(2007) Brides of year 2007

hey fushcia

wah, private suite leh...wheeuuueee. I did mine in Cherish :p the cheapest that cost us $128...sigh, govt really know how to make money.

for lunch reception hor, u wanna try teahouse at China Square?
Meets ur budget, coz their lunch buffet (tim sum + some other food) is $15+++ for adults. Quite worthwhile lar
It's by the Tung Lok group. Last time ate it for lunch, pretty good!

For me i will be hungry w/o carbs :P. I tried to go exercise more regularly, the weight still the same, but i think i feel toner... the problem is still my big tummy.. dun know how to get rid of it.

Girls, do you think take PS inside Gym will turn out nice?

Tung Lok grp the food quite good right?

Snowiee, nightmare coz didn't enjoy myself lor. =P
Plus I broke up with my bf that night =P who incidentally I am inviting to the wedding. am inviting all my ex bfs (who all end up being my friends. hahaha)

cpl, the rest of the rooms not available liao so hv to take pte suite.

teahouse @ CS? thanks for the recommendation.

but hor, i dun even know how to get to CS from Fort Canning..issit near? heehe.

me direction idiot one.

Hi Hi Schnauzie,

Thx thx thx for the encouragement. Ya, super last min but I do believe still can be done. Guess I have to DIY than to hunt for a planner.

Big Headache on the wedding gown esp. Couple of my friends recommended me to look see look see along the Tanjong Pagar street ..seems that they are all the same right?

Gals out there,

What do you think of Margaret Brides?

Bliss garden at Expo is free flow beer, wine + hard liquors :ppp

sigh, I headache lar...u all so fast today :p plus I'm still in dilemna over the venues for the banquet
Heart itchy...keep wanting nice nice hotel with nice nice ballroom....then head say cannot coz sure lugi. how huh, ladies? help help?

Novotel CQ normal package no free flow beer. But u can nego with them to take away their 1 wine per table in return for free flow lor.

Thanks Jenn for updating.

Hi xy

Mine and my sis's house was designed & renovated by Raymond of U-home. His design is pretty modern and nice. Have recommended him to a few friends. A nice and flexible guy to talk to. Let me know if you need his contact. Can ask him for a quotation first.

joyz , not my package la..

i meant meritus mandarin got free flow of beer and free 1 bottle of wine per table.

i didnt sign up with them

fushcia, yeap, they quite near lar. but u planning to walk in ur nice nice ROM gown and shoes? :p coz it'll take u abt 15mins to walk from Fort Canning to China Square leh.

Fort Canning - near Funan Centre
China Square - Junction of Golden Shoe/Capital Square

oh yeah, if I remember correctly hor, they also got pte function rooms ;) can call them and ask if got extra charge not

too bad, meritus mandarin min tables is 35. else can consider them...

Hi SummerIce,

You can take more protein like fish, chicken breast, even red meat, eggs. Maybe cut down on dinner only, we still need the carbs for energy. Normally, it is advisable to take 5 small meals daily instead of 3 full meals. I guess with regular exercise, we should be able to loose weight.

Hi sok fung,

Of cuz it will be easier to go for one stop BS but i heard services may not be excellent. Just get all of the perks in black and white. You will do fine.. I just confirm my banquet recently which is considered very late cuz just another 6 months to go.

stary, nt sure of the price for gabriel mendes, all i koe is dat he is more expensive den kelvin, i supposed u muz at least be prepared to pay $3k.. tink a normal AD package from kelvin is abt $1.8k which excludes the album?? mine was the old price coz i booked him real early in jun tis yr.. mine was $2k++ incl. coffeetable album. tell ur FH 'yi fen qian yi fen huo'.

sok fung - think margaret brides is pretty established..but dunno y i always got the impression that they r good with lace gown. goin to tanjong pagar can be a scary experience esp with those touting outside..they may hardsell u into signin a package which u might regret..think u shld buy all the local wedding mag available then see which shop's gown u likt then shortlist some 3 to 5 shops and only go to those u a;ready like.

girls - have to abstain from anything with carb..rice, noodle, bread all cannot...it was realli tuff so i cant abstain 100% i eat rice but v little..maybe like 2 tablespoon or 1 tablespoon at most..then take more veg or fish soup..just eat the dish but don take the carb...quite difficult to find such dish i realise...sporeans are a carbo loving nation.

snowiee... means after u went down to see..
mine was like asking me to confirm through the phone wor..

cpl.. which ones u seen liao?

