(2008) Brides of year 2008

eelin77

charma97,
I agree with you. Wedding has turned out to be mafan, very stressful, and challenging, especially dealing with my mother (in my case, MIL very supportive and helpful; mother is the one being totally difficult).

Should have just eloped! Use the money go for nice honeymoon....

sianz...

charma97

eelin, yeah. 2 years ago, i told my hubby that ROM is enuff. But he said no.. Must let our parents have the feel of their children getting married.

At 1st tot wedding dinner only. take photos and finding venue.. who knows so mafan

i always tell my hubby.. see let them feel until i got some conflicts with them..

jolene428

eelin! we are on the same boat!!! My MIL also very qingcai and supportive. It's my mum who is difficult and demanding! and she even want to set alot of rules for the gatecrashing..wah lau.. my jiemeis all sian half lor......

i also tot just elope lagi best coz traditional wedding is for old ppl to see only.. haizz...

nw me and my HB so stress until keep dropping hair..gg to bald soon

charma: i shld have just invite more ppl during my ROM in 2006 also
haizz..safe all the ma fan... and money...end up spend money for old ppl to see still kena hiam here hiam there.. (by my mum of coz...)

lost: ur hse so traditional!!!!!!! Eeks raw pig 0___0

jo_vin

Eelin, icic.. Btw, ur 2nd gown is WG or EG? Rem to show us the design that u like ya? Hehe..

Jolene, yup, rem to post pics in ur Multiply. I also rather blur abt the GDL thingy. But my mum say no need everything also put the yuans leh.. Only 1 set can le..

Haha, ya, add up also 12. Nice nice.. I dont know how to explain leh.. But this one last time when we were young, rem we will use pager then put code? Like 5845121314 is = 'wo fa shi wo ai ni yi sheng yi shi'. Dont know if u ever use this.. Hehe.. So 12 is ai ni..

Wah! $99 for half silk good deal leh.. I bought mine at IDear, the cartoon couple de. Cost me $200+. I think i really spent alot.. Haiz..

Haha.. I also intend to at least wait till my hubby's contract end first. Else i think i wont b able to handle alone..

U can buy from Promise To Love ma. Their corsages really rather nice leh..

Lost, what is ur Multiply's name ah? I go back n c the GDL pics tonite..

Eelin, i think the hand bouquet is only for the morning. Ur hubby will pass to u when he receives u. No need for march in. But some like to use then use lor. No strict rules on this.. I will be throwing the bouquet to my sisters after tea ceremony at groom's house..

Blurqing, u got Multiply? Uploaded ur pics alrdy? We wan to c leh!!

jolene428

keke.. if have time to do i think is fun ba.. maybe coz at the same time.. tis yr my job got more events so very stressful..esp one impt one next wk.. phew...

somemore my HB taking masters and just started first yr full time teaching..soo abit suffocated at work coz all new teachers are badly abused...

if we had more time, i thk we will have enjoy the process more...But lucky thg is now we are less stress with work le.. and most thgs are settled for wedding..

the enjoyment has began since last week...
I think i will wan to help my frens alot whn its their turn..imagine they would be so confused like last time we like tt :p

eelin77

jo_vin.

2nd gown is EG. My WG is already mermaid style, so I was thinking of a nice soft flowy skirt for EG. Otherwise, both gowns will end up looking too similar.

Thanks for your reply about bouquet. Since I won't have gatecrashing and HTB and I will already be in hotel the night before, think I'll do away with the hand bouquet. Save some money. I think my wedding sure lose quite a bit of $$. Very sianz now...

jo_vin

Eelin, i always go to a nail salon at tj pagar. Its a very cosy place and they do the job quite well. Let me know if u wan the contact..

Kristine, i dont recommend putting on fake nails leh.. I always hv a feeling that it will drop off very easily. Do nail extensions, better..

Bubu!! We have almost the same bad habit. Just that u pluck, i bite. Haha.. my nails also very short. Dont recommend pasting fake nails. Sure will drop cos our nail bed noT big enuf. Do nail extensions. U can get it done at abt $100. N it will stay for at least 2 - 3 weeks..

Mandy, onerochester is definitely not cheap. My elder bro made a loss of $10k when he held there. Cos many ppl tot its only buffet and give very little ang bao money. But actually, their per pax is quite ex de.. When is ur AD?

