(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi sue,
yah yah, i must tell my jp to b more steady...else i'll get nervous as well :P same here, my best fren is non-existent as well, really envy tinkybell who has d direct opposite of our prob :P

lex,
true true, though i dun really eat supper but i tend to eat super heavy meals so dat's y i put on weight v easily, esp when im eating wif my frens

btw, puroland is polarwhite's gd fren leh :P

uksportgal,
thanks for helping us to source out d contacts! hehe....guz u r d only one who can help to do dat cos u've finished ur PS, all of us r still buzzing ard like mad :P appreciate ur help!

would like to check with you. if u pay a deposit with hotel for ballroom. would we be given a receipt or a tentative agreement then?

So much talk about HDB...But it's really sad that the prices are so high. I don't even want to look.

Jac: Thanks for the advice to look for BS early...I'm now on the hunt...Have visited 2 so far, and quite interested in one already...And I'm so ready to take my PS!! Haha!!

o thanks aukie, so on the spot u r supposed to get a contract.

Because i just need to know what to ask for when i hand over the cheque deposit

Eunice,
you don't have to look for flats right? staying with PIL? Methinks property value might be going gown soon...
Btw, which BS have you shortlisted?
Ya, I'm always thinking of what I want to bring for photoshoot and what type of poses to do etc....Think i've too many ideas...and HTB and I, when we pass by one place that looks nice, we're like 'can come here for PS'...think our list now has 6 locations...

I see... Thanks for the help, Nelle. So for now, I can rest awhile..haha..
Been planning what my bridesmaids should wear, who should be my sisters/ brothers, planning the itinerary for the day, MUA for mothers/ sisters. Hubby duno much about this tradition, so got him to check with his parents, just in case there is anything that we need to do as early as now. At the same time, sourcing for flats. Will go for gown selection in April, photoshooting should be in Jun/Jul.

Jac, you are so hardworking..then I better look for locations for photochooting too..We intended to go sec sch to take oso, not sure if it can be done...ust ask for permission mah..

Hi All, i am kinda confuse too... what happen to Koyoyo's JP??? what did the JP say wrongly???

Lex, thanks for all the useful link forwarded. i will check out once i return hm..

Meiling, in a way i am directly opposite to some of u... but i do have other problems n difficulties when it come to playing sports, buying office shirts... Sigh....

Hi Ladies!!!
I am so excited to quickly drop a msg to all of you here!! I have been so busy after my wedding, i couldn't have the time to drop by the forum!! I am now in Taipei Airport, waiting to board plane home. I had a short honeymoon for 4 days 3 nights in Taipei. Couldn't have anywhere nicer or further due to money and not enough Annual Leave to take.

Plus my new home internet not up yet. I can't do any internet at all except in office!!

I have a wonderful time on my wedding last Sat. My husband did crazy things that i thought he would only doin my dream!! I have lots to settle at home. Red packets not sorted, things not unpacked. Need to also organize my post wedding things so i can put on sale in this forum.

I told myself i need to settle down and properly documented my wedding and will post in my blog to let you see ok?

I am very glad because there is truely nothing to complain about my big day. Everything was organized and well plan.

Can wait to msg here again. Take care and congrats and the rest getting married!!
(Still having roller coaster ride feeling)

Hahah

Anyone can intro me a nice and cheap restaurants/ hotels? As i'm afraid hotels need 1 yr to book the place. But i do not noe when is my AD so i tink i can onli book half a yr earlier onli.

I appreciate your help as i do not know wat to do now. Even BS,PG or VG i oso dunno hw to choose.

Hi geraldine,

My wedding was great, i mean having to share this special occassion with my close friends and relatives. Its awesome. Furthermore, i only had 12 tables, the ppl i invited is really special. Many compliments from the guest for the wedding. I had a very cosy and loungey feeling kind of wedding with live band, with us walking around, mingle with the guests. The guest get to drink, chit chat, and buffet style food, where they can just grab the food as and when they like.

