(2008) Brides of year 2008

wow,
2 brides here from printemps!!!

mmm...i cant wait to go down to the bridal show next weekend... then can finally see what made you guys choose printemps..

LIN, can share your package with me?

hello girls..
tsk tsk...everyone super busy with plans ah!!!!

val, do share your smuggled pics
hehehehe....

lydia, that's a wonderful idea....the whole video project thing....that way your FH is completely involved in the whole process!!! nice!!

tingie,
hello fellow $-minded bride

don't worry...if you read some of my posts, all i ask abt is ang pow money can cover or not!!!! :D

but yeaah, wedding packages keep increasing....unless have economic recession, i don't foresee it EVER going down...
which mean those super lux hotels are all out of budget...
oh, how many tables you looking at?

joanne:
keep everything simple, less headaches...
but we all want something different from everyone else right, and we also dowan extra costs...
guess must really use some creative juice to get ideas for cheap, easy to do, different ideas for weddings... :P
saying so much easier than doing..
how abt live band or choir for march in?

i was thinking of march in (at dinner) from 2 different directions...
as in groom comes in stage right, bride comes in stage left walk towrds each other and meet in center, then walk together towards dancefloor...but must have very drama music kind...not just walk walk kind....HAHAHA...

comments?

Hi Valerie, r u the bride im liasing with these whiles thru email? cos there a few Val in many threads. :p

Jean, what r the perks the gif u? care to share? i got 2 helpers room and free corkages for 40 bottles of wine for 18 tables...

hi nec,

i am looking at about 18-25 tables.. ya is quite worried about the covering thing, so i wanted to have longer time to plan in order not to rush into contracts..

I am also looking for budget bridal package.. Hope can get one less than $2k. Luckily i plan to get flat in 2009-2010, so at least money outflow not all at once..

glad to have a bunch of btb here to share info! so NEC what plans do you have for yours? when will it be?

valerie:
yeah my church is calvary pandan, the one beside is galiliee. both are bible-presbyterian. i grew up in a number of bible-presbyterian churches, because my mom helped to start youth fellowships in 2 churches (including pandan) while my dad was a pioneer of his own church so when they got married i was sort of born into 3 churches at the same time, and then it was like one whole big bible-pres family in the past hahaha XD then we started to attend pandan regularly because my grandma became a Christian, and we wanted to encourage her. i liked the sunday school in the mandarin service (a lot of good bible grounding, the building of foundation is something that i appreciate). started attending since sec 1, this is my 7th year there. my mom and dad are back in jurong already so these few years it's just been my grandma, my auntie (just became a Christian about two years ago) and i.

tingie:
hello there! i was gonna get married on 22 Nov cos it's my FH's birthday and he will never forget our anniversary this way, but then one of my overseas relatives whom i'm very close to told me that she won't be able to make it on 22 Nov so i immediately moved it to 1 Nov. (i'm very happy also cos can get married earlier, hehehe.) my FH and i will both be in the education industry, so school holidays also quite impt for us. for him his school kids will be having exam during our wedding period, he said since it's just exam should be no problem can get married, plus can take leave. and usually sec sch start hols earlier than what is indicated on the calendar, because the sec 1 to sec 3 students have to get out of the way for the seniors to take 'O' levels in peace. i will be teaching special education so my kids don't have exams but i don't think they're having holiday either, their school holiday is the same as pri school.

we're booking our banquet with hilltop garden i think. maybe 28 to 30 tables, but we're trying to keep it a small close-knit affair. i'm also very budget one, i do a lot of research then decide. haha. think booking early is not a problem, because you book late is even worse, can't get the venue that you want. don't think will lose out a lot during promotions, after all you can negotiate with most banquet venues. i suggest that if you want to save as much as you can, go for restaurant. i dunno if our catalyst is the same, but i'm very focused on giving my guests memorable experiences so for me it's always good food, good ambience, interesting activities, good service etc... cos afterall i will be walking around taking photos, it's my guests who will have to 'suffer' if anything crops up (like bad food, lousy service, loud music etc). hee. for hotel confirm will go up one, because inflation rate v high for that industry i think. i saw a wedding brochure from ten years ago, prices were $100 to $300 less than now. they will slowly increase one.