Hello xiaokai!! Welcome!! When's ur AD? How's ur preparations le? Share share pics with us! U have multiply?

Eelin, i think the 1st design is nicer.. Looks very elegant also..

Wah, jojo, can u paragraph ur post next time.. I read until my eyes @@ blur blur.. Haha..

Charma97, u have to reach ur hubby house b4 7pm but u leaving only at 6.45? Enough time ma? I think u should make it a little bit earlier in case of jam or alot of traffic lights.. Betta to be early than late yA?

eelin77

Jolene,

no gatecrashing. I'm too old for that. Plus, don't want to wake up early. haha! Anyway, mother now already complaining that 8.30am at the hotel to do her makeup is too early!!

so paiseh... what's GDL??

jo_vin

Btw, gals, just to check hor. In modern days, its not necessary to buy pyjamas right? My mum says will buy a new t-shirt and jeans for my hubby. Can or not huh? N for me, its ok to get pyjamas cos i got wear ma. Then if its t-shirt n jeans, cant possibly wear for the night when slping right? Haha.. Then how ah? Can?

Xiaokai, u can refer back to the thread. Lost had post one regarding all the GDL stuffs to buy n also what to do. Very useful!

Ya, i also agree. Me even more angry lor. My hubby say i gan jiong when i rushed him to get the addresses from his guests. And he say y i print his guests names first. Can print my own ma. Then wait for him to confirm then print his. Very angry when he say i gan jiong. He think very easy ah? Some more i doing everything alone leh. I think he nvr think how xin ku it is for me to handle everything alone lor. At least u all still hv ur hubby with u all. Sometimes i feel so sad also..

Jolene!!! What's all that about all the ang bao thing?? I have no idea at all! Y got so many ang baos to give de???

Yvonne, got ur softcopy alrdy? Upload!! Haha..

Jolene, yup. Get a boy to jump and roll on the bed before ur 'An Chuang'. Pregnant woman CANNOT go inside the room after an chuang.

Lost, u same as me. I also enjoy the process. But hate it when i think hubby not here to do with me.. Haiz.. I think it will all be perfect if he's here..

jolene428

keke.. maybe charma and her HB stays next block?

i have a fren her HB hse and her new hse just across the road. So she only need 5min to go back to her new hse to change into tea dress :p

Keke, Eelin, no one is too old for anythg!!! But well it's personal preference
Its a once in a lifetime thingy :p heehee...i always tell my HB its a test of the brotherhood oso :p

GDL = Guo Da Li.. wow if everythg dont have very fast wor.. shiok....

jolene428

jo_vin: I understand the feeling wor.. initially when my HB so busy i also feel so sad... everyday feels like crying
haizz.. but now he is free le... so thgs get better and more enjoyable nw...

ur HB is overseas nw?

Ehh tot those Angbao is for GDL groom to bride one? ehhhh... u dont have meh? those are wat my mum list down for us lor..duno is hokkien or teochew rule though :p

ehh.. can i ask a BIG boy to sit on the bed? I really not comfy to let the small boy jump..coz he is very notti..if let him jump once i thk forever i have no peace...

ehh..i thk as long as wear new clothes can liao rite? coz my HB at first oso said he dun wan pyjamas one lor...but for one nite he is okay lah... i thk waste money oso.. I thk wear new clothes can liao lah... Aiyoh.. nw i dont dare to wash the pyjamas but scared he wear liao itchy 0__0

eelin77

Jolene,

I also don't have the heart to see hubby do silly things... and also don't want him to be too tired after the wedding. Cos want to enjoy the wedding night with him ;) hehe

eelin77

Are you all getting any wedding gift for your hubby??

I tried hinting to HTB that the couple usually exchanges gifts. Silly boy didn't get the hint and even responded with "got such thing meh?". haiz....

charma97

Jolene: I also ROM in year 2006.

Jovin: My parents and my house is only 3 bus stops away which means 5 - 10 mins drive. wont have jam ba.

Eelin: GDL = Guo Da Li.

Just now my nails crack because I bite it.. I purposely leave long long so no need do anything.. now i think i shld consider nail extension liao..

charma97

Eelin: you very thoughtful. I very bad.. i been thinks ways and means to tekan my hubby if not no next time liao..

