(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi gers, doing my rsvp now and I wanna share this stupid msg I got from a fred. I sms to check if he is coming to the dinner. He reply "I m not coming, give me ur posb/dbs acc no" ..... I stunned.... I reply "no worries".... I already very selectively invite ppl liao. My other fred say maybe this fellow also selectively attend ba.

haha puroland...i burst out laughing when I saw your message..
Why your friend so cute?

thanks cactus! I will inform my fiance to prepare his share.

Hallo ladies!

On leave today coz my boss told me to clear all my annual leave before i go on maternity leave. Just dun understand y my co dun let me bring forward the leave next year. I confirm will clear everything!

Piglet, yup.. I also dun dare to eat too much durian coz my baby comes out heaty. So no more durian liao!

Mei, congrats! I think should not be a problem at least u re moving out like in 2-3 years time so shd hv ample time for your in laws to have mental preparation especially your MIL.

Von, how come no chance to move out?

kaye, yalor, when your baby is out, confirm you'll take leave one.. but sometimes HR is like this.. need to follow by the book. Nevermind.. you take the leave as a good opportunity to rest before your baby pops out.

You are right.. I also hope within these 2 years while I am still staying with her, that our relationship will somewhat improve. I believe it will as my mentality will have changed knowing that we will move out & my mood won't be as bad & I won't take things as hard anymore.

Kenshare - Your angbao is very generous!!

I have 4 jiemeis and 4 xiongdis. We treated all of them to a luncheon 2 weeks ago. I am paying for jiemei's corsages ($3.50 each) and makeup/hairdo ($65 each).

Can I give each jiemei just $10 angbao? Then the xiongdi maybe $24 or $28 each (since they dont get FOC makeup)? Or is it better to standardise?

Hi Kenshare, I checked with my grandma (parents not sure). Hb checked with his parents. Apparently there is no tradition in both families to give APs to younger siblings who give us tea... dun know why that is the case. But I know if it is a tradition to give APs, then both bride and groom must give. I'm not sure if we must give parents AP...

cactus, so we just drink the tea..that's it!
WOW, it would be even better if that's the case!

Kyra, I didnt treat them anything. All I did was give them a dress each which cost 30 bucks. The boys got a bottle of wine and a tie which costs less than 15 bucks. So the AP sort of make up for it, can hor?

Kenshare - I'm also not sure leh. Jin Jia Lat Hor? So many different ways of doing.

Now, last night my mum asked:
Jiemei - bride will give angbao, both mothers will give angbao
Xiongdi - groom will give angbao, both mothers will give angbao
VG/PG/Driver etc - How many to give angbao?? Just from the couple? Do parents need to give?

Where did you get the dress/wine/tie from? Sound very affordable

Hi kenshare, I think it's better if you ask your parents and in-laws... In my case, I'm the only child, and no cousins have gotten married before me.. so my parents blur therefore asked grandma who remembered what happened during my parents' time. For my husband's case, his siblings already got married so he asked his parents what happened during his siblings' time - cos my husband forgot.. hehe. I think just follow what our parents say lah.
that's the best.

For APs, it's the same as kyra... my parents' rationale is that they will give AP if they step into the house. Therefore, jiemei, xiongdi, photogapher will get AP.

1. Open Wedding Car Door - $38
2. Xiong Di and Jie Meis - $28
3. Chauffer of Bridal Car - $8
4. MUA - $18
5. PG- $48
6. VG - $38 each

I know both parents will give helpers AP.
But will not be giving VG, PG, driver, etc.

I worry if I ask my parents, then they add more and more stuff for me. Then i die. haha..

