(2007) Brides of year 2007

sher.. my PS next week liaoz.. and haven even thought of anywhere to go... dunno where is good.. hoping to meet the photographer this weekend have a talk and ask him for suggestions.. how about you?

Jeraldin>> Can "see" your excitement hehee.

Initially we also dun wan do a lot of things, end up everything also do like:

1. Hack all the floors in the house (except for BRs, just re-stain the parquet).

2. Change all windows to white powder coated (except for balcony window).

blahblahblah.

Now reno + electrical works alone cost us about $30K+. Last Sat just paid another 40% of downpayment for carpentry. Bank a/c deep hole liao.

Haven't include furniture & fittings cost yet.

hi ladies...

∵‧°。°‧。°。∵。∴。°‧∵。°。
。╭────╮★∴。°∴。‧°☆∵°∴
‧│這個泡泡裡│。°∵╭ ╮。∵°。
★│è£ç€ 許多│∴。°╰~~╯‧°。‧
∵│ç¥ç¦å’Œå¸Œæœ›â”‚。°‧╭快ä¹â•®ã€‚∵‧。
☆│希望你会幸│°☆∵╰~~╯°★∵。
∴│ ç¦ â”‚âˆ´â€§Â°â•­å¸Œæœ›â•®â€§ã€‚Â°âˆµã€‚
。╰╮★☆★╭╯ 。∴°╰~~╯‧∴。°
    │☆╭─╯
  ╭╯╭╯
 ╔â•★╚╗ 列車
 ║★☆★║╔â•â•â•╗ ╔â•â•â•╗ ╔â•â•â•╗ ╔â•â•â•╗ ╔â•â•â•â•—
 ║☆★☆║║ 端 ║ ║ åˆã€€â•‘ ║ 節 ║ ║ 快 ║ ║ 樂 ║
◢◎â•â•◎╚â•â—Žâ•â—Žâ•â•╚◎â•â—Žâ•â•╚◎â•â—Žâ•â•╚◎â•â—Žâ•â•╚◎â•â—Ž

Pei Lin >> oh i see..i personallylike the hotel very much. but find it kinda of ex becoz we expect some losses from the dinner n do not want to stretch ourselves too thin..

Lights>> for us we used halogen lights n warm light flourscent tubes. contray to my hb, i insisted on not having too many lighting points as i want to create a cozy ambience. the flourscent lights only used when i need a brighter environment. so i switch between the 2. however many ppl are skeptical on me having a few lighting points. but we still spend quite a lot on lightings as we installed a few dimmers.

however my risk paid off becoz all my frens commented like they dined in posh restaurance when they came over for dinner due to the cozy ambience n the music.

junie>> yours is a resale right? we regretted not to heck away our tiles becoz those glossy orh lulu black tiles would complement our theme much better.

Jaslyn >> gee thks!

aGNes >> maybe she is busy? maybe u can ask someone to pass your message to her?

tdy is dumpling festival day ah?

diva>> Yup, resale 5rm. Though the unit is only 5-years old and looked fairly new, we thought since we are staying might as well re-do it into our style.

U mean u want to do black floor tiles? I have a friend who had black granite galaxy floor tiles, each tile cost about $45!! siao man.

divasan, i sms-ed her last dun also no reply.. maybe today i try again but i tink she wun agree to return the rejected pics. or maybe she'll said rejected ones are already deleted liao. the BS sales manager asked to call PG myself.

junie>> black floor tiles got many types and many grades etc. think your fren do the ex one? worh...but i like lei..nice nice show room feeling.

yup today dumpling festival. mum made quite a few of her delicious dumpling..nice!

diva>> my friend did the ultimate floor tiles. It's granite. Very ex one.

