(2008) Brides of year 2008

lost_in_space

xiaokai.. very true.. some stuffs i also didn't follow.. it's really up to u guys one.. not be confused abt it.. just see what u want and just do it lor :D

euanterence

yo kristine..my AD's on 22nd Nov

jo_vin: ah?extension?do they have a minimum length of nails to start of with?so far i havent seen anyone's nails who can be shorter than mine..i think its a damn challenge man..lol

xiaokai

Lost,
i need to know the hongbao given by the groom and the bride for GDL..
the amt also....pleaseeeeeeeee
i dun want to set my own rule
sianzzzz

charma97

Jolene: Dun be stress. Be confident since u decided to sing.

my mil still working now. She said when i pregnant, then she resign to look after my kids. But once she told me not to work and look after my kids for a few years.

My hubby answer her back. then who pay for the baby stuffs. LOL..

Jo vin: For me, min and max 2 is enuff. No matter boy or girl.. my granny told me 2 not enuff lar.. 3-4 better. Faint..

To be honest, now we already trying for one. *shy*

Bubu: our AD is on the same day.

jo_vin

Bubu, yup, it will be more diff to do nails extension for us. Cos we don't have nails. Will take ard 3-4hrs.. N u will be very uncomfortable for the 1st time. cos not used to it.. But very nice lor..

Charma97, wah! So fast trying liao ah? Erm.. at least must wait till after AD ma. Then at least AD can drink.. Else u cannot drink, abit sian.. Haha..

babyjj

jolene, what angbaos is needed for GDL? and what's the teochew an chuang style? omg cannot sew yuan on pyjamas? I just sewn mine this morning.. sew on the towels for FH family too.. cant cut away after wedding and keep yuan in drawer? i tink the pyjamas is wear on nite before wedding, wear it to shang tou and go sleep in it. Wedding day and a few days after supposed to wear new clothes too. I'll try to wear new ones as much as possible but may not have so many new underwears.. haha..

tanlee yalo im dam pek chek with the attitude my hotel coordinator giving me.. duno if i wana say the hotel name out now coz tinking of giving them a chance to rectify this mess.

AD catering im booking Parkway Thai coz my parents like the food.. but very exp, $20 per pax min 30 pax.. >.< nvm la, once in a lifetime de wan them to be happy so i went ahead with it.. my side buffet will start at 11am.. coz i tink i will reach back home ard 11 - 12.. FH side catering they'll settle the booking and timing themselves..

my mum bought the bedsheet set, plus quilt cover from isetan.. all in 200+.. the brand tessini or something lidat.. very exp lei.. quilt bought Jean Perry de, $100.. Pillows after discount $70 each.. these things y so exp ar... din expect so exp..

charma i bought my pyjamas from Amanda Dreamweaver at peoples park.. the geomancer who chose wedding day, GDL and An Chuang dates for us say wedding day leave bride house before 9am can liao. GDL and an chuang no timing.. duno he zhun not.. nvm la since he say no need then i'll just follow ba..

selena, precisely my point.. normally food tasting will be very good de.. but for us, at the tasting where there's only 1 table we had such issues.. really cant imagine AD quality when there're sooo many more tables.. worse part is the response after feedback.. haiz..

jo_vin, i did acryllic extensions twice.. 1st time after 2 days it start to bubble at the edges le, then one by one started to drop off without even soaking. 2nd time never bubble but also drop off on its own in less than 2 weeks. i find that sticking things on my nails not lasting lei... even fake nails i cant even stick with the nail tape (from Shugar). haha sorry ytd very angry just hammering away at the keyboard in 1 whole stretch.. haha..

jolene, fake nails is paste-on nails.. nail extension is apply the acryllic powder + solution on ur own like nail colour, but when it drys it becomes like our own nails.

d23nov

hiya, anyone know where to find outfit for page boy? am hoping for him to wear white shirt and black pants with light blue bow tie. ring pillow is also in that colour... Thanks!

jazzy_chimes

hi charma, L.O.V.E is a great song ... hehe ... I love it! btw, besides Nat King Cole's version, u can also consider Olivia Ong's version ... very soft and feminie bossa nova

vivaliciousviv

<font color="0000ff">~~LsnTYL....</font>
<font color="119911">so you will be filming this comin weekend?? do share your experience wor...hee...i wanna try le but i scare my freaky irregular working hours....n days....my man also not keen..then i duno ask who....do share w us ur experience...need audition?? on actual day wat dress code, makeup?? meet at where...shld b TCS la huh...heee.....</font>

eunicet

Thanks for all the suggestions for the cakes for GDL! I am also gonna look for them soon...

