(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

porsche,
i havent book my roast suckling pig yet, duno if i'll b having 1 cos my mum didnt ask leh....so see if she'll request den i'll inform my fh lor :p

cheryl,
my mil got me yellow gold plus white gold cos i went to select wif them....it's still wif them as they intend to pass me during GDL...im sure u'll get ur sdj soon so dun worry

i may order roast pork instead of roast suckling pig cos it's too ex n too ma fan to cut but i duno how many portions my mum will b asking cos she intend to give it tgr wif d cakes in replacement of d canned pig trotters :p

~sblbee~

fionachua,
heheheh....i guz mayb they r gona earn my $ again cos my fh actually rented a jedi costume frm star wars for his teacher's day dinner n he intends to bring it there to take oso....

providencia,
wah....u r gona bring so many things to sydney? hehehehe....aiyo, like dat u really got no space for ur own stuff le, den have to wear ur WG n EG as pyjamas :p oh, quick.....post up d pic of ur WG n EG, i wana see ur gown :p
i duno leh but i agreed when they asked if we can help them to take some pics den we said ok....wana kaypo n relive my PS days :p

lsntyl,
no lah, i think my BS trying to show others den even bah bah ppl they oso have gowns dat they can wear...hehehe, n somemore im too stupid to bargain for things frm them so they dare to ask us mah :p

nelle

thanks, gals, for the birthday wishes. Yes, one year wiser (hopefully) and sigh.... many fine lines near my eye & mouth areas.

provi, so far nothing needed from sydney. Thanks for asking

Oooo, the idea of Jun-Dec Mrs gathering is swirling in my head. Kind of hard to imagine I'll be a Mrs. hahahaha..........

Mei, happy happy happy brithday 2moro.
I'll not be logging in 2moro cos not at work.
It is House Painting Day 1.

porsche

we enquired the one at Ubi...Yap Chai Luck..supposed to be nice...he told mum that its 20+kg for a big one...small one is 10kg and medium is 16kg...

listen liao also blur...price approx 25 per kg...quite std...

polarwhite80

hi porsche,

I have booked my suckling pig liao.... I dunno how big ah, juz know is medium size.... hahaha....

hi cheryl,

i got my roast pork for GDL at $25 per kg... i bringing the suckling pig to hotel n let the hotel chef cut for me.....

porsche

meiling: details are at home. Will post when I got it. Think I only got the phone number.

a quick search online shows the address as

3020 Ubi Ave 2
#01-103 Yap Chai Lack

Will confirm again

ebride

polarwhite: long time didnt see u in here. wow sound cheaper. So hw many kg u order?

Mei: give roast pork as give-away..wonder hw the packaging will look like.

Mrs Chiew: then when is yr Ann Chuan? Mine is 7 Sept..bed come on 6th juz nice the timing. If nt bed come in ealry also collect dust coz k nt sleep till AD.

How abt u gers? When yrs Ann chuan?

crayonv

~~spoiltbabe (vernwyen) & LSnTYL (lsntyl)

<font color="aa00aa">i m awake....haaa...
ya, muz really JIAYOU, mine is like a week to go...
n i need to try clear space to place aside stuffto bring to USA = luggage....
i already try my best to throw all MAGAZINEs, Clothes, toys...but still...my wardrobe is like still so fULL!! Alamak...donated a lot clothes to mum also, then she nag nag say i buy buy buy, no wear, waste $$$...sianz to the core sial...OK...better start working on CLEaning up my warzone!! =P</font>

necrosis

meiling, wah, BS ask you to be model leh!!!
that's a super cool compliment.

provid, i like the aussie wines, esp the desert ones. yeah, ya come back, tell me what to do for PS ah...
;)

looks like my PS is the latest, in oct!!!
by then, so many will have finished their AD even!!!
lol....am so slow!!!

nelle,
painting house is great for toning arms! :D but you're so slim, no need to work out too much liao.
i can pass you some bah bah, you help me use up while painting your house lah.

koyoyo,
so long never see you online ah!!

straylamb

ah net... far east plaza also have boots... u can go take a look...
best place to buy is still hong kong or taiwan i thk... cheap n nice...

nelle

fiona, are you looking for the traditional ones? If you are, you can buy at Hong Lim complex. There's a shop at 2nd level call Tiong Poh. Most of the things are cheaper there. I got the tea set (with pic of yuan yang) at $15.00.