So we were joking & said when play mahjung at her place, cannot anyhow "wash" tiles cuz wait tiles accidentally "throw" on the floor. hahaa.

aGNes >>dun worry..dun think they will delete them. they will keep n try to sell back 2 u again n again.

our PS way back in Dec 05 but we only bot the rejected ones last mth when i went for the gown fitting. hb insisted on buying them becoz he wanna keep those memories .... humm...seems like he is the only guy who dun mind on spending more on fotos..

hi kyra,

we had parent meeting session during ROM, so they discuss abt GDL item wat we wan lor...
then abt Pin Jin, my hb's aunt (represent his parents) also said they ll give $2000 then we keep only $200 lar then the rest return on the spot de...

like something wat they brg over to our side then we must return some of evrthg they gave to us de..... tat is wat i noe lar

my mum also dunno evrthg abt wedding then i do research from here lor then go back ask my MIL izit needed? if she said ya then i inform my mum again ...

divasan, my fren's hubby is one who also dun mind spending more on fotos. he was the one who wanted to top up on their wedding fotos...

I want to ask another qn ladies, heheee.

For wedding card inserts, issit when we collect the cards from the hotel then we source for printers ah? else how we know what's the dimension, etc rite?

gals, i'm back from my Honeymoon!!!! the trip was great!!! will update my blog and pix later at multiply...

maochong, sea_blue.. its normal to feel that way... up till the AD my guest list was still changing.. its like that, just sms or call to remind them like 3-5 days before the AD... as for the rest of the things, get ur hubby to do some of them, u wont be able to do everything by urself.. i was really glad that my bo-chup hubby helped alot on the 2 weeks before the AD like meeting the VG again, go thru the montage and etc.. get him to do some stuffs, its his wedding too!! dun worry, do up a list and start those that are more urgent... everything will fall into place.. dun worry!!

clueless, welcome back, hee! Where u went? i was just back on sunday nite from our getaway, I wouldnt say mine was a honeymoon cos my hb was working during the trip, he suppose to meet client...

suelynn, we went to the West Coast of USA... went for 2 weeks.. =) its starting of summer there so the weather was great!!!!
now back to reality and have to start working on thursday...

so when are are gg for the real honeymoon?? still catching up on the past few days post.. how was ur weddding??

Hi Carol,
I didn't noe abt the WL products. haha..
They never cross-sell to me.
I only noe from their website, they got those pin li.

Hi Cresecent,
oh i see.. try to still get quote rite?
but i only roughly noe what I want, don't noe technical terms, so how do i ask for quotes..

hi everyone.. me also dec07 bride. i'm here to share wif u a jeweller whom i hv visited 2 weeks ago. she's renna fr felice jewellery. FH & me went thr to c our weddign bands. her colletion of designs is much more than those which we hv seen in the usual shops outside. she's actually a wholesaler. most impt thg is her designs are nice & at low prices. she can also help u to custom make according to the design u desire..

u may wish to visit her to c her jewellery. her number is 9112-4488. addr is blk 15 braddell tech #07-10 toa payoh lor 8.

jess,
ya have to get the quotes, then can work from there...
u can go to an ID and tell them wat u want and let them know that u want a quotation as well, then they will come out with the design & quotation... then u can work from there... let them know if u dun like the design or u have a design in mind.. they will advise accordingly...

can ask you all, if i want to get gold wedding bands..where do i look for? is Poh Heng or Tian Po good places to find? Any other reliable places as well? thanks

Ask you ah all, coz me and my mom are clueless about all these things and bf's parents are meeting my mom this sunday...
for Pin Jin, is it my mom who say how much she wants or IL's fix the price? What if they bring out an amount my mom finds too low or if my mom names a price they find too high? how ah?
HAiyoh, so nervous leh.
Worry if they dun get along (mom and ILs). :S
My mom is not the traditional type and not kan cheong at all, but my ILs are opposite! super kan cheong about the whole wedding. haiz...

think the MUA really know how 2 earn $$....
jaspire: for the tracking of AP for my case is when the guest go up to the recep n see their table number then they will also give AP to the recep then the recep can also help to write the name down...

