(2008) Brides of year 2008

between the 4 i saw at marina there...cheapest is mandarin...think if have to choose out of the 4....conrad is the best in terms of price/prestige/ballroom layout n atmosphere.
(but must see bridal suite, oriental bridal suite not nice, swissotel nicer)

in any case, i still wanna check out M hotel...now you tell me NCQ have jacuzzi, i also wanna check out NCQ. JACUZZI !!!!!! yay!!!

anyone can provide info/pictures of REGENT???
c'mon girls....share!!!

Hi Valerie,

My AD will be on 3 Jan 2009.. Just gotten our date from Master yesterday only.. heh..

what product did u use at ur makeover to remove blackheads? i got problem with black heads.. squeeze them out le, very fast come back again.. sigh..

heard korice n joanne and duno who say conrad rooms are veri nice wor.. my sis also went to one of their suite b4 and she said v nice. tink can get sea view too leh depending on which side u stay keke. u went swissotel suite to see also?

not 1st time i tell u ncq got jacuzzi leh.. u 4got le hehe. i tink its not as nice as M hotel's cos M hotel one is at a separate area but ncq one is in the toilet area itself.

for pics of regent u go regent thread.. tink there have quite a fair bit in the recent archives

hi shice.. i used purifying gel.. the brand or salon name is I-shu. u wan can try cos its veri gd but not cheap. the beautician also veri nice and friendly, she and her assistant does not do hardselling. their shop at tanjong pagar. if u wan, pm me and i can give u their contacts

Sorry to interrupt all of you ladies... hehe... but I saw that one of you is considering M Hotel, personally I would say bad choice...
The decor is nice but.... I went to a friend's wedding dinner the other day.... ballroom...
Cost is 888 per table... food is only so so... worse is the service... The crew are so blur...
I am not sure if they are trying to save up their drinks.... the menu is 8+1 the 1 is chinese tea....
Then when we get seated, the crew ask us, what drink we want but never came back... They just pour tea for some of us in my table... then didn't come back again... We had to gesture at least 3 times before they serve us drinks that we request....
My SO was at first quite interested to find out more abt M Hotel as his own uncle had his wedding there a few years back... Now he is totally turned off by it....
Our common friends of the bride commented to us privately that it is simply not worth it to spend 888 per table at M Hotel....

Rac, i have not booked venue yet... didn't know must book so much in advance. Still thought of confirming venue after june this year =(

Jojo,

Thanks for you reply. I think you really able to empathise with my sentiment and the kind of fear that I am facing. I guess I had also fallen into the sale tactics of the agent - he kept telling us that the flat is selling like hot cakes and wanna us to make decision fast so he can "secure" the place for use before it's snatch up by other. So it is all mind game which makes my brain mal-function last night.
I've never purchased anything worth 6 figure before. The lack of experience make everything so frightening and also disable the capability to think rationally. You are right that we have to work the sum out carefully. I feel so suffocating as my FH does not have much saving - and he already paying for most of the wedding stuff such as the BS, Banquet etc. In fact, I have alot more saving than him. So to play my part, I would like to pay for the cash deposit and renovation as I do not want to take up renovation loan as it is unnecessary to pay for the interest. But that would mean to totally drain my saving dry. I feel very insecure with such thoughts.
I think I need a lot more time to think everything thru carefully. Thanks a lot.

hi mindy its gd to share ur experience, we do appreciate it
wad is SO ar? heard ppl mentioning SO but duno wad is tat haha.

pris.. yup the gel is quite ex, $98 for a tube of about 10cm tall.

shice i'll go see the mail in a while

Initially i also tot is still early...my tentative date was dec07. But can't find any venue...therefore changed to Jun08.

It's never too early to start preparing...if you want your AD be an auspicious date, weekend and school holiday...better action now lor.

i'm not concerned about AD being auspicious, but i want it to be a Sat and school holiday. Looks like i have to start searching for AD venue fast.

yeye...have to act fast. Can start calling hotel/restaurants whether they are still available for Sat in the Jun/Dec holiday...

Sg bride website has a listing with telephone numbers. Hope it helps...

U r most welcome. Just sharing my experiences to you...We are sg brides, helping each other is my pleasure.

yeye same name...love this name!!! =)

harlowz!!! yup.. conrad got nice ballroom..

paiseh.. got kicked out of my workstation cos raining from the ceiling.. HAHAHAAA.. so working from a more "open" one so cannot go forumming.. keke..

bc show not bad lah.. but mainly to see gowns lor.. i think joanne already email the link..

so who's going style this sunday? i am..

going BC again in a while's time.. to tok more abt the aussie thingy cos apparently another couple's going perth 2 days after we return.. so wanna see if we can work something out.. & help cousin check out the rom package..

tok to ya girls again.. *MUACKS*

wah.. 2 rachels!! hahaa.. and same AD somemore.. so qiao.. yah.. PG & VG also very impt.. cos they only 1 man.. can only go 1 place..

me gg to style this sunday too!

