(2007) Brides of year 2007

hi strawberries,erm,maybe u can hint to those who wanted 2 be ur jie meis tht u more or less already gt xxx to be jie mei.
u can get gowns from daniel yam,they have nice and affordable gowns,if nt,can go lavendar at city hall there,but price is a bit steep

babystarlet been to daniel yam and lavender.. kind of worried lahz.. cuz me a plump gal..so not all designs fit me lehz.. so wat other suggestions..??

I'm Esther....u look familiar too....I'm from mayflower also....I was in NPCC for a while then was pulled to play basketball for the school....

U definitly look familiar...

Hi all, I have booked my BS today with my FH. My BS is The Bridal Room opp Bugis Junction. I saw lots of excellent comments on their BS so I can't help but to check it out myself. As I was saying earlier, I think new BS really provides excellent service which is what me and FH are looking for. You may want to check out the forum comments in this website or styleweddings.

When I walked into their shop to check it out, I was very impressed with their photography skills and the deisgn. We met the photographer, Sam lai, who was at the shop when we went in to check out. I was very impressed with the style of the design and the shots taken. I am a layman when it comes to photography shots. I have visited other BS but there was no shots which I was impressed with. However, when i saw their works, I was going "wow" the photos are really very nice and beautiful. The places that they went to take pics were beautiful too.

I was also very impressed by their service. The person who served me did not do his hard selling method on my FH and me and we were very comfortable talking to him. He was also very flexible and generous in the package to meet our needs. Their gowns are also very beautiful. Actually, I am a layman when it comes to gown design too. In my opinion, as long as the WG looks good on me, i do not mind off the rack. Well, this is just my opinion. Everyone has different needs and liking. This is just another option for those of you who have not decided on their BS. Although they are a new BS, they have vast experience in this industry which is another plus point for me to sign up with them.

In short, I was very happy with my package and their service attitude. Well I am one step closer to my wedding preparation. ;)

Yo yozz.....paiseh. The gila one out of commission coz down with flu. sigh...

Eh anyone got lobang for wine also let me know yeah? Still dunno if having dinner or reception. Sighz. Then if I got left over bottles, who wants ah? =P

Eh Tulip n WP super cute eh u 2....both from same sch and all. heh heh..

Eh, I show u all something.
www.easy-glass-engraving.blogspot.com

My FH did the angel thing as an idea for wedding favours for our wedding. Then he tot of putting our names after the horn there...like as those the angel is "broadcasting" our name and wedding date like that.

What you guys think?

drea...

ur FH really creative and clever leh...
I know what are u trying to say.. then the names and date will be in the middle of two angels rite?
nice..
ur FH also so sweet..
will think of this kind of things..
my hubby will say use the hotels ones lor..

Hi Nee,
Glad i m not the only blur one..heehee

Hi XHZ,
We tried for a few times but in the end,we tried the walk-in exercise for Depot and got it.
In the end,we did not choose redhill cos we find the mrt a bit noisy and wanted somewhere quieter.
Alot of people like redhill area cos it is near the mkt,mrt,central location.
So it depends on wat u like..

Hi Strawberry,
Wat is your size?I'm a L size and bought a wine red dress very flattering dress from Daniel Yam,wore only once,if you want,I can sell it to u at a special price.

strawberries, have u tried I.S? I find their dress is quite nice and affordable also... I am also not slim but I managed to find some dress that looks nice on me... =)

Actually hor, I prefer to wear 2 pc then to wear dresses.. so maybe to can shop for a nice top to go with ur skirts and stuffs to reduce costs.. =)

Sorry I made you all write compo...now I see.

Gelaine- Agreed that in your case it was a blessing in disguise.

I guess because I have not gone thru my ROM yet, so in my mind all I'm thinking abt is how to save money...different people have different priorities hee..

hi gals, did u all go to the philips sales, i didnt go coz i was at home celebrating my birthday with my twin sister n family. so did u all grab any good bargain?

kaye, congrates on the confirmation!! did u manage to "chop" ur hubby for the meal? I also agree the part on the $. they really flow out very fast!

jhoo, enjoy ur trip! and JIAYOU on the exams! btw, did M hotel revert to u on the food tasting? i sent e-mail to aaron also no reply.