joanne:
yes MBR's photos caught my eye the very first time i looked at them on the website
do you know that the photos on the website are all customer photos? none of them are models. hehe. they wanted the couple who took the photos on the site to come back again and take another album so that they can display in the shop, but the bride is a flight attendant so she couldn't schedule. (FH and i think that's she's v pretty
) by the way, i've seen lighting of candles during banquet before. dragon gate restaurant at harbourfront centre has it i think, it's like part of their offered programme. quite interesting, but can't remember if you light one candle then the rest will automatically catch fire, or you have to light the whole heart-shape on by one.

yeah, val, super famous one ah!!!

hahaha....

oh val, if you need to print wedding invites, do go to JB ah!!! cheaper!!!! $$$$

how's everyone's weekend?

aiyah, i'll have to miss NH on the 31st.... not free....going m'sia.... val you going right?

lydia with MBR ah?
can share your package please?

what is happening is that i'm thinking of JB BS to save costs, but might end up having to get AD PG and MUA...so costs might be abt the same in the end...
BUT if MBR pics already look like overseas, and costwise is more or less similar to JB BS, then i'll certainly take the more convenient one!!
so would really appreciate your package details...

email :

sassy girl:
do send me your sheraton package details too.

thanks so much ladies.

hi brightstar.. hmm no xtra helpers room for me.. hahah maybe I can try neg for that too but I neg for other perks in terms of beer, wine, cards and parking
you sign with HIA already?

Hi all, great to see so many June 08 BTBs here

I'm a 7 June bride too! This seems to be a very popular date, hopefully able to get one of my selected banquet venues on that date, super stressful.. haha

Also waiting for the bt merah balloting to be out in May. Application *finally* closes tomorrow. Hope everything will fall in place!

Valerie: I took up Bridal Concept as my BS. My FH is someone whom is super quiet when he doesnt know someone well. So that day while we are shopping at Marina, there is this coordinator who came to approached my FH, and we just went in to take a look. But surprisingly my FH got along very well with the coordinator. They chat as if they have known each other for yrs. I am also very comfortable with the coordinator, so end up signing it lor. Moreover, I think is still within my budget. I havent booked my venue but I think I will hold at Orchard hotel coz I need to accomodate 70tables (most of them is my future MIL's client) *faint, going to cost me a bomb. Thus, my FH and me agree that we will save on other things lor, such as the BS, the wedding band etc...My wedding date is on 7 June 08. What about you? How is the wedding prep coming along?

Tingie, I have been to Furama riverfront twice for wedding dinner. Both dinner are good, food is simple but nice. It is one of the hotel which I wanted to hold my wedding banquet there too but then ... when we do up the guest list, we realised that my MIL has a lot of guest, end up need 70 tables, thus, no choice, I cant hold it there. The suite for couple also very cosy. I remember my gf's one, the hotel pple actually spread rose petal on the bed and bath tub, very romantic. I think is worth holding it there.

Lydia, I also think the bride is very pretty. Too bad...I already sign up my BS with BC already, if not I would like to take a look at what they can offer
Anyway, I may share the website with my photographer and let him know that this is what I am looking at. See what they says lor...

Nec, my FH's brother is going to sing on the stage the whole nite for my guest together with some of his friends. No $ to hire a band, but I am confident with his singing so quite ok. Why not you have a duet singing session with your FH when you march in? I think is quite romantic. Hehe...

Hi Joanne,

Hehe quite a number of 7 June bride here =) My prep now only left with house and photographer =) So far so good...ohh...and oso MUA for my mothers and sisters.

