(2008) Brides of year 2008

i'll confirm my attendance later can? now i have work to "pia".. to be completed by end of march..

in my opinion, the manicurist is the deciding factor of which shop is good..

so excited.. i'm going to my fitting on 13th..

meiling
dropped u an email and added on msn.. except you dpn't show up yet :P

tinky, meiling
muzt plan shoe shopping! I won't see any of my gowns yet but I already know what shoes I want heheheh... as long as they're low

hahah tinky, you also think along the same lines with me about shoes! I'm still going to look at off the rack shoes for sure but would like to take a look at MTM shoes and see if they really are worth to pay for bit more for..

bluebananas
I suspect the off the rack shoes would be about the same price as MTM if you buy from Guess/Aldo...

Will you check out Parker's wines and see how's the prices and brands like? Share share la :P

uksport..
wah must quote your name ah? Hahah I'm turning into quite the name dropper! First drop Jiahui's name for VG then yours for PG? LoL

hi tinkybell,

me went fitting on sat.... my skeleton gowns r out liao.... i love my gowns !!!! esp my WG, wif that long train n nice slash..... will post the pics at multiply once i get it from my fred.... my freds went fitting wif me, she brought cam along, so need to wait for her....

Hey Rachel,
doubt I will be going down on that day as I already went down previously week. My coordinater say its too close. There may not be new gowns for me to take a look.
Don't worry abt ur size, they have gowns for all sizes. Hope u find something u like!!

oh yeah...pine garden.. :P
oops...need ginko biloba liao...

oh, i intend to serve the cake during the cocktail....cut cake then and serve then...cos dinner always start so late and the late pple are usually the older folks who don't care too much abt cake..
so serve during cocktail, then can help the friends tahan until dinner..

you gals shop for shoes very early hor...
oh, cos of PS right?
when are your PS dates?

i think loe and behold has a pretty nice collection
wonder what's the price range?

oh, this weekend was pretty lazy... :P
actually went for buffet on fri nite (sigh) and then weekend stay at home and wait for new furniture to arrive...so snack and watch hindi movies (which are 3 hrs long!)
poof!
now back to my full figure!!

unlike you babes, only need to tone,
i've to lose a buldging tummy...waist line of 29..

now ya all don't feel like eating lunch right? :P
coffee all spilt over keyboard also...
hee..

shybride,
how was ya PS?

providencia,
no stress, just stick to taking vit e and c...good for skin...
and all those good tonic stuff...sure heal fast fast one!!

MeiLing, what kind of shoes are u looking for? Like nec, must have head and toe kind?
I'm told to get silver open toe shoes, as much bling as i want, the more the merrier. Did you see any like that in city plaza? If not, i dun waste my time going down.

tinkybell,
thanks for being there for me when i needed u gals
yah, luckily he toked to me on d phone for 1/2 hr on last fri....think he'll curse n swear when he sees his hp bills :P
i missed toking to u gals, yah april sounds gd...mayb i shd show my mum d designs n den asked her for her opinions n oso asked belinda if d sizes r available :P

bluebananas,
i wld think getting otr is more worth it as it's cheaper unless u really couldnt fidn anything u like den go for custom make...cos some designs r really basic n simple for custom make n yet they charge v high prices...

lex,
heheheh.....we r chatting on msn now, really fun toking to u...btw, have u considered pumps? my fren did wear flat pumps on her AD as her hubby is shorter than her, she bought a plain pair n DIY her own design

polarwhite,
i wana see ur gown...it sounds beautiful n exactly how u wanted it to turn out, so envious

meiling
subscribe to skype :P anyway that's what your FH get for not being in SG ma... have to pay some kind of price.. in this case - the HP bill... and later the credit card bill LoL.

pumps ah.. er... I don't like pumps le...
I like those Loe and Behold kind of designs like Rebecca, Georgina, Anjah, Kiara types hehehe.

