(2008) Brides of year 2008

shice

sweetbeng, how many tables are u looking at? maybe furama riverfront? so far merchant court, furama and amara has nicer solemnisation venue.. changi hotel too far for wedding dinner..

sweetbeng

Yeah, I meant they have only 1 grand ballroom. Was considering having the solemnization in Windows East and then dinner in the grand ballroom. I'll have around 25 tables.

Went to a wedding at Furama, and the food was cold and not very nice, so we have it a miss. Haven't seen Amara though...

korice

pris.. i stopped the pills for a while.. was half-wondering if they are the ones making me feel unwell.. or my da yi ma.. so will cont after my da yi ma's gone.. hmm..

i've ROM-ed too!!

nec.. seems like they are the active ones now.. the few of us.. all missing in action le.. sigh..

yep.. we watched phantom.. so qiao.. seats next to each other only.. hahahaa.. super good right.. *swoon*

ladies.. ROM & dinner same day not xiong ar? my frens did over a weekend.. hmm..

i need a light green dress!! for my fren's wedding!! stupid lor.. set green as a jie mei colour for the day.. how to buy????? you tell me lah..

hapimint

hehe... yenkinki, I not china girl... haha... I going china to take pic cos my parents went china to stay... reduce cost of living in singapore so they retire in China... haha....
Then I want to visit them mar... so go there and look see lor....
I bought woodlands area... haha... my FMIL stay there mar... so think move near them lor since my own parents move to china liao....

necrosis

korice!!!

one of the "old birds" *smooooccchhhheess*
yeah, phantom super duperly ROCKS.
if i can afford, i'll watch again.
val tried to buy tix too, but too late, all sold out.
i KS, bought mine last year!!! heheheh

sweetbeng,
me will have 25 tables too.
this number very mah fan right?
most places min is 30. :p
so what have you shortlisted?
share share so i can look at those that accept 25 too.
those i have quotes for, all 30-35 min tables. :p

necrosis

mindy is the happening one lah....got china ps, got paris ps also...
*drool*

korice, heard from pris her friend took JB BS go taiwan...but no furhter info...
maybe i can check with the JB ones also...(but JB already "overseas" ) :p
me yaw kwee!!!

floating25

Wow! Didn't realise I've been out for so long! Took me an hour to catch up on the reading.

I finally went down to Blush Blush to complete the MTM design of my WG. The first fitting should be in July! Yippee!!!

The advice from my GF is: if you have to lose weight to fit the gown then either the gown is not for you or the designer is not good.

All brides will lose weight as the stress of preparing the wedding will kick in so don't force yourself. I'm not doing much myself but a fitness instructor friend of mine told me to buy the GymBall from AIBI and work out on it for 20 mins a day and you can tone the tummy and strengthen the back at the same time. There are instructions inside the box to tell you how to exercise on the GymBall. The sales person there will also be able to advise to buy the right size ball depending on your height and built.

The coffee session sounds great! When's it?

Smile...

prisbaby86

but heard his package is very gd.... and he is very impress by it... but he is over sea so i can only ask him when he is back... but he also paid 2000++ for over sea... not including the MUA, PG allowance there.....

sweetbeng

I watched Phatom when they were in SG like 15 yrs ago. The singing, acting, and swinging chandelier are still very fresh in my mind. Love that show to bits.

nec, ya lor, anything between 20 and 30 tables very mafan. So far the hotels I have shortlisted are Shangri-La, Four Seasons, and Raffles, taking many factors into consideration like food, atmosphere, and service. Still looking around for other possible venues.

caramel980

I'm an 8 March 08 bride too! Didn't know it was such an auspicious/popular date since my fiance and I chose the date quite arbitrarily. :p

We're having our church wedding at Wesley Methodist Church, followed by lunch at One Rochester. Still looking for a bridal studio cos I can't decide on what type of look (modern or princess) I want. As for pre-wedding and actual day photographer, we're getting Eugene from Chris Ling as our photographer.

All the best with your wedding preparations!

sweetbeng

Oh ya forgot to add, if your no. of tables miss the min requirement by not much, the hotel will still let u book the venue. You just need to top up to a more expensive menu.

hapimint

haha... me got to plan on the number of tables first... but SO keeps on flying for work... no time to make him sit down to discuss yet....
Or not, so difficult to find places...

muddpie

Floating,

yea i agree with ur gf leh...initially i oso tot i fat...& realy need to work on my stomach muscles..as i get by & survey with other brides visiting other bs & try some of their gowns, i realise is not abt me...is all abit the cut of the gown...so now i have abit of prob my my bs as i still find the cut tat fits my waist nicely...tou i need to tone up abit to look even better in thos gowns... =)
discuss more during coffee session

skywu

i aso dun noe wat to do, except to prepare for my ROM and aso looking for ideas to design my hm when it is ready next yr :>

necrosis

sweetbeng,
i love raffles to bits.
was there when they had the ballroom dolled up for a wedding..they had 28 tables...quite ok... but since i need a dance floor...i prob will have to have less tables. the ambiance there is wonderful.
but the prices are also...:p

havent seen 4 seasons....imagine they are very $$$ too?
had a luncheon at shangri la ...was ok...
keep me informed?

pris, your fren come back liao, must go interview him ah...ask which BS etc!!

angielsw

Hello everyone!

