(2007) Brides of year 2007

hihi lovely_samsoon,
welcome onboard!

it's a lot of fun doing bridal shopping!! i enjoyed it a lot... especially trying on the gowns....

and yes, TP BS do allow trying of gowns for walk-in.... you can request....

enjoy your BS shopping!!

jhoo.. I talk to him until I don't know what to do already. I know he is already pushed to the corner & there's nothing more he can do.

smilez.. I am having a cooling off from my husband now.. I told him I am thinking of calling off the wedding & I told him to think it through too. I won't be seeing him for the next few days.

I don't intend to let MIL know until we have made our firm & final decision. I don't want her to have more bad things to say about me.. if she knew.. more problems will arise & she'll start to say I am very fake & like to create problems.. no point lor.

Wow another 070707 BTB!!! I can imagine the number of bridal cars on the roads on that day!

I've finally picked my ROM date...Hui, maybe you can update next round. It's gonna be on 17 March 2007!

Mei, ok since u r quite firm on it.
Do think abt this issue seriously =)
Cool down n tink abt it rationally k.
Realli hope tat things can work out between the 2 of u

this MIL is really unreasonable....beyond cure...... i guess i will get super offended if my MIL told me no need call my parents... that 6 seats who she offers to??? she din include u?

jhoo.. I was very very offended when she told me my parents no need to go. It's not like my parents love dining with her.. & not like we are so hard up for the food tasting dinner.. but I feel this is basic etiquette, courtesy & respect.

That time she told us 2nd food tasting only give 6 seats, then hubby told her.. ok mah.. him, me, his parents & my parents.. just nice. Then she say.. no lah.. she wants her sister to go.. no place for my parents.. so they no need to go. My husband was offended & told her how can.. then she remarked why cannot (she has the mentality that she is paying for the banquet so she calls the shots). Then she told me.. me & my husband no need always so sticky with each other one. After what she said, I told myself that I won't be going for the second food tasting, she really doesn't give my parents any respect so I don't think I will turn up also.

Now she is asking me to go as FIL can't make it. I won't go lor.. I'm not a spare tyre.

mi haven buy any appliance yet, but already aimed which washing machine n fridge i wan to buy liao

LG washing machine <--- will be sponsored by my mum
430969.jpg

Samsung fridge <--- will be sponsored by my mil (dats wat hubby said)

430970.jpg
430971.jpg

Mei, i agree, don't go... yes, its the courtesy and respect... she's like living in her own world, do whatever she likes without caring about others..and ur hubby really do nothing about it???

hi lovely_samsoon,I bought my gowns in Hong Kong. Off the rack. It was end of season clearance. I brought the gowns to Shenzhen, one of the tailoring shops to sew on beading and applique. Hope this helps.

You may wish to keep an eye for end of season sales in Singapore too. I know Irene's Creation has, from time to time, clearance sales. You can ask them to add detailing for you, or bring the gowns to an independent tailor. There are some tailors who work from home. I read about them from this forum but dun have the contacs...

Mei, well done! U are doing the right way by emphasizing to your MIL that you are not a sponge ball that can be pushed and pressed as and when they like it. She must see that u are an individual, not someone that she can ordered around under her thumbs.

But I do encourage you to be optimistic about this. No doubt your MIL is like 武则天, but she is after all your elder. Your hubby is being stuck in between, though he may stand on the same line as you, he is after all her son. I'm sure he is well aware of the 'traumas' that u have gone thru with his mama but he needs to balance his position so as not to antagonize either party.

It is not easy to go through this ordeal. I can see that both of you have been working very hard to come to this day. Stick on to it. Men will never understand why women like to stick their head in the mud with all the 'minor' issues and likewise, women too don't understand why men does not seem to understand the word 'priortise'.

Perhaps cooling down for the moment is good for both of you. But do consider carefully. Your hubby is willing to move out in a couple of years, take that as a motivational push for you. Look forward to this day. It will come true.

Rem the colleague whom I mentioned before? She is still living under the same roof with her unreasonable MIL. She has gone through what u have encountered but in a worse scenerio. No matter what, she has struggled thru the last 10 years, just for the man she loves and the loving kids she has.

