(2007) Brides of year 2007

I am looking abt 25-28 tables only.
Actually the dates chose by my mum is a Sun, she consulted the geomancer. But after meeting my FH parents, they say Sat better and that they are not happy that y must go with my mum when they say nothing....sigh....i also dunno how lah and in the end, my FH decided that maybe we shld go Sat coz he wants his guests to enjoy and also to drink till late.

Maybe I should look into Fri also....

I not so sure leh..
what i saw is purple colour...
hehe.. cos she say can next yr decide mah..
so I never really notice.. haha..

oic.. I will take note is eden..
since if urs is candlelight liao.. then u dun choose gold liao..
silver also cannot liao..
just now ur that gown u show us.. should be ok..
then pink but not blue I think..
my own opnion..hehe

cpl, thanks for ur advice... i tot the banks also charge interest on the initial loan amt.. didn't koe the interest is charged in watever balance of the loan.. so does dat means every mth pay lesser den the previous?

Hi all, I'm a Sept 2007 BTB!! Am new here

My AD will be on 16th.. same as you momo!
Venue is Fullerton Hotel. Booked already.
Everything else havent scouted yet.
Is my next step sourcing out BS? How you guys decide on BS?
Walk around an area with many BS eg Tanjong Pagar, or recommendations by friends/relatives is it?

Hi Jo,

The last time i attended my cousin's wedding the food was by Si Chuan Dou Hua. The food is yummy!
Hee... i nearly signed up with them but was later turned off by one of their staff when i called to look for Felicia. That attitude put my husband off though Felicia wrote to apologise.
She's a nice and sweet gal. It's a pity we did not sign up with her.

Orchard hotel food is not too bad too. The last time i went their hotel was not renovated though so i bet it looks good now.
Not a bad choice. Quickly go down to view the ballrooms and decide.

gelaine: thks for comments!!
Really help me alot! Ya, got to urge HB to make times to go down n view the ballroom and get this banquet thing done ASAP. Really dunno wat to do if there is no venue left. Thks! Thks!

yah I also thought it's too early to book, but since they have a Natas fair, seems like a good opp. Looking at the newspaper ads, it seems like a lot of freebies, when you buy with credit card... I never knew there were mini-washing machines. The mini fridge also looks cute.

but of course that's just marketing and we should not buy on impulse because of that... hee.

Mona - you doing reno now? I'm prob going to start in Nov. Which ID did you employ?

Hi aegean,

Yup, and we shared the same photographer for AD..
U mean for gown designing or fitting? When is your PS? Guess u must have set your mind on what u want that why you can selected the favors and wedding cards. So what favors do they offered?

Managed to comfirm my banquet at Four Seasons. Limited choices for wedding cards so i guess my decision making process should be quite fast and their wedding foavors are chocolate (boring!) Not much choices due to my small tables.

For VG, I am signing up with wedding paparazzi, but not VG for actual day. They have this thingy called concept video where we have the option of customised the video to re-enact how we met or think of any storyline and make it into our video. Quite interesting... If you guys are interested, let me know i can send you the package.

To all,
Ya, it going to be packed with ppl.. packages is really worth grabbing but for those going on F&E, it's not really much cheaper... Plus we need to pay for entrance fees, factor in the transport and parking fees..

hi jesdreamz,
long time no see... that day i went pass graceful image only... coz didn't see alot of pple there so just drove off.
i went tanjong pagar not long ago, there are alot of bridal shops. actually just wanted to check on sattine & santiago, but we went into the 1st 2 BS; jazreel & z weddings to take a look, quite scary... in the end i told my hubby i don't wanna see anymore, got fobia. maybe will go down another day to check the 2 BS.

hoz bridal room? nice gowns?

Hi jhoo,
I do not know about top loading washing machines, but for fridge, I kind of like LG. I like their spacious internal.

Hey Mei,
Congrats too. Do show us your pic when ready.
Now must be counting down....

Hey hushy,

Please do not go to Santiago!
I had very bad experience with them. They're blood suckers! Actually Santiago and Z-Weddings are under the same boss... so dun bother. Sattine is not bad though ... Their designers Dennis is a nice guy.
But i find their EG abit "ching chong", though their wedding gowns are gorgeous.

I'm also a Sep 2007 BTB....