SotongLet: The cakes from Pine Garden look very pretty issit? I'm a sucker for pretty packaging man...Are they expensive?

ro__kr

jo vin -) oh ok thanks for the info, i nt familiar in these . hehe...

all -) who has LOVE song i want it? please send to me can?

baobei123

Hi Jo Vin

I got my softcopies liao.. uploaded some liao .. cos busy wif preparation and work will upload bit by bit... my mutiply is guayng . haha u still remember abt my softcopies issue..

anyone got recommendation for video montage song?

sportyangel

i also looking for a honeymoon trip leh
havent decide where to go coz FH only got lke 6 days ... so didnt know where to go on those short time. bintan ? tokyo ? seoul ? shanghai ?

headache

pinky81

08 (d23nov): I think you can try at all department stores like Taka/Tangs/wisma at children's department? I think Kiddy palace also got sell. Suntec and vivocity also has children's shops that sells children's wear. I don't think it is difficult to find.

To all: I also love that L.O.V.E song! It's so catchy.

charma: So fast trying for one ah? Ur FPIL will be very delighted if they know that. =P

lost_in_space

hokkien dialect - the bride gotta to give 2 angpows for her PILs to buy shoes, angpows for her SIL to make clothes (last time used to be buy a few metres of cloth and give them)

as for the nappy angpow, give on AD (together with oranges, raw front pig leg, etc.)

bamboo.. i never really hear before.. but heard from granny, only get bamboo if the family is holding 2 wedding on the same day..

blurz_ger

sotonglet: have you tried that cakes from pine gardens before?

pin&amp;jie, eunice: the pine garden cakes ranges from around $8~10. i think packaging is normal lah. red box with double-happiness printing. i have the GDL package listing from them. drop me an email at [email protected] if you wanna take a look.

ermmm

Hi ladies, Pine Garden cakes are well known.. my mum insisted on getting from them.. my sis even have special order on the flavour she likes.. ;) The blackforest is a killer! (note there is 2 types of blackforest. We like the exp ones) Haven't checked out the packaging and price yet. Anyone can share?

~sblbee~

angelina,
hi hi, was away busy wif wedding prep....tm's gona b my AD, v excited but den oso worried :p will b going for my mani n pedi today....n collecting my hand bouquet, have collected most of my gowns except for my wedding gown....still nursing frm a bad flu, hope will recover by tm :p
all d best for ur wedding too!
japan n korea seems gd for honeymoon...

mrs chiew,
thanks for ur well wishes! have a wonderful honeymoon as well....have fun n enjoy!

annabella,
thanks for ur well wishes! i was wif SA tour for my europe trip but den not enuff ppl so im left stranded....u going to korea as well? i think koyoyo is going too but duno when though....

~sblbee~

florabliss,
cant help it...d kaypo-ness is in me....im so worried now, having a bad flu n feeling feverish but have to go for my mani n pedi...guz im too stressed up le

providencia,
hey gal, thanks for ur well wishes! hope i'll recover frm my flu n fever in time for my AD tm :p tot u have disappeared cos so long didnt see ur post....if u didnt come in den i'll surely miss my xiaolongnu :p

jac,
dun worry, dun feel sian...i saw dat gown....cant b compared to urs....it didnt look as gd so smtimes it's no pt doing sth dat doesnt suit u :p
hehehe....look a lookout for ur date, usually it's 3 mths before....i went to get my cert n managed to get my fav no. 5 :p heheheh.....wah, there's so many couples there n it's like waiting for a dept sale to start when ppl rush to d entrance when d gates r open :p

charma97

Kristine and Pinky81 : I got the LOVE song but it is sang by Nat King Cole.. Who also wants?? Give me your email.. Shall email u girls tonite.

Chimes: Ok shall go and source for the olivia ong's version

Pinky: I nv let them know leh.. I want to have kids asap coz my granny is still around.. I want to let her have the feel of being a great grandmother. Haahaa

charma97

Jojo: thanks for the advise. I nv find shifu to help me choose dates.. My hubby asked his dad to help us choose from tong shu.. So I dun have any timing for GDL and An Chuang too. Then on my AD, as long as I reached my house before 7am can liao.

dodolet

actually i have no idea how it taste or the packaging, but I pass by it to and from work. One of these days i have to get off the bus at the pine gardens stop and buy some and try. yeah.. when is tat one day.. LOL...