i am re-doing the whole unit... all the floors tiles hacked including bedrooms and kitchen and both toilets.. basically will reform it into a new apartment... but for our renovation .. we do not have alot of carpentary work.... coz we prefer to buy those ready-made ... can changes easily oso...

for the carpentary... only the kitchen cabinets and the MBR's warerobe.. so i think maybe coz of that my reno cost can still keep within 20k mah...

vanity top oso cannot do.... so tt save up abt 1k leh... plus the L-box that we might give up .. oso save up quite a few k for that leh...
maybe i will just do simple cornie.. with a small box at the corner to put downlight...

My Godmum juz told mi have to prepare 2 'ang bao' 1 for ping jin where ur parents will take a token n return the rest (representing u r not selling ur daughter) n the other is for them to keep (as a token for appreciating the parents for the upbringing of their daughter)

Is it true? Coz I'm keeping everything as simple as possible....we not having much things so she told me juz get my husband to prepare 2 'ang bao' will do

Jane: Really open on the spot ah? =X Our ROM was 2 years ago...they didnt discuss anything yet. Housewarming (but we havent shift into new place yet) was last month, they all MJ whole day also never discussed anything.

Mum was asking if we really need such a "formal" type of meet-up, I guess all would look quite awkward. And MIL mentioned something about hb's aunt being the "mei-po" OH NO!!!!!

Shugar: Hi Five! My parents very relaxed but my in laws very gan cheong (and abit kiasu, stingy and calculative..oopps..haha!)

Maybe you guys should try to find out the range which both sides parents are looking at? I think traditionally, the bride's parents can request for a certain Pin Jin but nowadays, adding on banquet tables, GDL items etc etc, most parents will request for token amounts. Perhaps you can ask your mum roughly how much she expecting? Then ask your hb if he has heard from his parents? I certainly do not wish for any rude shock or for anyone to appear awkward. Really if worse come to worst, their expectations too far apart, you both can try negotiating/hinting each's parents first to get common understanding or to actually top up the difference by yourselves?

I "almost" had a conflict with in-laws last year due to mismatch of expectations. Since ROM (late 2005) till now, we have casually talked to both sides parents to get a feel of what they want or offer. So all along, my mum keeps saying no need much bethoral gifts, no need huge amt of Pin Jin, they only want tables at the banquet to invite relatives and friends given that I am the eldest daughter at home. When in laws asked us to confirm last year, my parents at first said 15 tables. I personally thought it's too many and thus requested that they trim down, despite the true fact that I do have very large extended families. Dad has total 10 other siblings and Mum has 9 siblings. Mum in the end told hb she is looking at 12 tables (inclusive the VIP table).

All along when we talked about 15 or 12, I would have expected hb to drop hints to his parents. BUT HE DIDNT. And I made the mistake of not checking on their intended offer right from beginning. At one dinner, his parents asked me. So I said 12. I could feel his parents were abit taken aback but they didnt voice out. So I quickly added that my parents are not expecting anything else. Can go easy on other stuff like angbao or gifts.

One week later.....his mum told me that she heard from her relatives that "by law", groom only has to give brides 8 tables. What law is that??? She said what FA FA FA, good auspicious number etc etc. I knew my face dropped. I acted bimbo and said, "Oh Is It? Sorry, we really dont know your "law", next time you must tell us earlier. Because all my gfs got 10, 12, 15 and even up to 20 tables at their weddings." She then quickly added that she still planning to order alot of bethoral gifts like roasted suckling pig, liquor, cakes whatever. I reminded her my parents already conveyed they dont need any of such things.....(so you can see? some old folks will never hear what you have said)

It was very unpleasant. The fact is my parents are those non-traditional types, they enjoy parties and entertaining but would have no use for those gifts. My parents have even initially suggested that we should just go honeymoon wedding (now i really wish i have opted for that) and save the hassle/money of preparing a customary wedding. It was the in laws who insisted on one. Anyway, hb knew I was clearly very upset by his mum's words. And I also angrily told him that I would pay for the 4 extra tables by myself. In the end, he went back to talk to his parents and they relented. They themselves also last min told us they need 15 tables lor when FIL only has 2 siblings and MIL has 8 and definitely lesser family friends compared to my side.

