(2007) Brides of year 2007

i hv a friend who bought an LCD TV last yr @ Best denki & now only after abt 18mths, then they asked Best Denki to deliver the TV to their new home. haha!

Best Denki been calling them after the 1yr is up but my friend's house reno kept delaying.

Esther>> think maybe can buy applicances like washing machine, fridge all these 1st. But for sofa, dining table all these hv to wait till i get my house & see the decor then buy ler.

snowiee>> i trsf the $ to you liao. U can mail me the pkg oredi.

think it's safer for you to try again lah...afterall it gives you the peace of mind.

junie.. that time my mum went best denki and buy tv.. they say only hold 2 mths..

snowiee.. think too long will be very troublesome leh..

hi suika,

scanning thru the list, rainie seems to be the only one taking Mr & Mrs Wedding Club for BS.. the amazing part is both your wedding falls on the same day! haha.. you can write to rainie for info sharing ya! her email is in the table in case you don't wanna write here.. ^_^

wow.. I am so suprised. .so many couples on Jan 27. Must be a hot date! That's the date I am flying to Taiwan.

Hello Jhoo, have u worked our your programs in Taiwan? I borrowwed some books but have not started to read...hee...

Now a bit headache, we are going to have 11 brothers and 4 sisters. Not equal right. Is it possible to buy a meal instead of giving Hongbao?

jhoo.. my hubby wants a rest & relax trip for our honeymoon, somewhere he can chill out & relax at a beach resort. We will only go for those 'chiong' trips in April.

sorry...double posting

GST will be "debated" during the budgetting in Feb 2007. Following previous trend, it will be implemented. But there will probably be some delay as to the implementation. So expect it to be either before the Great Singapore Sales or right after it.

As for the freight charges between Malaysia/Singapore and Thailand/Singapore. Sometimes don't be surprised that the price is about the same. When you travel through Malaysia, they have to pay all the tolls and causeway charges, while shipping just pay the port charges?

I think BKK they charge by containers, if you can share with friends to fill up 1 container, then it will be worth. Not too sure about taxes, I think there is an exemption up to certain amount before they charge you.

Lastly, I believe near to the furniture merchants near jatuchak are those shipping merchants, can probably discuss to them about shipping when you are there.

GST is my opinion, while the rest of the info are based on what I read on the net, dunno about their accuracy, just sharing with all of you.

diaodu, I feel it's ok to treat them to a meal.. anything you wish as a gesture of thanks to them for their help. For me, I am paying for my JM's dresses & I have told them from the start that the dress is also a gift from me as a token of my appreciation.

iVied.. tonight I'm going to hubby's place to do research & see what other places we can go to.

Hi Corsage,

Is your $30 included the gate crashing???

Then around how much angbaos both parent need to give the bros and sis on the AD??

Is it ok parent give $18 each then we couple still need to give the sis and bro??

mei, planning honeymoon can help to de-stress from wedding plans.
Can consider places like koh samui, krabi, bali for nice place to nuai for ur honeymoon

diaodu, u gg taiwan on 27th?
So after ur AD u gg straight back to work for a wk b4 gg on HM?

Ivied, no idea also but i confirm will give 399 as the gatecrashing angbao... Tot my jiemei liao... If my husband dun give, he s going to get it from me.

Mei, heheh eat snake... I m so sleepy plus my boss is not here lagi want to eat more snake. What abt Guam? My colleague told me u can relax there too.

karing some ppl only the bride n groom give the parents never give. Its all up to u.