Aussie? when u guys gg? I might be gg end of this yr too.. around 25 Nov or so.. but most likely Gold Coast/Brisbane or Melborne..

prisbaby, yup, went to oriental. looked at the atrium ballroom, kinda small, i saw e actual layout as one of e coordinators mentioned there was gg to be an actual wedding yest. quite packed with 18 tables. i'm looking for 20-25 tables. kinda difficult to find hotels. bridal suite not so nice. e mirror is in an awkward position.

pop over to pan pac too. if i get smaller ballroom on 2nd floor, difficult to find toilet. think e old folks won't like it.

visited traders before. traders bridal suite very nice, but reception area for the smaller ballroom Temasek Room very elongated and cramped. they seem quite inflexible on the LCD projector usage and a lot of other things cannot really be negotiated.

i'm targeting AD in 2008 Q4.

NCQ sounds good. does anyone have any idea on what is their min tables? afraid i can't meet their min no.

me going to style too.

wah, so many new "faces"
old folks (once upon a time we actually shared our ages) like me can't keep up liao!!

oh dear, my M hotel dream dissolving liao...
:P
their service is really so lousy ah? sigh.

NCQ is the next jacuzzi-best-thing. heehe..

maybe i'll strike lottery and can have raffles!!! woohoo!!

intercon having wedding show on 10th june. me going for this also...cos i like intercon.

how's the feedback on BC show? so many went...then no noise from all the noisy BC btbs?? lol...

does regent have jacuzzi?hehehe....
(FH say no need bridal suite, cos he's gonna intro me to his college friends, talk talk talk whole nite thru...!!!)
when they talk, i can use the jacuzzi myself!!! HAHAHAH..
as long as i feel shiok! :P

hey, i'm curious when it comes to cutie kids... Ipz, how did u manage to see the photo? Geraldine, pardon me for kpo as i love kids alot...

vivienne...i do agree wif jojo...sumtimes in real life we tend to let our heart run over our rational thinking...veri imptly live within ur means.....definitely sales tactic agent is trying to adopt in order to close d deal fast....preying on human's norm reaction to panic & try to rush into it....my 2 cents worth....in today's property market u can neber anticipate d next ups or downs due to many influencing factors...dun b a slave to ur house...it's suppose to b ur luvnest which u looked forward to relac in after a hard day's work.....tink it over carefully & have a dicussion wif ur HB.....

NCQ is Novotel Clarke Quay. =)

one of my choice. im goin for the Holiday inn this sat. anyone going? my frn wanted me join her for changi but a bit far ... =P

anyone have comments for furama riverfront?

I'm new to this thread. My AD will be either on 6 or 27 Jan 08 and my ROM is on 7 Jul 07.

I've signed up with Jess Hauter Contour for both my ROM and Bridal package.

Currently actively sourcing for venues for my wedding banquet. Both our parents prefer restaurants than hotels as they feel that the food will be nicer as compare to hotels. Have shortlisted few restaurants such as Qian Xi hilltop, Imperial Shark Fins at Yio Chu Kang, Brilliant Gardens at the Chevron, Orchid country club etc.

Any info, tips related to ROM or actual wedding day or banquet venues etc to share, you can PM me at [email protected]

I'm new to this thread.

My ROM date is on 7 Jul 07 and my AD is either on 6 or 27 Jan 07.

Signed up with Jess Hauter Contour for both my ROM and Bridal package.

Currently actively searching for a venue for my wedding banquet. Both parents prefer restaurants as compare to hotels. Have shortlisted: Qian Xi hilltop, Imperial Shark Fins @ Yio Chu Kang, Brilliant Garden @ the Chevron...will be viewing the restaurants soon. I'm also considering hotel venues that does not exceed $700 per table on Sunday. Anyone has good feedback on any restaurant or hotel that is within my budget, please do share wif me ya.

As for my bridal package, I think i signed up rushly (though the package is good deal). Hopefully everything will turn out well.

morning girls..

nec..!! i also cant catch up!! hahahaa.. my fren's wedding's at M hotel this june.. wanna wait till den for my comments?? keke..

