(2008) Brides of year 2008

flora bliss,
guz u must b d expert in culinary skills here, mayb u shd start a class to impart ur skills to us...i only eat while my fh cooks cos he enjoys cooking ever since his overseas days :P

ladies, any photographer to recommend? my budget is less than $700. Stress sia,left half a yr to get everything organise

Lost, which area is your mum staying? which area is your MIL staying?
Let me unleash my scheming mind to come up with reasoning for you....heeheehee....*rubbing chin and palms...oops forgot hands dirty, later kena pimple on chin*

I'm a new comer for this forum
I'm a Sep bride too. Just want to find out does anyone has any photographer to recommend? I'm looking for one for my actual day.

kire> yah... just had a big fight yesteday on our moniversary.. hahhaa....
Big big one... scissors involved... mum intervened... but all end well...
I was shocked too....
I was holding the scissors btw... :p

You can go to T&T Printing at JB. just went there to print my ROM cards.. hehehe. nice nice nice!!!
We printed 50x A6 size (postcard size) front and back full colors card... RM$62 = $27.313 (exchange rate $1:RM$2.27)
Very nice..can choose paper design and quality somemore..

Its at City Square 4th Level. We gave them 2 hours while we went for lunch and shopping n it was ready... cut and packed nicely.. envelopes at RM$0.20 each... but we felt not necessary so we didnt get the envelopes.. just hand pass to our close friends can liaoz..

crown> My PG charges $588 for whole day PG + editing into a slideshow.. if u interested can contact him urself..
www.gwen.per.sg/weddings

Hi Zoe, just like what i posted.. u can look for Melvin..

refer to his portfolio at the above links...
he has a number of solemnisation proj coming up in March.. so we can expect more links to be up soon!

he's helping me with ROM in May and AD in Sep too..

nelle..haha~ both staying same area.. but a few street away~

jac, me having 2 vip table.. 1 for MIL and 1 for mum's relatives.. but my parents going to sit with us

haha...then you stay in the neighbouring town. Don't fret, giving doesn't mean you lose, just make you a better person!!

hi ah net,
i have yet to meet up with my hotel ppl..
mayb end of this month..

is there any website for robin photography?

is it possible to get less than 1k videographer and is still got gd effect?

or any one come across with videographer who can make the express highlight v funny..keke

Hi tinkybell,
Sorry guys been busy whole monring.. tinky i onz on shoe shopping and wine shopping cos i know nuts about wine.. what are you guys aiming next..

hi rach,
oh lucky everything ended well..

Goin to JB to print..mayb i can consider..
cos i heard ppl say printing company charge one whole bulk and not by one piece..
eg: if u print 300 pcs is $100, so if u print less than 300, they still charge u $100

hi zoe,
there is a guy name jason, recommended in SGB forum too..

This is his pacakge:
My AD package is @$688, it includes:
1) 10hrs photography coverage
2) unlimited shots
3) All ediited images return in dvd
4) 300 pcs of 4R prints with white border
5) 1 pocketed photo album
6) 1 super 8R collage table top

You can reach me @ 81384306 if you have any doubts. Thank you.

Best Regards
Jason Tan
Ur Moment Photography

hi have anyone meet up with mirage videographer?
the video on their website is so so only..

is actual video express highlight same as wat is shown in the website?

e-cards is a good idea, but I was warned that there might be ppl where will think that we are not sincere inviting them.. very hard to please everybody, so FH suggest we send out invites as per normal, create website for friends to RSVP.. at the moment, talk only, no action on the website..

kireineko > robin's website is robin/com/sg replace with dot

rach> scissors involved in fight~ serious ar.. it didnt fly across the room rite??
got pic of ur ROM card to show us??

lost,
does your HB have other siblings?
can they also psycho your MIL on your HB's behalf?
how is FIL?

anyone going down to eClarity?
they are having a proposal ring sale this month..

Providencia,
that pair of shoes seems to go better with satin gown....i think it suits tulle better than the other bling bling one.

Lost, you getting resale flat?

he has 2 younger sisters.. i think they also cannot tahan lah.. dun bother abt her.. she is just afraid that her son dun wan her.. but the way she treat my hb, he always said i am his only family..

jac.. should be getting resale flat.. cannot tahan her liao~ both of us going crazy soon..