I had went for the recent balloting too...trying my luck on Clementi...but if dont get it, I hope that the coming Jurong West will get it, cos there's where I want

hi truefaith

i balloted for bukit merah too hehe! which area u plan to get? me shd be jln membina. it says 3wks ar.. not in may.. mid apr hehe!

wa so many posts by everyone. i'm back from BS hunting and hotel viewing. sooo tired.

shall reply a bit here n there then go zzz le hehe.

lydia: ok..tat's the church which is near v my hse hehe. skali we met each other b4 but didn noe only. wat is bible-presbyterian? so r u having a church wedding too? how much is hilltop ar? ambience nice ar?

joanne:

ya i heard BC is gd. i'm checking it out soon hehe. ya 70tables is really jialat. and i tink it'll be a prob taking pics also. u better plan to take with ur relatives n frens 1st and ur mil's clients last cos by then i tink ur smile wont be so nice le cos smile the whole day and nite. anyway they also dunno u and u dunno them.. so no need to smile tat nicely for them hehe.

i haven got AD yet ar. juz went to view HIPV. the ballroom i'm quite satisfied with but hor the suite is really disappointing. (maybe after i view swissotel's, this one cannot fight keke. even RTC's is nicer) duh! but budget la.. so maybe HIPV will be gd. FRF not bad huh.. ok i shall check it out too hehe. the suite big o not?

eh val,
ya want big suite for your wedding night for what ah?
*eyes wide in innocence*
hehehe....

yeah, lydia, got the mail. thanks.

hello joanne....
my singing is absolutely cannot make it one...
plus, i wanna do a dance item w FH....we met at salsa class mah...heheh..
so rather than make pple wish they are deaf, at least if they dowan to see us dance, can close eyes...

heard BC good, heard so many BS good, MBR also so good... i feel like giving up laio...!! too many!!!

today was looking thru the banquet prices for a few hotels i have...either i start printing money or must sell tickets to the "event" of my wedding..
mmm...yeh, maybe the invites can be shaped like tickets....hahah...at least for the friends lah..

nec nec

i'm back. i'm so tired after all the BS and hotel viewing. tell u more tmr.

hmm i shd be gg NH ba.. now after viewing HIPV.. we got some doubts le though its still not bad. shall elaborate tmr. hehe. u gg msia for the JB BS fair har?

hi brightstar..

ya i'm the same person la hehe.

jean.. brightstar's hotel is HIPV, not ur HIA.

wad do u mean by hotel no other dates le??? u mean for the mth of jan only? don scare me.. i'm quite interested too after seeing the prices..

nec

haha big suite nice ma. i tink only this time (during wedding) then i can get to stay nice n big suite! no other chances le! normally who will go spend such $ on such suite?? hehe. i shall post the pics soon ok.. let me rest for a few days.. hehe

eh i tell u.. swissotel's suite really cannot fight.. now i'm considering it too hahah. but the ballroom really not nice. like function room like tat.. i tink its becos they cater for those IMF thingys thus the ballrooms cannot be too fanciful like normal hotels. tats the down part la. maybe 1 day i go to their florist to take a look at wad themes they offer then see how lor. v tiring leh.. even such thing also need go see. duh!

ya ya i also giving up. everywhere gd. juz tat no $ not gd! whahahahha.

the way u describe ur dance item hor.. really make me laugh out loud! my mom thot i was mad keke. todae i went HIPV.. saw the couple doing the singing as they march in thingy.. hmm.. my opinion is unless they really can sing v well, better not to do tt la though its special..
wad kind of dance do u 2 dance? salsa? only? i tink chijmes can do dance hall leh. u got ask?

val,

must share share with us!

i want to know your experience especially holiday inn!

today i can reply fast fast as i'm in office until 3pm!

helo duchess/nec and gals

ok HIPV hor.. the ballroom is 1 big section with high ceiling on the left (from the entrance where we march in) then on the right, its 1 small section with low ceiling (abt half of the left one, made up of 2 small rooms opened up - meaning there will be 2 pillars). if u have about 18-20 tables, u will be able to use juz the left section which is super nice on its own. but them they have another orchid room at the basement which is for 20tables max so i duno if they will ask u to take tat if urs is 18-20 tables.

the deco is v nice, cozy, romantic and v lovely for taking pics. but the pillars are a problem for ppl sitting there to see the stage, so there's another option for the stage to be moved to the centre of the left wall meaning the march in will be straight then left turn to stage (half the normal march in if the stage is placed at the end of the high ceiling section) got pros and cons la. this way everyone can see u but march in is short and that part of the wall doesn have mirror thus the crystal's shimmering effect is not tat nice (which is wad i wanted for the rom part, cake cutting part and those on stage moments la). so this is one concern.

another concern is the suite which is like a normal hotel room, except there's an extra living room n toilet. v small n normal suite as compared to swissotel and RTC's suites. so if u all don mind the suite part and the ballroom (high and low ceiling, how u wanna arrange the stage to be etc)then i tink HIPV is great. gd for the budget conscious. let me noe ur comments gals!

hmm... too bad no pictures!

i really can't imagine!