Kyra, I got the dresses from Thailand, ties from China and Wine from CK Tangs. (small bottle ones). Then I personalised the wine label. This was printed in Aussie. Globalisation huh...haha

long time never post le... im getting the wedding inserts printed as well.. but got a prob. Can someone advise? My FH is the only child in the family. How to phrase in mandarin? The printer wrote "Ling Er", but it'll means "your son", so it's incorrect. So what word to use? Any idea? Pls help! Thanks! ^^

Hi aurora,

What about "Du Zi", Im not sure if it sounds ok. Im the only child too, but Im not going to have chinese wordings in my invitation card so no headache.

hmm.. hi aurora..
Not too sure if its applicable.. but for only child, could you use the same as "only son" or "only daughter"? If you could then for only son, you could use "wei nan" (wei as in wei yi (only one) )
for only daughter can use "ai nu"

Hi kenshare,
Ur AP really very generous leh! I was thinking of the following amt

1. Open Wedding Car Door - $50
2. 8 Xiong Di and 8 Jie Meis - $28 each
3. Chauffer of Bridal Car - $12
4. MUA - $12
5. PG- $12
6. VG - $12
7. Emcee - $28
For chauffer, MUA, PG and VG, not sure if $12 is too little or not...

Hi ham ham,
Ur PG and VG AP also quite alot leh....

Hi kyra,
Since u have makeup for jiemeis already, i thnk the AP can be slightly smaller since u have already paid for the makeup le...which is not too cheap wor.

I have asked my mum, she said we will give our siblings AP as a couple during tea ceremony, no need to separate into bride and groom individually. But elders will give us when we serve tea, we dun have to give them..

For VG, PG & driver, we will be paying, wont involve my parents but both parents will need to give AP to helpers...

When we see young children in the house, we will give them APs of $6 each, parents wont have to give....

Oh icic, ur PG so nice ah...got such service! I am engaging a bus as our bridal "car" to fetch all xiong di, jie meis and us...so only 1 chauffer to give. But ur VG also quite alot wor.

Just discussed with hubby after seeing u gals msg, we will give $18 to MUA, PG and VG. Those "new" recepts not helping in the morn session, we will give them AP too...

kaye, u all cant carry forward leave? some co are like that.. and HR just follow the rules.. hee.. me also got 7.5 days of last yr leave to to clear... :P

Mei, i also agree with how u feel... hee... maybe ur relationship with ur mil will improve soon.. hee..

Von, how is ur trip? forget to ask.. hee..

Halo ladies!! Long time no 'chat'. My company had blocked us from gg to this forum

So can't come in during office hrs liao.. sad

Kaye, realli? My hubby's company having 20% off.. so not gg taka mooncake fair liao.
Ya.. now u shd be getting heavier. Taking some leave to rest would be good.

Mei, tats good!!
Understand wat u mean, its different having a place on your own

Piglet, how's ur baking class?

hi siriuspink and lyn,
thanks for the advice!
i'll give ur suggestions to my FH and see what he says. Aiyoh.. so headache. :P

Time flies.. 2 months to nov! And many many things not settled! Stressed liao :P

Siriuspink, your's is 1 week after mine. i also alot of things nt done. just went to buy my besheet, anyhw grabbed liao dun care..no time to choose tis n tat. hee...printing in the process liao, tmr going dwn to bridal shop view pics layout, wed going food tasting..haven do my montage..my angbao box halfway, wah lots more stuffs to be done. jialat =(
btw, anyone have any nice songs for march in / montage to share? if so, can email me at [email protected]? Thks so much!!

hi gals, is the ang baos for jie meis that you all mentioned separate from what they are getting from the gate crashing?

Hi sher, me too........I havent buy anything thats needed for the tea ceremony, "an chuang" & lots more. I went to my studio to see the pics layout last wk, hopefully will be able to see the printout by this wk. And I'm thinking to DIY the angpow box myself or just go buy it. Headache man.........not much time left to nov!

Morning!

We are holding back our decision on booking the apartment and we will continue our house-hunting on sundays & monitor the prices.