I think PolarW is in 9th heaven le... heh.. it's almost like the sound/silence of bliss

Hi shermie,

Yeah, Their prices are a little steeper compared with some designer boutiques like Dang, or Divine couture. But also have designer boutiques more expensive than silhouette.

Just to let you have an idea of my package:
- OTR wedding gown (tulle) to rent only
- MTM men's suit to keep
- 3 sessions of makeup
- 6 corsages (not very sure of the number)
- car deco
cost:$3300

i think i have read of packages a little more expensive, and of course, some are a little cheaper. But because there's no standard package (unless you're talking about a promotional package they had last christmas), prices will differ a little between the girls who signed with them.

Initially i was also quoted $3500. But i told him my budget was $3000 without an evening gown and hope he could reduce it to $3300 (on hindsight, i should have bargained more!). and he agreed. So i guess maybe can try and haggle a bit?
Is your gown very elaborate? That might explain the high(er) cost.

If you go to the Silhouette thread, you will find that the price quoted by the different gals there differs by two or three hundred.but usually nothing more than that. Don't know whether it's because of the material of the gown. I do believe that the price differs a little with every couple (i think that's typical of bridal boutiques - they will always try to quote a higher price first). That's ok with me, i think, as i feel there will always be some kind of slight differential treatment anywhere - some couples can bargain for more things, some has a few less things etc - as long as i feel the price is still reasonable for the kind of material and workmanship.

But I think there's no harm asking whether they can reduce the price a little or ask for more things.
They might just agree.

So happy hor... everyone seeing their gowns liao.... soon soon will be PS ahhaha then little by little... all the preparation is coming in

200 over days to our weddings! Hurray!

Me getting more excited as the day gets nearer. Last sat just finished my GDL. Now finalizing and doing last prep for the AD.

Hopefully everything goes on smoothly.

All I need now is plenty of sleep and rest. Been looking very haggard haiz....

waxie> agree! skill of the manicurist is v important. You have anyone to recommend?

gals, my PG is giving us a good deal if we want to do our PW overseas. Anyone has any recommendations on where to go?

providencia, who told ya abt your shoes?
BS?
or some other chinese tradition thing?

my 2nd and 3rd pair will be super bling!!! heheh...
go philippines....cheap and bling!

haha Meiling
I doubt your hubby will be angry at u over the hp bill .. u are his precious rem... anyway i agree OTR shoes are better choice.. Once i can cfm my gown i will start shopping for shoe..
Tinkybell,
My fitting ok.. it really short this round 1 hr only and strictly no photo.. wasnt feeling very well so didnt have much consideration. Only 1 gown everyone else seem to like so I kIV it...still searching for that perfect EG... been tried easily these days not much energy left... haa my coordinator say i gain a tummy. my hubby say i lost weight but tt bcos muscle turn fats... when i tried mermaid cut.. there u have it one special dress w parking lot for fats.. lol.. tried a few gown tt show off my tummy..everyone has good laugh abt it tt day...

woa lotsa of thread here today..
nec what your budget for VG or PG ?
Nlim i bought my ROM shoe from loe n behold
nice service from belinda.. very chatty and friendly

Nec, my shoes recommendation came from the designer, based on my WG and EG designs. He also told me what kind of accessories I should wear.
my travel plans dun include philippines leh, so must get locally. Shopping for shoes early cos want to get it out of the way.

hey jac and koyoyo,
budget is less than 1k, do not need morning express hilights.
and jac's VG hasn't replied.
been 2 days or so liao.
anyway, i also need video editing.. (india wedding)
and jinhong fr aspire said that he won't edit other pple's work.
since indian wedding footage is really other pple's work, i've to cross him off my list.

so far that's the story.
wanted to confirm w one VG but he increased prices
recently, altho we had met him and discussed with his previous prices.. and he took a little too long to reply ...(not like prev before we decided, his mails were very prompt...hmph)
but his editing is really quite nice....very flexible w songs and all.

