(2007) Brides of year 2007

oh yes, whn i attended my fren's wedding at the 2nd dish all the red wine were gone and my table all drink red wine.. in the end we gotta drink other beverage available.

Jas, you were saying you could not get the perks on beer becos you booked the package this year May.

Does it mean that if it's nearer to the AD.. more perks will be given?

Hey Secrets,
Hmm... basically things you need to prepare depends on how big you want ur wedding to be lor. If you gonna have a very traditional customary, then alot of things to buy lor. As fr general things, maybe you can find your photographer, videographer etc.

So when will ur AD be? Your venue and BS you chose which ones? I will help to update the chart the next time round. Heh... so exciting. Got new brides join our thread everytime.

Janice.. I think so.. cos she say I book so early.. if I dun want have other couple want.. they still have time to look for another couple.. who wont ask for more perks..
so they wont give us alot of perks..

muffin, wow... u in taipei for holiday??? so good heehee
enjoy urself.

frostyfiona, ur PS soon rite... orchard road is a good idea with e lights all up

Talking about buying clothes for HM, I'm also looking for clothes.. but mine is the opposite of smilez's & yuki's.. I'm buying those light, resortwear.. hehe.
Want to wear nice, breezy outfits to Maldives, instead of just normal tees & shorts. I went to Islandshop, gots lots of nice resort wear but very ex.. I don't find it worth it.

gelaine: can u add me in the list as well?

btw, for those who are still looking for venue, may want to check out yr credit card's promo, like DBS woman's card. Quite a good deal if you sign up with the selected hotels.

Jas.. Actully I still don't feel easy with 30th Dec 2007.

Just so funny when I check with all hotels, no body books with 30th Dec. They have 30th Dec all available.

Actually, What i'm afraid is that it just passed christmas and maybe the returns in Ang Pao would be lesser since everyone will be spending on Christmas presents..

Any one would like to share your thoughts?

Mei, i prefer to wear light n resortwear too but i cant
keke :P i oso wish to go Maldives ...hw much u spend on the package? i feel tat 7 days HM seem very fast ....feel like goin longer ....

jazol, u mean all the red wines are finished? wow tat is fast ...my hubby say he scare if ppl wan to drink red wines then no more ..not too nice ...so dunno wan to cater more in case or not but mine weekday shld not be too much drinking izzit?

kaye, so u paying corkage charge for the red wines?

Can share share what brand of red wines good and where to order? i havent source for red wine supplier yet ...is it very late?

my hubby thinking if we shld order frm the hotel else the corkage charges come to a lot ...but not sure yet

she say in a very polite manner
that she has to follow instructions..
so its ok..
my coordinator is Sen.. she left liao..
now is Fiona..

ya man! super hot date..

actually i did enquire abt that date too, but it seems unsuitable for me and mt FH so we decided to take it on a weekday instead.

xiaopei,
u been there for wedding dinner? aiya so far none of the ppl i know is holding their dinner there so i also not sure if the services are good. but i trust u.. hopefully in 9 more months to go, they will still maintain their services..

my coordinator is Angie

Anyone got any ideas on which venue still got dates available in Nov 07 especially on weekends? Looking for 25-30 tables and budget around 800-900/ table. thanks

Anyone has any idea on which hotel still got dates available for Dec 07? looking for those with capacity for 25-30 tables and budget around 800-900/ table.

janice>> actually it depends. Pple will hv their bonus in Dec so they may be more willing to spend.

and i think some brides are having their AD after Xmas, so don't think Christmas is a reason.

30 Dec 07 is a Sunday rite?

Yuki, u can order red wines on consignment, e.g. 3 crates confirm, 3 crates on consignment. I do not know about the brand that I have ordered, its thru my FSIL. I shall check it out.

Does your hotel provide free corkage? If yes, there won't be any charges should u order from outside vendor or from the hotel.

Yuki, yup... I m paying corkage charges for my wine.

$5++ per bottle and the corkage charges is waived during the cocktail reception.

Okie, my husband's fren who is in the F&B business. He told my hubby that the wine usually provided by the hotels & restuarants is like $10 extra on the normal price we buy from the supermkt or wine store.

So in essence, a $20 bottle of wine from the hotel/restuarant is actually $10 per bottle. For my case, plus the corkage charges, its abt the same as what the restuarant is charging. Thus, its a fixed cost liao!

Jazol, i m getting Yellowtail for my red wine. Think bottles & bottles still hv the promotion of 6 bottles for $100.

yuki, we paid $7828 for our Maldives HM. I feel that it's very very ex for a 5D4N vacation but my hubby wants to go there.

I never checked on the alcoholic beverages for my banquet.. I did not bother to do so, I believe MIL will do that. I am such a bo chup bride huh? Hehehe.

hi eemoo, no i wun a member in tht thread yet... mind giving me the link? :P

no.. i chose the old block 77A
dun quite fancy the strange cornered design of block 75C hehe

Yeah, 30 Dec is Sun. Hmm...Janice, you have to take note that for year ends, it is the period where most people are likely to plan for short trips.