Only cons is the hotel coordinator really screwed. Initially was an outdoor dinner, due to bad weather around 3pm++, he pushes us to make a decision indoor or outdoor so as he can complete his task for the day. No negotiation allowed, and he just rejected us to all our request. He only think for himself... When we were doing march in, he was sitting at the bar, chit chatting. Doesn't even care if the wedding starts well or not.

But overall i'm glad i had fun, and i just don't give a F***ing care to the cant-be-bothered-bout-ur-wedding coordinator. Don't let him spoilt our wedding.

So how was yours?

Hi GALS!

I totally agreed. We meet up after CNY ok. I think all of us shlould be back by then and wedding totally over! Its great to have a session!!

Anyway for freshies, i use the flowers from my hand bouquet in the morning. Coz my is garden theme, so the MUA suggested to use flowers. I had lilies i think and the kang nai xing. It's beautiful. (LOL)

Glad its over!! And my new home is so ready.. LOL! it's really great to like live under the same roof as hubby and making him to make coffee for me in the morning! MUahahha...

Shall we set a date now? I don't mind opening my house for the outing, provided you gals don't mind the distant, i'm staying in Bukit Panjang. If not we can jut arranged a dinner together.

Maybe we proposed on the 22nd Feb 08 (Saturday)?
Or you gals preferred a weekday?

tinkybell,
yah lor, if only u can donate some to u n sue den we'll b saved n u can solve ur prob liao...
wat r u preparing for ur wedding rite now? die liao, i havent do anything yet

Have fun, luvz. Someday, you'll look back and smile at all these.

Jacqueline, may I suggest you choose a date or a month. Then call all the hotels/restaurants to see which dates they are available. Then if your prefered day/month is not available, you just choose the available dates of the hotel/restaurant. It is quite a frustration sometimes. I'm glad this problem is over for me!

hi ladies... mine is in 3days time.. I am down with a flu... sob sob.. hopefully i can be better on my big day.. just collected all my gowns and will be having an chuan tmr...

wow.. wendily, so happy to hear that u had a wonderful wedding.. it must be memorable!!! =D
hope mine will be great too.. starting to feel the stress now.. haahhahahaa,,

Alamak.. hard to catch up with this v happening thread! ;p Been busy the past two weeks trying to finalise plans.. and I'm glad to have made good progress!

Meiling, can you update your table? My church ceremony is confirmed on 18 Oct, my BS will be Flamingo and my photographers from Avenue 8. Tks much!

Lex, Ted collection was one of my top choice but slightly on the pricey side, given that they quoted me $3.2K for MTM WG, EG, tea dress. I agree that they have good service. Do share pix of your gowns with us k?

Hmm..on the issue of losing weight, I've set one of my new year resolutions as not eating after 9pm, and going to the gym once a week. You guys can consider.. personally don't see the point of starving myself cos I would usu end up eating more once I lose the motivation! hee... Let's work on being confident brides and not over worry abt our size yea?

Going to draw up guest list next.. ah.. so excited too!

hey christian brides,

am selecting a bible verse for my wedding invites.

I was thinking 1 John 4:12, No one has seen God at any time. If we love one another, God abides in us, and His love has been perfected in us.

but my HTB say too cheem. uhm...

do pple put bible verses in invites?

Jac, I've bot resale flat. Seller is my MIL haha...

Wah...you've already 6 places in mind for your PS ah...that's nice. I haven decide on a place yet though we've went for lookout :p

luvz, i've thought of going my sec school take too but my sec has recently "shut down" It was temp relocated while revamping the building.

Hey uksportgal, i've read your blog! Thanks for sharing.... We have got the same MUA. When is your AD? keke

Hi Meiling, if can donate, then i really dun mind lor... i still have 'some' to spare... plus the fats on my tummy, can contribute too... hahaha....

Wedding preparation for me ah.... i seems to like have thousand and one things to settle ley... really dunno where to kick off. but one thing that i manage to catch up with all of u is to purchase my wedding bedsheet (bought the quilt cover set consisting quilt cover n pillow case) so consider i only complete half the task, stil need to go n source for fitted sheet..

and i have been delaying the visit to fengshui master to get the timing for GDL, An Chuan n AD. Kinda lame excuse but i kinda tink that i am stuck cos wanted to plan the program...

how's preparation for u girls??

