(2007) Brides of year 2007

I feel he is not concerned about me. This morning he never even call me, knowing I'm mad at him, he should have called me. In the end I called him & he can even ask me how was my checkup yesterday. A bit too late to ask me right.. if he was really concerned, he would have asked me yesterday already. When I say him for not bothering to call me, he said he doesn't want to get scolded early in the morning.. I can't stand it.. he just likes to avoid when I am mad at him.

wow... Jenny, you already booked an apartment? So fast!

I'm thinking and planning to go Japan F&E, visiting osaka, kyoto, nara, mie, kobe, my Japanese friend says that I will not have enough time to visit all these places and also recently HB and I have been counting our $$$.. hai... too tight to fulfil my dream honeymoon...
I think in the end we have to go Thailand if we really can't come out with the money. hahaha... But also good for my house shopping!

jhoo & smilez.. it's damn irritating, the stupid games! I realise we always quarrel over the stupid games. I told him, he is getting married, please grow up & be more responsible.. if he wants to continue being like this, don't get married & have a family. It is really scary ok.

my hubby always say that's because they do not want to worsen the quarrel and want me to cool down. Maybe that's the same reason for ur hubby?

Mei, could this be 'pre wedding stress'? Many women tends to ask themselves if they are marrying the right guy; if this is the future that they are moving towards to.

Lots of thoughts will be popping up in the woman's little brain as the day is drawing near. Man and woman will never be the same, just like a magnet of north and south poles. Unless u are looking for a gay partner.... :p

What u can do now is to lessen your stress. You are burdering yourself up with his priorities and remembering all his laid back attitudes rather than how much he had fought for both of you to be together. There will always be new problems coming up as you move along as a married couple but most important is to stay as one heart and be harmony.

My friends told me, if u cant change the fact, accept the fact. No point to worry over it. Life will never be happy when you are stressed out.

Mei, sometimes when dealing with a guy we gotta give n take.
Sometimes doing the opposite of wat he expect us to do will gain us more attention.
E.g. If we expect some sms or concerns from him, I will usually sms him after i cool down n ask 'how come havent hear u say kiss & make-up yet?'
Cos when I m angry, I can be real demanding. No matter wat he do, I will ignore mode or just plainly find fault.

Those words tat ur hubby says sounds realli familiar

2 weeks ago, we brought our little prince for a swimming session...then my BIL asked my hubby did he played x-box. My BIL is 32years old and recently he bot the x-box and just the night before, my BIL played till 5am....

jhoo.. I think that's what my husband thinks.. what for call me & get scolded.. but for me.. I would really like him to call me, to show me he still cares for me.

iViED.. I think I am more stressed over how I am going to survive after marriage. Now that MIL is taking over everything.. I am not doing a single thing for the wedding preps except for my own guest list, AD program & our video montage. Sometimes when I think back, I feel so hurt over the things that had happened, about her saying I do not need to have a say in the decor, how I must prepare a high-standard speech, stuff like that. I feel like an actress in her production only & that makes me feel so lousy. I am supposed to be a happy bride to be, but I feel so sad all the time, just thinking of my wedding day.

Hi all, I have got myself a EC, La Casa at Woodlands. It's 30k grant for 1st time buyer regardless near parents or not.

For new HDB, there will be no grant given because it's already cheaper than market rate. Only 2nd hand HDB got grant 30k, 40k if near parents. Only applicable to Singaporean not PR.

oh ya, me too...he thinks that way, but i hate it.. when quarrel, i will still want him to look for me to clear up everything. Just duno why, whenever we quarrel and he appear, problem will solve very fast. Fan er, sms will worsen the situation....

Mei, its understandable that u feel so sad over the ur wedding and over that MIL... dont feel lousy..yes, go ahead with the high-standard speech, but no need to include her into the content..thanks ur parents, ur friends and is enough.. if ur MIL wants her name to be mention, then get ur hubby to mention her. Continue to look forward to ur HM. Me too!

