(2008) Brides of year 2008

tinkybell & lex: Thanks, that's what I thought too, she should be working from home. Coz saw those press articles in the webbie, it's like shot from her home.

polarwhite & koyoyo: Aiyoh, my hubby has been such a gamer ever way before I knew him, back in the Nintendo days. He was on WoW for a while. Sometimes, I wake up and find him not beside me and he's actually on his computer playing with the US folks, cannot take it. If I don't pull him out to go out with me to eat during weekends, he'll probably be in front of the PC the whole day and forgot to eat. Recently, he bought his PS3, and he's been on it since then. Which is slightly better coz' the PS3 is played on the TV which is in the living room, so I get to see him. But that also means I don't get to watch my DVDs. =(

hi ladies.. I'm wondering when is GSS? Don't know if i should wait til GSS before buying SDJ. Have planned to go shopping for it later. Any advice?

To the 3 ladies who are going for PS soon, hope the weather will turn out to be just as what u want. All the best and have fun.

hi xinyi_reiko, how's ur photo montage coming along? I have not started on the 'childhood' montage yet.

oops.. looks like i found my answer to GSS. GSS is from 23 May to 20 July. Is SDJ to be given on GDL? If so, looks like i wont be able to wait for GSS liao. MY GDL is on 21 May.

plasterbrides,
you mean besides the key chain, there is coaster? So there is different freebies for diff covers? I got the keychain but there's only the boy part, the girl part is missing. what's Page one?

I like Her World and Style weddings the best....yep, our only chance to read the bridal magazines. I've been constantly on the lookout too.

i think if u r planning to buy yellow gold they wun b on sale during GSS.. price of yellow gold follow the market pricing

I'd suggest overseas magazines for refreshing change. Local magazines are a tad too bleh overtime. Check these magazines out at Borders or Kino.

Cacky, Polar, Koyoyo, base on all ur sayings, i guess my hubby is not such a gamer after all.... he will play for several hours if time permits but never on the pc for long hrs... due to his work nature, i guess Zzzzzzzzz is more important to him than anything else... that aside, i bet all have their likings n playing game to them could be just like how we enjoy shopping... kekeke......

Koyoyo, hope to hear good news from u on ur fitting later in the day yeah.....

For the rest of the other Brides, have a great weekend ahead.....

i like Style Weddings! Am currently waiting for the magazines to be released too.

It should be out pretty soon since it is already the 8th today.

Btw, I was just wondering if any of you have tried Fancl Tense Up? If yes, is it really effective?

Hi Kelly,

Who is ur MUA? mine is Stephine who did my ROM trial.
Will be going down to see Suzy next week to choose gowns from MS and Bendemeer.

Hi jo_vin

WOW! you are already done with indoor PS??? Mine will only be in early june. Won't be going for any overseas shoot tho coz no budget as need to do up my hse reno and am hoping to save some $$$$ for honeymoon at Hokkaido.

Btw, if you EG and WG is MTM that means u use OTR EG and WG for ur indoor PS? Suggest you start discussing WG and EG details with BS so that ur have more rooms for amendments so that they could not force you to accept their last minute designs and workmanship.

Hi Papaya123, I've tried Fancl before, and yes, it's quite effective. But you have to drink it consistently, otherwise it's going to be pointless...

xinyi, u doing the photo montage yourself? Wah....60%!!! U are v fast leh. I'm still in the midst of choosing the photos. Hee...think i saw u on renotalk

Just to update my wedding prep progress.
1) Collected the inserts for my wedding card.
2) Fixed my food tasting on 18 Mar.
3) Finalising layout of albums
4) Cleaning house for moving in
5) Gotten dates for GDL (7 May) and An Chuan (12 May)
6) Booked 8D/7N Taiwan trip during NATAS fair (leaving in July). Intending to go resorts holiday right after wedding (haven't decide where).

But still have a lot of things to be done.

Haha.. Ya, done with indoor PS le.. Me and my FH more kiasu. Haha.. We gg to desaru cos our PS package is from M'sia, so its included in the package, no extra cost.

Ya, I used OTR EG and WG for my PS, both indoor and outdoor. I had total 11 gowns. Haha, kiasu again. Think I will hv a big headache when choosing the pictures. My PS studio says i can start discussing MTM gown with them around June. But i also felt that it might be abit too late. Think will ask her again.

By the way, why u wanna use OTR for your EG? If your studio offers you MTM, then why not take up the offer?

Hey zhuoen, its a very very hot weekend. Where are you having it? Did you havea hard time looking for a place?

