(2008) Brides of year 2008

ah bao,

Hee.. ya... sound quite food to take together... BTW where is ur lovenest?

Wow, they charge so much just for the room. Maybe u can try to ask them give you the room FOC but dont want the decor. I am doing in this way so they give me the room FOC.

Sorry which VG and PG company you are using?
Cos I find a VG and PG with the express highlight which cost me $1.5k only....

Thanks Tris
I think that way too but the receiver might think "wah this bride so ngiao..." hehe!

But like what my friend say no matter what you do, people sure will still find things to say. So just work within my means. This is what I'm trying hard to drill into my head...

Hi Bigfish,

My photographer recommend Sophia from Face Bistro at Holland Village. You need for PS or AD? She can only do PS as she is currently pregnant. Hmm.. Think i left her info on the earlier threads (apr/May). She charges like $400 for PS.

Mage, actually i think it's a normal to give like $18 or $28 to PG/MUA and JP. Ultimately, the helpers got to understand that they are helping out of friendship and not take this opportunity to "earn" $.Give within your means will do.

Hmm... I have a question.

Why do we have to give ang baos to parents, grandparents on AD? Isn't it supposed to be the other way round. When we offer them tea during the tea ceremony, then they give it to us?

I understand that i need to give Angpao to my Granny but nothing was mentioned to parents. Not too sure why too, maybe different dialect got different practicse?

hi jojo,

i see.. oh my friend is another couple =)
usually PG charges like services only, services and prints or services, prints and coffeetable books.. that's why there are different packages bah..

my colleague recently engaged yu hxin.. already cost him about 1.6k.. photographers are getting expensive, so me still thinking whether i want to splurge as i have spent quite an amount on my BS ler

Hey Cabbage Princess,
I just saw the list of brides getting married in Jan 08 and I realised that We are getting married at the same place on the same day! =)

snow
Lovenest means house? I'll be living overseas after marriage.

They aren't very negotiable when it comes to perks coz i only have 10 tables. Also coz already signed contract already, difficult to ask for more..

I'm using moomedia for VG+PG. Their pricing is quite high, but very good quality.

Hi ahbao,

Which contry you are staying after marriage?
I strongly agreee that Oriental is not easy to nego.

Do you have the wedsite for your VG+PG?
Do you do any montouch?

Hi Kymmie!!

This is such a great coincident!!
In fact, I've been waiting for you to appear..haha...

You'll be using the Pavillion ballroom right?
What bout your solemisation? Wld u be having it on the same day as well?

There's another bride who'll be getting married one day after ours & at the same place too!!
Haha... this is so fun!!!

mage...share d same tots as tris....frens are helping out to share tis joyous occasion so angbaos are juz for 'yi shi' onli....=)

welcome yelody....27th jan is a super hot date for weddings......

I dont think the tong shu will come out end of this year. You can try those market auntie of those "paper money" store. Should be coming out in August or sep. Cant be end of this yr, it is too long.

Hi Tiffy,
Will be planning for my ROM outside, looking at the boutique hotels or hotel function rooms so that it will be cosy and small, after that can proceed for lunch/tea.
Yah, I understand that most BS works this way but I prefer everything to be taken care of as I'm not good at sourcing for designers etc. That's why I signed up the most expensive package available in WL and prepared $2K to top up for my photos if necessary, so it comes up to about $6-7K as well. Each additional photo costs $65 and additional change of clothes for shoot is chargeable. I've yet to work out the possibility of having an overseas package with them.
I'll leave the dates to my MIL as I'm so overwhelmed by these little details...

Hi Green,
Yah, I heard it's gona be out late this year...so unlucky...everytime kena all these...

Hi Ting,
Thanks for your information....

mine will be on 24th May as my MIL wanted that date. anyone on 24th May? I've signed up my BS with Bridal Zone and venue should be either M hotel or Parkroyal. So have u all started preparing??

27th Jan must be really auspicious! hehe

Tris and Stnov, thanks... cause suddenly realise i'm on very tight budget for the wedding. I might do away with PS and just spend on AD PG that's all. Any cheap and good journalistic PG to recommend?

Initially wanted a live band as I'm doing lunch buffet and a band will liven up the place but no budget for it too. Can only console myself that I should be contented already since I get to do my wedding in my dream hotel. Hehe!

Welcome yelody!

Hi Josephine,

Mine oso 24th May too! My BS is Sophia and venue is Orchard Hotel. I'm looking for venue to hold my solemnisation which will be held in Mar 2008

I heard from my MIL tat 24th May is a good day..
as she went to temple to sort advice (something like tat, as i nvr go)..
my solemization is over .. just left the customary and wedding dinner only.. now trying to slim down to look nicer... hehe

Hi Mage,

What kind of budget are you lookin at for live band? Maybe you can try compass entertainment. They're a group of musicians. They have quotations that are less than 1k. Let me know if you are interested. Maybe I can help you out with this. Sort of know the person there since I just booked them for my wedding.