I did not hint.. I told my hubby i want a surprise from him. But he seems motionless..

Jolene: no need ask them to jump.. call the boy to roll around can liao.. I will be getting a kid to roll on my bed.. I want to have a baby asap.. LOL..

eelin77

charma,
wah - you really can't wait to have baby huh. whenever my HTB mentions our future kids, I cringe inside. Always afraid I will not be a good mom. And I'm scared of pain too...
You are very brave!
Wish you luck in getting a beautiful healthy baby soon!

jo_vin

Jolene, icic.. xiaokai is ur cousin! Hehe.. so nice.. Luckily u still can attend each other's wedding!

Yup, hubby went Macau to work since late Aug. Will be back for wedding then go back work again. Contract until end mar. Really damn sian n irritated. Some more that day he still say i gan jiong, lagi angry.. Nearly box him. Haha..

What u mean by ang bao for GDL groom to bride? I only know one ang bao and that is the pin jin lor. What else?

Maybe u can get the boy to roll instead of jump?

Ya, u all say wear new clothes. But cant possibly ask him wear jeans to sleep rite? Haha.. Then how ah? Aiya, who knows? Maybe at night we dont wear anything. LOL!!

Eelin, u not getting any boy to jump on ur bed? Erm. but thats a yi si so that next time u all can get baby boy..

We wont be getting each other any gifts le.. Cos really spent too much le. But he agreed to buy me an L.V bag when we go honeymoon in April. N i will buy him something drums related. Hehe.. So no need lor. N i also have to buy something for my parents. Bo lui liao.. Haha..

Charma97, haha.. wah.. really so near.. But maybe i more kiasu lor. If its me, sure say want leave at 6.30. Dont forget u will be wearing heavy gown. Then walking is more diff. N so many jiemei and xiongdi car also.

charma97

Ee lin: actually at 1st I dun like kids at all.. then after seeing my friends' kids and my hubby told me like that is a complete family, then i changed my mind. I also scared of pain and not being a good mom. But everything have 1st time.
Thanks for the wishes..

Jo vin, i got very 3 jie meis and 4 xiong dis only.. i did told my hubby.. but he said 745 can make it de.. no need worries.. so if later than 7am, i sure blame him.. haahaa..

sportyangel

wow 12 brides will getting married on 18th of oct
n for d rest, jia yo jia yo

anyway, finally i got my wedding shoes from guess. finished my DIY wedding guest , wedding time table

looks like im finally ready, just need to go to yacht club this saturday to final meeting with d co-ord for d AD

sigh

jolene428

alamak.. my nails very weak, will always crack one lor...it never managed to grow more than 1cm. During my ROM tt time, i put it soooo much effort to keep it strong and dont break.. Phew.. now cannot too stressful :p

Wats the diff between nail extension and fake nails? Alamak, put liao hw to wear and remove contact lens?

Keke.. like said eelin, its personal preference. I not letting my HB do silly thgs oso.. so i told jm, every game must be meaning and to show hw much he loves me.. haha..coz i knw all the brothers personally as well so i dont want them to thk i sabo-ing them when they had always been so nice to me...

haha.. me is more of dun like to give the small boy wrong impression he can enter my room and jump on my bed on any other day.. coz paiseh..i just dont like bad manners kids...:p

exchanging of gift? ehhh got such thg meh? ehhh.. that time my fren oso said got but then *scratch head*... really need to? Anyway i intended to give him somethg meaningful just nt sure if i have time to finish it...

wat are u all getting for ur HB? Haha.. Jo_vin i know, u give him a condom tt u poke many holes :p hehe...then he can give u a baby :p

eelin77

What are you all using for March-in songs??

I'm thinking of a slow number for 1st one. Then perhaps a more upbeat one for 2nd March-in.
Already know the 1st song, but need to find a 2nd song....

annabella

Wow... congrats to all the upcoming brides... relax and enjoy yr BIG day....