nelle,
who are your MUAs?
i too need MUAs...maybe can recommend...
better if have miracle workers on my face. :P

will be getting cupcakes for my wedding.. but not sure how many yet.. will prob make a real cake as the top part for us to cut and the rest of the tier are cupcakes.. may not serve all the guests.. i thought its crucial for us to have as we its our bdae on our wedding.. so i want cake!! but have not decide where to order from..

zhuoen,

just asking,
if you don't serve the cup cakes to all guests...are you serving to some guests? then the rest who don't receive will see the other guests having the cup cakes?
just wondering lor...hope you don't mind.

cos i also thought of cupcakes initially, but quite ex for each, like $3-4 each....then if i order 1 for each guest, may be too many (some may not eat)...so was in a dilemma.

hey koyoyo, i wan to see the pics.. let me know when you post them ok..

hey polar, i wan to see yours tooooooo :P

hey mei, dun worry about the bill, your fh wont mind a single bit. i m super sure.

Bluebanana, i agree with Lex, OTR shoes r readily available, so can b a choice too... but Aldo n Guess price range is on-par with Loe&Behold. but we can keep our choices open and hope to get the idea pair soon...

Polarwhite, i am getting excited based on ur description... pls show us the pics soon... i also though of bringing my frenz for my next fitting but in some ways, i have reservation in the idea cos i wish to keep a low-profile till the wedding day then can show them my gowns... but on the other hand, i wish for 2nd opinion on my choice... shall see how...

Koyoyo, take gd care n muz recover soon yeah... guess the weather have been rather bad lately and causing us all the problems... hope ur selection next time round will come soon n ur ideal gown is within the lots... have gd rest and drink more water...

Meiling, gd that u are cheering up and back on ur smiling old-self... and yes, we shall mit up in Apr for intensive shopping...

i promise to post them ASAP once i get them.... cos i haven see them myself too.... cos i am busy changing, thats why no time to view the photos on the cam.... i come out, my fred juz keep snapping liao.... hahaha.... btw, i got my PS date fixed liao.... kan cheong liao.....

hi tinkybell,
depends on urself... if u r those who can decide for ur own, then is ok.... for me, practically i see every gowns i tried, i look like a fat penguin.... hahaha.... luckily my 2 gal freds r there.... i come out, they shake head, i know liao, not nice.... i come out, they say nice, ok then i choose the gowns.... cos i believe gals view things much better than guys.... cos my bf will say "ok lor", "not bad".... faintz.... but freds will say not nice on the spot....

when i tried my WG out, i was like "woh, long train"... then i come out, showed my freds.... the 1st ques they asked is who is going to hold the train.... hahaha.... cos both of them r my JMs.....

I'm thinking of getting cupcakes too!! They are sooo pretty! But yeah, we factored in the costs...If not getting house in the next few months, then am going to indulge myself in the wedding.

Nec,
so you will be going to India to hold another reception?

Regarding wedding shoes, must they really be the bling bling type? I tend to go for simplicity, so am not very interested in the bling bling types I've seen.

wow polarwhite,
like i say.. *envy *envy.. u got ur brunch of good "jun si" i feel so alone tryin out the gown,,,, my hubby say ok i dun think so ... bring fren they are busy yakking away no one help me secretly take foto .. totally lost .. wonder if i am ugly tt y fren dun even wan see me in gown or there is any gown i wear look nice tt y the short attn... i like how u describe ur fittin. u sound like a super star n ur fren paparazzi snapping away...

Jac, it's really up to u, no need for bling bling, unless u like it. I like the bling bling kind, that's why I'm getting those. As long as it matches your gown, plus gowns are usually long, few pple take notice of shoes.

lex,
he didnt bring any comp n he's based in d airbase now :P so no use subscribing to skype :P
i like those designs too :P hope dat u can find ur ideal wedding shoes too!