*hahaha*

by the way, how do you arrange for the hotel viewing?

where else have you been?

Val, I'm sure there will be dates for other months too, but you better book fast! a lot of pple not planning to get hitch beyond CNY 2008 coz of the mang nian issue. if you are not pantang I think still alot of days available after Jan
Better call and make tentative bookings for the ballrooms first.. if you change your mind later on no need to pay anything coz its just tentative.

but for 2007 and Jan 2008 I think kinda difficult if you are already planning to have your bq on a weekend.

Hi Jolene, yeah that is an auspicious date for marriage, coz I know not only I getting hitched that day! we went to a fortune teller to get a number of auspicious dates for our ROM and AD.. to make sure dun clash with his, our parent's horoscope. (heng we share same horoscope and his mum and my dad same horoscope so less headache)

hi jean

oh mine is definately beyond cny 08 and i have to be after tat cos tis yr of piggie we cant get married due to my bf is born in yr of horse and his mom went calculate.. so whole yr is out.

gdgd.. now not so worried hehe. ok i'll call them now to ask abt packages

better book early too.. at least 1.5 years in adv coz the pricing will be adjusted after all the gst hikes and dunno what hikes.

Good luck gal!

the HIPV thread got a gal's link there. u can go see. its v nice. the orange lighting so cozy n romantic! haiz. why the pillars must be tehre.. why the suite is so small n normal.. why why why. hehe

i called up their events dept to ask for viewing lor.. then they tell me when got wedding, when can view lor. i've been to swissotel and RTC.

hahha ya all the hikes. so sian. malcolm said i'm early! haha. i enquired for mid yr. will let u noe again how it goes.. now trying to find pics of the place.. sunday is soo far away... hahaha

hmmm I think if you look into the HIA thread under Banquets forum you will be able to find some pics of Changi and Atrium rooms! I rem looking there and noting that the Changi stage view is unblocked because the pillars are 3/4 embedded into the wall.

hahaa.. wah.. so many many posts.. joanne!! BC too?? you 7 jun, me 11 jun.. we can arrange with BC together le.. hahaaa.. yah lor..

val.. me going HIPV this sat for another wedding dinner.. need any pics too? furama city ctr pics will send after i get from colleague.. tell you.. conrad suite also cannot fight ar.. sigh..

lydia.. your post super loooooong.. heheee.. let me digest later..

hello tingie..
nothing is too early one.. hahaa.. look at us all!

oh.. and we are getting a group from "mu chuan" to sing throughout for us.. (but they haven give us quote yet.. sigh..)

korice:
don't worry lah take your time to digest the post XD

i've had my eyes set on new majestic hotel for a long long time. since i'm having the dinner at a restaurant, i can spend less than $17000 on the dinner and spend more on my hotel muahahahaha... i've always admired the hotel but my friends and i feel that it's just so expensive :P so this time since i'm already spending large amounts of money, just splurge a little bit on the hotel lah. ehehe. i think the room i want is $600 per night ((faints))... but i may look again and see what are the other pretty rooms that are priced a bit lower. the hotel is very romantic~~~ *_* hee.

nec, sent the package details to you already...

all BTBs,

can anyone please tell me about the process/ procedure and timeline of things to confirm with the co-ordiantor from the time of reservation of a date for the banquet to the actual wedding day?

i'm feeling lost as i'm not sure if i should start negotiating for perks when i'm paying for the deposit? or i can still do it even after signing the contract?

Hi jean, mine is park view..to get my 2nd helpers' room..i squeezed my way thru....even quarreled with the staff..haha....

hi Valerie, orh....u all....tot i see u in many threads...
u so helpful le

hi sassy, u can negotiate for perks along the way...

there r few parts u can negotiate:

1. just before signing the contract...

