(2008) Brides of year 2008

i seriously still can't find the right EG..saw this beautiful piece at Bridal Zone Marina Square...it's black with silver..and i must say i look good, but my MIL said NO...sianz...so tomorrow i'm going down to boon keng to try again...haiz...

hi gals...

Stress stress..... coming to the end of the year, oh no, we are rushing like crazy in the office .. so many things to do ... so little time.

Hi rjgal n Ivy,

I've attended JR during my friend's wedding and was glad with their food/service. We were pleased with the ambiene and decor so confirmed the date with Katherine since early this year. :P abit kiasu Hmm. . looking for ard 35tables, either $438 or the $498 menu but yet to confirm.

hi ryu
thks...hee yah...we seems to think alike...lucky AD not same...i wont be needing the car til 09...hmm...we'll see how ba...htb also nv say anything...i opt for no dinner if i can...lunch maybe if it falls within our budget...where u and hubby going for honeymoon?

Hi Jule... I'm not too sure if it'll be a big help as well... But I read from another forum that I can use the Biotherm abdo-choc with it. At least the abdo-choc I know works...

The new uZap got this muscle recoevry massager as well... Hahaha... So can massage my calf muscles after gym...

It's gonna be a busy weekend for me. Good friend's wedding and many other activities.

Btw, Lee Hwa and Goldheart having 20% discount off their wedding bands collection. And if you're a Lee Hwa member, there's an additional 10% on top. I asked the salespeople who said Christmas discount is usually the highest. Don't know to what extent it's true, but no harm going to take a look if you're interested

hello... i been so busy at work so i disappeared for a while.

Welcome newcomers into May Brides forum...=)

I have confirmed my solemnization location, finally settled on My Secret Garden. I also made a cheongsum for my tea ceremony. Short, full white lace with blue lining. i am very pleased with it.

Anyways B_N_L, u shd set up multiply, just go there and see other brides also shiok.

U got photos to share? i dun have yet.

Been busy so didn't log in for a while....

Liting, my email is [email protected] Thanks for sharing spreadsheets with us...they are really handy...

Ryu,
You are having your reception at FS hotel right? Saw u in that thread
Are you having sit-down dinner?

Can anyone let me in on the rate that Bob quote? An estimated one will do....seems like us Dec BTB will be getting Bob

Lois, are you searching for BS too?? I haven't started too...I thought maybe can wait for BOWs to get good deals but seems like there's like only a selected few BS for BOWS...Santiago is one of them...Got a couple of friends who went to Santiago for their BS and they recommended it; I haven't went there before...so check out the BS that will be on BOWs then go BOWs to sign on their package if interested so can get good deals....

I was wondering, do we really have to confirm our AD PG and VG so early?? Initially I thought can settle the PG and VG like a few months before the AD...but seems like I better start searching too.. *stress*

Hi Jac,
i wanted to wait for BOWs, seems like not in time for MTMs unless I can get OTRs or the participating BS are from my shortlist. cuz MTM at least 6 mths?

I kind of know which VG to book so left PG. any PG to recc?

Hi Sue,

end of the yr always busi de... the more u should be happi that u r busi cos the bonus is coming ur way...

as for ur comment that i am the xiao mei mei.... i only agree half of it in the aspect of age... but frankly, i tink i look so much older than all of u... u all so sweet but i tink i m aging le... sad...

Polar, u wearing kua mah?? i haven decided yet... must see how i look in it 1st...

Mal, pink is ur ideal colour rite?? congrats to u in advance for getting the perfect colour...

N for All... we r all getting excited day by day.... gown fittings n selection for all.... btw, how abt sharing your ideal PS location???

Hi maple,

Glad to hear that Amara is good! You held your wedding banquet there? Who is your coordinator and is there anything that I shld look out for?

Hey apple gal! yupz, I'm getting the Ballroom, cos the restaurant is too small liao... my ROM will be in Feb instead. 28 Jun is one of the auspicious dates in 2008 mah...