But they also have modern tea sets and lamps with modern cartoons and trendy designs.

nelle

ya, LSnTYL, I always see the prices to be around $18-$30 at other shops.

fiona, the shop is not at a obvious location and nobody walks by there. They mainly do wholesale and the boss is always busy making those red banners (those coffeshop opening ceremony type). They also sell other wedding stuff like dragon phoenix candles, red umbrellas, sewing kits, fans, red baby bath tub etc.
I can't remem the unit. Will let you know once I dig out the namecard at home.

happi_bride

gin thye veri blur like shit. they forgot i wanted delivery, and said its better that we collect ourself that day, cos they really so buzy/ too many orders, too few pple plus they say my date is so HOT. whats wrong with them? i ordered a few months in advance and they comprise my order with those later orders.. sigh.. i tot they deliver so i booked, if not i can book from somewhere nearer my HTB home, better still, easier to collect. cos there is a shop nearby his home only making such cakes. manage.. somemore my cakes not cheap, though not many packets but already cost abt $450 for just 20 boxes plus some miscell items.

i feel like cancelling my order and buy from elsewhere (provided they can make it in time for this sun), which i doubt so.. so angry

fionachua83

Any recommendation of shoe shop selling white heels 3.5 inch at not more than $90? Tat time i bought a gold heels at city plaza but never saw any white heels i like.

lsntyl

Nec>got 2 shops in City Sq. One is on level 4 and one on level 3. We found the stuff in level 4 nicer and better quality. They also sell the angbaos, stickers, and all sort of other stuff used for Chinese wedding. Facing TnT, it is on your left. One of the shops in the warren of shops like Far East.

waxie24

fanny> i ordered from gin thye too.. the uncle told me last mth that that day is too busy, if deliver dunno in time or not.. so my hb going to detour to collect, then come my place..

will it be better if they deliver to ur HTB 1 day earlier..

yes.. boots from HK are super cheap.. can get 1 nice one for ard SG$20.. but my giant feet cannot fit their size.. to bad~

koyoyo

providencia,
"i'll die to have your height" and i would do the same to have your slender figure.. wolf whistle... anyway good shoes can bring out the over proportion so u are still mei mei.. but been bah bah i can not slim down woa...
nec,
Busy w preparation.. how about you? Have you got any photos of your gowns? I am so excited to see your gown and floralbliss... u know how to dance so i believe your gown will be very pretty...
jac how your dance practise???

koyoyo

Dear Jac and Nelle,
Happy birthdays to you gers.. may u grown prettier each day... oh always maintain that nice figure too .... *winks

~sblbee~

nelle,
thanks for ur well wishes! will b saving it until tm :p happy painting in d meanwhile n do think of u :p

nec,
no leh, mayb my BS find dat we r super chin chye n on so approached us lor, will b looking forward to another round of fun :p

fionachua,
there's lotsa GDL shops at level 1 chinatown complex selling d nuptial lamps n teacup sets, i've gotten 2 sets of cute cute ones.....
as for high heel shoes, have u tried tangs studio, takashimaya, anna nucci or OG, BHG....i think there's a brand called vivie not too bad

jo_vin

Hi jojo, ya, i had 3 different days of shoot. 1 for indoor, 1 desaru, and 1 spore. As for gown fitting and stuffs, i find it ok la. Not very troublesome. Think about the amount of money i can save and the amount of stuffs i can get is worth the travelling lor. Anyway not i driving also. Haha.. Ssshhh....

Ya, need to pay extra for adding those icons. 1 icon is $10. The 'xi' word is also considered an icon.

U look ok also ma. Very pretty. Figure just nice. Dun be like me wor, too skinny also not nice..

jenvin_08

Hi angelina kusuma, SDJ is si dian jin
Hi ^MeiLinG5^, i always heard about heng heng. But cant find its location on the net. Can tell me where is it? if possible, can quote ur in-law's name so that i can get discount... ? if cannot, is ok... =)
Hi Cheryl, i have asked around and seems like poh heng is a preferred choice. But i heard that price can negotiate?

ANybody knows what is the current gold price?