Yuki, the other time for my ROM, i paid $438 for my ROM package. if u need more info, can PM me. this is their website. http://www.niorcreation.com/

diaodu, thanks for the effort to compile the list for us!

been awhile since i last log on, there are so many posts!

after reading what gelaine wrote, i also feel that getting a VG for my AD is not necessary now. it's a pity i didn't get a VG for my ROM then... Tassie, u really really should invest abit on this. ROM is the best memory ever.

jes, hv u seen gowns fr the wedding present? wat u think?

kaye, BS gown a bit over? i still havent seen my BS gown yet so not sure ...FH say if possible get frm BS then can save $$ ...

diaodu, so sweet of u to compile the list ..thanks a lot ...u getting any stuff there?

Mei, yap but i still dunno wat design i wan so headache ...keke :P long or short dress look better ah? thanks for the link i will have a look

piglet, me nvr go for philip sales coz FH working so i went facial n back hm .........keke :P ur ROM package include makeup and hairdo and bouquet right? can i check if got to go their shop for makeup or they will come our plc? i go their website c c first :P

jhoo, enjoy ur trip okie ...have a nice weekend there

hi yuki,

ya the ROM package is initially $388 but i paid $50 for the makeup artist to come to my house.. ya include the dress to keep, the makeup and the bouquet...

i am getting married on my FH's birth date. Isnt that cool? But my colleague told me that it is not very good to have double happiness. (she said it was bad for the couple) I am worried but I think I will ask the Fengshui master again.

BKK gals, I am back finally. Was starting to speak thai there already.

anyone starting to exercise ??? I am going to drag my buddy to jog with me every weekend.

I havent booked the JP yet. Anyone can recommend someone who can speak mandarin and english?

Hi strawberries, there is also JUST boutique which specialises in gowns and ROM dresses. They also have cool two pcs to mix and match ard.

wow cool! andrea & hubby so creative!!! the glass engraving is a nice idea but then while it may look ez, i think it's something not everyone can pick up, esp pple like myself and my hubby cos seemed liked u need to have super steady hand this crafy for tracing and the engraving to create nice design.

andrea, nice piece of work done!!!!! ;)

heh heh...glad to hear you guys like it.

my FH say he dun mind doing for u guys as favours for your weddings also. (of coz won't be same design lah =P)

It's an interesting twist to the normal wedding favours the hotel gives and u guys can personalise it. Can even choose what glass things u guys wanna use...

Just an idea =)
If you guys want more info, just PM me yeah?

Jas: Feeling better. Just worn out from work. This wk a lot of stuff.

Oh, went to check out La Vie today. So fed up man. At first the guy was very nice, explain the package and stuff. Then the min he hear my FH and I dun wan studio photo, he like not as enthu liao...Dun even let me check out the gowns, don't let me try, and then only show the gowns in the bridal mag ads leh....Then as we were leaving, can tell me that i should lose some weight before the wedding. WAH LAU...I tell I was fuming mad lor....At first didn't let it bug me, after that, I kept asking my FH if I need to lose or no need. Biang eh....Sheesh

How was everyone else's weekend ah?
Miracle, ur tiramisu need to take a backseat first. Still hunting for ingredients =P Hee hee

Andrea, the glass engraving is indeed an interesting idea for a wedding favour... mi signed with club chinois for AD banquet and the favours is either personlised stamps or 2pcs chocolate. still tinking whether to get my own favours. coz chocolate eat already will digest mah, den the stamps maybe ppl juz thrown away lor..

AD same as BD, then no reason or excuse to forget already. Also no need to remember so many dates. Next time got kids BD too.

Last time i wanted my ROM date to be on my BD, but didnt book early so cannot get.

If i want my AD to be on my BD then will be about 1yr later, our house will be empty for too long. Not very good. If on my HB BD then it will be too rush for us. So we just choose a mth that we think its o.k for us.

