(2007) Brides of year 2007

Shers, ur silver cheongsam is very nice.
hee, got nice legs to show off

where did u go for ur PS? all the locations are very nice.

IVied, 1.5k for Ang Baos!! Gosh.. must relook at my budget again.

Hi Mei,

thanks for the link!! but i cant see travel link in the office... will go back home and see.. Mei, i ROM long time ago.. dunno if they will still valid my ROM cert...

Just to check.. how much is ur Maldive trip? coz i find that going Phuket itself is already $2500.. so wonder if how much difference isit..

Yap Gals, just to add that the honeymoon benefits will be given by Club Med even if you have ROM-ed, as long as your AD is within 6 mths from your HM. Just prove with your wedding card and inserts

My HM is in early Jan, and I will show u gals the pics then

Huh, that's alot...arrrr...mine only less than $1k....coz jiemei headcount drop..and also little cousin's angbao i only intend give $8..my mum told me most likely only uncle auntie will come for tea ceremony so the angbao to give out will be lesser...

piglet, so long as your ROM certificate is within one year, you are still eligible for the honeymoon package. Maldives cost around $3000+.

Cherry, I'm also going to Club Med Maldives in early January like you.

I have not thought of Angbao money yet.. now that you girls mention.. then I remember..

morning all, latest news on my side. Most prob I will be moving either to Msia or to Aust depending on where my FH will be. Last nite we didn't fight as much and can hear he very frustrated and I also got frustrated. We both lack sleep..and miss each other (at least I think he does). If he serves NS and take his SG PR, then my wedding will have to be postphoned.

In other news, I've hurt myself...
he doesn't know and quite frankly, it doesn't matter
Coz I feel I've let him down as his wife so this won't make a diff

I think I am depressed..or maybe just thinking too much

sigh..i also dunno

Hope that the rest are feeling ok
*huggies*
Gila queen maybe taking a hiatus but I am here for u gals
Dun worry about me....I'll live

I also quite undecided, cos I scared I cant lose weight in time if I were to do my PS in Jan, tot of doing in early Feb

agnes, jas>> quarrels are inevitable after ROM/preparation for marriage
who won't quarrel, esp over money matters/housing issues.

heh...agnes, u can tell ur mil that fengshui master look at ur EA hor, then luck will come in...like Franz's colleague, the hubby studies fengshui one. Every alternate week sure strike 4D or Toto then career got improve (his colleague promoted). Better to believe than not! In fact, fengshui is the "in" thing :p hahaha.

Jas>> regarding abt the beer thing, the extreme thing to do is to tell ur guests no alcohol lorr. But knowing our mums, they sure make noise. *hugz* Not forgetting beer comes in barrels. 30l is about 90 glasses. It might not be as hefty as ur hubby might think.

ladies, marriage is about compromise and working things out

Mei, I ROM on 10 Dec 2005... so by the time i go for my HM, it will pass the one yr period.. i will bring my invitation cards.. hee..

hmm.. ler me go ask my hubby... coz seems more worth to go Maldives... hee..

drea, i'm sure things will work out well.

pei lin, hubby ask mi to pay myself if i wan to engage fengshui master. as if the house he no share. i pay i pay lor, no big deal. the tot of mil saying i old fashion makes my fire boil!!! she tink she beri modern meh, going 60 still wan to act ultra modern, like ah huay. go out with her i also embarass. hair dye two colour, nails paint black colour, use billabong handphone strap.

Morn Ladies!

Shers, thanks for the link! Two words, 美美ï¼I like those reflection photos!

Phew, finally managed to settle the banquet issue at Noble House. Must really thank my younger sis, she helped me to resolve the whole thing. Changes to my menu and no additional cost is involved.

Yup, angbao best to budget more... That's the thing.. Give too little, ppl will say... Give too much, we all gotta eat roti for many mths!

piglet, I believe with your AD invites also can, you can call the Club Med customer service officer to check with them.

I very gan chiong to book HM coz my AD is in the first week of January then I scared no vacancies coz we want to go straight after AD. So, if your resort is popular, also better book soon.

kaye, glad that your dinner issue has been resolved & it's great news that no additional cost is required.

hey girls, angbao to cousin $8 not unreasonable right?? my own younger sibling and nephew will give more, haha...actually by right we dont have to give angbao one, but giving is a token so i dont think they will badmouth if we give little bah, but maybe 2 bucks they may lor..hehe

We only need to give to those who serve us tea during tea ceremony right? No need to give to those relative's children running around right?

Hi Nee,

Thanks for your recommendation. I will head down once i finish my exams tomorrow!!...

So hows ur preparation so far?

