(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi girls, sorry the table came so late!! I am completely overwhelmed!! :P June is also a busy month at work for me, so am really busy.
Can't wait for our ADs to come quickly!! Hehehe.

Lys: You are not big size lah!! Oh dear. Hehehe. You are so pretty! ;)

How is everyone holding up? its about 38 days to July!
I've just printed my cards at T-Dragon. Very reasonably priced.
Quite happy with their service too.

Janice, I deleted off my multiply account.. lol.. too messy.. think I'll load my photos later when I learnt how to use it.. lol.. so far has viewed Sylvia's and your photos. Both of you looked lovely. No wonder they say brides are the most beautiful when they are wearing their WG ..Its a typo error for WD.. supposed to be WG.. hehehe..

Bride-to-be2008, good one.. WD aka wedding dress !!

strawberries: i think is the same as guys family giving sdj to the ladies... my mum say she will be buying a ring, pant n wallet for hubby...

Hey all, are we still going to take photos together with our wedding gown?

Hey Janice, I thgt 21st is the last day of taurus. Haha.. I'm wrong. hehe..

piglet.. actually I'm ok one.. not sad.. coz I learn to bo chup.. just feel angry how come she likes to create problems out of nothing. So, just fed up come in here to complain, that's all.

Yah Barney, I think Finance sectors are generally more generous with their marriage leave. My sister who works in the bank also told me she has 14 days..so envious!

I only have 3 days and since I just changed job, its a good thing that the leave will come in handy right after the probabtion period.

Lovely_samsoon, I am going to NZ for my honeymoon. I have already booked my tickets and car and train tickets. Now just planning the itineary. But I guess have to wait awhile until I settle my house reno.

I think for us September brides, there is nothing much left right..just wait for invites, food tasting which should come next month or so.

I have taken my PS and should be viewing my pictures soon...

Mei, yup... I understand how u feel.... Create problem out of nothing!

Nevermind, this is the complain grounds for all of us!

U will feel better after lashing it out... Like me hor, i also learn to bo chap the funny ways of my in laws....

That day, my MIL emphasized again to me that the gender of my piglet dun matter. I was like Bullshit lor.... The fave DIL got all the tonics, for me, just buy me a bit of those å†¬è™«è‰ and then told my hubby that got at least 1 liang.. When i got it then, its not even 1 liang lor....

Its not as if i cant afford to buy it.. Just buey song that got the cheek to say, gave me 1 liang when in fact dun want.

Btw, do u ladies know where can get good quality birdnest? I wanna brew some for myself and piglet!

mei, we can understand how you feel cos all of us are DILs here. jus ignore her and be happy!

i got complains too. last sun, we had painters at our place to paint the house then we were late for my hubby's nephew bdae party, told them to cut the cake without us cos we cnt jus leave the plc and go off right. whn we reach there, my hubby's SIL din even entertain us esp my mum was there too she jus kept chatting away wif her frens, worst is nt even a Hi. to us is fine but no matter wat my mum is still a guest wat. so told my hubby and glad that he sense it if not its like I m so petty....

kaye, you can try to get the bird nest frm Fu Hua (modern medical hall)

hi kenshare,

i still haven booked my honeymoon package ler. ll goin to Taiwan for HM.
i m also done my PS & wait for viewing too.
left of invites, food tasting, shop for GDL items & mum's dress, room furniture cum in, and sould b no more bah...

Hi Jane
Think you should start scouting for best packages.

Any idea where to buy GDL items? And when to buy?
I got my GDL date liao...

kaye.. yalor.. I know what you mean.. it's not like we can afford the things or we need them to give us those tonics or whatever.. our main concern is their INTENTION lor... even if they give us cheapo stuff.. but intention is good.. we also feel good & appreciated right?

Bird's nest I don't know leh.. normally my mum buys from Hock Hua Ginseng, buy the better quality one that is already cleaned.

kaye, you don't want to come for our gathering?

Jazol.. your SIL terrible.. can bo chup her.. only feel bad for your mum only.. maybe next time got such events.. you arrange to go together with your mum then you won't have such problems.

Morning all...

Have read thru all the well wishes...thanks alot gals...doc says it's 2-3 days for grandma-in-law...there's nothing to be done but jus be prepared n hope her sufferings r minimised n she can leave in peace...

hi kenshare,
thanks for ur advice. i ll go do searching for.

i also got GDL date liao but thk wanna buy b4 Aug'07 so start to do searching too.
i also have no idea to buy GDL items ler, most ppl said at chinatown but which part/ address nobd can tell me

do we need to buy some new dress/panty/pyjama/bed sheets for GDL or wedding ?
thk next month ll got mid-year sale so ll go shop for these items 1st.

i happen to chance on a shop in chinatown named 'Amanda Dreamweaver'... they have like full package on GDL items. the shop is on the 3rd level of the market opposite OG and it is facing the people's park complex (near the mcdonald's side)...