Hi ladies, looks like I've missed out a lot. Sigh... that's the problem when my company blocked this forum.

Jac, I would think it's risky to book the PG and VG a few mths before AD. Coz nowadays people tend to plan early. So the better ones will be booked by other couples.

Liting, my email is [email protected]

melody,
wah...i think d rental charges is reasonable, mayb i'll consider renting frm them if d kua frm my BS really cannot make it :P yah yah, i intend to wear kua for my PS, hope dat i wont look funnie in one :P

hi sue,
dun b stressed...im on d same boat as u, end yr coming, no replacement n lotsa wk to prepare for d nxt yr...sigh, lotsa phone calls n walk-ins to entertain after PSLE results r released :P
sigh...it's gona b my 3rd sat wking for d mth...wonder if i cld ever get a decent break over d wkend

tinkybell,
hehehe....i wonder how much bonus to expect tis yr end...hopefully it's more, ur hubby shd b d same as me or more :P no lah, u where got look old? n we where got swt? :P
i havent even make appt for my fitting as i dun really have d mood to do so during tis stressful period, mayb see how nxt week if i ever make d call :P oh, i shd have abt 5 outdoor locations...got some places dat i considered but havent confirmed wif my PG
u leh?

Hi Zhixin,

Hahaha.. no lah.. we r in Nov 08 Bride thread.. Tat means I m a Nov 08 bride also lah.. :P

I had 3 friends who had their wedding there last yr and the year before... the food standard n the ambience still feels so new n sweet even though i hv been tare 3 times..

Initally we also want to hold our dinner there, but my hubby ofc is in Tanjong Pager and he is 'warn' by his colleague nt to hold our dinner there coz too near their office liao.. hahah

By the way, our will be in Grand Plaza on 11/11/08.. when's ur?

Hi Cordie,
I'll be following htb back to japan... honeymoon for me...him coming to singapore will be honeymoon for him bah XD

Hi Jac,
Yup having AD at FS but luncheon sit down. hehe saw you in FS thread too ;O)
abt BOWs as I wrote a bit earlier, maybe get gd deal but they also raise the price when the year crosses over to 2008 so not sure if worth waiting ;O)

ryu,
guz we have to postpone our meeting plans till jan 2008...is made wif love d shop selling d fanciful papers? i got $20+ worth of papers there, duno wat to do wif them now though i was attracted to buyting them when i 1st saw them :P

piggy,
ok no prob, we can always arrange to meet another day when we r free
shd have lotsa to tok abt when we have so many things in common

cordie,
no problem, i think a bride must look gd frm within...as well as outside...but im a btb wif none of d above :P so must wk hard towards achieving my goal though it's a tough journey :P

liting,
yah, frm d looks of it, i think we shd postpone d meeting, shd have many more chances to meet up b4 our wedding dates

oh, wat a small world...guz it's like dat when s'pore is a small country

oh, my VG package might b different frm d new package available, but u can chk out his website for d latest packages offered (available in d directory)...i rcved rather gd feedback abt him as my 2 close frens used him, i was d JM at 1 of d wedding
it shd b below $2K
chris's a nice n approachable guy to tok to

nec,
bon voyage!!! hmm, wah i like d intercontinental ballrm too...nice sia, it was my 1st choice but it's way off my budget so have to drop d idea of holding my banquet there...
im sure we'll all b d most beautiful brides on our wedding day, so dun worry abt it, who knows when i see ur pics on d website nxt time, i'll b drooling n wondering who's dat drop-dead gorgeous babe in d website

jac,
abt bob's rates, u may have to chk wif him on d latest price
i tend to agree wif flora_bliss dat it's better to bk ur AD PG n VG early if u know wat u want...to aviod disapptment...some ppl really went all d way to bk even 1 yr in advance if their AD dates r hot or d PG/VG r popular

lois,
mayb u shd go down to these BS to take a look n have an idea which r d likely BS u wana bk n has ur ideal gowns...den go to BOWS n book to get d attarctive offers...d mtm process is longer cos it's made frm scratch n lotsa fittings n additions b4 u see d end pdt...my package has got 3 mtm gowns...lagi worse :P

hi de-princess & BBIguana,

the VG that I mentioned is vincent goh. for further details u can email him @ [email protected]. Personally I have not seen his works yet but his pricing is one of the lower ones that I know so far.