Yesterday my hubby spoke to his parents & his father advised him to wait as property prices are still on the high side. I was upset initially but after having a talk with my hubby, I agreed that we shouldn't be hasty when it comes to such a big-ticket purchase, I also did some research, the apartment we are keen on, when it was launched in April, the price was around $680 per sq ft, now it has shot to $820 per sq ft. That amounts to paying more than $100K & my hubby says we need to work our butts off for years to earn that sum of money. I also agreed that I should be more patient & wait & see how the prices are like before committing. Anyway, my hubby assured me that our plans of moving out wouldn't have changed anyway & may even be brought forward because if we booked that apartment, it would also be ready by late 2009/early 2010.

Anyway, when my hubby told his parents about the apartment, Dowagess realised that we were serious about moving out & then as usual, she started complaining & nagging about me again to my hubby... complain that she never see me.. I wonder if she has asked herself why her DIL is avoiding her. Then she told my hubby that she cares for me what, that she bought me so much jewellery. I guess she just don't get it, I am not a money-face like her... I really don't give two hoots about her jewellery or money lor, just be decent & kind to me, I'll be more than satisfied. Then she told my hubby all she wants is to have more interaction with me. To me, my reason of not interacting with her is because her form of interaction is 1) commanding me what to do 2) bragging about herself 3) nagging me to have a baby & commenting we are lousy, don't know how to make one 4) giving me her snobbish face. Ever since we were married, she has never once asked how I am or even how my parents are doing. Even when I am sick & coughing, she also does not ask after me & just commands me to do things, like a maid. I have not seen her for a month now & yet she has not sat down & realised why.

She also nag to my hubby that I am very old, still don't want to have a baby. Another reason why I am holding back baby plans is also because of her. I can't imagine being pregnant & being told what & what not to do & being controlled. Imagine I am not pregnant, she is already unhappy when I go out late, can't imagine if I am pregnant how much of a control freak she'll be. I also can't imagine being stuck in the house with her for the 3-month confinement.. think I'll just suffer from depression.

Oops.. sorry for such a long post in the morning.. just want to rant about Dowagess.

Morning ladies,

smilez, my baking class is still on every wed.. still got 2 more lesson.. will let u know wat i learn this week.. hee..

Mei,i also feel that buying a property now is too ex.. no point buying it at the peak.. shld wait for a while more.. .. Mei, i guess ur MIL doesnt know how to get along with pple.. hmm..

smilez, poor thing.. then you can't come in here & chit chat with us during office hours liao. But please do come in & keep us updated on your pregnancy & your life ok?

piglet, do you get to bring the whole cake back or just a slice? Next time you can bake a cake for your hubby, so nice.

piglet, yeah.. guess I will just wait & monitor the prices.

Hi Mei, your FIL is right. Property price is so high now and not worth getting one at the moment. I can sense that he is alright that both you and your hubby are building up your love nest outside. But your MIL, as usual, same old pattern. As for baby plan, decision should still fall on both you and your hubby. Its a lifetime commitment so whatever she said, you can treat it as blah blah blah blah blah. haha, don't have to digest what she said. Why don't you take this opportunity to improve the relationship now while waiting for the property price to go down? once its is the right time to purchase the house, then just shift out whether your MIL approve or not? Will it be feasible?

jhoo... no time no 'see'!

Actually last time my hubby already told MIL we have the intention to move out.. I guess she thought we were just saying for fun only. Also good in a way that our news to her yesterday made her realise we are serious. Anyway, she accepts it, so moving out is not an issue, it's finding a right place for us at the right price.

hey, mei, yup, no time no 'see'... hehe.. busy settling some issues with HMT.

It is still a good choice not to stay with IL, coz fiction will be there. At least the lesser both parties meet, the lesser the conflict will be.

Which area is your top choice?

We will definitely move out.. can't imagine staying with dowagess all my life.. haha. We are looking around west coast area as my husband works at Tuas.