Hi Suelynn, thanks for your advice! May I know who is your coordinator? dont mind I ask how much did you pay for your BS package?

Hi Strawberries!
Great to see you guys here in the thread too!

hi ladies!

been a crazy morning & trying to clear my work cuz yest. not in office.

drea>> me looking @ 5 rooms flat and not interested in BTO leh...long wait & we're not eligible

Mei, marriage is a start of many many more obstacles which we will need to expect.
No matter how tough it is, can try communicating with your hubby. Compromise and stick to it. Tell him how u feel & thrash things out. I m sure he wouldn't want his beloved wife to feel sad.
These AD procedures in very simplified form is to share your joy of being together legally with all your close fren n relative. Dun let those
'people' to spoilt this special day.
AD is just 1 day but marriage is a whole lifetime.
Think abt why u r attract to ur hubby might help to solve ur problems

jhoo, i m the direct opposite. Talking over the phone will get more mis-comm. so sms works better for us :P

jhoo, I agree.. sms & quarrelling over the phone doesn't yield any result.. but for me.. I guess I am impatient, I want to talk it out with him, I can't wait for few days later then meet him & talk.

I am thinking of not saying a speech.. the thought of her scrutinising my speech & then saying me when it's not up to her standard sickens me.

Anyway, I would like to thank all of you for your words of wisdom & comfort.

Hi Karen & Jenny,

We are planning our honeymoon to France on free and easy... but yet start plan our itinerary. we will be there for abt 2 weeks which right after a week wedding ceremony... hopefully everything can settle soon...

After all these... hubby will be posting to US for 2.5 yrs attachement... so i have no choice to follow him and need to give up my job. We will be leaving by June next year...don't know how life will be at there.. alot ??? in my mind...

Karen, I'm also considering Thailand! haha.. I want to go to a beach resort and at first we settled on Seychelles coz his parents can help us get accommodation at cheaper rates. But I looked at the world map and saw how far it was! Haha.. Flying halfway around the world to stay at a beach! Anyway, haven't decided, but a friend told me that in Thailand I'd be able to stretch my dollar a lot more - and get pampered with good food and massages - which I thought made sense! heh And you just gave me another good reason: House shopping!

Hey gals....

Thanks for the welcoming back!
Heh...

mOmO... i also dun have VG. Planning to have it initally but thought tea ceremony and dinner can be captured by photographer alone.
So decided to save the money. My friend used Wedding Paparazzi and is good. Maybe you can check it out? Jon keng has a video team too and he is very confident it will be a different style. So do check him out too.

Jo23, Orchard hotel's food is not bad. I attended a wedding just 2 months ago. I find it quite nice leh. Heh.. my relatives commented not bad too. Heh...

Shirlynn, will update for you when i do the next round when the thread moves along yeah? so it wun be congested with tables!
Anyway i chose Bridal Veil. Havent went to sign the package though but our minds are set. We're signing it this weekend. So it's confirmed!

corsage, wow... Seychelles?! Where is it? Must be a far away place from your description. have to think of his pocket cos this wedding he spend a lot! I think if we stop at Thailand is a good reason for me to shop till drop! hahaha...

Seafaith, not to worry, i think you will adapt well in US, life there is more relax, you can pick up some skills there and do your favourite stuffs as life there is slow but weekend can be quite boring. When i am in Swiss for a month, life is boring during the weekend as there is no where we can go unless we drive to far away places. But i'm sure your HB will not let you get bored. Look forward for your new life!

morning gals.

Mei, dun be angry.. it is like that de.. I also got to pick up after my hubby... guys are generally like wat u discribe.. heck care, do things slowly.. i face it b4.. and to avoid quarrels, sometime they tell lies..

it happens to my hubby and i tell frm my experience.. now staying with him during weekend make me understand wat u are trying to say..

Mei, we got to learn.. like wat smilez and jhoo say, we got to learn to adapt staying with someone of different brought up, culture and thinking.. so got to learn..