My AD fixed on 30 Sep...
Venue not decided... still looking around...
BS & PS: French Bridal
AD-PG: Wan Sheng
AD-VG: Substance Films
NH: Pinnacle @ Duxton

I have finally confirmed my venue! Yahooo... hehe

My fiance went to confirmed it on wed
We will be having it at Meritus Mandarin...

hi twinkle,

hehee! dont want to leave these issues till the last minute so decided on the tentative card design 1st.

hi compassrose,
tell me more abt the concept video.
as for the favours, we prefer something more practical so decided on pralines.

oh.. im not having the PS. so only videographer and photographer on AD.

hi Alexys, ooh another Fullerton-er. Cool, have someone who'll understand the steps leading down into the ballroom are something I completely overlooked. and now I'm TOTALLY paranoid of tripping over my gown going down those steps, in classic arse-over-tit-style and landing squarely at the bottom on my bottom, making a grand entrance indeed. wah lau. 1 year to panic. then i thought of having husband carry me down but what if he trips too??? so verdict is absolutely no drink for me (or him for that matter) at cocktails.

Jokes aside, who did you deal with at the Fullerton? Was is Shue or Agnes? If it was Agnes, what's she like?

I hope you don't mind sharing, I'm planning my wedding from London and am only planning to come home once in December and another in June to sort everythng out. ambitious I know!!

p/s Alexys, i meant to tell you about the dress shops. it was a really laboured experience going round the shops because even though you make the appointment, very few were willing to let you actually try on the dresses. it's a catch-22 situation, where you'd have to 'sign up' with them before they let you anywhere near their rack. I chose Irene's because there was no pressure at all.

i popped in one afternoon, unanounced, browsed, spoke to the designer, asked her to show me her drawings. made an appointment and when i came back the second time, she let me try on dresses for over an hour. i went and tried to do the same thing in tanjong pagar and they were not having any of it, they were more interested in selling photography packages. it was their "see no touch" attitude that put me off, even when I asked if I could try on stuff when i called to make the appointment. So i went back to Irene's and told her she got the job.

since then, i've been back in london and been to 3 dress shops. i've enjoyed the experience here so much more. when i went to seem them, i tried to tell them what I like but they said very plainly, it's not what I like that I should wear, but what I look good in. so they dressed me up with all sorts, slim gowns, big gowns, silk ones, satin, chiffon, tulle, lace, a-line, princess, empire, mermaid, straps, no straps and each outfit with veil, shoes and jewellery. each appointment I had was over an hour long (with tea and biscuits too). shame I won't buy their dresses because I'm only canvassing ideas but it's confirmed my original decision about going with Irene's. that they've been in the business long enough to know only by not pushing and working with so many brides that they're confident of dresssing me well that I can trust them.

my advice is, keep an open mind. the styles that i really liked, i didn't look as good in as the styles that i didn't think i would.

as for how to go about doing it, simple. don't tell them what you want up front; interview THEM first - ask them what they can do, what their strengths are, what materials they work well with, what their previous clients were like (do you fit the same profile), whether they've had shows, ask them to show you their best work then you decide whether or not you can work with them.

It's pretty hard for them to work with you too if you don't trust them and keep calling to find out if their sourced that french lace or got those crystals etc.

hi xy,
congrates!!
load off your mind, rite??
this is so exciting.... we'll be at the same venue at the same time....

looking forward to 2007.... hee....

hi mOmO,

i've got the same problem as you about the number of tables being not too many, not too few...
some of the big hotels require minimum 30 tables... and some maximum @ 30.... i've got about 25-28 tables as well... so if the minimum is 30, they're not willing to compromise... so i didnt have bargaining power... but im not really comfortable with max 30, cos im afraid if my guest list grows eventually, then i might end up having to remove some guests....

but if you do not have the same issue as i had (about a growing guest list), perhaps you can try hyatt.... i've been to look at their stamford ballroom... very nice.... pillarless... can accomodate a max of 30 tables....

pan pac is also able to accomodate your requirement... i went to check the place out too...

another hotel you might wanna check out, meritus mandarin... the ballroom that i've booked is belvedere... minimum of 25, max 35... but one downside is there are pillars in the ballroom... if you dun mind....

just a few suggestions....

hi jhoo/honey milk tea,

i bought mitsubishi fridge & thomson top load... heard f&p fridge good...

need any contact to chk price? i bought mine frm dav electronics... save me quite abit for the washer compared to courts etc...

ok gals, thank you for the recommendation , beside Mitsubishi Fridge, is Samsung good reliable? Cos Mitsubishi fridge quite X, jhoo and me no $$ liao, correct jhoo?
As for washing machine any comments on Panasonic??
Err... kapo abit more..,
Mei remember to ask your hubby to walk slower when u 2 walk in towards the solem table. Let your guest take more pics and video of u 2...