My bro ask my mum dont have to give he will give all those necessary ppl. My friends also like that.

based on my past experience in a freight forwarding co. sometimes the shipping charges + GST may end up more den wat u paid for the item bought. i have personally com across a few cases, mostly ang mohs. coz the shop owners told them can arrange shipment for them but nv told them is all shipping charges to their account.

which means is ex-works terms, consignee pay all charges fm port of loading to s'pore. den com to s'pore still muz pay local charges, warehouse forklift, etc.

agNes> woah...scary leh. that's why must say properly but then if the shop pple not honest, also can't do anything liao but to pay.

that's why safer if hv lobang, at least no hidden costs.

hi Jie,

i have saved the downloads of wedding packages of Pan Pacific and MM in here.
..hope it is useful for u

My colleague had her wedding at MM..40 tables..the food is delicious....

hi sherrine, not to worry....this forum is the most resourceful wedding forum that i know of in singapore...

as for me, i have drafted my experience in my wedding blog

The first thing you need to do is to discuss with ur hubby-to-be:
1. what kind of wedding function you want? dinner or lunch? sit-down or buffet?
2. go source for hotels already as u need one year to book
3. u can tentatively hold on to a reservation....until the hotel needs u to put deposit...
4. look out from strait times oand this forum coming wedding shows.

5. Book hotels and packages from wedding shows to get more discounts, offer and freebies...

yes, do be careful when purchasing things oversea. coz those cheap bargains muz turn out to be a hole in the pocket instead. worst nitemare will be the whole item did not appear despite you paying for the item at the port of loading beforehand.

like franz said, it is safer to have friends consolidating their buys and share a whole container.

Yes I agree with Summerice. May be easier that way too.

Karing: $30 is only for gate-crashing. More if the jiemeis help in other things. But it is really up to you and your HB. You can also thank them in other ways later

Hi Viv,

We "Ti Qing" over food tasting. Kinda of feel weird as everybody is very quiet. Both families met.

My mother is very upfront and tell my FMIL that she can say whatever requests she wants and we try to accomodate...

my FMIL is very understanding...and she just requests for traditional items , cake vouchers, jewellery for my fiancee, liquor and some angpows to represent pig. I think that is all.

Yes Smilez,

I am going to taiwan on 27th. work for few days then go..

Wow..kaye, S$399 is alot.. u so generous..

I so broke now..

eh moon, think u can check the result for the DBSS already right? good luck!
i haven't choose my gowns yet, dunno wat feel i want, look at magaines but still no idea.
think i just have to go and try and see which one looks best on me.. hee hee
'bai ma wang zi' all white ah? my FH also looking for white suit and pants, dunno have or not... but wil he be wearing white shoes as well? dunno where to find nice white leather shoes for man...

Hi Sharon Leong,

there will be plenty of problems:
1: Culture clash especially if both husband and wife are from different dialect groups
2: Settling of number of tables for who and invite who
3: Wedding coordinator keeps on changing (3 times)
4: I had a friend whose wedding coordinator quitted the day before her wedding
5: Money problem

All these are the problems I face or heard of...just sharing with you..u can go to my web site romance-fire.com I have lots of grumbles and problems to share...just remember to always communicate your expectations with ur hubby...and remember things can be solved... :D Good luck

Drop me a tag if u need help...i will be glad to assist

Actually best is ensure that there are black & white that state that the delivery is to your doorstep! I've collected items from their warehouse before. Went all the way to changi warehouse, then got to fill up paperwork, then got to declare the value of the items blah blah blah :P

Ignore my commect about collecting from warehouse. I don't think any1 in their right mind will want to collect a few tonnes of furnitues at the warehouse, heh. *bonk myself*

ask u gals hor, when is next year's CNY? cos i know my BS will be taking long break during the CNY, dunno if i should have my PS before or after the CNY...

is it better to take earlier? so that I can take my time to choose the pix and layout? if take in march is it still ok? wat u gals think?

hehe, idea. mabbe can treat the JMs n XDs after the AD

diaodu, after AD go back n work?
Abit xian lei, tinking of gg immediately the following day. Then got mood. Hee..
But my tour package not confirm trip so might delay 1 wk. Tinking of not gg back. ha!

wow the tread so fast.. hee..