Actually Dowagess is very shallow & I hate the fact that she thinks money is everything. Can't believe she can actually tell my hubby yesterday that she cares for me, if not she'll give me jewellery. As if I care for that. If I could, I'll throw all the jewellery back at her face. Really angry lor.

Mei, i only get to bring a slice back.. ya next time can bake cake for my hubby.. hee. he say he will buy me a oven.. hee.. for the house just wait a while more for the property price to fall.. in the mean time u can still source around.. maybe u might see other flat u like without the need to wait so long.. hee...

jhoo, long time no see u chatting with us...

Hi aurora (blue_aurora)

as i am the only daugther and my hubby only son...our printer recommend us to put in our invitation indicate:
xiao er & xiao nu
I think it sound appropriate.

hi piglet
wow, ur hubby so fortunate to have you to learn and bake cake for him. the last time i asked HMT which dish is the best i have ever cooked, he couldn't answer at all. Last sun, he finally praise my american breakfast i have prepared.

wah, mei, your MIL sounds like no money, no power, no talk.. its true, if i am u and hear such thing, I also rather dun receive any pc of jewellery from her. to her means alot can ya ya tell others, but to us mean nothing at all. What we want is not that, but living with harmony and respect.

Morn ladies,

Back to work today. Got to clear stuff and prepare stuff to hand over to my new colleague who is coming in tomorrow to cover me till i come back from Maternity leave.

Smilez, long time no see u liao! U also take care! Do let us know how your little prince is doing!
I am now seeing my gynae on a weekly basis... I still have 6 more weeks to go!

Piglet, only one slice to bring back home! Alamak... so little... At least 2 slices mah! Hehe, that's greedy me!

Mei, ur FIL is right about property prices, do more house hunting and research to stretch out your budget. Dun let the housing loan becomes a burden to you.

As for your MIL, just take it that she s ignorant and dun let her words affect you too much. Afterall, i think she equates love = material possessions bah. Btw, dun let her hold you back for having a baby.... I always believe my baby = me & my hubby's biz.

Anyway, dun let your MIL affect your relationship with your husband.

Just came back from lunch with my hubby, he was around my office area, so picked me up to go for a short lunch. Happy!

jhoo, don't be affected by your hubby's 'no comment' on your cooking.. cooking is really practise makes perfect, sometimes hubby is just too used to their mum's cooking so it'll take time for the wife to catch up.. but it's great that he likes the american breakfast you have prepared for him, that is a good start. For me, my hubby likes whatever I cook for him.. I guess it's because his mum doesn't cook for him anyway, so any home-cooked meal tastes great for him. So, I'm lucky in that sense.

jhoo, I fully agree with your sentence that all those material things mean nothing to us but living with harmony & respect.
Actually, I wouldn't want to accept the jewellery from her, but since it's for the wedding, I got to accept it, but I can't stand the fact that she likes to keep using that as a benchmark for her 'concern' for me lor.

kaye, 6 weeks more.. really fast, feeling excited for you.

kaye, I agree baby = me & hubby's biz.. but for my case, very hard. You all know Dowagess' character.. it's also hard lor. Actually, I am planning to start production early next year but I guess I'll discuss with my hubby & mum first. If I can do my confinement at my mum's house, I'll be ok. If not, I don't think I can bear having the confinement at Dowagess's house. So, I need to straighten all these out before I decide to get preggie as I don't want to be a stressed out when I am pregnant.

Yesterday I was upset that my hopes of our home are crashed but after my hubby talked to me.. I realised that I shouldn't let my emotions get the better of me & buy a house hastily... yup.. like kaye mentioned, don't let the housing loan be a burden.

Thanks to all of you for your words of encouragement on my house-hunting!

hi all! my coordinator called yday telling me my photos are ready for viewing! i will be going down to view them on thur evening, hope they turn out nice!!

also going for food tasting on fri...will see sample of wedding invite then.

me haven't booked honeymoon trip, what about you all??