(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi mosburger,

I used to take lessons at Shambhala Yoga Centre @ Forum, their instructors are quite good but very expensive. Now I'm taking lessons at the CC near to my place. The instructor is not as good but its okie, I know what are the proper posture to look out for. I just need some motivation to exercise.

Can anyone advise if i should start looking around for BS or Wedding venue as we are intending to solemnisee in early half of 2008? No dinner, just simple lunch or high tea event. Is it too early since it's a no frill wedding? My bf havent even propose yet but he did mention about dates of particular months for the wedding.

hmmm....Jojo if u ask mi then I would highly recommend dat u look for venue first since u have particular mths for ur weddg.....not all hotels/ venues have multiple halls & ballrooms....beta b more kiasu cos like mine, d intended ballroom was tentatively booked on my AD.....

comparing to BS, they can attend to a handful of couples wif same weddg day....

Hi Sally,

I am new to this thread. Can you give me the contacts of the geomancer too? I am also planning to have my AD in early June 2008! Btw, how much do you have to pay for it? Or perhaps you can email me the details directly.

Thanks a lot in advance!

hi, i'm new here.. intend to have my AD on 08.02.2008... nice right.. hey, is it too early to book the venue now?

told my husband tat shall start looking for one now cos' most venue will charged using 2006 or 2007 rates. he says i'm too 'gan cong'...

Hi Blanqq,

I'm also a 208 bride to be. And i'm looking at end of 2008.
Guess what i'm already looking out for venues, BS, etc. So not to worry that you are alone.

Anyways i would think is better for you to source the venue first cause the prices are always increasing every year.

If i already have a fixed date i would also be paying a deposit on the hotels i want. But too bad...the geomacer said 2008 tong shu will onlybe out Mar 07.

In any case, do up the no of tables first b4 u go to any hotels.

Happy hunting

Hi blanqq,

I'm actually looking at your intended date to hv my AD too, nice date.. But that day happened to be CNY for 2008. If I did not check wrongly, 2008's CNY falls on 7 & 8 Feb..

So I aborted the idea.. Still looking for dates though, likely to be in Jan 08 at the moment.

ya, guess wat, i did resource for some rates for the restaurant but they are unable to provide to me cos' all the pricing are still in 06' unless i confirm my booking now, they can only give me the pricing for 07' not 06'.. Sian..

really, the date fall on CNY? the calendar out already? so fast ah.. guess will fix on 02.02.08? after tat go for honeymoon and escape CNY (giving out hongbao)... haha

Hi, i am new here. I also intend to have my AD in 2008, sometime in Feb. Have also booked a BS package at Taka stylewedding event last weekend. Signed up with Z-wedding, then read there were so many negative comments about it here. Kinda worried, hope i din make the wrong choice.

hey everyone.....I have confirmed my AD to be on 02 Jan 2008....looking forward to tis day!!!

coco.....dun worry...in fact thr's bound to be -ve feedbacks no matter whr u go cos diff ppl have diff attitude & expectation....

although i din sign up wif Z wedding which is my prefered BS from day one....im pretty sure they r a nice bunch of ppl....not hardcore selling always ready to give advice even though i din sign up wif them.....cheerios~~~~

any1 haz ani idea normally when the tongshu will be released esp. 2008?

will it still be early to go for hotel wedding shows frm nw onwards?

i'l b roming in jan'07 n most prob AD will be in 2008..

no prob coco....my rom way back in 2003 & AD in 2008......have settled BS & PG included in BS pkg so next in line will b to source for VG dats if we intend to have one......

agree wif iceblue dat we need to b firm in wat we want cos it's d most impt day in our life and we do it ONCE....not onli to Z weddg but to all others we are dealing wif for our wedding.....at least dats wat i feel.....

hi carowl....my knowledge is dat d current tongshu can be used to select dates up to chinese new year after which u will have to wait till 2007's lunar 8th mth....some geomancer may used 'thousand year' tongshu if im not wrong....hope tis helps....

hi carowl,
u can start planning smtim aft ur rom liao.

if u ok wif nt using tongshu, but by the name/birth method, for some they can provde liao

ya, must be firm with those BS. Last week, i acc fren to try her gown (her AD next yr)...there's this couple choosing their photos. They choose and bargain very fiercely for almost 3+hours..the bride fierce fierce wor, keep arguing with the boss there, by the time we left, they still arguing.

My bro and sis in law used Z wedding for their wedding 2 years back. I was there during their fitting sessions and all, felt they were really nice and professional. In fact am planning to use them for my wedding for Jan 08 too.

i emailed some hotels try to get 2008 packages. some are out now! managed to get Novotel, Holiday Inn Parkview. anyone gg for traders hotel wedding show on 18 nov?

dun mention carowl...we r here to share info anyway......

mosburger u might wan to chk if tis hotels can offer u d 2007 pkg if u can confirm or place a booking now....i did mine d same way too even thou my AD is fixed on Jan 2008......

carowl & lilian - pls check email.

stnov - thanks 4 e advice. i've not make plans now that my recent balloting was unsuccessful. so prob dun wan to confirm things too early. else marry but no place to stay.