Hi Jac!
Yup, will be staying with the in-laws, so not intending to look for a flat to live...
And as for BS, I've shortlisted Golden Horse Award and Bridal Elegance (though I really quite like BE!!! - pretty gowns and value for money!)

So what are some of your suggestions for PS? I went to GHA that day and saw they took at Turf Club, so got horse! So pretty!
And then at BE, there was one with a gorgeous lavender field...Taken in Singapore cos why? They're lalang! But super nice!

Btw, uksportsgal...Thanks for sharing your website...Also visited your wedding page...You have very nice sweet photos!
I'm sure all of us can't wait to take our photos too! :D

Hi providencia,

Add me in the list too!
Name AD Venue BS PG VG
Veria 16/11/08 SH The Wedding Present ? NA

Actually my HTB suggest that we shld be doing away wif VG to cut cost...and since we'll not b looking at the video very often... =i

Hi PSH,

i've been busy getting my work done, my roomed cleaned (not completed thou) and requesting for quotes. Sigh... Still thinking of what theme/decor for the hotel.. Considering balloons. Will forego the add'l flowers because the hotel will provide some flower stands.

Trying to narrow my guest list.. Yup.. I know it's early but i need to know the ballpark figure so i can gauge the number of cards to print. Don't even know which printer to approach..

Anyone has any good or bad experiences with T-Dragon? Or any other printers?
------
Hi lovexlb,

I'm not Christian but i've got dozens of wedding invites previously from my friends and none of them put verses in the invites. Some said that they didn't want to 'offend' older relatives who are of other religion. So they print the verse booklets for their church ceremonies only and since those who DO turn up for the church wedding are receptive and responsive to biblical verses, it's okay all round.

BTW, fyi, i took up bible studies for O'level exams and majored in English Language in university... and errr... your verse pretty cheem for most people leh.. The older folks may not get it.

----
Hi Wai Wai,

If you've not shortlisted your PG yet, i agree with lovexlb... G.M. is a very pro PG. But he's super expensive. Think abt $5-6K? Can't remember how much he quoted me exactly. But if you do have the $$$, you'll be happy with his pix. I had to get another PG. (so sad) . We spoke to quite a few and even went to some of their studios but wasn't comfortable with some of them... A bit to biz-like.. We ended up with a PG who's quite chin-chye and friendly and we liked the album shots so that's that.
------
Hi so_blur,

I'm hakka. My HTB is Canto. but we'll prob forego the ping li and si dian jing and whatever.. Do the std hair combing ceremony (did you know that we need a happily married couple to comb our hair and not nec our parents? I never knew this until preparing for our wedding! I always thot must be done by parents only)... Do the tea ceremony etc...

Oh no, sleepygal... Ann's really blur. Does that mean Xiaohui has three brides on that day or are we the only two? Hmmm... Have you decided on your PS date?

YukiMegumi, you should do the VG. I have some friends who will once in a while play the video for themselves or guests rather than taking out the bulky photo album to flip. Maybe you can look for economical ones. No need too expensive one.

>green, i also have scars on my legs, also due to mosquitoes bites from last time de. wah finally i found someone having the same problematic legs! haha

>rach, sorry, but i think D'Meyson like very cheapskate like dat leh. I've never considered D'Meyson and other brands like SK, SooKee, Taka those kinda de. No offence.

>waxie, yeah, tianpo still giving out free singaporeflyer tickets, until march. paulson say this yr's gowns more simple? u mean the WG or EG? i heard from my colleague (who's getting married in june and she signed up with DiGio) that this yr's EG are more to those with can-can and a bit exaggerated ones.

>fanny, wow, fanny, i read ur qns i get stressed cos i've not thought of those at all yet!! die liao

>tomoko, you bought the rosegold rings from tianpo ar? got free ring pillow ar? which range of wedding bands you buy?