2. after u have made friends with the coordinator, try to squeeze more out of the hotel...tell the coordinator to "help u"....this can be done when u sit down with the hotel, 1-2 months ebfore ru AD and discuss the programme in details...

remember tell the staff to countersign whenever they change the contract

korice its ok.. i've juz been to HIPV yest myself hehe. didn manage to take pics cos the couple was rehearsing singing duet as they march in. i bu hao yi shi to take pics ard and disturb them hehe. but i wan furama's pics once ur coll send to u k..thanks!

conrad suite also nice?? how izit like?? how come u saw it? u went there? tell me more! got pics not?

brightstar..ya la me in many threads.. looking at those budget hotels.. venue sourcing is so stressful. i where helpful.. i only went few hotels nia.. can only give wad info i have to others.. need other's help too!
u're also v helpful wad

Wah, you gals are so active. 1 weekend away and i've lotsa to read. Hahaha.

Hello val,
Yes, i am taking Hilton on weekend. My actual day would be on 20th July 08.

Korice,
Where to buy edible bubbles? Me purchased bubble guns on Friday and had a great time playing it with my little niece over the weekend. Haha, training her to use the gun then she can do for me on AD. Hahaha.....

brightstar: wah.. so gung ho you.. LOL well we are quite alright with HIA staff coz the package is so good really nothing much left for me and him to neg with. so our extra perks we neg for also not that much

Valerie, according to the thread in BC, they are good. But my colleague's friend just had her wedding last weekend and my colleague told me that she went through hell with BC. However, I am still very positive about BC. I felt that everyone has different preferences. So maybe my colleague' friend is just the unlucky ones.
Hey, I stayed at Conrad before and have visited their suite before. Somewhere last year, my company hold an event there and because we had so many rooms for our guests, we requested the hotel to give us some room free for our employee (lucky me get to stay there for 2 nights at the superior room) is LUXERY!!! I simpily love Conrad!

Nec, 3 cheers for you! I think is something very "English" to dance at your banquet. Too bad...I cant dance, if not I would love to do it. Come on... once in a life time thing, who cares if you sing well or dance well o not. Anyway, dun think anybody would dare to comment the BTB. :D

Korice, I saw you at BC's friendster and I think we chat at BC thread as well. Hehe... where are you holding your banquet?

hey val...
after you describe HIPV..i feel that it's not that worth it leh....it's abt 750 for weekend right?
saw some 5 star hotel price...abt 800 for weekend...for my life now, i cannot remember which hotel!!!!
*need ginko*

now i'm wondering if i can reduce the number of tables....but many places req 25 min...so that's another headache....

how's your guest list going?

are you still thinking of SAM? just found out for their chapel place it's $800 rental...!!!! quite ex for 4 hours...

how was swiss hotel? the ballrooms? the package??
and what is RTC?

anyway, do send the packages that they give you so we can all have some reference...

thanks!!!

hey lydia...
so your plan is dinner in a restaurant, then you and hubby go over to the hotel after dinner?

for $600 plus, i think you can get a very romantic beach house in bintan/batam liao leh...just take a couple of days off... as a pre-honeymoon honeymoon..
lol...

val,
see, you havent even seen me and FH dance, can laugh already...imagine the pple who have eyes on that day...!!!

korice,
what is mu chuan? do they sing english songs?
and do mail us the pics of conrad and furama and all those that you visit lah...
hehe...thanks dear...
somehow i don't have many getting married friends...those that are have married while i wasn't looking...so all i was interested in was eating!!!
din notice march -in or ballroom or pillars or...?!?!

:P

update on my wedding plans:

FH and i decided to do the india one first..
and when there, we will get together with his huge extended family and do a bollywood kind of MTV ....dances and singing in hindi and scenery changes etc....

so excited...("video montage" for singapore dinner)
(of cos all this subjected to changes but i will push for it cos i want it!!!)

pre-wedding PS should still be done before india wedding ceremony(then album can bring to india, show off also....twice the showing, more worth the $$$ hhahaha)...
of cos, cannot have too revealing gowns then...else their eyes will pop! :D