Welcome to all new BTBs!

korice, I no missing in action. I'm here. *waving my hands* can see me?

I estimating to have about 25 tables oso. I have booked my venue le. now waiting to confirm my BS. btw, my AD is in Nov 08.

Now having a headache on the venue of my ROM. don't know where to hold my ROM. Thot of having a simple one just for immediate family and a few good friends but scared that taking leave for them to come will be troublesome. Partly oso because don't wanna spend too much on ROM. haiz...

lost_in_space

Hi Everyone..

Welcome all new BTBs..

Korice, nec, angeline.. :D me here too.. sorry ah.. kind of lost.. so many new faces.. just went to my BS yesterday to confirm the size of my album.. for all newcomers.. just for your info.. my BS is Signoria Nuziale and veune is HIPV AD-08/11/08

Angeline, when is ur rom date? that time I roughly spent 1.5k on everything.. cos maybe i got angbaos from relatives to cover back..

waiting for sat to come... Simmons bed.. hehe.. I want to SLEEP ah..

witch

Hi Floating,

The GymBall sounds good. Where can I buy it?

I'm a member of California Fitness too....but I'm a bit shy to join you ladies cos my fitness level is extremely bad...haven't been to the gym for ages!

blur_queenie

When is the coffee session? Can only join after 15June..

Muddpie, think you can change my BS to DC instead. I got green light to change BS..heee..
Found the CS i want..on multiply..look abit baggy cos not fitted to my size yet...

angielsw

lost, I've a got a few dates by the geomancer but all weekdays. if everyone take leave cos of me, i bu hao yi si leh. so am thinking whether shld choose a weekend date by myself anot. me abit troublesome hor. heehee.

nec, my venue is at Grand Plaza Park Hotel.

cat_quek

anyone one AD is on 24thFeb08? Don't know if it is a auspicious date as my huby to be is not "pandan". But jsut wan to get married in rat year Feb lor...so choose the last Sunday of Feb.

icecherry

Hi Muddpie,
yah i think you are right. I should call them to fix appointment to try on gowns and take a look at their EG selection...
Come to think of it, I havent start searching for my bridal shoes... i am quite fussy.... dunno can find what i want or not... any suggestions where i can find nice shoes? Thanks ya!

vbutter

I am back fr a long day of PS.. not very happy... I am very worry now... think tat my PG not working very hard... how ar? I don think i can sleep tonight le...

For me and my FH, we did not consult any master.

We decide to choose our own date for fear also what if we are given the weekdays one. Then knowing it, you will have this tentative to want to follow it instead of ignore it especially for the eldery. Which is why we decide to act ignorance and proceed with our planning.

In fact for our parents, they also left it to us to decide since we make it clear to them we do not wish to consult any master.

yenkinki

hi mindy... opps..me did not think u r china gal la haha...
me went to furama riverfront already...
hmm... they only got 3 ballrooms... the new ballroom call mercury is at 5th level one... can tk min 22 tables max 28 tables... but is low celling, is reali low... reception area is beri small oso... but e price is not ex n friday consider weekday rate... is not even $600 for per table n is in nett price... u can go 2 e website n tk a look they hv e price n menu der...
will go c other hotel before making any decision..
still headache...

witch

Hi IceCherry,

I got my shoes from Hue at Raffles City, perhaps you can try there. Aldo has very nice shoes too but the heels are very high. Of course if you have spare cash, can splurge on shoes from Essex Walk!

Oh, Daniel Yam carries a wide range of shoes which is suitable for wedding / evening gowns too.

icecherry

Hi witch,
what is the range for the shoes at Hue? Dun think i wan to spend alot on shoes cos i m thinking of getting a few pairs, to match the different gowns...

witch

Not too sure about the price range. Mine is $99, one of the lower-priced one i guess.

TANGS Studio also have many nice shoes at affordable price. Do check them out.

yenkinki

oh ya mindy...
e other ballroom is call jupiter is oso low celling n only can hold max 25 min 18 (if i not wrong) but dun reali look dat nice lo.. den e other is venus hold min 36 tables is big wif high celling n is pillarless one (i like dis ballroom..hee)
but i dun hv dat much tables

and e suite oso not dat fantastic lo but ok lo..
but frankly e price is reali reasonable n heard dat food not bad oso...
think will shortlist it first lo den will still look ard c got any better one...

korice

morning!!!
midweek..!!!

nec nec.. *smoooooooochies*
jojo.. *slurrrrrrrpies*
*hugs & kisses to the rest*

angeline.. when's your ROM? any "preferred" location in mind? we managed to cover back our reception cost *whew*.. amazingly.. so only end up spending about $1.5k? excluding the cost of the wedding bands lah.. my reception costs er-hmm.. you know where, you know the price lah..