My hubby quarrel with her until he give up also.

Whenever he try to talk to her.. she'll say that I am the one who is a bad influence to him &amp; I poison him to go against her. She has said many bad things about me that my husband chose not to tell me. He explained to me that it is tough for him to hear such bad things said about me. All he can do now is to tolerate till after the wedding, as he does not want anything to jeopardize our marriage.

There was one instance last time, when I offended her.. I had to go &amp; apologize to her &amp; she lectured me &amp; told me the $5000 my husband placed as a deposit for the wedding banquet is nothing to her &amp; she can call off our wedding anytime.. She is a damn cunning &amp; evil person lor.

Anyhow, the wedding is just a one day affair. Put it bluntly, she is making it as if both of you are the props while she is the director. Since she is super on about the entire wedding preparations, let her be. To her, her 'face' is more important. If anything goes wrong, its not your fault.

BTW, talking about that speech she requested, you can inform her that your language skills has limitations, so may not be able to live up to her standard. Why not get her to engage some pro to write the speech for you and you just read it from there. This does not look nice to you, but since she wants the 'show' to move on, so be it.

After that wedding, you and your hubby can enjoy some peacefulness without her interruptions.

Hope you won't be offended by my words. I just find that at this point, the wedding day is not important anymore. More to that fact that u must tolerate her willfulness and craps in future.

U know, at least u have a memorable ROM, that's more than enough.

Mei, i think moving out st. after wedding is the best solution for u and ur hubby... if money is the concern, go for loan...house's repayment can use CPF...life will be miserable for u and ur hubby living together with ur MIL

agnes.. so gd...
got ppl sponser.. I have to buy for it myself..
how much is ur washing machine and fridge??
I can go see see look look..

I aiming the panasonic washing machine.. the one with dryer together.. and Mitsubishi fridge.. the 2 door one.. hehe.

jas, the washing machine is $500++ and the fridge is $800++. forget the actual price liao. i still looking for other sponsors leh... lol

iViED, don't worry, I am not offended by your words.. in fact, I appreciate your words.. your words makes lots of sense to me. I agree that at this point, the wedding day is not important anymore. &amp; you are right about my hubby being placed in a difficult position &amp; having to balance between the both of us.

jhoo.. we hope to do that.. but we can't move out straight after the wedding.. a lot more things will happen if we do so.

hihi all,
i went to check out packages on japan and for april packages, pricing will only be out in Dec. I am so excited to go japan after the wedding...

Mei, it is really not an easy path for you. But do bear with it. 放长线钓大鱼. I always believe that the good will be reap with rewards. The sufferings that u are enduring now will be a fruitful return in future.

Your MIL does have a bad mouth. What's this about calling off the wedding and forfeiting the deposit... Doesn't she know that at this point, she will be losing the full amount of the banquet? I rem the contractual terms state to pay the full amount should there be any cancellations 2 months before the booking date.

von, don't be upset too. I can fully empathize with you. But I do not let it bother me anymore. Since my FH always say: Its MY wedding, so be it. Don't worry too much. Men will know how to be automatic when the time comes.

*eye big big* serious?
oh my gosh, u gals are really too kind...
My FH confirm will say smething like tt to me and I would wail coz it's so lame =P

Or maybe it's so lame it's funny *grins*

drea>> hahaha!! joke of the day ah.

so good got sponsor. I wonder if I move into my own flat, will have sponsor or not.

most likely don't hv. unless house warming...then maybe will get oven, toaster, etc.

typical housewarming gifts

mei, hope that u feel better. the person that can make it to call off the wedding is u and ur hubby. so u need to think carefully.

if life is hard with MIL, i take jhoo suggestion to move out. if not, as i told u b4, more quarrels with hubby is bound to happen coz of stress and the need for each other to be more understanding becoz of ur MIL.. but as tolerance level is always, there, i think more or less will hv more conflict with hubby and make you not want the marriage or wedding (now)

I think your hubby is not bad le... cool it and maybe the wedding day is not much a big deal coz the marriage is more important..

Von, dun be upset too.. me doing most of the wedding stuff myself too.. coz my hubby always say he dun wan a BIG wedding. so if i want, i need to handle all myself..