Pattern 3: Want me to reach her place at 7am.. and without their relatives ard, then ask her go there go early for what.. she said go park and take photos... old fashioned..

kire> you can check out Stefine.. $1200 with express highlights i think...
if u have budget...then go to weddding papparazi..very good... but very ex!

Ooh...if u need more info abt the printing in JB, just let me know.. can share with u more... they charge by size, color or B&W, and qty..the more u print, the cheaper it is.... but definitely cheaper than Spore...100% guaranteed... hehe.. :P

waxie> Mmmm... it did fly... i threw it across the room... hahha...nvm..its over... but the scissors was meant for other purpose... my mum came in, only saw me holding the scissors and tot i wanna mo sha qing fu... then i got angry and threw it directly across the room, landed on my bed.... ahhh.. i'm not that violent one k... its the 1st time such thing happened... very drama... but anyway... it was just.... spur of the moment... i hope it wont happen again....
I got the card with me... in my hp.. but.. forgot to scan last nite wor... hehehe..give me sometime..maybe tonite... okok??

Very nice.. 50cents plus each piece.. very very worth it.. front is color...back is gold matt fonts..

Nelle, you okay or not??

xinglin, the shoes that u posted are nice. where did ur fren get them from?

Gals, how many pairs of shoes are we looking at?? You all seems to be buying lots of them. I better make appoinment with BS soon for gown selection. Or else, I will have hard time getting those shoes...or maybe I can catch GSS to buy?? ehmm....

lost, sorry about that. I think u r very patient. MIL thingy...In my opinion, as long as ur hubby thinks the same way as u & he stands by u and let him do the talking sense with his mum, that kind of assurance is enough. coz he will help to clear all the misunderstanding.
I thought I am the one having prob with PIL. Whn i view resale flat, my PIL opinion seems to be more important than mine (Bt I am the one staying!), I chose not to go and view together with them..we have some issues over wedding prog rundown and everything he has to check with PIL, which make me pissed. End up, we have not discussed anything since then. Lucky mine is in Dec, still can afford this kind of 'delay'. I dun have such prob last time, not even for our ROM planning. All because we do it alone and what they need to do is to appear on the stated time n place. Ever since we registered, I am supposed to listen to their families stories....as wedding involved more thing n more formal, we have to check with them all the time. Lucky my parents leave everything to us.. Not so much conflicts. otherwise, we will have more friction.

Nec, is the cake from pine garden expensive? I dun want cupcakes coz I had it as my ROM favours the other time..

any idea what I can offer during cocktail? My hotel doesn't seem to offer food for that..

hmm.. ya... same situation with u, luv.. before ROm and after.. totally different.. MIL behaves differently.. we haven't view our flat yet.. but never intend to bring them along~~ later she got a lot of opinions and comments.. and her comments is always not gd.. and not good to listen.. listen liao, u feel not good haaha....
she already hit my limit liao lor.. from the day, i knew that she called me by name in front of my hb.. i gave up on her.. i used to treat her very nice.. go holiday i gave her ang bao.. birthday i arrange.. CNY i help her out with baking until midnight.. Xmas i help her take order.. -.-" but yet she treat me this way.. and best part is i confronted her.. she don't admit.. but gave herself out by saying "u not woman what are u then?" also i believe that a son will not bad mouth his own mother unless she really did something bad and wrong to him.. because she called me name, my hb scolded her back

stefine got alot of complains lately...for delivery goods v v v v late..it can be as late as 3 months. and they owas say they are too busy to finish the video..
my fren got so angry wit them..and i saw the forum having bad feedback on them..oso dun really dare to use them liao..
and stefine is smart as they dun sign service level agreement with clients on the date to delivery the video..
sigh..so my fren oso LL...
ya wedding paparazi is too exp...is way out of our budget...$2600 crazy..
my FH say we wont owas play the video at home..he rather spend more money on photos than on video.

kire> Ooh..yah..they are not really service oriented..but then bo bian... we like their style of animation.. hehehe..

Prefers them to coffee & tea dreamwks...so.. we rather stick to them...Mmm...
we yet to place any deposit with them yet... but likely we'll still choose them leh.. didnt really see any other animation company we like..

hehehe...okoie... u can look for Melvin for ur PG la.. he's good..fast & efficient also..

luvz, I am ok. Hands ok! keke...
Thanks, girls. I am happy, grateful and appreciate all the concern

In-laws problems never ending and never will be hor? Now then I know my future in-laws are really good to me after hearing all these.