BC show ar.. me & joanne missed 12 WGs cos we were late.. only managed to see 4 of them.. there were 16 EGs too.. i think if taking OTR, WG shouldn't be a prob.. but EG-wise.. will have to look more.. cos like quite limited.. but nec.. got salsa-looking dresses.. a few somemore! keke..

hey.. whoever's going for style, let's do a meetup there k..!! swissotel..

shice, we going for an aussie PS this sep.. melbourne & sydney.. & we'll be flying BC over.. have you booked your BS le?? BC's good!! hahaa.. *faints* i'm now thinking of helping cousin book their ROM package.. hahaa..

good morning girls, skies are clear, sun is shining, put on a bright smile and greet the day warmly!

korice!
if i could have my PS this sept, would love to do the aussie ps with you. BC or whatever. but this sept FH parents coming to sing!!!
meet the parents session. :P
you can update me on M hotel in june, no prob.
take pics!! (and turn in your heels on the carpet)heheh..

based on all the carpets at the 4 hotels i visited, i think spinning/salsa on them quite ok, need more effort than normal, so prob cant spin like i usually do i.e like xiao cha bor.

yup, let's meet up for style!!

any idea what's happening? the herworld one was very boring....(or are all wedding shows so xian?)

Good morning gals.

Finally, I more or less confirm that my AD will be in Nov 2008. can start to ask around for package details already.

korice, update me on M hotel oso. Its one of my shortlisted hotel.

Mi going to style show this sunday oso.

Morning gers!!

I got Jawn happy ever after for my ROM dress, most likely gg back to them for my AD.

wah.. PS in Aussie.. so nice.. can go Great Ocean Road.. sure very romantic one.. hehe.. catch the sunset timing.. :P

hehee.. nec & angeline.. sure.. i think all carpets the same bah.. keke.. m hotel.. my fren booked purely based on the suite lor.. sigh.. HAHAHAA..

nec.. if your FPIL postpone lemme know lah.. hahahaa..

dunno leh.. i think wedding shows mainly is see gowns for me le.. so ok lor..

shice.. how much is your Jawn ROM package?? i'm helping my cousin to find.. can share details? hehee.. yeah.. great ocean road.. definitely will be there.. cos that place is the reason why we having PS in aussie..

morning gals..

me gg style too.. :D how do we all meet up?

mosburger, for 20-25 tables, u can try cinnamon room at NCQ, their max is 24 tables while for phoenix ballroom, is 30-50 tables. u can try negotiating with them if end up u have 25, see if they can give u phoenix ballroom or not.

nec i'm considering to go intercon show too.. there veri nice! hee. wedding shows are basically same ba i tink.. held at a hotel then the hotel will showcase their themes, ballrooms, suites.. then a few BS n PG, cake shops etc will set up booths for ppl to look ard. then will hv gowns display for catwalk. u find it boring ar? then wad did u expect wedding shows to be like? hehehe. regent no jacuzzi.. didn hear anyone talk abt it leh..

angeline.. u went to MBR liao not ar? i tink we can arrange next week to go see liao. my 2 weeks break is up :D

i'm a 8th march 08 bride as well! i've booked Grand Park Plaza Hotel City Hall for my wedding dinner, and my bridal boutique is L-Belle!

Dear Stnov, Sleepycat, Vivienne and IceCherry,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your thoughts on the wedding favours. As I'm not having lunch or dinner banquet at the Rasa Sentosa, only the Solemnisation and High Tea, I don't think they're throwing in any wedding favours.
Since my solemnisation is outdoors, I'm thinking of giving pop-up hats to the ladies and battery operated hand held fans to the men! I've seen the hand held fans but still trying to source for the pop-up hats.

IceCherry,
So happy to know that you're having your wedding at the Rasa too! Congratulations! Maybe we can share tips and see how to squeeze the hotel for more freebies or goodies? Hahaha!

Vivienne,
How's the decision on the new home? I agree with the gals about being rational. On the other hand, I know what it's like to have your dream house there within grabs yet cannot make up your mind.
Don't commit first! Talk to the bank and to the CPF board. If you know any conveyancing lawyers who can give you free advice, that's also good.
My FH and I committed on a property and later found out that our interpretation of the CPF regulations is different and when the lawyer explained to us, we were caught off-guard and had to rush to make adjustments!
Lesson Learnt: You don't need to have made any commitment or downpayment before talking to the banks and the lawyers.
It's good to talk to the banks to work out how much cash you have and can spare, how much CPF you have and how much the bank can loan you. What's the interest rates at the moment and the monthly repayment. Re-look at your current life-style and your take home pay. Can you afford to sustain the monthly repayment?
Don't forget also hidden cost like Stamp Duty, lawyer fees, etc. If you need to do up the place after the purchase, you need to think about that too plus furniture and appliances.
If you need referral to talk to banks, let me know ok? I just went through all of them so can pass you the contacts.

Smile...

so excited.... 2 more months to my rom and also booking for my BC package... hehe hehe.... i actually planned where shld i have my outdoor shooting... i wanted to be all at night....

mmm don know leh i like outdoor shooting at night de... seems nice... cuz view some of the indoor shooting in BC, theirs is not bad.... hehe hehe... day time is too hot for me... cuz the places i choose for outdoor will be:
sentosa
Singapore museum
Asian civailisation museum