LET US GALS BE STRONG and SUPPORT each other..

iViED.. about the forfeiting of the deposit thing, I meant that she pulled this stunt on me a year back when we placed the deposit. She was trying to tell me money is peanuts to her &amp; she can call off the wedding anytime I offend her.

Thanks everyone for your comfort.. Your comforting words make me feel much calmer. I'll take this time to be alone &amp; sort out my thoughts.. I admit I am one confused girl now.

Tomorrow, let the happy family go for their food tasting.. I used to be bothered on how the relatives will think of me.. but now.. I can't be bothered anymore, if they want to think I'm a bo chup bride &amp; not turn up for food tasting, then so be it.

last sun went with my mum to suntec to sign up for i-weekly magazine subscription for a yr. coz got free stylux 3-in-1 coffee maker/toaster oven/mini frying pan (for sunny-side up egg). my mum give to mi also as it's suitable for two person use... hubby see already so happy.. lol

many years back during my parent's housewarming, tink dunno get how many iron, tea-set, bedsheet set. den she clever give to someone else as housewarming gift. haha

Hi all, just to update my details.
Venue : GPPR
Bridal : Sattine
I would like to check with you people, how long in advance do we have to book AD photography &amp; Videography?
Im also going down in Feb'07 to MTM my gown, having my photography in Jun…

Hi gugi,

Dun worry, just ask all the questions. Hope I'm able to help you and not confuse you. ;p

Are you currently employed by any company? If not, can state that you are jobless and then as long as your FH gross income is less than 8k, both of you will be able to get the grand.

Why I say 10k on top of 30k is because if you buy a resale flat from HDB, you will get a 30k grand. And if the flat is near to one of your parents, you will get another 10k grand. So 10k on top of that 30k. =)

Exec Condo means it is owned by HDB but has facilities like gym, swimming pool(just like those private condo). HDB flats do not have all these facilities. But if you buy Exec Condo, if I'm not wrong, you are not allowed to take HDB loan. However, you can take HDB loan for new or resale flats provided your combine gross income is less than 8k.

Woodlands.. is 40min away from Orchard by train.. So do you consider that as far?

WIS = walk in selection

Mei, sayang sayang... I feel sad reading too... i wonder what kind of mother she is, making their children miserable.

for me if moving out will stir alot of troubles, i will still move out coz it makes no different to stay or move, there're troubles going on....

Mei, i rather u bring the courage to move out with your hubby ASAP...

jhoo.. yes, we will definitely move out, but I think I'll stay for a while before doing so.. it's difficult to just move off immediately.. I also don't want to put my husband in a spot.

And, thanks so much for your encouragement!

Hi gugi,
It's still in construction, brand new, target completion in end 2007. If you are not singaporean, I am afraid you won't get the 30k grant, maybe only 15k grant. It cost me 500k for the 3 bedrooms unit(about 106m2).

haha agnes yeah was going to say can always give to others...no sense wasting also mah. N if never open, i dun see what's the big deal =)

Hi Karen: actually the apartment belongs to SAF ... it just happen that my hubby ballot for it successfully therefore will make use of it for our honeymoon, can save abit $$ on accommodation this way...

Seafaith: wats ur hubby working as? Will u be getting allowance too for following him to States?

Huiz: can i have the song too? my email is [email protected]

*knock knock* anyone around?

Apparently earlier my FFIL asked my FH about his decision so he told him. Now waiting to find out what happened....sigh

afternoon ladies
me having a hectic morning. Later if I MIA again, means I bz at work again *rolls her eyes*

No mood to work leh...sianzzzzzzz.

nic ah, Franz looking at Brandt washing machine. We are still fighting :p coz I wan a cheaper one. But he prefers front loading, whereas I'm ok with anything if it's reasonably priced.

currently we looking more on hob and hood.

Mei,

Maybe you &amp; yr HTB can arrange to attend the pre marriage course?
Guess this will help yr relation better. Think there is also a topic on MIL ;)

drea, all will be well.

Pei Lin, front loading look nice but sometime if u put too much detergent, bubbles may com out. dats wat happened to my blk downstairs provision shop owner's front loading washing machine. dunno wat brand