Just to share my joy, i finally selected my gown n sign with the BS.

Hi ladies!! I just came back from Batam. It's quiet in here tonight...

Andrea, it's really very creative of you and your FH to come out with that. An ingenious idea!! Your wedding favours will have a personal touch loh...By the way, dun let that man at La Vie get into you and dampen your spirits in your prep for the Big Day. I've met some nasty sales people before and I know how U feel.

andrea.. take a good rest wor..

where is La vie? Havent heard of them before... u intending to take MTM package or OTR package?

By the way Andrea, U should have told the man this:

If your designer is up to standard and the gowns are beautiful, then brides of ALL shapes and sizes should look great in it. If a bride has to lose weight in order to look good in your gown, that goes to show that your gown isn't that great after all!

hi ladies!!

slgerman: thanx fer the offer.. my size can be L or XL depending on cutting.. btw i need to get white or ivory so dun tink so.. thanx anyway

clueless: I.S L size i cant fit lehz.. but then like i say varies on the cutting......

fudgecake: where is this JUST boutique?? perhaps i can drop by to take a look..

hi strawberries... where u stay ?

They have boutiques at northpoint, tiong bahru plaza, china sq central, century sq... can call 6536 5698 to inquire on the locations

Hi SummerIce,

Yah, if the AD is the same as BD there's surely no reason to forget the dates. But of course, the pressies must be big.... just joking ;-P My ROM was on 12 Sept 06. It was when I booked the date that I realised it's one day after 11/9!

Congrats SummerIce! So which BS did u go with?

Lavender has nice dresses for ROM, walked past the shops a few times before... sigh, too bad my ROM over liao n i'm too big to fit into their dresses also.. LOL

Bluberi, where is Lavender?

Andrea, that La Vie man sux. Who is he to tell you to lose weight? I can't agree more with Aihui. If one needs to lose weight in order to look good in his gown, then i guess he's not tt gd afterall.

Anyway gers, I am desperately searching for dresses to wear for ROM this December. But... i dunnoe where!!!
Should i wear it short or long? Which BS to choose from? Empire? Jess Haute Couture? Which MUA to use? Aiyo.. sianz!!

Aihui and miracle, the holidaes are ending. Jus lidat. I haven rest enough! Term 4 is gonna be very busy and I am not looking forward at all.. =(

hi drea...

oic..
work cant be done finish.. slowly..

wah.. how come the ppl to stuck up one..
forget it.. go for others..
u where got need to lose weight?

hi snowiee..

me havent..maybe will meet him next wkend.. hehe..
I like super auntie this wkend...
cos my parents go for "honeymoon".. haha..

Hi Yuki,

Sometimes, the BS gown thta they provided for you is too grand for a simple affair. Or either that, the gown is not fitting for the bride. Anyway, this type of $$ cant be saved also. I was lucky to hv my mum to tailor made my ROM dress at the last min... If not, i think i will hv spend more than $500 on my ROM dress.

Hi all, haven't been in this thread for a while. My Fiance and I have decided to take Fullerton as our wedding planner managed to help us get more perks. But too bad, they don't have a June date for us. So we're going for 1st July 2007.

BS is next on my list. Anyone got any to recommend? I saw Style Bridal yesterday when I went for Elegance Home. Oh ya, anyone got ID to recommend? Hee..

i totally agree wif ai hui... a good designer will know which gown best fit one's fgure, be it plump, thin, tall, short... anyway if pple like andrea needs to slim down then we are hopeless case liao lor!!!! that man is such an idiot!

anyway i have yet went for any BS shopping... but u mean they wld allow u to take a look and try on their gowns b4 signing the package? cos my friends told me these BS dun do that lor

anyway janrick, it all depends what kinda atmosphere u wanna create and also the location plays a part... if u wanna something casual and relaxed then go for a short dress. long dress wld be for something more formal.. so it all depends on u ;)

i went to both Empire and JHC to shop for my ROM dress b4 too. both places have nice simple dresses so if u want something simple w/o much detailing, both wld be good. moreover JHC provides for flowers and MUA as well. but in the end i went for my designer cos i want my short dress to have some details and since i dun wanna a bouquet but a wrist corsage hence JHC or even Empire does not suit me cos at the end of the day i pay almost the same for my designed dress, wrist corsage & MUA as that of JHC and Empire but i have a nice detailed dress to take home ;)

jaslyn!!! u sure wake up very early! weekdays so early, ur weekends too??!

