(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi I am also planning to go for first half of 2008 but also one blur btb who doesn't know where to start.

May I have the contacts where you go to choose dates?

Any one has Four Season, Merchant Court packages to share? Can send to [email protected] ? Thanks!

I went with my female friend to the bride asia show yesterday but find it more spa-themed exhibition. Impressed by Golden Horse Award though.

Hi Monring all,

doreen and bungywhite, e mail sent.

Brightstar, my friend said go back about a few months b4 the wedding date that we choose to get the guo da li and an chuan date.
So that we will not forget and Master Ong will tell us the details and info??
I also not sure. I remember Master Ong told us to go back to him a few mths before the date we choose.

Ask you all hor:

1. Teochew say bride must leave hse before sunrise. Follow bride's custom or groom's custom? I am not Teochew but my FH is.

2. Must we follow auspicious timing? What if the auspicious timing is 5-7am? Does this mean I have to leave the house like 5am and enter his house & start tea ceremony before 7am?

Fifi, i also need to know ur the 2 qns ans...
Me also blur about the timing...
My FH is Teochew and me not...

Cel, contact sent!

hey fifi...my understanding is dat u shd have follow ur FH's dialect grp so unless ur PILs are modern then there is a large possibility d bride have to be fetched b4 sunrise.....

hey ladies...

my SO's grandma has informed me that 2008 is not a good year for marriage. she wants us to bring it forward to end 2007 instead. issit true? faint...!!

Hi missy54 (missy54)
Can I also have the list of compilation that u have? coz I am having my marriage on june 2008 as well.. Thanks a lot

huh...wat blind year? i think my SO grandma is very particular abt it. oh crap... now my silly SO is happy that he can postpone to 2009. well...

hi gals.
gosh.... i guess when we look at date, we have to sometimes close one eye.
my mom said that someone told her that I cannot wear the wedding dress twice? So if I have my ceremony here in the UK already, then when I go back to singapore for the banquet and tea ceremony, I can't wear my white bridal gown? have anyone heard of this???

Venuescapri, please leave your email so that I can send the relevant infor. most of them are for 2007 though...

hi missy54....it depends on how pantang u are....heard of wat u have mentioned....to them it's like bad luck having to wear ur gown twice which seems to signify dat u marry twice i guess.....ultimately it depends on u, ur mum & ur FH.....

Hihi, I'm also going to be a 2008 bride..a blur blur one because don't know how, where and when to start..and a newbie in here....do you mind if I join in the discussion now?? : )

Is 2008 really not good for wedding?? I'm thinking of AD in the later half of 2008, tot I will be too early to plan now when its only beginning of 2007...But I'm so glad to see everyone so excited over here. err...can someone pls guide me on how do I start?? My FH and I are both very unclear and blur on what should we do now?? (so pai sei...)

FiFi, I also need an answer to your question as my FH is also Teochew..so I'm not too sure hows the wedding should go...thanks...

me might be a 2008 BTB as well... actually wanna do it in 2007, 17th Nov.. but date too hot le.. I kan find any banquets available.. so have to postphone.. i guess also better.. this will give me more time to prepare..

to fifi-for me, we will follow guy's side...better check with ur mom...

to purple- wow...congrats!!! start off finding a bridal studio and a hotel or restaurant..ask urslef how many tables u wan...dinner or lunch...find myself repepating everything i have put in my blog www.romance-fire.com got any more questions....psot here and the helpful members will answer

Hi Mrs C & Fifi!

just want to find out when's CNY 2008? Am holding my tea ceremony & wedding dinner on 27 & 28 jan respectively. Hopefully it isn't too near CNY.

btw, Mrs C can i have Master Ong's contact details, my email: [email protected]

hey

I've seen the article from Jule. Does that means dates from feb 4 2008 is not good (blind year) or the whole of 2008? I planned to have mine on 26 Jan 2008. Please advise...this is going to be bad...

mrs c can i have master ong's contact too? Thanks!

how to arrange for two march in(s) har? i'm thinking to "showcase" my bridal gown for the first march in to sign the papers, and second to "showcase" the evening gown.

will it be a little too drama-mama?

Hello Rasp_berry and joenbby,

Your wedding dates are the same as mine. Mine will be 26th & 27th Jan. 1 day for church ceremony and the other for the traditional customary.

Hello Mrs C,

I've checked with my grandma, she said that since I will be marrying into the groom's family, everything follow the groom's custom. Hence, I will probably have to leave the house by sunrise if the groom's family want to follow the custom. All up to them. Anyway, for 27th Jan, the auspicious hours are 5-7am and 11-1am. Will probably have to take the 5-7am one.

Wow,

The thread is getting popular with more 2008 BTB! I have to bring forward from Apr to Jan 08 as the period that Im intending to hold happens to be the Qing Ming period. Not a good date to hold a wedding. With only less than a year preparation, getting a bit Kan Cheong liao as all have not settle but be viewing hotels within these two weeks.

