(2008) Brides of year 2008

hey Tiffy,

haha remember you le.. so qiao... how the preparation going on.. i am "lazy" kind.. duno where to start bla bla.. basically got the BS settle n banquet will be next.... what abt you?

Valerie.. not too sure whether if is worth anot cause yet to find the favours yet.. but dont think can cover the price... was thinking if should get them to wavie off corkage.. hee will be meeting Huiling.. think got to nego... but think quite diffcult..
btw saw the pics taken in NCQ.. vv nice.. i like the suite..

Bigfish, my MUA is the in-hse MUA from my BS.

For haircut, I go to Hairplay Hair Salon at Toa Payoh Central. Normally, Macy is the one whom I will ask for. However, I got Yuki to cut, dye & highlight my hair before my PS as Macy was on leave.

Hi gals, have added you all..

Dear Tiffy,
I've changed from Nov to Oct cos not many auspicious dates in Nov 2008 for me. Have you checked the auspicious dates? I've paid $250 for You Long Zi to check yesterday. Was given some choices since I restricted only to the weekends. What's your shortlisted hotels and budget? I should be able to share with you some information if you give me more details.
So far, I've roughly confirmed my AD, just waiting the reply from 2 selected hotels before I book. I've bought my wedding band and proposal ring and book my BS. After I book my hotel, I'll go and book my AD PG and VG (know which companies to engage already) and then confirm my ROM date and look for venue and JP (should be getting Bro Emmanuel since I know him personally) after that.

Dear Mindy,
Thanks, will surely reconsider British Club for ROM, haven't really plan yet cos more concerned to secure a date for banquet. :P

meiling.. I've got my auspicious dates frm Master jon sim. But yours is really kinda ex.. I paid less den $100...

I've got my wedding bands liao.. frm Charlotte Atelier...went to collect them on wed! My BS is Silverlining, Photography is Lance Lee & his associates. My ROM will be on 1 DEC at majestic hotel but i haven't contacted any JP yet wor.. heeheee.. den AD 22 NOV 08. Now me & my FH are looking at a few hotels, Maritus Mandarin, Oriental, Grand Hyatt, Sheraton & fullerton.. but also haven't decided on which yet la..

ah hahaa... Geraldine..I juz recently went to your friendster leh... thats b4 i see u here.. u machiam no sign wan leh.. no pics of u & your boi boi.... heeheee.. me ar.. except for banquet..all the rest are more or less settled ba..

Hi Malchan.. u mean your wedding guests have about 50 pple is it? can check out Gallery hotel leh... not bad leh.. been there myself.. initially wanted to hold my solemnisation there...& pple commented saying their food is nice..& the manager Lawrence is very good.

Hi Tiffy,
Bo bian...my FH got his contact from a friend, was told that he is famous and good. How many tables are you looking at? Some of the hotels' ballroom are either too small or big for me. I was told that Meritus Mandarin may be still undergoing renovation during that period, that's why they didn't give the quotation to me. Wow....seems like you have done lotsa work already....I must buck up...

Jojo,

I agree with you. Her hairstyles are Superb!!!
haha...

tete/muddpie,

just an update:

AD/ROM photographer - Henry Lim (Freelance)
AD/ROM videographer - Hwee Studios

Meiling>>> hmm.. i c.. for mine.. Master Jon Sim happens to be my FH's fren la..so juz go straight to him lo.. think we will at least need 35 tables.. so alot of hotels should be able to do it...for my case.. i didn't really go around hunting & comparing.. hahaha.. all straight-forward like BS: silverlining - boss is my lecturer... Photographer: saw his portfolio...called, meet up, & confirmed..den wedding rings..happened to pop into charlotte..den saw wat i like & grabbed liao.. hahaha

Hi Tiffy,
Yah, same here, we need around 35-40 tables but after checking realised it's quite tough as most weekend hotels require at least 40 tables, some even 45 tables for the Grand Ballroom. Wah...seems like you've an extravagant wedding and no budget, so envy...

