(2007) Brides of year 2007

But do u ladies know if HK got nicer kua???
My FMIL say HK got nicer one . Ask me wan to go see anot. But dun think it necessary la unless we go there for holiday then can 'soon pian' go take a look la.

Esther>> My BS claims that their Kuas from HK one lor. Think it's true that HK is well-known for their Kuas, especially the workmanship/embiodary. Dunno whether it will be cheaper tho

I only heard of ppl going to Shanghai to make cheongsums coz cheap and nice. Keke...saw one photo, the cheongsum really nice leh.

oh yeah, esther, u still looking for fairy wings for ur future nieces?? Saw a few at Turf City ;)

Jas>> haha, mabbe her hubby jealous that we drooling at his pretty wife? :p

HK has got nice kua... i think because over there, the brides will almost always wear it. yeah if you are going on a hol, can go and take a look.

Pei Lin,
later you see cotton stuff dangling or appearing on the paths i take. hahaha. security? won;t be so serious, unless you turn up in black body suits and binoculars. haha!

Jas,
no la. i think he juzt like the idea. there are a lot of prettier women out there. hmmm. haha!

Snowiee > u going HK ah...i duno where to see le must ask ard i guess. If u found any do update me hor....hehhehe...

Peilin > Yes i'm still looking for fairy wings, u saw at Turf city??? Cool...is it in the shops or kiosk??

i think House of Etiquette has got kuas as well.

Yeah making cheongsums there are so much cheaper. hmmm. too bad. fly there means that cheongsum is prce of cloth+price of workmanship+air tix+accomodation= BO HUA!!!!

i go and help u all see bah...

do give me the location of the shops there.

i will be looking out for kua shoes too

i think they should have a greater variety than singapore

Ok, got it.. think the best check with elders what they prefer.. whether to wear WG or teadress for tea ceremony at IL house.

Her dialect is hokkien. She get that idea coz she is trying ways & means for me not to wear my EG for the wedding banquet & wear what she wants. When she told me & hubby that, we looked at her & said how can.. my EG got train one.. & looks too 'drama' for tea ceremony, then she say why cannot.. weirdo right?

Haha, ya Compassrose, he used the clip and with one swish, all my hair was up! I must say I am very very pleased with all the gowns.

Karen, my flooring is also left over from the prev owner. Didnt do anything to it coz dun wan the extra hassle and also spend extra money since its in q gd condition

Just a note coz I experienced this before at one of my friend's wedding.. & it was hilarious! You know our WG comes with built-in padding so we do not need to wear bra right? But for my friend's teadress which is a qipao, it does not come with the built-in padding. & she forgot to pack a bra leh.. so when she was changing into her teadress then she realised she forgot to bring! Lucky her qipao is those thick brocade material one so can't see.. she got no choice but to go braless then. We laugh about it now but she reminded me about this so it won't happen to me.. so you all also take note ok? Hehe

Mei, ur MIL really think of ways to get things her way.. hee.. normally when i attend wedding, it is wear the WG to serve tea to in-laws then change to go back mum's place...

I will do it that way.. and for the sending off the guest after dinner, i will change to the tea dress too..

it's the red cheongsam style EG, right? it's beautiful!! gosh, why she dun wan u to wear during banquet...

mei, i really really really 'kowtow' to u for being so patient with ur MIL.

hee... mei, my friend also.. she was wearing her WG with padding then she never bring her bra.. then when she change to her kua, no bra!! like ur friend lucky the material is thick...

wow Mei, your MIL is really moving towards the limit. That beautiful red CS is perfect for the evening. she ah... terrible.

BTW, what I know of is the bride will serve tea to the ILs in her WG. Only when she is getting ready for 'home visit', she will change to her tea dress. This is to symbolize the passage of 3 days.

hahaha...then i have to accept it and make to do with that, since i have to think between our pocket and my likings.

Corsage, I kind of like your friend's idea, but mine is kind of tiles that has a design at the corner and four piece add together will have a pattern on it. hahaha... I think we have to crack our brain to make the whole place looks antique then i will be happy. hahaha...

Hui : I will be going to the BS to choose my gowns next Saturday, so I will seize the opportunity to ask the PG also. But the only thing that I am concerned is that they wont allow the PG to take for me. Instead, the DHL in charge will rather earn the bucks by taking the photo on their own, which I am not sure about the effect.

In doing the CPA, it's tiring after a long day of work and have to concentrate throughout the 3 hours of lecture and even worse in continuous for 2 days. By the end of the 2 days, will be tired down already. The good part is at least can take leave to study for exams though it's not many days, but at least something. It's always a trend, especially after exam period, will lose some weight also... whew.... Will take care... Thanks....

i going HK next month.

kua shoes shouldnt be pricey i think...

ladies do give me the shops names and location of the Kua shops in HK hor..

i go liao sure will take a look... haha

will give full detailed report when i am back :P

hopefully got enuff time to cover everything.

my first time there :D

Thanks Peilin, will go turf city to see.

Snowiee, they say Golden Plaza is the place where alot of shops selling wedding stuff. So u may want to try there.

Huiz: Yes, your gowns look really great!
Happy for you!

Karen,
What colour are your tiles? So we can brainstorm for you..hehe..quite fun

Another friend of mine also 'inherited' this kind of tiles. But he's lucky, his parents bought him an apartment at Leonie Hill. Real nice location but the insides are old. What he did was to pick out 1-2 colours from the tiles and played them up in the colours of the furnishings, and then kept everything else in a neutral colour. Great effect!

strawberries, my first fitting on 28 nov.. so excited now.. hee hee i'm taking off the rack so quite okay, dunhave to be worried of the look i want, just take watever that looks nice on me... =)

songs wise, its quite a headache for me... like chere mentioned have to think of 1st march in, 1st dish, 2nd march in and montage song... but i'll leave it to my FH, he has more songs that me... i always liten to song without remembering the tittle or the meaning.. hahahah

Hi Vanilla

My AD is next year Sept lei. You can ask Don to meet up with you to show you his samples. He is not the pushy type. He usually will meet up at Wheelock BK or Tiong Bahru Plaza.

I saw one sample that is even better than the one he posted on his website.

hi all, i'm back for a while b4 going for lesson at 12.

snowiee, my meeting with shirley will be mid december to discuss the design of my MTM evening gown. WG will most likely be otr cos i have reserved a piece already.

i'll most likely rent the kua from shirley since it is foc. but might wanna shop ard for a nice and reasonably priced tea dress. hopefully those chong sum inspired kind..

Mei, erm, if u wearing ur cheongsam, would u be able to kneel down to serve tea?
Dan tell ur MIL ur cheongsam too fitting, can stand n serve tea anot.. *evil luffs*

Karen,
I'm in a brainstorming mood..haha.. hope you don't mind. You don't have to use any of my ideas here at all, I'm just airing them for fun..hehe

Ideas:
1. Use single coloured rugs/small carpets in one or 2 of the colours shown on the tiles. Keep all other colours in the house neutral.
2. Get antique looking fans (either ceiling fans or standing fans)
3. Get an antique looking telephone
4. Go to Empire Cafe at Raffles Hotel to get some ideas (not replicate, but just for ideas for furnishings
See http://singapore-raffles.raffles.com/z912/restaurant_05.html
5. Get 1 door (maybe kitchen?) replaced with Peranakan swing doors
6. Do your own mini mosiac art deco on one small wall
7. Get table lights that have an antique/Peranakan feel (to go with your tiles)

Hehe, ookie, I'm going off now. Maybe later i may have more ideas