It's still not too late rite? Those 6 Jan 08 BTB, have you finalised the hotels? One of our friend is also holding her wedding on 5 Jan and she too have not finalised her hotels but have booked her BS.

oops... does it means that the whole lunar calender year 2008 is not suitable for wedding?? Btw what is "blind year" hah?? what will happens if we get married in "blind year"?? can someone plas advise...thanks... : )

Thanks brightstar for your info.. : )

does anyone sign up separate ROM package from the wedding package?? Anyone thinks its advisable to sign up separately or ask the BS to lump everything together?? : )

Hi to all 2008 BTB,
I'm also planning my ROM and AD in 2008.. 1st quarter if possible...

purple, usually the BS will throw in the ROM package, but think the ROM dress is usually a simple one. My BS actually throws in but i wont be using as ROM may be together will AD.

hi jojo.....mine is on 2 jan 08 & i booked my banquet last oct.....right then a few of my dates are oreadi gone so my advice will b to act fast cos urs AD is onli 4 days away from mine & it's a sun......selection of BS can comes after dat cos BS can have many couples getting married on d same day but not hotels......good luck~~~~

to duchess- for me, my rom is together with dinner...

first march in....sign paper, then go to seats, then first dish

second march in - just after first video, then we march in, cut cake, pour champagne, gif speech....then second video...this is my order...

to purple- actually my coordinator says they can lump together and charge cheaper...so can save more money

hi purple, i oso check wif my geomancer wif regards to ur concern and was told dat definitely thr will b a few days suitable for each couple even thou it's a blind year.....

to share more info.....i oso check wif them if it's okie for us to get married in the year of pig wen my hubby is born in d year of pig which they assured as well.....

rasp berry,
Contacts sent! CNY Think should be 7 Feb 2008 ba...
U having your tea ceremony & wedding dinner on sun 27/01/08 & mon 28/01/08?

Joenbby, pls leave your e mail address here so that i can send u the contacts.
I am not sure about the blind yr...
will like to know more also. Any knows?

duchess, i think 2 march in is alright.
I jus attended my friend wedding. they having 2 march in also. Very nice!

Fifi... wow, 5 - 7am... so early...
then i have to follow my FH custom also lo.

Purple, i personally think getting ROM together with the bridal package is better...

No need to headache for another searching and sourcing...

Wat is blind yr?

fifi,

congrats to u...so coincidence...i'm having everything on 1 day...so ambitious right..actually i'm living overseas but going back to fufill all wishes...

so have u booked ur hotel? can u imagine how fast things get booked out...i'm so worried by the time i go back in feb..my date will be taken..at the moment, i haven't make up my mind on hotel yet..shortlisted ritz and shangrila though...

Hi Stnov,

hmm..that get me worry though but we are having lunch istead of din, so i think it's not that bad yet? Haiz, i'm starting to feel abit KC cos time is getting shorter as each day pass and i'm still sourcing out.

Joenbby,

I've already blocked the date with a hotel. Haven sign & pay deposit only cos reviewing contract. Will do that next week.

I'm going for a 4 star hotel only. Don't want to spend that much cos both FH & me are not that established.

jojo...it shd be safer then since u are having lunch instead of dinner, having said dat, it's good dat u double ur steps to avoid ur favourite hotel being taken up......cheers~~~~

joenbby,
hey! i'm also planning my wedding overseas. Are you going home in Feb permanently or still going to be based in sg?
I'm not wondering whether it's worth all the hassle going to a BS in singapore to design my gown esp if i'm going to be flying back and forth from uk, in which air ticket isn't cheap!

anyone's got any comments about good BS?

Any one getting married in 2nd half of 2008 ?
Pls join here.

I know that hotels dun really release prices for 2008-2nd half now. but pls join here to discuss while we prepare - cheers

thanks all!

gonna get the master to fix the dates first, so i can confirm my date with the dinner venue.

anyone had arrange for parents meeting session already?

Hi purple,

Usually bridal magazines will advertise the dates of the shows available. If not, you can always look out for those banners in Singaporebrides.com on any upcoming wedding shows. There is a thread on it as well.

d-duchess, i have not, not too sure when to arrange? Can i know when is an appropriate time to have a parents meeting session? Food tasting or half year before the AD (need to discuss the Pin Jin, any gifts,etc)?

Hi there! I'm also planning my wedding in Q2 next yr.

Right now my concern is getting an auspicious date because Tong Shu for 2008 wont be out until later this yr.

Joycelyn Nice to meet ya too
sweetbeng me too. thinking of Aug-Sep 2008. Maybe will get geomancer to counts dates soon.

Have u all ROM already ? I'm planning to ROM / Customary and dinner all on the same day.