koyoyo,
hehehe...i hope so too cos i havent rcv his call since last fri, kinda worried but cant call him cos i dun have his australia no....juz have to wait for him to call me back

wooo....im so eager to go shoe shopping, was drooling over d shoes wif tinkybell over d phone juz now :P
dun worry, u r not alone...i oso gained weight over tis period, duno when n where cos i tried to cut down on my diet liao, still no use...sian

sue,
ehhehe....yah after all my complaining on d phone on last fri, his credit on his australia line surely gone case liao...dat's y cannot call me liao

tinkybell,
thanks for calling me! has a gd lunch wif my colleaue, had a gd time toking to u regarding d shoes...so tempting...i shd call belinda to chk up on d sizes

nec,
i booked my ps dates alrdy, 11 n 14 jun...1 day indoor n 1 day outdoor...wat abt u?
d price range of loe n behold shoes r ard $100+

providencia,
im looking for bling bling kind, open toed shoes...i saw some shoes but either not high enuff for me or i like d simple designs :P

Koyoyo, dun be silly lah... ur frenz muz be getting excited so they start chatting away without knowing what to focus on... pls dun make such comment on urself, we are all pretty brides remember... if u need extra help, u have us, we help u see if u need us...

hi koyoyo,

dun be sad.... next time u go fitting at GHA yishun, ask me along.... then i shun bian go see if my gowns r ready or not.... wahhahaa.....

koyoyo,
dun b ridiculous lah, yah lor, like wat tinkybell said, if u need help, juz let us know lor...we'll go there n help u select ur dream gown n snap ur beautiful pics, dun b upset...
u r NOT ugly, remember wat u told me?

LSnTYL> my manicurist is myself.. wahaha.. i dun go to anyone regularly, only during special occassion..
wat kind of places u like or have wonderful memories? for me, i like the sun, sand and sea kind.. beach resorts ba..

Hi girls, I'm a recently confirmed Dec 08 Bride. Care to share your wedding preps so far? I have only tentatively booked my dinner venue and bridal studio..mm..

koyoyo
don't be upset dearie... I'll love to go see gowns with you! Heheh especially since I got NO gowns to look at for a long long time..
It's normal that some friends aren't too excited about gowns.. but hey - don't forget it's -YOUR- special day and gown, you have every right to be excited about everything. So yah, my policy is just ahgn out with the people who are truly excited about wedding (like us!) and you'll be infected by us
It's all about keeping positive :D If it helps, I absolutely refuse to let any of my skinny friends ask about my gowns cuz I know I would feel horribly inferior.. but remember - your guy didn't marry you because you look perfect in a gown :P So yah! CALL US GO SEE GOWNS! WE GO MAKE A LOT OF NOISE AT GHA! *evil smile* Then you will be like superstar also.. got a lot of us paparazzi surrounding you.. then you must wear sunglasses and take photos heheheh.. if you want I can arrange drive behind you secretly.. and I'll carry a big brolly and like tiptoe behind you

meiling!
You going to check on loe and behold shoes! Eh wait for me wor~ I also want!

Lol, your FH is a pilot? My FH deals with airforce also but he doesn't go overseas, only his guys do - maintenance work and stuff. I hear the allowance is good though, but they say aussie allowance not as worthwhile as going to thailand or indonesia.

PolarW,
Your jiemeis are so cute heheheh... so who is going to hold the train?
When's the PS anyway? Are you going to do more outdoor or more indoor ones?

tinky,
quite frustrating right? like want to show gown ask for opinion but show already scared spoil surprise factor on AD heheh. Well, look at it this way, on AD there's full make up and hair, I'm sure the look will be completely different - plus that day you'll be glowing with happiness.. :P

Hi xinyi, i oso get to know my direct neighbours thru renotalk....hee
i think the thank u speech is quite a gd idea. So wat's your sequence of playing the different montage?

I dun think i can hav the speech in video cox i already hav a photo montage & a cartoon....so a bit confused of whether the time of playing these.

ya lor koyoyo, dun be silly.. how can you be ugly ... i guess your frens are just so excited seeing all the gowns that is why. dun be sad ok...
here got alot of us will be willing to go with you .

Mei, dun worry, you xi sheng a bit you call him la.. buy the call card , 10 bucks can talk quite a while... a few hours..