ARgh... FH have some disagreement with the Majestic restaurant.. hai~ think we not holding our solemnisation there liao... arghhh... any good place to recommend...? Meanwhile, we'll be checking out Peony-Jade first since there's alot of good comments about them.. any other nice place?

Hi Valerie....

Things are pretty hectic...

Well need to start from square one with regards to the reception and lodging for guests. Coz lately back in California... the site where we are planning for the wedding was on fire... meaning the area burnt down due to the massive forest fire...

So we decide lor, to do it at Colorado instead imagine after so long I have been planning to do it in California....

Anyways met up with one wedding planner already, have like 2 more to interview, so shall see who can cater to our needs.

Then like today, now Colorado time is 07:05hrs, later in the late afternoon going for a bridal gown fit, but I have like 3 other boutiques to look & see coz I still have not decide on the gown I want.

As the for the rest, life pretty ok lah.. cant complain as much... back into rock climbing since that is my true passion... among other things...

How's yours??

To all the other BTBs dont be a stranger okies..

Riza

hi cabbage / floating

my coordinator fr Rasa left.. so they changed another perry guy for me as my coordinator.. r u affected?? dun know how is he like.. hopefully me & FH can work well with him.. =/

we will be going to rasa next wk to meet him... *crossing my fingers*

hey tete... thanks for sharing.. I luv the 1st hairdo... =D

i'm a dec 08 bride to be (have just changed date from 20 jan 09 to 15 dec 08). intending to hold our banquet @ grand plaza park hotel, now waiting for their next wedding show.

can add me in multiply too: pringirl

Jojo, my stylist charges me around $55 for a haircut not sure if there's any price increase due to GST though.
If I'm not wrong, I think i paid about slightly below $200 for my 2 colour highlights. My hair is till about the back bra strap. I need to go for a haircut soon too!

Managed to get a few things done over this weekend... so happy!

Went to YC and tried a few gowns. I like embrioderies on duchess satin but Yvonne was saying that the trend now is to go for lace. Is it true? I'm not doing PS therefore will only go down again to YC end Sept for measurements again before she start work on the gown. Will it be in time for Jan 08? Sorry if i sound KS ah.

I also managed to confirmed my AD Photography.
tete/mudpie, please update for me as well. AD PG - Depixel Photography. Thanks!

Lastly, I finally collected my proposal ring! Happy happy happy!

Hi Mage,

My hair length is similar to yours, till bra length. If it's around $200, it will be around budget. Will give it a try together with my FH. Heard from other brides to do any color/highlight two weeks before the PS. Will it be too early? I'm just afraid that the color will fade to a lighter shade due to sunlight and shampoo.

Riza>> sounds like a very interesting life abroad! may everything goes smoothly...but meanwhile.. enjoy the excitement!

Pringirl >>> Welcome here.. gonna add u in multiply too!

I've changed from a Nov bride to Oct bride....actually got a booking with PanPac on 081108 but it's not an auspicious date for me...have to forgo...sianz. Anyone who can advise me on the availability of Sats in Oct, esp 11th and 18th, have no choice cos all got tentative booking, hanging by the thread now.

MalChan,
The date that you've booked is one of the dates I'm looking at. Hehe...guessed have to cross out MC for that day...stressed cos of the min. table no. so have to source for other hotels....

hi mrs C,

hmm.. actually she's included inside my bridal package so i do not have to pay her anything. think u have to give her a call =). she's very friendly and is a taiwanese, her makeup skills very natural!

my ROM makeup and hairdo is done by her too

morning girls..

is today the day where all "old birds" return too??? hehehe..

okiez.. some info den.. my AD's 21 june 08 at suntec.. BS is BC at liang seah street.. erm.. AD PG is sam wong.. still looking for VG though.. going for aussie ps in sep.. woohoo..!!!! super cant wait for tat..

val.. my eyes feel good.. keke.. i'll see wat the doc says this fri for my next consultation..