i thot we were bad enuff.. my fren gonna do theirs at one rochester.. *whistle*.. beautiful place with beautiful prices too.. sigh.. paying for ambience..

cousin rom-ing on 7 july.. helping her find MUA.. hmm..

nec.. four seasons was my option 1 IF we didn't manage to get an "alternative venue".. i have their price.. fwd you later.. hubby likes the food there.. but since we decided on suntec.. yah.. the sales lady quite nice..

so sad.. hubby discussed the dinner menu without me.. *pouts*.. shall see how lah.. & we wun be having a first course presentation.. we will be having a DESSERT presentation.. hopefully.. keke..

hatemenot

hi jojo,
congrats on your decision on the BS. Divine will be very classy and nice! good choice.. that green CS will look good on you.

hi icecherry,
metro paragon have quite a few crystal range. But about 80-100 per pair =)

vivienne,
cheer up gal, don't worry k? my friend had a similar experience with her BS, she was a little worried that the pictures will not turn out nice as the photographer seems to "sui sui bian bian" take photos. But when the photos came out, she was quite surprised that the photos turn out above average.

but if in the event you are not really satisfied, make some noise and see if you can ask for a reshoot =)

mage

Viv, who is your PG? You scaring me leh... we using the same BS i think. May I know what makes you think the PG not working hard enough? Can share?

I haven't contacted them at all with regards to anything. Now busy negotiating with the hotel.

Btw, gals, my msn is ange28Gmsn.com! Feel free to add me!

prispris

morning ladies... its me prisbaby... my account kana suspended... don know why... maybe been hack by some one....

hey ladies... shld i buy my ROM ring after ROM ??

blur_queenie

IceCherry,

You can try Leaping Lizard at Int'l Plaza. I think Novo also have shoes for dinner/bridal. Wait for the GSS? i saw a purple/lilac w crystal heels at Novo going for 70+ as it was a sale item beg of the year, didnt bought it as nothing was settle for the bridal.

Tete, everything all set for taiwan? You should be excited by now.
Enjoy yourself and snap some photos to show us.

Viv, dun worry too much, just like tete said, make some noise and see if they can retake the PS for free. My colleague did that for his BS but he got to pay a small sum for it.

prispris

haiz me and him not ok now... now we got a even big and serious problem.......

cuz i thinking ROM we don do the exchange ring... den we go buy a ring after that... cuz we both no time to go buy...

sleepycat

IceCherry,

For shoes, take a look ard at the dept stores like BHG (Seiyu), Tangs, Metro. U can actually find nice shoes at reasonable prices. Different branches carry slightly different range so u got to be patient to go hunt thru them. I heard that City Plaza near Paya Lebar MRT has got nice shoes too but nvr been there.
I also very fussy abt shoes. Normal working shoes already so hard to find..I was worried that I can't find my wedding shoes. Luckily found mine (silver strappy) at Tangs Vivocity for abt $70...very pleased
cos they are pretty, comfortable and at the heel height I was looking for.

Having trouble with my multiply so can't upload the pics from my first fitting yet...

hapimint

Thanks Yenkinki... haha... Think I will go take a look once we settle on the number of tables.... gotta make time to make my SO discuss with his family lar... Thank god that my parents are also back today... got to make time to discuss already....
I also looking for ROM location... haiz.... intending to book hotel too... I really hope to be able to cover back... but my few friends who I may be inviting told me that ROM usually buy presents.... I fainted... I dun want present... haha....
Pris, why need ROM ring? I thought after ROM, start to wear the wedding band le?
Now I wear my engagement ring then after the solemnisation, I will wear wedding band.... even though my wedding date is a year later.....correct?

angielsw

Morning everyone. Wednesday le. tomorrow I'm going to remove my wisdom tooth. I scared of the pain.
wish me luck.

korice, my ROM most probably in Nov this year. but hor we still can't confirm whether its juz for immediate family or also include some friends. the dates given to me by the geomancer are all weekday dates leh. then i paiseh if everyone have to take leave to come to my ROM.

actually me thot of holding it in a hotel cos nicer mah but hubby say too ex. so now am thinking of mayb juz hold it at love that binds or at aranda country club executive suite.

mage

Normally when I want to look for dressy shoes, I usually start with Tangs and I normally can find a nice pair there at a reasonable price.

I walked into Leaping Lizard that day just to look see. Enquired on a pair of white satin shoes, and its about 130 or so. Not as expensive as I thought it will be. Its good if you would like to custom make something to your liking. They have lots of choices there.

korice

good luck angeline!!

erm.. i was wearing eangagement ring.. now i wear both together.. hehhee..

yah.. most ppl give pressies.. but it also depends on who you're inviting.. cos close frens will know you'd rather cover the costs.. so ya lor..

pris.. did you tok to him? june 22 coming soon le leh..