Wow.. Bearbit, you have to start looking for wedding bands le esp so if you are particular about design, custom made also need a month in advance. Then maybe can buy when they have promo? December is just 2 months away.

me just contacted TCC. Thinking of having my reception at TCC in SMU. pretty nice place & they accept reservations for pte function!

woohoo!! waiting for their menu accordingly to my budget per pax.

Hi Sok Fung,

MB's decor is very nice.. very country and cottages feeling when i step in. For her designs, you will have a very girly feeling when u try on her gowns. She uses alot of laces and her designs is very clean. In my opinon, it's slightly too simple.. I will perfer the dreamy types with lotsa frills..

But again, if you do MTM, you can have the gown designed to your liking.. Margaret is very friendly and she is not pushy at all. I almost sign up with her but choose another BS in the end becos my friend recommended it and I heard great feedbacks about it..

mine ah.. urs confirm through phone .. mine through email only ..

about the same right?

cpl, meritus mandarin got a lot of ballrooms wor.

how many tables are you looking at?

The Act 1 only requires 15 tables min
other ballrooms got like max 20 tables
some require min 25 tables - 35 max

they got a lot of ballrooms wor.. u can try out meritus mandarin

snowiee...
I blur liao.. u got meet them b4 u confirm rite?
mine was like the 1st time I meet her was to like sign the contract leh..
then everything through phone..

Hi sok fung,

i agree with compassrose, MB is good with lace but she does have other kind of gown. Her gowns are more simple n clean, not much beadings n embro kind. If u like clean n simple can go to her. When i went to MB the first thing she ask me is do i like her style, coz she wont change her style even if MTM i guess.

no la.. the first meeting was i want to sign already...

i chop chop one... haha....

just like meritus mandarin i wanted to make appointment with them.. actually first meeting with meritus my intention was also to sign up liao..

not just for viewing pleasure..hehe

so u met up once only ah? or met your cordinator twice ?

Hi Sok Fung,

Yup, I heard Margaret Brides specialises on lace as well.

I didn't go to the tanjong pagar stretch at all after hearing a few horror stories. Sometimes, when I'm just walking down the road to get to a restaurant, they will try to pull me in as well!

I'm with Divine couture, and really like their gowns and A* for service in my experience. They are tasteful designers and will advise such that your gown makes you look nice (e.g. what enhances height etc), whilst taking into consideration what you like (e.g. I have this thing for off-shoulder gowns, and they suggested these detachable shoulder attachments).
Price wise, my MTM package was slightly cheaper than Wedding Present, Bridalveil etc, but think their prices now will prob be the same (around 3988).

Hope this helps. Just my opinion (and from some friends' feedback), but some one-stop bridal shops quote you cheaply for the basic package, but most of their profit margins lie in the photographs so don't be surprised if they really hardsell you when your PS is over. The total cost can be the same / more, compared to when you use a wedding boutique that is tied to a separate photographer. For me I don't intend to get a whole lot of photos, so really didn't want to undergo the hardsell.

Happy searching - it's quite fun!

Hi Babystarlet n Happylife, thanks for your prompt reply.

As I'm always flying around, my off days are so precious when I'm in Singapore, usually spending time with FH or catching up with family n friends. Plus im getting my keys end Oct so will also be busy with renovation. Since I'm so pressed for time I will probably not be getting the rings custom made.

Most prob will check out the stores for the rings soon. Where did u gals get your rings?

snowiee, izzit? O.o then I must be seeing things...coz I tot need to have min 35 tables to confirm wor. *go digs up emails*

Jas, I've seen Plaza Parkroyal, Furama Riverfront, Grand Plaza Parkroyal, Holiday Inn Atrium, Amara. Seriously speaking, my problem lies with the cost per table vs the ideal ballroom. My hubby just keep flip flopping lor...coz he knows I wan nicer hotels but he don't want us to end up making a loss for the banquet. sigh....

oh......i know y I confused liao...I mixed up Le Meridien and Meritus Mandarin. Any ladies know what's MM's 2007 pricing like for weekend dinner?