Tiffy> have you ever considering getting your cats to go for your pre-wedding photo shooting?

I want to have cats in my pre-wedding photos. But I don't have any to bring along.

hi cabbage & Kymmie.. the other bride is me!! hehehe.. so excited... has been busy recently.. cos looking for houses & we had also decided to bring forward our ROM to nov instead of AD. so very busy but happy... =D

Cabbage and Princessnono!!!

Woo Hoo... Sentosa it will be! Yup!!! using the pavillion. ROM will be in church earlier in the day. =) Extremly excited!!! hehe

I'm also so busy with so many stuff man... hey maybe you girlies could PM me your MSN or something and we can share good deals together.. =)

Meiling5,
I am those who like to chopchop settle things fast. I went to an online site to check for auspicious dates for weddings. It gives info similar to Tong Shu.

Maybe you can try this site or go consult forture teller master. Is your AD in early or late 2008? If it's in late 2008, you still can afford to wait for Tong Shu to be published

wow.... you guys are so fast - booking venues and bridal studios. we are still deciding on dates and was thinking of april, may or june next year.

how lah... i worry all the weekends will be booked up.

cabbage, less than 1k can get Compass Entertainment ah? I saw them peform at a wedding before as well as during Four Seasons 2006 Bridal show and I like them alot. Can share more with me? [email protected]

Hi Kymmie,

sure... my msn is [email protected]

So fun!! we must definitely rem to take pics together that day.

My ROM will be at the beach side on that day!!

Hi Mage,

It really depends on what you are looking at. Maybe you can get them to perform for 1 segment & ask for only 3 muscians.

The guy's name: Stefan Ye. Why not you PM or msn me for his number as I only have his mobile. Doesnt seem nice to post his personal number out.

Hi cabbage,

Can send to my email: [email protected] ?
Sorry, currently at my FH place so not on msn at the moment.

My frend brought us to the top of labrador park where they have the Olive resturant and the new Raintree resort and spa. Next to the resort is the Villa seafood galleria which has a perfect place for solemnisation. There is a swimming pool situated in the front of the seafood restuarant entrance and right in the middle of the pool is a small room, full panel glass surrounding the room. With the sparkling blue water of the swimming pool around it and front view facing the sea, it will be simply romantic during sunset..Hmm..sorry if my description is lousy, will try to upload the pic for everyone.

Going for my trial MU next week, abit kan cheong..

im looking @ 7th june 08 also!!! & i tink one of the gal here have booked the same date i want for regent hotel..so qiao!! Haahaaa

so now i either have to change date to sunday 08th june or i will have to look for alternative hotels..many 'hot hotels' have been booked already

Hello everyone,

Just confirmed our date for May 2008.
We're doing our ROM in Oct this year tho.

Just bought our wedding bands today, and should be putting down deposit for Regent Hotel soon. Also been looking around for gowns - I like the prices at Allure Charix and D'sire - decent gowns for less than $1,000 to buy... makes me wonder why would anyone want to rent?

I notice many BTB take their HTB with them to look for gowns but a friend who runs a bridal boutique overseas shared with me that the groom does not see his bride in a gown till the wedding day itself - that's to maintain an element of mystery and surprise. I really like that idea - you are suppose to be such a vision that he'll be brought to tears (hard to do that if he's already seen you in a gazillion gowns during the search, heh)

Any brides searching for gowns sans HTB?

Hi Selz, I emailed you. Like I mentioned to you, I am not sure what is the discount. But maybe together we can each try to ask for discount of S$200 off? Have you spoken to my VG? Let me know ya

Meiling>> oic... so have u found the venue for ROM? Mine will be held at this New majestic hotel's chinese restaurant.. coz the no. of guest is juz about 45~50 pax..ambience is ok la.. but 1 think confirmed is the food is really good! they have a few packages... got $40/pax , $50/pax..& think got more ex ones depending on wat u want.

Flora....I wanted to infact my FH is the one who wanted it so so much...but my cats r very active la... & my shoots will be outdoor.. so guess its not so ideal to bring them out...

My ROM is in end Nov 2007 and AD end May 2008...need advise what to look out for the AD dinner banquet? And any jie meis/xiong dis listings to do?

hello girls.

am a 2008 btb too!
with an unknown actual date!

hahaha

just confirmed my BS and feeling high over that.
so silly...