Mei CHEER UP!!!

maybe she busy.. these few days also never see her...
yesterday post one post ask when next yr march sch holiday then never return liao..

piglet, thanks for your thoughts... I feel better knowing that most of you here face the same frustrations as me.

I think deep down, the main source of the problem is MIL. I feel so frustrated & hubby is the only one I can vent it out to. I feel that I already got to go through so much nonsense & I really need his full support.

dear all BTBs,

can add me to the list? my church wedding is on 29 Sept 06 and banquet on 1 Oct 06 at Regent.

though i'm half half ;) have decided to join the sept 07 brides coz this thread is more active

i'm looking for suitable BS. gonna start my 'shopping' with my gfs in Dec. have decided to narrow down to abt 8 to go down n view.

i like simple downs (something like bridal veil) any idea whether got mid range studios doing that? my all-in budget is abt $5K (max)

any idea whether the Tg Pagar BS can allow walk ins for trying of gowns? thinking to take a walk down one weekend.

karen, you are a very sweet and understanding wife
Your hb is very lucky! Seychelles is located in the western part of Indian Ocean and consist of 100+ islands

Actually another nearby place you could consider is Halong Bay in Vietnam. It is beautiful. It is a couple of hours drive from Hanoi (which also is a wonderful place to shop for house stuff!) I went there only for a day trip, but there are packages for overnight boat stays or stays on the islands. Lemme post some pics:

430941.jpg
430942.jpg
430943.jpg
430944.jpg

mei,

Totally understand your situation.. I have the same feeling to call off the wedding for the past weeks.. cos i realise that it become to "my" wedding and not "our" wedding. I guess it a kinda stress that we bride are facing.. to have the best of everything on the wedding... after a long talk+cry+screaming+scolding at him.. when i totally break down..now he still dont understand why i want to make myself for ke lian just for the wedding but he finally took a bit of initiative like accompany me to buy things for the wedding with complainting.

i guess u need to talk to ur hubby and let him know what u are facing... for example his mother, his family, what u are looking forward to, etc... let him know your concern and let him understand that u cant take anymore stress from him...

i think ur hubby treated you very very good.. (so much better then mine).. u just need a cooling period and everything will be fine.

Hi all, thx for all the info! Really appreciate it!
First, Lyons, thanks! I would love to… mind 2 send it to my email?

Tinker star, Lyons, viv, conxie,
How if the 8k is 4 the huby income only (coz im not sinagporean-I can stated tat I jobless rite?), is it the 8k is gross or net?
Sorry If my quet is stupid ya, coz I just dunow. In my mind if less then 8k,means tat 8k gross is less then 8k rite? So, want 2 know entitle or not.
And wat its tat means "given 10K on top of the 30K?"

Conxie, CN,
Wat is Exc Condo means? Wat the dif?
Where is Woodlands? Is it far away?
I know my fh is singaporean, but I would like to now these kind of things so I can help him to sort. And remind him in case he forget. He's super bussy, so maybe sometimes he'll forget.

MIL is back from China & once she is back she start already. The last time, she was dissatisfied with the food tasting so she requested for another menu & another food tasting session. Second food tasting, the hotel can only grant us for 6 persons.. that time she told me straight in the face that me & my parents no need to go. She even remarked to me that me & my husband don't always need to be so sticky with each other. Fine with me. She just called me.. last minute food tasting tomorrow.. FIL can't make it, then she ask me to go. I told her I am busy & can't go. I am not a bloody spare tyre.

Then she told me she got something to show me.. must be the dress issue again.. even ask me to go during lunch. I told her I am busy & can't make it. She just won't give up.

I'm going crazy... I think I need time alone to think about the relationship. I really don't think I can handle it, I rather give up, because I think we're going to have a lot of problems in future. Some people may think I'm weak or a coward for choosing this path but it's very very hard for me.