No more mention of no. of tables but they are now gan cheong about collection of angbaos *FAINT* I think they very scared their guests would pass angbaos to my side instead.

I felt embarrassed by this incident but was glad that MIL told me in my face, rather than to embarrass my parents in their faces. Who wants to be seen like a "lion opening big mouth" right? And esp when they are asking for pretty standard things.

That's why I feel you better get a feel of their expectations prior to Sunday.

I am also extremely worried about the meet-up, I wonder what other bombs would be dropped. I didnt tell my parents what MIL did and their now gan-cheong attitude, so as not to affect her impression of them or hb. Hopefully the in laws will AUTO abit and be more DA FANG.

Crazy hor? One min we are happily discussing the preps, one min we would be sprouting all our grievances =P

kyra,

i mean maybe ur mum can take the angpao to the room & take out how much she wan then directly let ur hubby or meipo bring back lar...

maybe can arrag meet up during food tasting then wont b so formal lor

tks macjoe... i was thinking wat is the most systematic way of capturing the names of who gave which ang pow... heehee.

Clueless... so nice to have gone for honeymoon and come back liao... think if i were u, I wish i am still at honeymoon... kekeke. So hard to be back to reality lidat... ooh, waiting for your pixs liao.

BTW, can you help me to consolidate the dates of when we can have a June Brides meetup?

Ya, i also agree with Jane. Maybe arrange for food tasting then got topic to talk about.

My PIL and parents have met before my ROM le so still OK. I think for Ping Jin, my PIL will come over to my place. My mum has already told my hubby to convert all the stuffs to $$$ and she will return some back in return coz she dun want to have those cans of pig trotters or liquor whatever for ping jin since she will have no use to it.

Hello there! Nice meeting you all! Hope that I will make some new friends here. J I finished choosing my wedding gown and shoes. As for my jewelry, I got a nice piece from my mom already. So, now I am looking for wedding invitation cards, some accessories, BM’s gifts and dress, wedding cake, etc.

oh yah babes... me and Jas will be visiting Belinda on the 7/7/07 (sat) ... any other gals keen on that???

but me haven't make any appointment yet though... =)

welcome clarissa!!

hello gals!

i am feeling better today...thanks for all the concern...

i guess I did lost abit of weight cos of all the foods I'm not supposed to eat...hee... ^_^

anise:maybe you can try to slim down by taking porridge at night? much easier to digest than rice and less carbo too..

anise,
hilo's work is indeed quite ok for the price they are charging... quite up to standard... not very cheap bt can say they are reasonably priced...

our parents meet up during the food tasting session. From dish 1 to dish 9, they are eating and commenting on food. No one bring up the topics. Until dessert finish already, my bf say " so wat abt the tradition and wat we need to do?" then it get the folks talking. Hahaha.... Different families react differently.

clueless, usa is one of the places I wanna go, antoher is europe, seems like its gd to go USA now cos the US$ is weak now. I started work tdy le, sob sob!

My wedding was great, seems like alot of ppl enjoyed the montage and express. Alot of ppl were touched by my hb cos he teared when thankin his mum........(crybaby) hahaha! Alot were shocked cos I din cry and instead he did, he gave ppl the impression that he is a strong person ahahah!There were lots of hiccups b4 the dinner but luckily I wasnt allowed to be worried......ahhahah I din noe till its over

Jeraldin >> belinda is the gal who sells shoes is it? i got my shoes liao..its 75 bucks i think. so i stopped my shoe searching liao..