Lost, be calm. Let her rant on and on.
My mum is the hellish one. Guess what my evil-at-times partner says? "Er, she kinda forget that I am marrying you. Being the eldest son-in-law (& she has no sons), she needs me to carry the heavy joss stick bowl at the funeral, the 1st person to walk the 'bridge', etc. And take care of all the funeral arrangements cos I know the daughters will be too sad to do it, and still she's like this ??!!!"

No prizes in guessing what I do next. Roll the nearest papers and hit him on the head. :p

Koyoyo, Yes, yes, shall go gaigai.... cant wait le... and what to aim next, most probably i will start worrying of my hubby's shirt le... need various shirt to go with the different outfit, gonna be the next headache.. and talking abt wine, i have no knowleadge abt it too, need to count on u girls for help le...

Sue, u r the fastest le... i still waiting for the right pc of EG to appear... if dun find anything suitable by end of the month, really need to consider MTM.

Meiling, something wrong with my phone, cant reply ur sms... but i am for it..

Btw, Girls, i saw several pairs of very nices shoes from Leapin Lizard in the latest issue of Wedding&Travel magazine, here are the designs to share with u girls... (PS: Meiling, the black shoe look very similar to the pc we aiming at Loe&Behold ley)

sorry girls been out of loop ahile, recently my FIL decided that the date 13 Dec is not auspicious and stop me getting married in this year so i still don't know when i am going to get married! haha

hi Nec, yeh agree with the lychee martini is nice. I tried it before.

well tarts is nice but there is vouchers with the traditional cakes for GDL. I have friends having 2 types. The cakes for the family (old people)and some vouchers and tarts for close friends. Usually on the GDL, your parents would have to distribute the cakes to relatives. So using the voucher is much more convenient now. Imagine, the car boot full of cakes and by the time you do your delivery, it would not be nice. hehe

luvz17, as for cocktail, i think some finger food or chips would be nice. That also depends on are u really going to start as u scedule or going to delay.
that depends, on how much budget you going to put in it? usually hotel would provide some peanuts on cocktail time. check again with them.

I am too thinking to have cupcakes on my reception. Not having the DINNER thing. Mine is just a church wedding and reception. having cup cakes as i think it is something sweet and simple; as the caterer usually have some kind of deserts place. Oh i didn't know it would cost $4 for one .. i tot it would be like $2 haha

mine one best lah.. she told my HB.. dun blame me next time my daugthers dun call her da sao (cos HB is the eldest and only son).. my reply to my HB- dun worry, i wun blame her, but ask her dun blame me if next time her grandchildren dun call her ah mah..

luvz17: where did u order ur cupcakes from?
nec: hahhaha, may just give it out to relatives at the end of the wedding (as in pack back).. and not all the guests would like cake and after the dinner, the stomach may not be able to fit into their stomach.. unless i can get the shop to do up mini cupcakes then it should be enough for everyone and not too big..

Jac, found this, hope it helps.
Step 1:
Know your dress. The first thing you need to do is buy a dress. When looking for shoes, always keep your dress in mind.

Step 2:
Match the fabrics. If you have a silk or satin wedding dress, wear satin shoes. If you have a tulle and silk chiffon dress, match it with a pair of crepe or raw silk shoes.

Step 3:
Think color. Try to find shoes that match the exact color of your dress or complement the color. Also think about the colors you are using in your reception, bridesmaid dresses and flowers and try to match those.

Step 4:
Think style. Consider the style of your dress and buy shoes that match it. If you have a casual dress, consider sandals or slippers. If you have an elegant dress, heels or pumps might be a more appropriate option.

Step 5:
Think comfort. Remember that you will be wearing the shoes all day long, including during the dancing at the reception. Find a shoe that is comfortable for you, keeping in mind the overall heel height.

Step 6:
Try on the shoes. Once you find some styles of shoes that interest you, try them on. If possible, try the shoes on with your dress.

Lost, u very good DIL already, done so much for her. Ur MIL sounds a bit psycho, just ignore her whenever possible. Good that u are staying so near ur mum.
Nelle, ur hubby is caring and humourous, very good.
I count my blessings that my PIL are normal.

Lost! power lei...hahaha...anyway, i realise that any house too far from them, they will comment far lah, exp lah, small lah.. anything near...very good, i like it.. who cares whether they like or nt??? They forget that whn we tell them (not asking them), it is just out of respect. but doesn't mean seek their approval.

green>no particular pref for scenery. Cos we never considered going overseas till our PG gave us a good rate. :P

rach>glad all is well for you. Now you make me tempted to print in JB too.