Busy planning my korea trip in end Dec. Was looking at SA tour for 8day korea discovery+jeju, any comments abt them or better recommendation?

charma97

ee lin: i think one boy is enough. i want 1 boy 1 girl.. But not twins.. scared cannot cope.. Even though now I like kids but not to the extreme. Still find them a terror.. Haahaaa..

jolene428

wah... u all reply so fast!!

hoho i found 2 baby lovers!!! I oso thinking of having a baby soon but coz my HB doing his masters so he said if can wait til he finished his masters then he can have more time for me mah... so thinking lor..and 2010 is tiger yr so if missed nxt yr, must wait for 2 yrs!! i 29yrs old liao leh... woman fertility and egg quality drops 25yrs from ur yr of puberty...coz we average only have 300-400 eggs in our lifetime.. believe me coz i got alot of fertility experts at wrk...

actually i oso very worried tt i cannot be a good mother. eelin, i know ur struggle.. coz u mentioned tt ur mum is a difficult person too..same as mine.. i thk u are worried tt u become like ur mother rite? Tts my fear too. But i believe since we are more educated and ur HB likes children...the history WILL NOT repeat itself
Tats wat my HB keeps encouraging me too ^^ So have faith.. A woman's power is nt only to bring pleasure to men (hehe...) but also to make them complete...with a whole family

lynnqi

charma: opps. i meant photographer need to pay extra. I didnt get videographer (save $$$)

xiaokai: for a guide, you can check out http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com
My wedding is on 1st nov and till now my parents have yet to settle their guestlists! My dad till now cant sort out his side, and thus my mum dont dare to inform too many people yet. Faintz

Jolene: hehee i forget. I only catering for my parents side. My PIL say dont need, cos only PIL and SIL for the tea ceremony.

jo_vin: ya lor. my hub also find me naggy for chasing him to do the guestlists. And then he still tell my friends that he preferred to do F&E honeymoon. What the. For the past few holidays in asia i am the only 1 planning. And he expectes me to plan the europe tour alone?? I not so stupid lor, 'zi zao ma fan'.

charma97

Jolene: I think nail extension is continue with your original nail. While fake nails is a fake one stick onto your original nails. I tried fake nails during my PS and it all dropped off when I am changing my clothes.

Eelin: so far my mind the march in songs all chinese.. I got think of putting L.O.V.E BY Nat King Cole.. Dunno appropriate anot.. Can advise me please..

jolene428

charma, my fren let her niece and nephew jump/roll on her bed together! The photos look so cute~!!!

ehhh i think i dont even want to let them roll leh.. coz... ermmm u cannot imagine hw disrespectful they are.. i wana maintain tt line we drawn :p Maybe i get his older two male and female cousin to sit on the bed instead

jo_vin: must jiayou for ur baby making :p hahaha then me, u and charma the upcoming mothers to share our experiences liao :p hehe...

i thk hor, u buy whole set, track pants and track wear for him to wear lor..or shirt and shorts lah :p No matter wat, unzipping is more fun :p hehehe...

aiyoh, 1 of my fren saying why nv go clubbing at st james after the wedding.. i said u siao ah.. the nite so precious lor :p haha ya lah, tt boi no gf so he dont understd :p hehe...Anyway maybe by then we both dead drunk oso :p haha.. i

i tld my frens to give us drink only after we change our clothes or else will have to pay the BS back for dirtying their clothes... :p Oops thk my HB frens will laff when see his teddy bear pyjamas :X

charma97

Tanlee: OIC.. For me, i only hired my VG for morning only. I want to capture the moments how my hubby come and pick me up.. Haahaaa..

I think majority woman have such fear when stepping into motherhood. During my young days, my mum very bad tempered one.. I also feared to be like her. I also scared become like my mil so naggy..

Jolene: u let the kids roll.. if next round, they jump on your bed.. tell them off 1st.. then if another time, just scold them.. this is what i will do.. Heehee

jolene428

charma97: i m nt good with english songs leh.. ehhh.. i thk the first march in we havent decided.. 2nd decided liao coz we gg to sing in..haha nw gg to find the minus one..aiyohh.. i scared the system sucks and all the guests puke blood...

tanlee: haizz..my mum said when she gives the invite after my GDL then will cfm the seats.. then she quite upset coz i thk most guests said my wedding dinner so far away.. damn lor...its like max 45min from every corner of sg.. if u stay in west/north/east go to town for wedding oso abt 30min wat... so angry... i told my mum if they dun wan come then next time their kids wedding we oso dun go...

tt day overheard my FIL said got unconfirmed 11th guests.. hmmmm... weird..nvm, i will do wat my HB said lor...

sighh..early tis wk, my MIL and GIL passed us some $ to help for the wedding.. so now we cannot make noise when they ask for certain thgs liao... Okay lah.. at least we can breath abit nw...