Anyway, shouldn't be too bad, since so many pple had tell me they are good. Blurz_ger can send to me hor.. ^^

blurz_ger

sotonglet, what's your email? i also just get from them because many people tell me they are good. too lazy to go all the way there to buy samples to try.. :p

charma97

eelin: sure no problem

By the Way, who got thank you speech to let me have some reference.. so far my sis in law helped me to do the chinese version.

jolene428

charma97: I think hor once the date and time settle then dun thk so much whether zhun or nt coz u believe him to choose the date already liao mah.. then just follow it lor... sometimes ppl will say its zhun only when u believe in it ^^

heehee.. u same mentality as me wor...coz i want to let my GIL has a feel of great grandchild oso since she is still alive and will be staying with her for the next 2-3 yrs at my HB hse.

She was saying she used to take care of my MIL and 1 AIL when they gave birth
I wont mind she takes care of me when i give birth oso ^^

but hor, i oso dont believe a woman shld quit the job when have children leh... even for first few yrs canot.. if nt hor.. govt will have problem pushing for the 4mth maternity leave already and tt employers will be even more worried to have women as workers!!! hahaha... joking lah...i thk even if quit job stay hm oso must be some home-based work/biz lor..anyone who stays hm too long will become yellow face and shua-gu :p

jolene428

xiaokai: paiseh.. i cant help u much oso.. coz my mum following teochew rule when giving items to my HB. I only knw wat my HB needs to give my mum ^^

Lost: The nappy angbao is the same for teochew and hokkien? I cant remember my mum said give on GDL or on AD. And give on AD is when after gatecrash and enter the hse is it?

jolene428

charma97: for me is min 2 and max 3-4 haha.. depending hw much my HB is earning by then.. keke.. coz giving birth is nt ex but feeding them is...need to help them save in case of emergency oso mah...

but i dont believe in spending alot of $$$ for enrichment courses lah...i thk children shld have proper and fun childhood.. if nt very poor thgs...they have so heavy school work frm the day they enter pri sch, hence they better play all they want before tt :p

But if they ownself like music then learning piano can cultivate their patience lor.. if nt, spend the money they will oso slp in the piano lessons :p

jolene428

lost: ahhh i didnt knw amanda dreamweaver sells pyjamas! they were close by the time i reached.. hw much they selling at? I bought my pyjamas at $12 each..just normal ones lor, shld be okay rite?

jojo: u can sew the yuan on the pyjamas if u are gg to keep them even if u dont wear
But nt sure if can cut out and keep the yuan or nt leh...

i m confused leh.. so pyjamas is wear the nite before or the AD nite? *confused* i keep telling my HB is AD nite..or else i thk he wont guai guai wear it lor :p hehe.. Then will be like jo_vin said, AD nite, shld be wear nothing mah :p hee...

jolene428

xiaokai: i only know hokkien must have sugar cane for wedding.. is bamboo meh? confused........ coz tot i saw sugar cane during the CNY time for hokkien family...

anyway i thk hor, GDL is really up to personal preference.. coz i have frens who do away with the Tum-pun and basin.. keke she even blur blur give F&amp;N orange instead of orange syrup back to groom :p But of coz i have also like Lost who have everythg.. even the basket of items for the younger brother to bring along with the bride to her new hse.

Amt wise is really up to u oso leh... ehhhh... ur HB shld have visited ur mum to Ti2 Qin1 already rite? It is on tt day the amt is negotiated and confirmed leh... Hw much is really depend on hw much ur mum asks frm him. If she said qingcai then amt is nt an issue...

charma97

Ya lor.. I now so fat and ugly liao.. if i become housewife, lagi worse.. Wait my hubby sick of me, i sure mati..

I also don't have the patience to face kids 24 hours. I tried to stay at home being a housewife for 1-2 months. Bua tahan.. too bored.. everyone working then i at home rot..

dodolet

LOL, maybe we do a cake spree.. LOL.. kidding. Blurz i have sent u an email.. ^^..