Kireineko>I like your ROM e-card! v cute.

hi Xinglin
I got the same rebecca-ivory pair from belinda but the heel stopper came off after first wear.Anyway Belinda is a very friendly lady to chat to.

Dear Nelle,
Hope your fingers are alright by now. It like tt.. it easy we think back how clusmy we seem to be but when we are really facing that situation , our natural instinct made us react clusmily.So what do you end up having for dinner?

haha...went to upp thomson to eat prata, curry mutton, etc.... :p~~

girls, do remember remember to book & go for a feet parafin spa ok? Cos if you are wearing open tor shoes, dull looking feet (even if you do nice pedi) doesn't help.

I have roughly done up my beaty sched so will put up here next time for your reference.

Wow tinkybell
I like that Red shoes.. btw, gers need your opinion.. it just suddenly dawn onto me tt my HB only been offered 2 suit for the AD. does that mean we need to buy ? I cant imagine 2 suit to last the morning (fetching bride-church-dinner)
does tt mean he wear 1 boring suit thru out the dinner??

tinkybell,
ok so we confirm dat date ok? hehehe...btw, have u chked out d prices for leaping lizard shoes? heard it's rather pricey even for a simple pair, i like those designs....esp d bling blings, i like d 4th pair :P thanks for posting up d pics...makes me wana buy my shoes even more :P

koyoyo,
dun worry, ur BS will usually lend d jacket to u, for me, im gona ask my fh to use his own jacket n d fil jacket provided for more variety...:P

providencia,
thanks for sharing d tips! will go thru it b4 i go shoe shopping end of d mth :P

nelle,
wah, u got ur beauty schedule done up liao? do share wif us ok? envy sia, im going for my facial tm, gona clean up all d clogged pores...have not been going for facial for more than a mth le :P

Hmmm, sounds like my FPILs are really nice even though my HTB is the only child. They treat me nicer than my own parent. Maybe because they do not have daughters? Anyway they are humble folks. My parents are the issue. Sometimes, when I attempt to communicate certain issues to them, they will start rattling and not let me finish. I have to "summon" my HTB to communicate to them. *Headache*

same here Mary. Luckily my partner is a Tiger and my mum is a Rabbit. No wonder he not scared.

ok, here goes. Do note that alot of $$ will be spent. This is more in tune for Oct wedding but just adjust abit for other months.

1) 1 Day before wedding
-Mani (acrylic/gel nail art) & Pedi, hand paraffin & foot paraffin spa
-waxing (for any place you want)
-body scrub, masque and milk bath
-home: face & eye masque
-total: $400.00

2) 2 Days before wedding
-teeth polishing
-home: face masque
-total: $50.00

3) 3 Days before wedding
-total: $6.00

4) 4 Days before wedding

5) 5 Days before wedding

6) 6 Days before wedding
-trim hair, color and treatment
-total: $180.00

7) 7 Days before wedding
-home: eye masque
-eyelash perming (so that the real and fake are in line)
-total: $40.00

8) 2 weeks before wedding
-total: $7

9) 3 weeks before wedding
-total: $7

10) 4 weeks before wedding
-last facial
-back treatment (for glowing back for backless dress!)
-hair treatment
-total: $200.00

The eye masque is SK2 (14 pairs in a box, $88) and the face masque is those paper kind (5 in a box, $30). Fingers tired liao. Will continue the 11th onwards next time. :p

providencia,
thanks a lot for the info....
Now I can verbalise why I think satin shoes don't match my gown

Nelle, thanks for the info!!
If you girls are looking for a waxer, I can recommend someone I've been going to...she's doing her business from her home and hence her rates are very good.

Any recommendations for manicure/pedicure? I hardly go for any due to the nature of my work.

Nelle,
is eyelash perming necessary? Never tried it before.

Maybe can add one more item to Nelle's list - teeth whitening. I intend to go for this before PS. I read this is a key reason why the celebs smiles are so outstanding.

all of you gals have so many ideas and crazy over cupcakes!! Hahaha. But I must admit they are cute and nicely decorated!

I'm now contemplating if I should get another place or ask my tenant to move out. Just met up with them last Sat, they mentioned they like our place very much and they are 2 elderly sweet couples...