Tinker star,
Since the hse there is sky high, I dun think stay for more then 5 years is a problem hahaha!
Wat is WIS anyway?
Oya, 4 HDB loan, is it only apply for new HDB or can get for open market oso can get?
My fpil has 3 hse. But cant stay there, coz 1 they live in, the other 2 are rented out. Coz my fh travel a lot and his other bro bought his own apt.
Anyway my fh said tat its better coz means his parents has passive income so they can enjoy their old live w/o hv 2 worry too much so no nid 2 work so hard.
(both of them 50something oredi)
Not they're rich or what lor, just hv a gud financial plan. They choose 2 buy sec hse coz dun want their children fighting over 1 hse if they're pass away.
And the other 1 is given my I dun rem my fh which side grandparents after they're passed away few years ago.
Think tat fin plan is v gud so they can afford 2 hv quite comfortable life eventhough they din come from rich fam; tats why my fh got influenced by their fin plan.
He plan his fin carefully and hv lots of (somekind like) insurance, for health, for invest, for child education, even for his parents in case they're retire and (know wood) sick and need lots of money 4 treatment, and this late few years he started 2 make his retire plan…
even I'm the accountant one but he got his fin plan better then me! Hahaha Pai seh!
U asked me how many hse I had? Tinker star.. In my country the hse is not as exp as in sgp. Ppl still can afford 2 buy hse at outside city center area depends on their budget. 7 years ago I bought a small hse (110m2) further than city center but I've got feeling tat the area is promising. Eventhough the price is cheap, but im only 20, of coz I took loan leh, dun hv money yet. Luckly few month after tat got ppl want 2 rent my hse. So, the rental fee can pay 80% of my hse instalment.. Hehehe
Then 2 years ago, my forecast came through, since the price in city centre high sky every year (the price increase min ard 15% per year!), many ppl choose 2 stay outside the town. So lots of developer built hse outside the town. My hse price jumped like crazy! Then got tis fam developer wan 2 buy my area side (coz now got direct high way 2 city center), and we've got 300% compensation, so everybody tat area accept the offer. But I asked the developer tat I'll give up my hse for their new house and asked 4 disc. Of coz I still hv 2 paid the diff. but not a lot. (only add ard 30K). Now tat hse fully paid and I earn from the rental to recover my 30K.
Then 2 years ago, I've met my fh. After dating 1 year, he bought e apt 2 prov tat he's serious (so he willing 2 stay here) hahaha so drama.
He's travel a lot, he asked me to move in 2 tat hse coz its in city centre, near my office and v convinient 2 go around. (I used 2 rent a room near my office)
Since we're tot tat we're going 2 stay here quite sometime, we spent lots of money for tis love nest. Even choose every single detail. And design our own furniture..
Tats why took almost 1 year (just finished only) for tis hse until fully furnish. Everydoby says its v nice. We're really like it & cant wait 2 get home =)
But then tat offer come. And he oso thinking of stay ard his parents since they're quite old. He told me he wants 2 make them happy and siwh they can play wif his children.. (Gosh).. So, wif all tat reasons and such a gud deal. How u can reject 2 move?
But of coz for starter, wi nid such a big amount of money 2 buy (again) hse and car in sgp, since we're spent lots of cash oredi for tis hse, of coz it kills us 2 buy hse & car again in sgp, especially the price there is crazy rite? Sigh.. Wat 2 do.. I now it going to take few yearss 2 recover our cash.. Not mentioned about wedding lost..

von, I hope you are feeling better. It's ironic huh.. that we are so sad before the wedding. I have lots of long talk+crying+screaming sessions too.. it is exhausting. My hubby thinks the same as yours.. he always say I like to inflict pain on myself by overloading myself. They just don't understand, I guess.

Von, i like ur description. Ya sometimes our guys just dun understand why we make such a big hoo-ha over tis.

Mei, ok.. i got evil tots.
Mabbe u would want to tell ur hubby how u feel. Abt calling off the wedding and unable to cope with his mom's behaviour.
If ur hubby tell ur FMIL tat u intend to call off the wedding, wat would she do?
Now tat our AD is ard the corner n since ur FMIL likes 'mian zi' so much. She would give in right?
I dunno if its worth the risk ..