yes carowl ur right.....dats provided if 2008 prices r not out yet then most probably u can request for 2007 prices for AD in 2008....having said dat, diff hotels might have diff policies....sum will state dat so long as any banquet in 2008 then new prices will set in while others set a max meaning for up to certain mths they can close one eye & still offer 2007 prices.....hope i have help =)

mosburger - no prob.....u may wish to plan ahead in order to secure ur ideal venue for banquet....to share my recent experience last mth....ballroom for Jan 2008 have been booked which I panick for a while!

on top & above banquet prices are increasing on a yearly basis...getting very expensive....kekekeke

wow..darent imagine jan 2008 areadi have ppl booking liao...hehehe..yahloh..prices increasing so fast bt nt my salary...hahaha

bt hoping to get a flat 1st b4 deciding on holding banquet..

thanks mosburger, ive received them

ya carowl dat's wat i thought as well so no choice I would have to go wif d flow, booking for Jan 2008....kekeke....sound realli kiasu but wat to do......

haha stnov..i think i've to be kiasu too..bt still flatless n yet to choose a date.

hw abt u? hw u choose ur date since 2008 tongshu is not out yet?

in fact d current tongshu will be avail for date selection up to 2008's chinese new year......any dates after dat will have to wait till d next tongshu ard jul/aug 2007....i was given 3 dates one in nov, dec & jan 2008 so i chose d last....02 Jan 2008 easier to rem furthermore my bdae oso on 02......

We had decided on Jan 2008 too.. but still had not confirmed that date yet.. Dun noe if I shld look for a geomancer to give us a date or I shld juz go ahead and pick one dat's it. In a dilemma rite now.

congrats ladies.....beta source & confirm hotels early cos alot will be taken up....

Fifi...was abit confused over ur AD lei....so it's end 07 or early 08....kekeke.....

Karen....mine oso on Jan 2008 wor.....it all voice down to ur parents, PILs & hubby.....not all like d idea of going to geomancer while sum insist on proper date selection....have a discussion wif all parties involved....

Karen,
If don't have to, dun get geomancer. Cos after you get and have to follow, you find that you hardly have any dates left. E.g. For myself, I have only1 Saturday date in the period Oct 07-Jan 08. Very jialat. I had to cos FH's side more superstitious. I don't want to offend anyone or give them a reason to pick on me in the future.

Furthemore, most geomancers in sg just use Tong Shu. I realised it's so easy to check Tong Shu ($3). cos you just check if good anot (you just need to know how to read a total of 4 chinese words). Then check if got animal clash.

Snov, ya mine is somewhere between oct 07-Jan 08. The exact date is TBC.

hi everyone~

like many have said, the tongshu for 2008 is not out yet...i wld like to have my AD in June 2008, do any of you know any geomancer who might be able to help me pick a date?

THank you very much~~

I think there is one that dun use Tong Shu. He charges $88. You can check some of the other threads about Tong Shu/Selecting Auspicious dates. There should be 1 there. I cannot remember exactly which thread.

You can also use the China websites. But I realised that those are quite different from the Tong Shu (I compared 2007).

i think the online website r not really the same as the tong shu...

i realised it when i used the online website for my rom date (stated dat its a good day) bt tongshu stated dat its not suitable for any happy occasions...so it all boils down whether ur pantang onot

hi fifi....looks like we have d same period as mine....i oso requested for choice in last qtr of 2007 till chinese new yr 2008....all i get is 3 dates....well dats d downside of getting a geomancer for date selection......

Stnov... I have the tong shu at home. If you want, I can help you check more dates also. Simple check only i.e. see auspicious date for weddings or not and which animal clash.

I bought the tong shu cos after when we went to the geomancer, we told him we want Sat. Then only 1 date. Then we try include Friday. But in the end, we realised that Friday cannot cos cannot have tea ceremony before signing the marriage certificate (aka rom/solemnization). So have to end up checking myself lor.

thanks fifi for ur offer....mine is more or less fixed so a burden off....**phew**kekeke

hope u will b able to find ur date soon.....keep us posted ya.....

Hihi... All the 2008 BTB,

I jud had my ROM in earli October and is currently looking for a Shifu to check on the idea date for AD.

Actuali i alreadi have a date in mind, but i jus wan to go to shifu to confirm whether that date gd or not.. so if you have any recommendation, please let me know. otherwise, can email me at [email protected]

AS for those who are wori that Z Wedding might not be good.. dun wori too much if u have signed up your wedding package, jus enjoy the entire process okay..

Cos my experience is even worst, but is with one of the not so popular BS.. Realli regret signing for a $4388 package, but there is nothing i can do now, n worst of all.. i cant complain cos i was the one who wanted to sign at the first place, so if i complain now.. hubby will sure be very angry cos i never do enough research..

I am also looking for my wedding banquet, abt 25 tables to 30 tablez max.. any recommendation??

Love to mit up with all of you, prehaps we can arrange for a 2008 BTB Gathering towards the end of the year.. Rather than typing out words over the keyboard, we can mit up, exchange contacts n talk abt girls stuff. Jus my suggestion..

I may nt b very action in the forum, but do keep me posted of the lastest happenings and great bargain if any okay... btw, my email is [email protected] we can keep in close contact via email.

Cheers...