Dear jazol (tryphena),

Many thanks for the kind advise... I've drop a email to them... waiting for their respond...

Can you tell me more information about this PG? How how much does he charge?
Many thanks!

drea...
we are talking about the service of Mertius Mandarin... and how she signed up with Marina Mandarin.. cos I say my coordinator with Marina Mandarin service was gd..

snowiee..
so fast... mine was to know more during the 1st meeting.. then go back and decide again..
so means I meet up with her twice..
cos need to discuss with mum and hubby..
and I scare I make the wrong decision.. then my hubby will nag.. cos he say I like can liao.. then if I regret he will "kill" me..

Hi Sok Fung,

Welcome to the thread. There's still 6 months to go till Mar 07 and I too believe that there is still enough time to get the major things done.

I am also cutting down on rice at night. Eat more vege and protein. That should be able to give the full feeling. The other alternative is to eat brown rice. I think that is very good esp when it can keep us full for a longer period of time.

Hi schnauzie,

My PS is only in Jan, so I guess my BS is also not feeling the stress to rush things for me. But I am getting kan cheong! Haha

Hi Mona,

I sewed both the bride and groom's clothes. The bride's gown is still easy, just need to stitch some lace together. The groom's suit I had to borrow those teddy books from the library and cut out the coat and trouser templates, transferred the templates to the cloth, cut them out and finally machine sew them.

cpl, meritus mandarin prices are as follows:

Weekday Dream Package
Minimum 250 Persons or 25 Tables $658+++ Per Table
* Weekday (Monday – Thursday, Exclusive of Eve & Public Holidays)

Weekend Nirvana Package
Minimum 250 Persons or 25 Tables $788+++ Per Table
* Weekend (Friday – Sunday, Eve & Public Holidays)

Premium Package
Minimum 250 Persons $1188+++ Per Table
Optional
Free Flow of Wine $30+++ Per Table

cpl...Mertius Mandarin small ballrooms is $748+++
big ones is $788+++

Amara and furama waterfront and HIA should be ok bah..
think less than $800 should be able to recover..
understand ur problem..
cos last time my hubby's budget is $800 then also very difficult cos I want hotel with no pillars ballroom...

Hi Ladies, I was looking at Garbriel mendes...but after u ladies say he quite ex. I got to do research some more...heheheh...not worth it izzit?

ya lor.. finally he say ok..
cos I told him I want pillarless..
then I go search all not within his budget..
then he see me so ke lian.. he agree lor..

hehe..I paiseh liao..
as long as he can afford he will let me have it lor.. hehe

my uncle has his wedding there b4 liao.. then
my mum say the food not nice..so cannot..

Hi CPL, I attended a wedding at Bliss before..food is good...and it can hold a lot of tables...

Fushcia, teahouse at China square not bad too..my bro had his ROM there this year..they can reserve a room for you at no extra cost..=)

Huiz, thanks for the info. It seems vry diff to make the groom's suit
. will try to finish the bride's gown first. i think i will hand sew them, dun hv sewing machine.

huiz and mona - i saw this shop at the meritus mandarin shopping gallery that specialise in bear accessories..like clothes and stuff..maybe u can go and check it out.

my gown fitting is next week, think i will bring my accessories there to take a look at the effect. my gown is v v simple and my accessories is eve simpler so i am afraid tt the overall effect will be dowdy..but frens have assured me that with the make up and hairdo the simple look will not turn out dowdy ;( but i am still worried...even my evening gown is simple >(...dunno wat i was thinkin

Hee, Rinnie, I just put Bliss Garden for Fushcia's consideration
My minimum requirement will still be hotel lor....coz think at the end of the banquet, don't think have the energy to even go back home, unpack stuff, remove makeup etc etc :p

sigh...don't think he'll wan meritus liao. I sad leh, becoz of this issue, he already black face me twice. He also say I ke lian, then he upset coz he count here, count there, still cannot come up with the extra funds to cater for a nicer hotel. So basically, now we flip flopping lor which is frustrating coz I really wanna settle the hotel fast

M Hotel is available on 8 Dec 2007 leh! I made tentative booking liao.

Going down this week to take a look.

Anyone liase with Zul from M Hotel before? I asked him if we can go down on Sat to take a look & he asked me can make it on Friday or not?

aiyo...i'm starting to get peeved on their svc lial.