Jojo, maybe you can call and find out more about the pricing first. Cause the price that I quote is based on memory and dunno if my memory served me right or not hehe!

tete, I like the makeup and hairstyle done by this MUA too.
very natural
wonder if she do under YC or not cause YC was saying their MUA are freelancers i think.

Thanks Tiffy

MeiLinG5, 11th & 18th Oct (Sat) is supposed to be the most auspicious date for wedding for 2008. I wanted 18th Oct but apparantly it has been taken up by another couple liao.

Tiffy,
My advice is act fast for popular hotels....some people already started booking for 2009, so you may not get your preferred dates especially if you are talking about weekends. :P I should be tying in with the hotel by end of this week, either MM or PanPac.

Tiffy, if you are on a budget and only want hotel, you can consider hotel Rendevous....
I didn't take it in the end because my SO felt that person in charge didn't seem interested in our business... haha

hi ladies... long time no see....
Me too... at last, I settled my BS and banquet venue too.... haha...
I am taking 7th Dec... haha....

Anyone have any idea to hold a wedding in GoodwoodPark Hotel? Is the food and service reputable in the sense that it's good?

Please advise... I intend to hold my wedding at GoodwoodPark Hotel.

hello gals...

Just receive an email from Grand Hyatt that they are having wedding show soon.
My dream place to hold my banquet...

BB, you may want to check out GoodwoodPark Hotel thread?? Seems like they have quite a no. of complains.

hehee.. mindy.. long time no hear too!! =p

xinyi.. dun xin yang yang.. choose le must let go of others!!! oriental good wat erm.. oriental right?)! kekee.. i was telling my colleague when she continued looking at new flats despite her own house already done! my analogy - like choosing husband, no point looking le after you sign the papers (theorectically speaking that is).. *lol*

hellooo korice.. haha.. okok.. your colleague best leh.. got flat liao still hunting around..

yaya.. mine is oriental.. but I go around recommanding intercron hotel.. becoz they have nice ballroom... haha.. I think I siao liao..

that time i sign up BC also.. still complains that I should hunt around more whereby i already visited 5 BS before signin BC.. hahaha...

How is your prep?? Got lazy or not??

Hi, need all of your help..
i'll be having a mtm evening gown.. but i dun seem to find any nice gown design on the webbie or magazine.. and i'll need to settle on the design by next week.
mind if you gals share with me any nice evening gown pics??

hey korice n xinyi,
long time no hear fr you guys!!!

val!!! you there??

must hunt out jo and shice and pris and all the oldies (but goodies!)

my BS settled liao...after all the nonsense abt DIYing... :P
Venus in JB...wah seh...i got a fantastic deal man!!!!

no AD still...still same old story...waiting for his parents to fly over to meet mine...then see no. of tables, then see which hotel have at which date...so my AD will be dependent on vacancies..LOL.

Me also May 08 BTB. AD on 15 May 08.

BS is Sophia and venue at Marina Mandarin.
Big items settled so now waiting for PS in Oct and other smaller stuff like PG and VG.

hahaa.. no lah.. not so lazy.. cos now end july le.. i have 5 weeks to my aussie ps.. was looking at gowns lor.. BC's PS gown selection not very wide.. though i did choose 3 in the end to bring to aussie, i went out to tailor too.. cos i wanted some cheerful colours like sunshine yellow.. but they couldn't find.. manage to fina a tailor i liked, and you wun be able to guess how many more gowns/dresses i made.. *LOL* any tries? when you doing your PS? you leh, lazy anot?

riza.. take care!! *hugs*

Hi gals...

just wanna ask around.. anyone having their soleminzation outside Registry?

i have try to invite one JP for my AD in Jan... and surprise to hear that he has been booked! (still have 5 more months)

now.. abit lost as when to invite JP officially as we can only register with the ROM 3 months in advance...

any good JP out there highly recommended?