And Valerie, I agree with you. Overseas mags are better especially if you want gown ideas. After he proposed, I went berserk and bought up all the local magazines and some foreign magazines out there. But very expensive leh... But there was such a huge contrast between local and foreign mags. Local mags are good if you don't know what's out there in the market. But if you already know which vendors you want, then foreign mags are great for refreshing ideas.

hi mentos!
can help me update my videography details..finally managed to get my videographer liao.. it's forest productions.thanks alot!!

hi irene, I also have 6th Dec as a date but all full le. I agree with jac I like Her world brides more, this year is their 10yrs anniversary so should have more information. Bilssful brides have more advertisements. But ultimately our bridal magazines are very gear towards revenue so you realise that always the few BS and PG ppl get featured as they pay for the advertisements.

hi jules, yup foreign magazine more ideas esp the venue decorations. They are very focus even have one magazine fully on wedding cakes! Haha me too after my HTB propose whenever we pass by something related to wedding will go in and see.

Everybody seems decided on their venue, I am still starting to finalise my contract jialat. Anybody thinking of using livestudios? I am considering them.

Hi rommie, you want to go hokkaido for honeymoon? It will be very very cold in November according to my Japanese friend. But the scenery will also be very breathtaking. Initially I also wanted to go there, but later I thought otherwise as I cannot take it if it's too cold.

shybride: hehe rem to let me know hehe coz my skin super sensitive. went for my 1st facial of my life 4days ago n my face is still red red pores still abit swollen sobsob

Tiao Chuan is done on AD.
All my frds' tiao chuan is b4 banquet and after tea ceremony. Those whose tea ceremony after banquet they also have tiao chuan b4which. But not sure whether it vary for diff dialect gps.

Everyone: Anyone of u holding banquet at Grand Copthorne Waterfront? Met up with their florist this afternoon haha, think im the most kiasu,meet florist b4 sign contract:p

kittyng, ya.. i doing it myself.. i actually did sometime back.. recently didnt continue.. got to buck up and continue.. becoz i intend to do another short thank you video, instead of having a speech on the stage..

haha.. i always chat at renotalk.. got bunch of friends there.. hehe

Style Wedding is pretty good too. I just bought Singapore Tatler Weddings 2008 and The Smart Wedding Diary. They're those with better quality stuff, in my opinion, besides the overseas ones.

Of course, you can google for ideas too. I love to check out wedding favours!

Jac >> yup..blissful brides has 2 covers this time, one cover give a keychain as freebie, another give coaster. Page one is another bookstore like kinokuniya, it is at Vivocity 2nd floor, near to GV village there.

papaya123 >> yes, fancl tenseup effective !! i been drinking it since late last year..it really helps in my complexion and make my skin look much better with glow...but same as what valerie mentioned, need to drink it consistently..initially when get started need to drink on daily basis for at least 2-3 months, then followed by 2-3 days 1 bottle (else might put on weight as it happens to my friends) and the SA also told me to slowly cut down the frequency, as collagen slowly bulid up...i just replenished 6 boxes of Fancl tense up..hehe, if you want to try i can sell you one box. i asked my friend to get for me from Japan so it is cheaper.

Girls, I take back the comment on The Smart Wedding Diary. It's BLEH. I just opened up to check the contents. The weddings gowns are.... ORBIT!

Today I went to try out my gowns. Aiyoh I gain 3kg weight these 2mths and my waist increases 1 inch, so cannot squeeze into my gowns. Hehe studio now has to perform alternations to fit me in. :P love my bubble tea, choco and cheese cakes too much and take at least 1 of them daily.

How are your fittings going, gals?

Btw those who joined this thread later. There'll be an upcoming gathering on 24 March (Monday), 7pm at Plaza Sing. Come join us if u are free! Ah Rach is the organiser.

Hope I have nothing last minute on. Since last month, I have marked the gathering down on my e-Calendar hehe.

green> thanks for the reminder..

I was abt to remind and post it up.. hahha..just in time. ;)

So... who's coming?? For now,

1. rach
2. green
3. who else??

Let's see how many we can get...then we decide wher to go la...

tinkybell: Good for you! At least next time when you have kids ... you don't have to worry about having an 'extra kid' to take care of. I have to lor!

Hi Karen,

My MUA is Angeline. Will meet her for trial make up end of this month.

Wow.. my coordinator is also Suzy.. same as you.. Hee..think you will be spoilt for choices for the WG. The EGs will be slightly lesser.

Oh you can bring camera to Boon Keng, they allow you to take photos of the gowns you try. so rem to bring ok?

Hello Jo_vin: 11 gowns! so nice.. =) you have one PS in S'pore too? can share where you go? Mine will be in mid Apr.

Morning gals..

my next task is to shop for SDJ too..
where u gals gg to get it ? for gold i oni noe of Poh Heng / Tian Poh...

I m gg for food tasting later.. shall update ur again
Have a nice weekend

oh btw for march in song and music during the dinner.. ur can buy the cd - The wedding album or club at Sembawang music shop ..