Elch, sad to hear such news but hope it will not affect the mood in wedding preparation. As you said, at least hope she can leave in peace, that's the best we can hope for now.

anyway dunno if this is appropriate to ask now... Will your grandma-in-law's death affect your wedding date? Cos late time my hubby's bro need to change their date becos of the girl's grandma passing as well.

oh mei, my mum went wif us so bth of us jus sat a corner quietly to eat lor... thn i was helping to wash the plates thn my mum even took over whn I got a call.... felt so bad for my mum... thn hor, my MIL stayed at their place helped them to do hsework thn our messy plc was packed by ourself wif my mother's help... sigh our own mothers are still the best....

jazol, i really feel bad for ur mum too.. so poor thing.. she still help around...

kaye, ya lor.. u dun wan to join us? it is at my place (bt batok) near u.. u dun hv to travel too far...

barney - my friend working in a local bank also enjoys 14 days marriage leave. she is single and was joking that she die-die must get attached and married while she is still in this org =P

lovely samsoon - 2 to 3 weeks HM sounds heavenly! Yeah, we did think of NZ too. HM should indeed be a slower-pace, relaxed holiday between the newly-weds. My gf went NZ for her HM, scenery is great! From the pics, the grass looked so green and the sky was a lovely blue =)

Wow...you ladies all quite fast..
- I havent done my PS, not even the fittings yet
- Havent buy shoes as well
- Havent decide or research on HM
- Invites, food tasting all not done too

Only consolation is reno is over, housewarming will be this coming Sunday =)

Jane - I have already prepared a RED RED set of bedsheet for the new bed. Didnt prepare other things yet though.

In case any of you interested, I just received a mailer on Friven & Co warehouse sale: 25-27 May, 10am to 7pm, up to 80% off. Venue: 7 Tuas Ave 1, Free shuttle bus service available from boon lay mrt station at regular intervals (only on weekends). Bus svc to Tuas Ave 1: 192

Hi kyra,

Same here...seems like i have been slacking alot. My PS is in June, quite nervous on whether will have sufficient time or not. Coz i want to avoid 7th lunar mth to prepare any wedding stuffs. Am afraid the photo selection and photo album will take some time...Worried now.

Thks alot gals...

wp...it's ok to ask...I've spoken to my mum n she says it wun affect our AD cos it's my hb's maternal grandma...she oso says tat I dun have to 'dai xiao' cos we haven't gone thru customary...

I get really nervous each time my hp rings...i dread the feeling of receiving bad news....urgh...

Jus got a call fr a relative n was told tat grandma-in-law's condition's slightly better than yesterday...phew...so relieved...health condition of an elderly really fluctuates!

Hi All...

I've only finished my PS last month....the rest not even think abt it yet

Thank god that my Home is done up long b4 this

Any1 know what special things to do (for those who've been living in new hse)...I've heard that must buy new bed (get date for 'an chuan') but my bed frame is custom made I...change mattress will do too right?

Am I able to married off from my own home instead of parents side? Any1 having same issues with me?

Kind of need some special advice/guide on these area.

Law & Len

Me worse leh. PS initially in June, I postponed it to early July due to a project at work =(
I was initially thinking - good also lah, more time to jian fei...hahahah

But now realising how slacked I am, will prob be quite a rush. If bobian my photos will only be ready by 7th month, also got to choose liao =( =(

Have you bought your shoes yet? Anyone going Leaping Lizards or loeandbehold?

suika - Same same! We bought the divan set/headboard separately from the mattress. According to the fortune teller, AN CHUANG is based on the mattress. Our divan + headboard have already been delivered. Mattress coming in June. BUT date given for AN CHUANG is in Sept! MIL said nevermind, just dont touch the bed will do.

Most of my friends who have their own flat by AD will still be fetched from brides' parents' place.
- Then go PIL's place...
- Then back to brides' parents' place
- Then to new place (turn on the lamps or something)
- Then to banquet venue

Good to hear that everything will be as planned, elch
and of cos glad that your grandma-in-law is feeling better now. At least this is a phonecall that brings good news rather than bad.

ya, I think wat kyra say is correct.. no matter wat, the bride have to leave from the bride's parents place as that is considered ur maiden place.

furthermore, if u get married from ur own place, den what abt ur hubby? he will come from ur in laws place to fetch u? or oso from ur new house? if u realli wan it this way den maybe ask him go drive around the neighbourhood for awhile den come back fetch u from ur new place.. haha

Wah Kyra..u even have Friven sale...goody ..cos I have been eyeing the bedsheets..but always so ex..I went the their boutique at Jln Kilang, so ex...
I am going to F&P sale tmr to buy the new fridge for my hse..any one interested to go too?

Agnes: Thanks for invite! You r a fast worker, man !

Drea: Usually a person will only "dai xiao" if the deceased is from the paternal side i.e. granddad or granny. If from maternal side, it's not really considered as grieving as the daughter is married and is so-called "adopting" the husband's surname.

thanks shirley, but does it mean tt there's a ritual/formality tt needs to be done or anything?
Or is tt must follow tt thing where must get married within 100 days if not after 3 yrs kinda thing (is it?) sorry...i super kantang, dunno all these traditions one =P