~sblbee~

cheryl,
i oso duno leh, i hope no need to get roast pork even better, so oily n unhealthy, i nv like to eat roast pork :p oso can save $ lah :p

jen jen,
heng heng can b found at toa payoh central....oh d aunties always buy frm them but they went along wif me....perhaps u can try to bargain wif them....i got a yellow gold n white gold chain n bracelet wif a yellow gold pendant wif diamond as well as a simple pair of yellow gold ear studs ard $2.4K....they managed to get a major discount frm there :p den my mil n my fh's aunties got me 2 yellow gold bangles costing $200+ each for tea ceremony....honestly i wld prefer a AP but den they insisted on giving me bangles :p
hehehhe....honestly speaking, i prefer poh heng as well but den it's being paid by my in-laws so i got no say when they brought me to heng heng, it's always better than nothing rite? :p my 1st choice was actually white gold items frm lee hwa destinee range, i was even prepared to cut down to 2 items due to d price but den they insisted dat yellow gold is more auspicious :p

miew

Zephyrine : Thanks for the website.. not bad =)
i found this one called http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2007/wedding-022.php the cakes here are not bad too =)

finally i have found a shop at geylang that is a wholesaler for hampers.. cos i want to get one for my actual wedding day, as we are not getting roast pig, but thinking of replacing with a hamper.. will update you girls when i visit the shop and check out how are the goods there =)

crayonv

<font color="aa00aa">ya, i saw the webby from Choz, looks really nice gd deal, buy 10boxes free 1 box, i did called them up and they say better BOOK earlier to avoid late delivery, etc...
in the end i chose Bengawan solo, 3 days in advd for Physical cakes. Free delivery to 1 location i think w min $120 purchase. =)</font>

ebride

Jen: U juz tell them yr budget, Im sure they will show u the variety of the SDJ accordingly to yr constraint. Juz pass by any jewellery shop, they sure gt shw the current gold $.

Mei: I like roasted pork esp the skin is crispy..my most sinful fav food. No wonder I gt a tyre tummy hahaha..:p
yap old folks like to give yellow gold coz auspicious &amp; has more value as compared to white ones.

lsntyl

crown>you managed to get the pills in the end? How come the GP didn't advice you on what to do?

Viv>I saw the cakes at Choz too. Looks good hor. but FMIL doesn't want to order from them. Donno where she is ordering the cakes from...

muddypaws

hey there, thanks for updating the spreadsheet. My bridal studio and AD PG are from J&amp;M. I don't intend to have videos.

Anyway, do show your gowns once you get them! I'm still deciding what to wear for my second walk-in. Want something simple so that I can walk around without tripping over myself.

porsche

meiling: there are trade-off abt getting presents for tea ceremony...while $$ is more practical, one reason for insisting on present is so that the couple will know what each relative gave for tea ceremony...rather than spend the $$ and with no memories after that...

how true is that, i dunno lah.... i guess its up to them to decide what to give... some may not even want to turn up for tea ceremony...haha..

melo_ddy

Jen jen, my MIL also bought me yellow gold... i told her i wanted white gold but she said yellow gold more valuable so i will just accept what she bought

think the current gold price is ard 40+.

Mei, i told my aunties not to buy me jewellery for tea, give me AP to me instead. But for my mummy, she say better for her to give me jewellery for tea so she bought me a bangle with diamonds, something i always wanted

Mei, no need to order buffet from neo gardens so early one, they kept telling me can order about a week before the date we wanted. But i KS, i scare later they are full so i order mine so early. haha

cheryl, my an chuan is about a week before my AD, mine is always very late compared to you gals.

angelina, i added u to my multiply.. approve me.

mrs chiew, i went for my fren wedding dinner at swissotel in may this year, the food was not bad &amp; serving per pax was huge. They have alot of aunties serving drinks during the banquet but the aunties are all very warm and friendly
Dont worry, im sure everything will be fine

imchazza

hi angelina

my AD is on 26 Oct, Sunday - no special meaning for us, just hand picked by his grandparents. :)

we're frantically looking for a JP, so far Prof Yu and Mr Yeo are not available, so if any of you ladies know of any good JPs, kindly introduce....

Thanks Meiling for updating my info on the chart, looks very cool!

uk_fung

melody: ya we also choose there coz we have good experience there.... just hope is only yesterday food have issue ba...

regarding gold... actually I become more appreciate of it after my mom told me.. ppl give us gold is showing care for us.. why ppl buy gold? coz gold's value is really more and worth... then why gold for the bride coz the one who giving you love you.. care for you.. and gold belongs to the bride!not the couple ya... and this is suppose to help bride just in case next time need money or so next time... those are the things to "support" us... in olden days, if u get AP instead it also show the distant relationship of that person w you....

Although to us we like not that "useful" more like just a gift to keep etc.. but really the meaning behind it we should see it bigger...
After all Gold is VERY ex they are not cheap anyway... ppl also spend alot to buy that

annabella

Hi Mrs Chiew,
Wow.. yr link for the hairstyle is really informative... this came at the right time when I was troubling over the hairstyle for my AD and night...thank you...