Hey babes...
wah, you guys sure post fast and furious!! :D

hey, nlimm, i stay behind lakeside mrt..
very ulu hor... :P
but i still like my house lah..

i've used some ampoules before...worked fine...but i stopped after less than 1 bottle (mom and sis stole from the bottle)

how come your facial is so 'long-lasting'? maybe you can change beauticians or ask them to exclude extraction?

shybride,
how's your PS?
weather today is beautiful!! :D

GCW has a wedding show? or is it over? today? *blur*
best to sign up then...have $3000 cash rebate or some hot deal like that.

pageone sells books for slightly cheaper than borders.
Fyi.

oh, i've given up on local mags...always see the same gowns (in herworld and style) from the same BS...
wedding and travel is a little better than these 2 i think
1) cheaper
2) some times have more useful articles

in any case, i think 'brides', the overseas mag,
has the best pics of gowns and very interesting stuff...altho some are not practical for an asian or singaporean wedding... :P

oh, for those ex foreign bridal mags,
can go to lib to browse (and borrow) past issues...
alternatively, browse at borders.

then save $$ and buy only those useful to you.

nec: behind lakeside mrt..err...dirctly behind or?actually i also not sure of tt area seldom go there.Bought this unit coz its 4stationf r dover, actually i find it a bit far fr town haha but near to sp. so my hubby next time take train to work n i take the car:p

my 2 sisters went to her for years, maybe its coz of my own skin too sensitive or the new facial pdt tt i use concurrently haha, tap water is still the best, being using tt for past yrs without facial pdts n no pimples now spent 2K on facial pdts yet get pimples

GCW wedding show over.its $888 rebate for wkday dinner n $688 for wkend dinner but mine is wkend lunch so no rebate sobsob but if pay using uob credit card, will get 1 bottle red wine per table
Dun really like there stage deco choices but have to give n take i guess.
But theyre lunch banquet $739 per table is it ex?

Shybride: hows ur PS?

plasterbride: i am thinking of taking one box of tense up 10 days before my photoshoot, so that i'll look better. and perhaps take it before my AD as well?

what do you think?

Hey YKim, yah they also have one specially for flowers. But I like their magazines for gown ideas. I find all the local magazines don't give you much inspiration for gown ideas. And wedding favours as well.

Hey Valerie, I'm also looking for wedding cake!! Have you got a list of who to look for? Initially I thought I had already decided on 1, but I realised there is so much available. I heard there is a really good cake shop that used to be at Chun Tin. Apparently all the socialites and tai tais always order from her, but now she's moved and I don't know where it is.

Nec, I realised that Border's foreign magazines are more expensive that other places. So you should only buy if there are discounts.

The Smart Wedding Diary isn't good for me either.
I got a few overseas magazine. However, while some give very nice ideas etc, like Nec, I think some are not practical for local weddings.
I prefer local magazines cos they offer local insight and what's available locally.

Any one reading on Martha Stewart's wedding magazines?

Flora, thanks for the info on Style Weddings!

Fancl Tense Up is really good?
I thot of trying too cos my sister in law is going Japan soon. Maybe i should try. How does it taste ah?

Xinglin: The taste is nice. A pleasant drink indeed. Alternatives to boost collagen can also from the food one takes, or the beauty product one applies. There are many products in the market, not necessary only Tense Up EX. Check them out!

Nec: You are right about the W&T mags. I refer that most. Pity they aren't published on monthly basis.

Jules: You can check out Smiling Orchid. I think their cakes are quite good. Sorry, I'm not looking for a Pâtisserie, but rather only the design cos my hotel is making one for me.

Just hoping that their work is good though!!

I guess more people taking fancl tense up rather than the other brands ba.
Is there a difference between tense up and tense up EX?

Would also like to know if anyone has taken Fancl Clear Control AC supplement before? Any help in controlling acne?

Xinglin: If you want complete clearing of acne, I still prefer the good old doc. My friend is full of praise for this dermatologist in Toa Payoh area, and if you are keen, I can get his number / address for you.

Apparently, I've heard there are several different causes for acne.

Oh dear, u gals are making me so guilty ne...me of a boi boi nature...so neber make up (unless only formal occassions) or dun have any cosmetics things in my life ne....um...if I start now, u all think will have any changes by Nov? sobz....and where do I start? hee....I heard from my fren say if u dun take care of ur own complexion and the MUA has difficulty in putting foundation, they'll scold u....damn... I hope thats not true....

Valerie, i've problems around my cheeks areas. Both side alot pimples
and redness.
What's the doc name and clinic at Toa Payoh if you don't mind to get for me? I've went to see a doc before but the products dun seems to improve. I don't want to go the extend on oral treatment. One of my problems cud be due to hormone changes.

Irene, i dun think MUA will scold you ba. I think important to kip basic skincare and application will be enuff even you don't put on make ups often =) don't worry.