for PG, you can take a look at this:

http://cremephotography.zenfolio.com/

I've hired him as my PG. His works are not bad and very friendly and his pricing is quite budget too. He just turned full-time from free-lancing.

noticed S'rene's name was missing from the list. added it in.

s'rene i'm on facebook too!

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / No venue / No BS
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 & 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / No BS yet.
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Not BS yet
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

stef, i tried to add u onto my multiply but no response. do u mind adding me? my id is nfk22. other BTB do add me to ur multiply too if I haven't added u. thanks!

Hiya ryu...
so means u be migrating ah? which part of japan yr htb comes from? i jus went there for hols last month....really enjoyed the trip and look forward going there again....

Hi ^MeiLinG5^ (~sblbee~)
i'm also a btb to be of none of the above...so must work hard also lor.... :|

need to update the list again... nehoc, ur list not the latest one. i had updated my BS ald.

<font color="ff0000">Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&amp;J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / No venue / No BS
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 &amp; 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) &amp; Marriott Hotel / No BS yet.
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&amp;M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House &amp; Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
Stef - 26 &amp; 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room</font>

oh ya, I'm in facebook too, many ppl asked me join so I joined, so many application no time to play with it till.

Hi Stnov,

Did you print at Focal-Ad? I confirmed the draft yesterday. Hopefully it will be ready soon. My FH and I counted our guest list and may exceed the expected numbers. Now, I am a bit concerned whether my wedding cards are enough to go ard a not.... Wondering whether to print extra if there is a shortage later on.

Also concern if my dad will distribute wedding cards to everyone he wants to invite instead of only those that rsvp....

lets talk abt PS outdoor location.... i have 3 locations to choose from.... was thinking abt botanic gardens bcos my fred told me the pond got swans.... ahahhaa....

hi tinkybell,

yup, i am wearing kua for my tea ceremony, no need to think wan... cos both my parents r cantonese.... hahaha.... then i told my bf that he has to wear the traditional guy kua wif the BIG red bow in front.... hahhaa... he almost fainted....

Morning gals...

Hi, Valerie
Will MTM gown a bit late for you, as your PS is on Dec 22? Don't make yourself so stress... Think positive. Maybe you can arrange &amp; meet with BS designer for advise.

Hi, Catz
I'm getting ballroom too but is on 15th June 08(sunday). Just curious to ask, why not arrange your ROM same as your AD?

Hi hi Ladies,

I will email the spreadsheet in a short while.. To me, i believe all gals are pretty but in different way only... so all of us lets be confident!!! keke...

Having wedding at lunch is good, coz the price is cheaper than dinner and their menu are the same... but ur guests oso know that lunch is cheap so ang pow will be smaller liao loh.. keke..

Ryu

Can share the contacts for the uncle victor with me too? plssssssssss..... thanks...

Meiling,

At first i thou using Bob's VG as he charge only $600 coz they are in a pair with PG mah... but scare so cheap duno the finish product ok anot... can give me the contacts or websites for ur VG plsssssssss......... thanks...

Next month we shall fix a date to meet in Jan 2008 k? Aiyo, cant wait liao la.. keke

Yah lor, my FH also the same. Must give specific task and deadlines.

Eve,
My dad will give cards to all that he is going to invite too. For my colleagues, I will give all too. It kinda cos of "courtesy" or "protocol".

But for friends, give only those who can make it. Cos friends won't geh gao with us.