>Jo, i got receipt of my banquet deposit abt 15mins after i've paid the deposit. maybe it's cos we paid in cash. so maybe will have to wait till the cheque clears then they will send you the receipt? the manager den sent me my contract the following day via email and we jus sign and fax back.

Erm... I would not say wedding bands from D'Meyson, SK or Soo Kee Cheapskate... It all boils down to how much and what type of quality of diamonds you are looking for or afford... D'Meyson has affordable diamonds though not "top grade" but do have beautiful designs... My wedding bands are from Soo Kee... Brilliant Rose series... and I don't think its cheap... we bought it for more then 2K...

Jo> I paid the deposit and only got the receipt... I'm supposed to receive the contract within a week... should be getting it soon.and then to sign and return it back to them.

Ah Net> D'Meyson cheapskate?? They have one of the best diamonds, mind u. and the diamonds as small as 0.14 gets a certification..even when LH or GH or other companies dont issue for 0.30 and above... D'Meyson has one of the high range diamonds.. i wonder why u feel its cheapskate... I agree that SK, Taka & Citigem are definitely cheapskate..they used poorer quality and those leftover diamonds...usually poorer color also.. but not for D'Meyson... faint....
SooKee is better than SK... they are under same company but diff diamond quality..

My rings are lower in price not because its cheap.. but because its smaller...
my 0.16 Proposal ring is D color, VS1 clairity and is Hearts & Arrows Cutting..and its $508.. its not cheap loh... those of u who have thousands of dollars of Proposal ring..thats cuz ur diamond is at least 0.2++ or 0.3!
And i feel D'Meyson is not cheapo definitely... my coll also did research and found that D'meyson is the most worth it... other than T&C..

Ah Net,

>green, i also have scars on my legs, also due to mosquitoes bites from last time de. wah finally i found someone having the same problematic legs! haha

U very bad hor! *Sprank your butts*

I actually find D Meyson has nice band designs. Maybe I like simple, elegant style of bands. For diamonds, I think it doesn't matter which shop you go. It's the specs of the diamonds that matter more!

Why not go Tiffany, Larry Jewellery get your jewelleries if you find those shops cheapo?

Hi karen!
I was at first very scared about the meet up! Whole day think think think how it'll turn out...But it turned out alright actually...Both sets of parents were friendly enough, and the conversations went at auto gear...
So don't worry about it!

Hi Waiwai> You can try this photographer called Dean from www.deanstudio.com.sg. His contact details is 6220 6225. email: [email protected].

I am yet to have my PS taken, however, so far, I find him reasonable and accomodating. I am also residing in overseas and will only be back in
SIngapore 2 weeks prior to my wedding. Dean is very understanding.
_______

Hi M> where will be you be having your wedding dinner?
Mine is at Raffles Hotel. Gues what gals! I just noticed that Raffles Hotel weekday package is the same price as weekend! Hmm... I always though weekday is cheaper... That's the challenge when u did not view the ballroom personally.

Btw, I heard that T-dragon is super expensive.... there are other cheaper printers avaiable....

hi cyc,
sure no prob, i've updated d details for u....wah u r proceeding so fast to even drawing up ur guest list...hehe, i only finished my wedding vow n marriage contract....my fh was freaking out when i asked him to type it out :P
den he'll b assigned to design our ROM card n add pics to d wedding vows n marriage contract :P i think nxt will b emcee script n actual day programme

tinkybell,
actually i have spare too, ard my tummy n esp arms n hips...wished i could transfer to d relevant places which need them. at least u bought bedsheets alrdy, i dun have a bed

i only finished my wedding vow n marriage contract....i think nxt will b emcee script n actual day programme

hi uksportgal,
i may b interested in getting å››çœ¼ä»”é›™å› Sweet Couple Double Xi Ang Bao & æ‰‹ç‰½æ‰‹å£“èŠ±é›™å› Hand in Hand Double Xi Ang Bao
im not sure abt d no. required yet...have to chk wif my fh 1st