r having exams....

tinkybell,
dun worry....im hoping to see some nice gowns at d wedding show too so i can tell my corodinator straightaway dat i wana change :P

cyc,
i havent try d mcgriddles b4....juz passed by d mcdonald's when i went to d bank, it sure looks yummy n filling :P gona try dat wif my fh 1 of these days...:P

sue,
hehehe....yah, u know lah, im always on for shopping one mah :P

nelle,
hehehe, now u've upgraded n obtained mastery in dat area....poor me, still stuck at IT idiot level :P so d trick is to make d pic super small? mayb i shd try n test post sth here one of these days :P

providencia n fionachua,
snake powder is those talcum powder i think, correct me if im wrong...it comes in a metal tin n has a snake icon in front one...i always use dat for my rashes :P

Hi providencia and chimes,
Thanks for your reassurance.
Now just have to sort out venue first. Wedding in Nov and haven't book venue yet.

I took my PS last friday before weekend. Was a long day... luckily for me the rain stopped in the early afternoon, so could take OD same day.

Most important thing is to enjoy the photoshoot... the mood is most important...Be happy and happiness will reflect in your photos.. oh ya, can do manicure and pedicure the night before PS.

I brought handheld fan, insect repellant and alot of barang barang but all never use...

Some not nice things that happened were pricked by sand and lost my footing when standing on the pebblestone at the beach. so kana a blue-black the size of an egg!! haha..

nelle,
you shoes very chio leh.
how high are the heels...looks quite high...

i use oxy cream when i've pimples. :P usually that time of the month they will make an appearance. :P

msclaire,
if you want to avoid your period during your wedding days, you can see a GP and get some prescription...
i'm not too sure what it's called, but i'll be getting it cos the indian wedding rituals demand that i be blood free (not like anyone can check right!!!?!? LOL)
the magic pills supposed to be able to delay by a few days to a week...
better ask the GP lah.
if you know, do let us know too

flora,
i've exams too!
mine is end of the month, 29th and 30th.

seems like i've to miss our gathering again....but i wanna buy la senza bras!!!
boohoo....!!

meiling, bingo tat is the one. hehe thanks for the description.

hi ladies, how long will u organize a gathering seem interesting to hav a meet up with all the BTB?

Sue/Cyc, my colleagues who have tried McG told me is it slightly too sweet for liking.. i will try and let u knw... kekeke......

Meiling/Cyc, is shopping for wedding items cheaper at JB? if u girls gg in group, remember to count me in yeah...

Nelle,
nice shoes! Where did you get them from?

Meiling, I've chose my gown already...my designer says I shld bring my shoes for the first fitting so that she can adjust the length for me....I can't wait to go for my gown fitting, so i better get the shoes fast....
So far, only shoes from Essex walk caught my eyes...actually budget is $200 but think might have to increase budget to get from Essex walk...sigh, shall go shopping this weekend and determine where to get.

Any suggestions as to where I shld go to for shoes?

Hehe, I'm another one with itchy fingers...die die will want to disturb my pimples...when i was younger, the scars go away very fast...these days, they take a longer time to heal and now i'm starting to curb myself more successfully not to disturb my pimples. just rem to apply pimple cream.

actually providencia gave very good advice...avoid the mirror when pimples are popping out...i still rem the time when i had chicken pox then kept going to the mirror to look at myself...each time i looked, the more depressed i got. so i suppose if we don't look into the mirrors too often, then we won't always think abt the pimples on the face - so less tendency to disturb it?

Oh, and my beautician said its becos the back is oily that's why pimples pop out there...so she said to use foaming body cleanser to get rid of the oily back. and don not apply moisturiser to the back as well.

nec,
toking abt period, it's my 1st day today....terrible cramps, think it'll coincide wif my PS dates....super sian to think of dat, wonder if i can even smile properly :P

fionachua,
hehehe....no prob, i simply love to use it at home, it's so cooling to d skin....hahah, instant air-con effect on my skin :P

Kai Ling..sorri ah, cant stop myself from asking.. how come your nick sound like a gal... u took ur wife-to-be account to login?
hee....cos any further brides who join in this thread later may get confused, dun know u are groom. :p

hahahahaha... nec, the height of the heels are 4"/10cm. Got it at a steal at a shoes shop call Colours at Far East Plaza at $45.90

you are giving the meet up a miss???!!!???