I have 80% invitations. Seems enuff so far. On my guest list, other than no of pax, I noted no of invites too. So that way I can count how many I need.

So exciting 2 hear each of us making much progress...(",)
My photoshoot @ end Jan 2008. My MTM EG not even born yet...seems like my designer qite busy... will start e details @ end Nov.
Tink bnl 1 of the fastest lor...oredi done PS...
Rainydaes, weather forecast mention tat we r expecting more rainy days ahead till Feb... a bit worried leh... but i guess by now ur designer/consultant wld hav finalized e PS day/date w u as they need 2-3 months 2 process the fotos n produce the album...mebe check w them? Personally, doing it before CNY wld b good...imagine depriving ourselves from all e delicious food if PS after CNY...torture...!

Hi bnl, lbnl is my lazy short form for last but not least...sorrie if u blur over it...
Hi love xiao long bao, glad 2 hear frm u...btw, where's Secret Garden? Sounds lovely...which AD pg do u engage in?

Hi Parmida, based on ur name, r u a local? I hav met up w qite a lot of PG. Some offer PG only, while some tie in with VG. After abt 6-7 contacts, finally settled for Ken from Colourdots PG. He will be my AD PG + his tutelage (assistant) will b with him 2 do e shots...@ a very special rate.
u may wan 2 view his workz @ www.colourdotsphotography.com 4 further reference.
I don hav VG...tink no matter how u do it w special effects, it's still a motion picture...tinking of getting a guy frien who has interest in this 2 help out...
Whereas for PG, personally, i tink his skills very impt...Ken so far comes across as e one taz most sincere n friendly amongst all i 'interviewed' haha...
Oki...now moving on 2 e florist... not sure whether 2 settle w church florist or external agency...n oh ya, looking out for honeymoon deals.
Mebe, May BTB...wan 2 share ur honeymoon plans, like wat countries/ country u n hubby going? Which travel agency u considering etc...
Anione started w e guest list oredi?

Take ur time 2 reply ani of e Qs above.
Take care (",)

Morning Ladies

I as thinking of getting an extra PG.
cuz, diff PG has diff perspectives,
its always good to have a back up. I heard of 1 story that the PG's family had a funeral, so its not really appropriate to "attend" any "hong shi"

Oh ya, 4 those whoz still deciding on who 2 engage in 4 AD PG/VG, do check out this website tat does a compilation of all those renowned PG in S'pore who does PJ/ photojournalistic shots...
http://www.wpja.com
OR simply do a Google search...they even hav articles on how 2 go abt sourcing 4 real decoy (PGs tat really hav e skills/credentials)

tinkybell: Yea, my fav colour is pink.. Gotta see the shade of pink that they have there. I'd love to have fuschia.. Don't know wat shirt color I shld get my bf to wear though. He shreaked at the thought of having to wear a pink shirt! Maybe I'll get him to wear a similar shade of pink for tie instead...

Melody: Will you be renting the kua from HOE for ya PS or the one provided by ya BS? I'm tempted to rent it from HOE as the ones in the BS are very normal...

Polarwhite: I'm also wearing kua for my tea ceremony coz we're cantonese... My bf don't wan to wear the guy's version!

As for PS location, we're definitley going to the Esplanade (first date)... have not thought of the other places yet..

Maybe we can make a trip down to HOE to rent the kua.. hopefully they can give some discount if we are getting it together... hahha

morning gals..

Valerie, do arrange another round of selection. I selected my EG after 3 rounds of selection. Although 2nd round, I decided on my EG, but still not very satisfied. 3rd round I went, my friend asked me to try a pink one, which she saw. I tried and still feel the previous one I selected one is nicer.

If really dont have, can try to pick one for photoshoot 1st. Then MTM another one outside ba.

Hi Cordie,
My htb is from a small town called kanazawa. Ya might move over later on but not so soon la.

Hi Liting,
Will forword you uncle victor's email to you shortly.