Piglet
Haha, me & jhoo not cute lah, so ur hubby is pooh bear or Tigger?

Hi Shers,
Thank you, so can share with us how big and the cost of the Mitsubishi fridge u bought? 2 compartment type? dimension??570 x 570 x 1705mm?

hi jhoo/honey milk tea,

Fisher & paykel is good bt the price is abit steep comparing to others. LG is oso a good for washing machine n fridge. My mum had used LG washing machine for abt 10 yrs.

Mr Honey-Milk-Tea...then isn't im the black pearl?

Mei, what he mean is during our time, he walked so fast and was like pulling me to the solemnizer..i cant even enjoy the walk HOR, MR Honey-milk-tea...

Jazol, 10years? that's good, any problem throughout the 10 years?

Shers, yes, i need the contact, can send to me? [email protected]

hi AleXys, joying,
warm welcome to you gals!!

hi AleXys,
thought just to share my experience of BS searching...

my fiance and i took a weekend to walk along tanjong pagar to look at other BS.... some of them are very hardsell... the moment they see you approaching, they'll be ready with their namecards and keep asking you to go into their shop to sit down and discuss with their coordinators...

i went into 3-4 shops to look at their gowns and spent about 20-30 mins in each, talking to their coordinators.... but i told them upfront that i would not be signing on the spot....

actually i had in mind a particular BS before i started my search.... the BS was kinda recommended by relatives.... so eventually i signed up with that BS....

just some advice that i got from my friends and relatives... when searching for BS, can just tell them you wanna try on their gowns.... look thru a few of their gowns... do not sign up with the BS just becos you like only one of their gowns.... cos i've heard of gals who love the gown on display and sign a package with the BS, then regret their choice cos they couldnt see anything else they like and had to forfeit their deposit, or worse, had to sell their package....

and i've read somewhere in the forum (another thread, i think) that when you're prepared to sign with a BS, to get a galfriend to go along... so the galfriend can help you to bargain... and also not to give the "sales person" a chance to pressure your hubby/fiance/bf... cos most of the time they'll tell the groom-to-be "you'll want your bride to be beautiful, rite?", those kinda words to make the guy sign....

just my 2 cents worth.... hope it'll be useful to you....

BS shopping is very fun... especially trying on the gowns.... so enjoy the process....

Jhoo
okie loh, then next time I call u "Hei zhen Zhu"

Mei
it's like that one lah, u 2 dun be shy during the walk in, enjoy it, as it's the moment that both of u are in the centre of attraction. maybe can wave at the guests ,just like national day parade...??

Jazol
Really ah, LG product can last that long meh??

is this the thread for Dec 07 brides? I'm tentatively going to hv my customary in Dec.

Is it too late to look for a venue for a Sat banquet now? Looks like many already booked leh.

hi fushica...
welcome!
u have which hotels in mind?
and what is ur date?
maybe u let us know..
some of us here may know if its still available..

i feel so welcomed here! hehee. tks.

the venues that are currently within my budget are M Hotel, Novotel Clark Quay, Hotel Rendezvous & Peony-Jade. Me looking at 8 Dec 2007.

Welcome Fushcia. I heard lots of popular hotels are booked on Sat. Best to email those u have shortlisted to find out more

hitachi loan comes from hitachi credit finance company. Official website: http://www.hitachi-credit.com.sg/03_consumer/00_consumer.html

website not really helpful, pls get more details from the IDs that linked up with them
Its interest rate is the lowest (by far) in the market.

Yeah, a normal loan calculates your interest on the remaining sum left. Example:
Monthly payment = $300 (say 50% goes to paying your interest, 50% goes to paying off your principal)
After one year, your remaining sum is lower right? By then your $300 becomes 20% pay interest, 80% pay your principal.

hehe...hope I explained well enough. If you compare deeply enough, taking the hitachi loan means you would be paying higher interest in the long-run.

tulips, which package are u looking at?? the sliver, gold or the platinum one??

u manage to ask for any freebies.

hi fushcia, welcome welcome

fuschia, u better check with the hotels on the availablity of the dates u ask for.. if can request for tentatively booking first.

for my case, i am looking at 22nd dec and many many hotels ballrooms already booked.

fuschia...
so far havent hear the hotels that u listed are full.. maybe u can try calling them up..
8th I think still ok.. not 15th or 22nd..
as what eve says.. if can make a tentative book 1st..
if dun want also can..

Hi Eve, I'm looking at Silver first because my min tables required is 55. I haven negiotiate with them yet. Will go thru n see what others I need then I go back to them to discuss. So far whatever I want they do provide for me.
Shang is quite flexible.