BF is on leave for 2days, I told him if he is free please tie up all the gold threads on the cards and then slot in the inserts we printed.. 200+ worth of them.. EVIL Moi....MUAH hahah...^^v

jolene428

can send me the LOVE song oso ? [email protected] THANKS

keke.. i thk my HB's older boy cousin is still virgin lah.. he so honest looking and no gf before :p hehe...

Jo_vin: i knw wat u mean wor...haizz..my HB oso said am i sure i want baby so soon coz he still have 1.5yrs more to go for his Masters course..later no time for me then i cry at hm how... kekeke.. so i still thinking lah..

But if u dont mind abt having a tiger baby then wait 1 yr lor..if nt hehe.. if u start getting pregnant nw.. u still need 9mths to give birth leh.. by then ur HB contract is over liao ^^

jolene428

actually if want a cheaper alternative for thai food can try Siam Kitchen
I thk the rate is frm $12/pax.. quite yummy, used to cater alot from them for former company's functions ^^ But sure abt the min pax to commit...

jojo: then how ah? u threaten the hotel lah.. if they dont give u an satisfactory answer then u will blast their names in all wedding forums and they will never get customers again... Thats wat i will do if its me and if they make me really furious...

And if there any other restnts in the hotel? U can change to another restnt to serve the food if there are other choices of restnts...

bubu: i thk my nails and urs abt same length ba... mine is super short oso coz keep chipping...haizz...

jolene428

charma97: haha i oso cannot be pure housewife...i was jobless for 3-4mths before.. i feel like dying already even when i can go out as i like...
hence if i dont work hor, i will still have part time maids to clean my hse on wkends.. then i will send my kids for few hrs of lessons on wkdays :p while i do my businesses... tis is my ideal 'retirement' plan when my hse comes in 2012 lor.. i will never slave my life away for the hse like some of my frens did...trapped in the hses every wkend just to do hsework..and some said no life once they have children.. i thk its a matter of choice lor...Thats why must think through before diving into more committments...

And my HB also gave me warning nt to just stay hm and rot.. and become shua-gu and nv dress up.. haha... think men who ask their wives to be housewives are either irrational (nv thk thr abt the potential yellow face wives they will see eventually) or just want to keep the wives away frm watever they wana do outside...:p

blurz_ger

Have emailed you gals on the pine gardens package already.

talking about tying the invitation cards, i have 1 packet of gold string (new), 1 packet of elastic silver string (new) and 1 packet of normal silver string (used 1/3 only) leftover. willing to let go at a cheap price. anyone interested let me know wor.

jolene428

another possible is insecure hahaha.. like my dad lor... he likes to keep my mum at home..coz he is insecure... and wants to come hm everyday to eat home-cooked food... but i thk my mum is so bored to stay home lor...at first still can be baby-sitters, or do part time factory work.. but as she grows older.. she cannot do much..and her frens all busy with their own lives and families too.. kinda of sad tt she has no hobby or life lor...

i remember at a funeral, someone was saying the deceased (his mother) greatest regret at her death bed was spending all her life on her family and children and hadnt been nice to herself before she fell sick..so no such thg as 'wait til my children grow up'.. it may be too late liao.. so ladies, we must always have our own lives!!! And live for ourselves!!! :p

eelin77

Hi Jolene,
Sorry I didn't send you the mp3 files last night. Spent 4 hours discussing house reno with the carpenter till past midnight. Will try to email you the mp3 tonight.

charma97

Jolene: my hubby thinks diff. he said i too high maintenance. so if i become housewife, alot of things have to change. like every month can go restaurant have a meal become once a year. Can own a car become have to take public transport. from air con room become free air room. Haahaaa..

But at times, i wish to stay at home to rot whenever i feel exhausted. LOL..

annabella

Hi Meiling,

relax.... try to sleep early... even if can't sleep, just lay on the bed and close yr eyes and rest... dun think too much.. everything will go on smoothly tomo... enjoy the attention you'll get tomo... once in a lifetime...

jolene428

LOL.. wooooo.. hahaha.. well, u can do side businesses to maintain ur expenses mah :p heehee... but maybe he is right :p keke...

it's the same for pay cut... esp if u have enjoy a certain type of lifestyles, will be hard to change unless u reprioritise ur life again... ^^ For me, i m okay with just a simple 3 simple meals a day :p heehee...

But then, i have alot of thgs i still wana do before i commit to more responsibilities...

eelin: no worries, take ur time ^^ Thanks dear ^^