Like what Junie say, perhaps the good news is that people have their bonus on Dec so your ang pow probably should be more

Psy, for Dec 07, most weekends are taken up for hotels. My hotel suits your budget and capacity but I think Dec weekends all taken le. That's y I had to settle for Oct as my alternative date.

Hi Little Ant,
I got my ring less than $1500 from Larry. The diamond size are also bigger than Fairys. You may want to check it out.

Janice.. I dun think so leh..
even spend more also cant say give so little for ppl wedding..

huh.. left 30th Dec??
my date leh??
cos I m the only BTB AD on the 1st.. no others liao..
30th think corene is having her wedding on that day..

Have no other choice.. Went to master and for Jan 2008 I don't have a single date that is good for us.

Also becos I have to limit my dates to Sundays and Mondays Only. Becose, my parents are running a business. So.. Have to adjust to the day that is best for them..So that they don't have to close for too many days.

X-cross my fingers lor...

Now I'm worried...cuz though my wedding banquet with M Hotel is NETT, some ladies in the M Hotel thread said the hotel may consider to include the 2% GST increase.

aiyo.

junie.. I heard amara also leh..
but sign liao mah.. can like that one meh??
mine also nett leh..

Janice.. oic.. I think should be ok bah..
got a wedding invitation on the 2nd Jan next yr..
also after christmas..
even if u choose Jan.. u will also consider that b4 CNY.. ppl all buy new clothes new furniture.. ang pows will be less..
so go ahead with a day that is given by the master.. best for both u and ur FH..

<font color="119911">hi psyduckie, oh dear.... I think very few hotels still have dates for weekends in oct 07... I booked my hotel 2 months ago and I didn't even have much choices! Guess you can either call up hotels like carlton, orchard, hilton etc to see if they still have slots and you can put yourself on the waiting list of some other hotels.

I know conrad, marina mandarin, some ballrooms in raffles the plaza, raffles hotel are taken...</font>

Junie, But you signed the contract already Right?
They should not adjust if the contract is already signed. Plus the govt has not confirm whether is Staggered increase or one time increase.

So far I check with most hotel with nett package. They will absord the GST increase. Don't think you have to worry too much.

Hi Janice

I'm looking for weekends. guess it's a bit late looking for it now. I am sourcing for dates betw Oct-Dec. Got some dates available from some hotels but they seems to be those same dates.. haha.. must b not too good dates for marriage.

hi quek and gelaine,

My wedding is only going to be a small close affair kekek
only about 160 people max

We have booked at my humble house by tung lok at the durian and the date is 24th.

As for bs, we have taken GHA tampines every since the bad experience with another bs. now have to redo everything.

what other things i need to know???
hmm wedding favours what are nice?

anyone has msn here, can add me at [email protected] or multiply account?

contract signed liao...but then there may be some fine Terms &amp; Conditions which may put the hotel in a favourable position.

but hopefully, they'll absorb lor else not fair.

BTW, those that hv already ROMed, can I check if next time I fill in any application that require salution, I put myself as Mrs Long xxx xxx (my name) issit ah?

ehehe...or I still put as Ms xxxx (my own surname)?

paisay, very suaku on this.

Thanks bride..
Me currently sourcing a few hotels for the last quarter of 2007. seems like not many dates left except for those not so good weekends. guess may have to settle for weekdays.

Psy..
did u get someone to calculated the dates for u?
like for mine.. its on the 1st.. but I was told not gd that day.. but then the ladies here an wei me saying its the master who give me the dates so must be gd for me and my hubby.. make me feel better..
so if the dates are not gd does not mean that its not gd for u and ur FH..

you're right Jaslyn!

different "shen cheng ba zi" mah...

anyway, my AD on 20 Oct 07 also we anyhow choose one cuz it's the next best Sat we can get.

Mdm sounds old hor but bo bian.

So if pple ask me how they shld address me, is it I shld be addressed as Junie Long?? No rite...still Junie Heng (my surname)?

whahaha...very blur.

haha.. junie..
I always use my surname leh..
unless must write... haha
and when making reservations for dinner hor.. I always have to use Mrs Seet(my hubby's surname)..
cos he will be not happy and say u not married huh??

PSY.. Merchant Court still have 30th Dec Available.
I just checked with them.

Their offer is within your budget. You may want to check with them.. I can give you the co-ordinator's contact if you need.

I'm so excited.. my PG just called me to tell me my album will be ready for collection tomorrow! So excited!!! It was only supposed to be ready on the 20th.

Haha.. I ROM for 5 yrs liao.. But I still use my own surname.

And I always tell my friends. In the eye of law.. I'm married. In the eye of my parents.. I'm not.

Haha.. Good excuse bo?