Mei, i also everytime on computer will come in here... hee.. wah $200 increase ah.. so ex.. hmm..

kaye, me giving $388 for gate crashing.. then will give a small angbao as token... not much..

Ok girls.. talk to you tmr.. I'm going for my first bellydancing class liao.. hope I don't make a fool out of myself.. hhehe. Have a nice evening!

small items that u can hand carry, can juz go warehouse collect urself. can save some $$. if big items, juz pay tranporter n get over with it.

if i'm not wrong, jiemei will earn angbao from the gatecrashing, my parent and my IL's parent.

As for me, i think will buy my jiemei and xiongdi a dinner as a token of appreication and also creat a chance for them to meetup before the actual day.

For the gatecrashing, we will make sure each of them will get at least $40.. it will then depends on how many jiemei that day. Will make it a nice number.

hi ladies, so busy today only come in now.

mei, wah so ex $200 per night per pax *gasp*

shers, can u update my details? AD photo/video by Big Day Pictures. tks

OMG! people, come to think of it...my FH & I have not arrange for our parents to meet up & our ROM is in abt 2 weeks' time.

I hv cleanly forgotten abt it since I'm back! haha

diaodu, not i generous but I hv quite a no of jiemeis.. So that amount is enough to go around.. I m expecting ard 8-9 jiemeis.

I think the most horrible thing abt wedding is the amount of angbao u hv to give coz u cant keep track one!

dunno leh. I think hor, if set up earlier meetings for them, our parents will feel even more weird.

Anyway I think meet lesser also better, less chance of some1 saying the wrong thing and making it awkward.

wah people!

I just got a call from my hotel coordinator and she said it's time to go for food tasting and to decide on invites. So early ah???????

Morning everyone!!! Tink everyone going off work soon.

Drea>> cheer up k? don’t tink so much and if u need company, come online today and I will do my best to cheer you up.

Snowiee>> not sure abt v neck back coz I also got a bad back so I never choose to lu bei. I only do a semi bare back design for EG whereby instead of using cloth as the inner material, they use a nude transparent material so that when you look from far, it seems like I am baring my back when it is actually not. Dunno if you get what I mean coz don’t tink even I will understand what I just wrote. :oP
As for long train, I LOVE long trains but if it is too long, my PG says it might make it hard to take PS and you might not be able to manage it. I have seen some pics of a long train but seems like in pics, they mostly take the front and the back shots doesn’t really focus much on the long train. If you want, can send you the pics I have. Leave me your email addy.

As for the date of the outing, I know that Fri 15th Dec, agnes and drea cannot make it. So I was thinking of maybe Thurs 14th Dec? Not sure how you pple feel abt meeting on a weekday. But then can bring krispy kreme back to tempt you pple. Want or not? :o)

I really dun feel like getting married liao..
I very fedup liao..
my hubby is giving me alot of problems..
havent 1 yr to my AD..keep talking about the GDL and tables matters..
even the beer also must split 1/2 the costs..
say what must write proposal to my mum..
like 5 tables and any extra costs must split costs..
like that u hear already also not happy mah..
next yr if they quarrel then I really dun need to get married liao..
if I know dun hold dinner..

Jas, what happened? Cheer up. Maybe your FH finding that the whole dinner is a strain on his savings? He is still studying right? Maybe you can talk to him about expectation, e.g. who is expected to pay for the dinner and you can come to a compromise? Think he might be feeling that it is unfair that he is paying for the whole dinner when your parents should also pay half? Or maybe it is because your side has more tables? I dunno anything but feel that money issues are common during weddings coz it is so ex and always drain our savings.

For me, the dinner is going to be split both ways where both sides pay for your own no of tables except for the tables that my FH is giving to my parents. To me, I think this seems the most fair way as they are paying based on how many they want to invite and if they want to invite loads of pple, they have to pay for them lor. At least there won’t be any arguments of “why your side inviting so many pple when I am paying?â€