Meiling,
Ya made with love is the paper shop. I'm doing some diy stuff so sometime will pop in to get paper or stuff. Trying to personalise my wedding lol.... think alot but don't know if can achieve or not XD

wah.... you gals... so fast on PS location ah.. that nv crossed my mind at all leh.. i thought the PG will take care of that leh. DO you mean we have to tell them where we want it? Oh no.. wg also haven think leh wat more the location.. * faint*

Bonus? Unfortunately, in my line of job, no bonus.. except 13 mth, so no matter how hard i work also the same ..

mei, i can understand, we are ku ming ren... sat is the worse.. imagine weekend so short leh...

by the time go home on sat, slp, wake up, sunday already you know... and worst of all, before you know it, you will be back to office on monday.

Hm...pink wg, was thinking along that line too... should i? or should i get a darker colour like red.. haha?

well well well.. so much so for that, back to the stressful work .

polarwhite,
^5...was thinking abt botanic gardens bcos of d greenery, pond n d waterfall :P now looking at other places where got many nice spots to take pics :P
heheh...was dat traditional guy kua meant to b a joke? but it's a cool idea...den u wear d traditional headgear to go wif it lah :P

mal,
^5, oh yah i remembered dat u were telling me when we met up dat time...im going to esplanade too but for nite shoot, hopefully can drop by fullerton n singapore river too :P
i dun mind going to see d kua at HOE, if nice, den can rent hor...bulk renting :P

hi sue,
yes, u can think of d PS locations n den tell ur PG ur preference....e.g sigificant places, nice scenery etc
huh? so poor thing...guz it's so different everywhere...but at least u got 13th mth, some companies dun even have
yah lor, today's my leave...tm have to go back again...sian n den type minutes n hopefully can reply to d auditor's report :P
i think colours like pink n red r popular colours for EGs, but i think i'll still opt for blue cos it's my fav colour :P

Mal, ^5, pink is my fav color too. Maybe i will consider getting my EG in pink

Meiling/Mal
My BS quoted me abt $300-350 for rental of kua but they suggest i get from HOE instead. I should be getting the kua from HOE for tea ceremony, as for PS, im not sure if i can get free rental from my BS. If not then most likely will not take pics in it. My hubby also doesnt want to wear the guy version.

As for PS, my hubby suggested going to take in Bintan. Any comments anyone? But not confirm yet, cos we are still looking at various quotation from PG. If not we will just take in SIn. Mal, i think taking at esplanade at night will be very nice too.

hey PSH,

i engaged Gabriel "MAndes" as my AD pg.i purposely mispell his name cos this forum bans photographers who don't pay subscrption.

Secret Garden's website... www.mysg.com.sg, its a nice little quaint place is Bugis. U shd go there for a date with ur FH, its quite nice.

Honeymoon destination... uhm.. deciding that now. =) Probably to a beach resort, go scuba dive or something. we'll go to somewhere more exotic at the end of the year, maybe egypt. U?

cordie,
den we must jia you tgr...but in d sense of piling on more weight....but losing them :P but i sorta gave up liao :P

liting,
sure no prob, we'll fix a date closer to mid-dec, it's like so far away :P sigh....

lois,
i got a 2nd AD PG too, i wanted more coverage n captured different perspective too

ryu,
hehehe....oic, den it shd b d same shop we r toking abt...i dun think im gd at DIY, but mayb leave it to my fh to do it wif d materials :P

melody,
it's a gd idea to rent sth better esp when any side of ur family is cantonese...looks more elaborated n looks better in pics, d pcs frm HOE r really v pretty...
ur BS doesnt have ethnic costumes for PS? mots of d BS have...mayb Divine is different...not worth paying extra for rental, anyway no need to wear d traditional guy version, can opt for d mandarin collar suit :P
bintan? it depends, a bride frm my BS told me it's not worth it...but it's up to individual leh, for me, i opt not to take up d free bintan PS cos i prefer to go to more meaningful places in sg