I am quite vexed over my ROM cos i expected about 30 guests to turn up, so i chose a small venue. But now, there are 50 guests coming and the place is too small!!!!!... i know my friends and relatives wish to send their blessings but... hmmm... u knw u knw...

Jess

drea.. dun worry things will be fine..

ya lor.. Pei Lin.. haiz...
he only think of $$ lor..

agnes..
my MIL say she happy she stay my house..sometimes she will go my SIL place..
now she permernant staying at my SIL place in sengkang.. sian lor..
I really feel like telling her no.. but my hubby will sure be angry..

Mei, duno leh..during my sis's time, all the kids line up to serve tea while my sis and BIL sat there to drink...and then they will give angbao out to them..even hubby's sis was doing that, so we just follow whatever they did...but what i heard is that couple dont even have to give any angbao out..just receive angbao from the elderly

Hi Esther, from what is gathered here, yeah, most of the ladies not staying with MIL.

Jas, my MIL also. Most prob she'll be staying at my SIL place most of the time coz of the children. Tho I would rather she stay with me and enjoy life :X

Mei, I will be staying at both the beach villa and the lagoon suite (Mix of villas)... What about yourself? Looks like we can have lunch together on one of the days between 9th - 11th

Few couples will choose to go Maldives for HM, mainly due to the cost factor, with this kind of $$, most of my pals think it is more "worth" to go to Europe. So glad that someone from here is going to Maldives in the same period

I most prob with my staying with my ILs depending on what happens about my FH's PR....I checking out if he can apply for Aust PR also.

agnes, ur MIL sounds scary =P (no offence)
But I mean to say u old fashion is kinda mean lor

agnes, dun boil liao
haha, ur description of ur MIL really makes me laff. It's that bad huh? Let ur MIL be lor...if u see her that way, others also will see her that way :X so take comfort in that ;) kekeke. oops, I'm bad. So u taking William's service or other master?

drea, u are frustrated coz as his wife, u can't do anything? drea ah, in the 1st place, the root cause wasn't becoz of u. *hugz* Move to Aust also better...Sing is too expensive for everything.

Wow, jealous of Mei & Cherry! Can stay so long at Club Med! :P

Jhoo, i think $8 is std rate for ang bao.

For me, I had bought gifts for my younger sis & bro but at the same time, i got to give angbao also.

As Cantonese hor, the moment i stepped into my parents pl for the tea ceremony. Our custom is to give angbao to all who re there, regardless young or old. Aim is to make ppl happy!

U can say my family is traditional, we also follow a bit of HK style lah... Hehe My Mum says that she will give angbao to the waiters/waitresses and the kitchen staff at Noble House. So that they will cook better and serve us better.

kaye, tats great news

mei, my mom told me when we go home, we must give red pkt to all the children in the house.
Better prepare more red pkts else sure got tongue start waggin..

Icic, guess most ladies would prefer to stay alone with their hubby.

I think i'm very lucky to have a nice MIL.
If not i think I also same boat with u ladies.

jhoo.. that's so sian.. but I know that once they serve you tea, sure got to give out angbao.

Cherry, I'm staying at the Lagoon Suite all the way, we want to stay in these huts on stilts for our HM as it's more private & romantic
Hilton is the other one but the price is really steep. We want to go to a beach resort for our HM as we want to just relax & gaze into each other eyes (hehe.. just kidding!) rather than run around sightseeing, hence we finally decided on this location. Sure, we can meet up over there.. email me & we see how to arrange. [email protected]

Just to check with you.. do you book all your spa treatment & fine dining in the honeymoon package here or do so only when we arrive there?

esther, i was supposed to stay with mil, but heng she asked us to get our own place.

pei lin, u lucky to have a gd mil. for mi, 3yrs liao u also nv met my mil more den 10times. reason being she always go out one.

drea, my mil is every dil's nitemare com true. last time tot she ok, but now i tink she beri bad. so i getting to dislike her more n more liao.

pei lin, i'll consider again if wan to engage fengshui master anot. if i engage, hubby n mil sure angry. if i dun, i make myself unhappy. in a dilemma now. shall decide when the letter for collection of keys com.

wah huiz, you collecting cards in Dec? I think I'll only decide on my cards and pass her the invites wording in Dec when we eat leh...

anyone with Lil'Art invites?

Summerice, dun think i'll go JB. Might do church wedding inserts with Axxa if lil'art is too expensive... too far for me to go JB... more convenient for those who live in the north though.

Thanks Mei for the honeymoon tips! great help!! hugs**

jhoo, my sister in law say kids go to ur day ceromony must give (even if not serving us tea) so we also give $8..

i got give the following angbao.