Jac, I very stingy one, so I select the shoes which I will still wear for other occasions. My partner even tell me to try to lelong away the shoes if I don't like it anymore after AD. :p

jac,
oic, great dat u've chosen ur gown, any pic to show? yah i oso havent bring my shoes for d fitting yet...think i'll bring my shoes once i collected them frm LL on 2 may :P u can chk out my multiply for a OTR LL shoes, it costs me $159, it's really simple as compared to paradox shoes, i may wana get another pair during gss :P
if dat's d case, get ur shoes fast, u may wana try LL or loe n behold...another alt is dat u buy over discounted taka vouchers frm ppl n den use them to buy paradox shoes...or apply taka-dbs cards to enjoy rebates so u'll find it more worth it to buy

nec,
im gona kill u....it's d 2nd time u gona miss our gathering again :P

nelle,
it's really cheap, i shd ask my colleague to drop by colours too...i went in but i didnt see anything dat caught my attention 2 weeks ago, mayb i've missed it :P

hi tinkybell, i tink ivory is ok...but u need to ask ur parents if they are acceptable...mine was off-white in color...

initially i chosen an ivory WG but act ivory should be somewhr close to cream color but mine was veri yellowish in color...even my colleague feels so...tat's y i forgo this choice.

cutephinphin, i m using this MUA called Lynda.. her contact is 97901979. she charges $50 for short hair & $60 for long hair. got her from a contact in the june brides thread.. hee.. maybe you can call her lor. i also dunno whether she's good, but she's sure cheap!! she's doing for my mum, MIL & younger sister

Nelle,
actually I think i want to get shoes which can be worn after AD too...i think i'm being too wasteful if i buy shoes which can only be worn during AD.

Meiling!! you want another pair of shoes??? seems like u have many many pairs already...okie, shall go ur multiply to take a look at the shoes from LL. and no, I don't have any pics yet...
I chose my gown during my first trip to my BS cos its OTR and its a first come first serve gown there. so thought since i like that gown, better get it first before it got booked by other brides...cos the gowns are all new piece (only worn by models) and won't be shared by brides, so better 'chope' the gown, before its gone....then designer adding more details to the gown, so didn't have a chance to take pics yet.

oh, regarding the pills to delay the onset of the menses, i took it a few times before....you have to see a doc to get the pills and to take the pills abt 2 days before your menses expected arrival date.

jac,
im oso waiting for d fashion show to reselect d EG....hehehe, hopefully can find nicer ones den i can change...:P 1 of my WG is new pc, but i doubt d rest will b cos i dun think my BS so kind to reserve everything for 1 customer :P perhaps they'll spread out :P
hehehe....i got 3 pairs now, pending 1 more pair for collection, so total 4 pairs now...if i find nicer ones, mayb i'll get again so it really depends :P

ok, here's another round of annoucement:-
Event: 2nd coffee session of 'weddings in Jun-Dec 2008' girls
Date: Friday 25 April 2008
Time: 7pm
Venue: Starbucks @Suntec, right at the end after Adidas, Nike bird store (NOT the one opp. balaclava)
[only nubra/other lingerie-buying girls meet outside la senza at 6.30pm (denote with *)]

Who's attending so far?
1)florabliss
2)Jac
3)^MeiLinG5^ *
4)Mary poppins
5)nelle *
6)providencia
7)shybride *

Did I miss out anyone? Or anyone can't go?

fortunemew> kai's part of my name, ling's part of her name. I figured sometime ago that no matter which part of our names we took to combine together, they will all sound feminine. haha.
there's one locally http://www.thedigibook.com/ but there are many more online and overseas companies that do so, saw some in lianhe zaobao few days ago.

rach> erm, nope, we didnt go for any bridal studio. I've sourced for a make-up artist separately and we are either renting or making the gown at a budget. we didnt want a pre-wedding photoshoot so most BS still charge in the range of 2k which is rather expensive for just rental of gowns and suit.