Ahhh how come only FIL and SIL for tea ceremony? Ahhh no relatives gg? so sad...

jolene428

charma: haizz agree lor.. i thk every woman got tt fear esp whn they have unhappy childhood.. so will wonder if can give the child a happy childhood or nt...quite scary hor...

but hor as long as u got a supportive HB, i believe everythg can be worked out one.. like me, i told my HB better let him be the discipline master then i wont become like my mother everytime need to scold and nag :p I want to be a caring figure :p

eelin77

Jolene,
so glad there is someone who understands. You are right, we have the ability to change things and not let history repeat itself.

charma,
The lyrics for LOVE are nice
Can't recall the tune now, but I'm sure it's a classic, so can't go wrong with it.

For my 1st song, I picked Filipa Giordano's rendition of "Samson et Delila". Not sure if any of you have heard of it. But if any of you know it, please offer your thoughts.

I prob pick a jazz piece for my 2nd song, but still not sure which one.

jolene428

eelin:
Lets walk out of the past together ^^

keke, sounds so solemn :p well.. i believe we both can become good mothers^^ Jiayou!

ahhh i really bad with english songs... i m thinking of smthg with a fairytale feel... any suggestion?

jazz sounds nice ^^ Ehh i m nt good at it tho..paiseh

charma97

Jolene: Jia you in singing.. Your guests wont puke lar.. they will find it interesting.

my mil already said she will help us to look after my kids. So i told my hubby to let her be the baddy and both of us be the good one.. haahaha.. Alot of my friends predict i will be the bad one and my hubby the good one.. sianz..

Eelin: Thanks for the comment.

Ok lar. Talk to you girls later.. packing up time.. time to go home.. heeehe

jolene428

Thanks eelin!! sent to u liao ^^

thanks charma, haha... my HB big mouth duno said wat to colleague then yest he came back and said everyone wan comes our wedding to see him perform.. wah lau.. i v stress nw!!!

wooo so good charma, my MIL still wrking so if want her take care of the kids, thk we need to get her to retire soon and then employ a maid to hlp w hsework.. ahhhh... hse no space liao! Aiyohh.. duno how! But then even if she takes care, at nite we still see the kids mah coz we staying with inlaws till 2011 my hse come. And if i give birth in 2011 then comes together with renovation will go crazi oso!

keke..i thk my HB wont want to let them roll even :p i thk i use the older boy lah HAHA.. Poly already :p No such thg need a Virgin Boy to jump the bed rite :p hahahahahahahaah....

any good suggestion? ahha... next yr not rush lah...if work hard hor.. before 2010 CNY can give birth.. :p but then i still wana go backpacking w my frens

jo_vin

Jolene, fake nails is just pasting on with glue. Nail extension have to be done by nail salon. Where they apply either acrylic or gel and after its done, it looks like its ur own nails. N can last for at least 2 weeks..

Lol!! Then its him giving me a baby instead of me giving him a present liao. Lol!!

Charma97, i think alot of couples also wan 1 boy 1 gal. I also. But if suay suay both oso boy, i will definitely try for the 3rd one. Cos i want gal gal!!

Tan Lee, haha.. So i suppose u gg for package tour instead? If ur hubby really wants u to do planning urself, then betta take package ba. Not easy wor..

jo_vin

Charma97, i think L.O.V.E is a nice song! Can go ahead n use it..

Jolene, even if make baby, also not so fast for me ba.. Hubby contract still got so long.. Im sure i wont be able to handle. N he also like not very keen to have one so soon. He say must planning planning de..

I also had a fren who went clubbing w all the xiongdis and jiemeis. All drink until like dont know what. Then after that, still went back to helpers room n drink lor! Faint...

lost_in_space

eelin - I got a new watch for my hubby

jolene, the boy must be a virgin boy.. -.-"
but our side don't have.. haha.. all too big liao.. jump on my exp bed.. i will faint.. as for the pyjamas.. got meaning one.. buy long sleeves long pants.. so next time u got $$..