1. Car & Driver
2. Person to help me with animation
3. Open Car Door
4. Jing Cha - siblings
5. Children
6. Xiong Di
7. Gate Crashing
8. Photographer
9. Videographer
10. Make up artist
11. Page Boy & Flower Gal
12. Mei Po
13. Emcee

Kaye, I agree with Smilez, it is really good to prepare "Contingencies Ang-Bows" as u will never know which extra person will turn up for the ceremony.

Just to share my Ang-Bow preparation listing :
1. Bridal Car “Openerâ€
2. Siblings (unmarried only)
3. Relatives (Ranking must be lower than yourself like Cousins and so forth)
4. Xiong-Dis and Jie-Meis (Not compulsory – just a gesture from the couples)
5. Accompanying cars
6. "Bed roller" boy
7. Emcees / Banquet Captains
8. Videographers / MUA / Photographers
9. Wedding banquet Coordinator
10. Dinner Receptionists (if they are not the Jie-Meis)
11. Contingencies Angpows (Back-up)

Anyway, if you gals are really interested in going to Maldives for HM, in order not to burn a big hole in your pockets, u may want to consider going in April onwards, that's the off-peak for Maldives where room rates are really much affordable..

agnes, ur mil so "onz". U planning to do reno once collected the keys? Fengshui actually can anytime see one. Just that before reno, it's easier to go according to the master's advice. Or you can just borrow those fengshui books and DIY :p general things like fire and water cannot face each other (kitchen) and no sleeping under a beam. All these can DIY lor.

yeah, I really lucky that my MIL is an easy-going person. or mabbe it's the training from my family :p LOL....

shers, thanks for the pic.
I like those pic with your hair let down. You look sweet.

ya jhoo, my mum also tell me that at tea ceremony, wedding couples only receive ABs, not to give ABs. $8 is standard rate, somemore is an auspicious figure, why not.
ladies, here's a list for your ref. You can manipulate with the figures and then decide the final amount for the ABs. Hope it will be useful.

Mei and Cherry, yeah, enjoy all the way after all the hard work preparing for this big day.

wow, kaye......serious ar???... yah, most important during the bqt is the food and service..just pray pray pray and still pray, hehe

for me, no more next time to the resort with beach like bintan...those idiotic sand flies marks still stuck on my legs....my mum keeps asking me go see another doc at bt timah, but then im sick of eating medicine...let it cure naturally bah

thanks pei lin *hugs back* I guess I trying to adjust and adapt to things lah but now I think about it, migrating may not be so bad. Anyway I always complain I wanna get out of sg and a home is the people that make it. I should be thankful that I have a hubby that adores me and sacrifices so much for me and yeah, he actually qualifies for Aust PR soon so we can always apply and see how from there....we did talk about it and anyway it would be best to apply after we get married so then I can apply also.

yeah I'm frustrated coz I can't help him....but I guess being there to support him is also help in some way.

agnes, I also tot my FIL last time was ok but now he's soo mean. Sigh, I angry at him coz he so mean to my FH. Not so much to me

piglet, you're welcome.. we are here to share tips & info. Let me know if you need more info ok?

cherry.. when I read the term 'bed-roller boy', I laughed so loudly.. hehe.. so funny.

Think I need to do Angbao list already.

pei lin, those simple things i can diy myself. the main purpose my mum ask mi to engage fengshui master was coz the flat was empty for 5yrs.

Mei & Cherry, just curious... How come u all never tot of other Club Med places like in Europe, South Africa etc? Think I saw Club Med in Morocco, super beautiful!

Yup, always got to prepare standby ang bao!

that time we ask my MIL need little boy roll on bed anot, she said dun wan, coz during her time and the way of doing should be the boy has to sleep on the bed for one whole night..haha...so again skip that..hehe

Talking abt the bed-roller boy hor....

I remember my Mum telling me this story of some relative...

The bed-roller boy pee onto the bed! I told my Mum... YUCKS big time!

kaye, for me.. my hubby only want to stay in those huts built on stilts over the sea, then I called & checked.. Maldives Club Med is the only property that has this kind of accomodation. Think those Morocco one even more expensive.. never check leh.. moreover I don't want to fly for so many hours to go beach resort leh.. very sian to get stuck in the plane.

kaye, that pee story so yucks! Puke..

I hope I don't need roller boy & all that too... the best as simple as possible. Until today, MIL also never mention what to do & prepare for GDL, only give us date after we chase her for it. She likes to do things last minute, then when there is screw-up, she'll blame us. Wait for her to tell us what is needed then we can prepare.