oh yah janrick... understand some BS offers ROM package too. so instead of shopping for the ROM dress, u might try shopping for BS first and then bargain for free ROM package. bridal industry so competitive, sure can bargain for freebies one ;)

Hi all, My FH and I have decided to take Fullerton as our wedding planner managed to get more perks out of them.

Yesterday I went to Elegance Home @ Expo. Saw a few IDs and also Style Bridal for like 5 hours. My FH and I were darn tired.

How many IDs did those who renovated saw?

ROM Date: 4th March 2007
ROM Venue: Stadium Waterfront(1st Date and Proposal Place)
AD Date: 1st July 2007
AD Venue: Fullerton
Wedding Planner: Serene from Wicked Plans
BS: ?
PG: ?
VG: ?
MUA: ?
Love Nest: Jalan Damai
ID: ?

heh heh..thank u all for being so nice =)

But seriously lor, if u all want, can just let me know if u want for ur wedding lor. Maybe can even combine the 2 together? Like aihui say the chocolate. Maybe can put them together in a glass like the one of the website or on a small plate, so no need to worry about repackaging?

www.easy-glass-engraving.blogspot.com

In case there are some who no idea wat talking the me =P

La Vie is at Tras St. Not considering them liao> just that my FH saw in their ad that their halter style gowns are nice lah so tot can go check it out. But wah lau got this kinda attitude. Then smemore keep ans the phone never even say excuse me first neh! Sheesh....

Hi lifeisgood (cherimoya) ,

choosing BS will be a long process...take ur time to choose and compare the prices and offers...tanjong pagar got a lot...u can attend bridal shows when they throw in more freebies.generally the price starts from $3.3K but look out for hidden terms and conditions..ask for more photos for free..cos topping them up may add another $4k to $8K..so the total package turns out to be $8K at least instead of the mere $3.3K..u may wan to take a look at my frens' wedding photos at WHITELINK here...

hi strawberries,tink daniel yam can have larger sizes 1.
btw jus an advise,white will make 1 lookes a bit more bigger size,perhaps u can consider takn pink,red etc

hi lifeisgood,congrats in ur venue selection
i can reco my ID to you,he's good and responsible.
can ask him for a quote,no obligations.
he's called darren,from aranus,u can call him at 91084363,say u reco by susan

Yeah Janrick, but Term 4 will be better for me...cos I teaching P6!! Hee hee...

I'm thinking of getting my tea dress from Lavendar next year.
Hey gals, my colleague made a comment. I asked her if I would look better in a toga or halter neck for evening gown and she said that halter neck will be safer cos not all gals can carry off the look of a toga. What do U think??

Jas, what did U do over the weekend that's so auntie? kekekeke...

WP is right about BS offering ROM package too. So if you have already signed up ur bridal package with them and intending to go for a rom package too, u can bargain for more things from them.

Hi Ai hui...

me look after my youngest bro on fri and sat..
then this morning go market!
I never go wet market one leh.. always my mum go..
imagine I take one wallet, wear shorts go wet market then squeeze with the aunties then being called auntie.... aiyo.. super auntie and sad lor ..
I faster buy faster come back liao.. haha..

wah jas so hardworking today... hehe

and for rom packages hor.. i think it depends on different BS.

My BS doesnt offer any special ROM packages ... maybe i will check it out with her again when I go meet her this month for the design of the gown.

was reading all of your posts about preparation for ROM ..now getting abit indecisive cos original plan was just having my family and HTB's family go down to the registry, witness the solemnisation and then proceed to some restaurant for a meal..only thinking of getting my bro to take pics...now am wondering whether I should buy a videocam to record myself or get a VG or just scrape the whole thing...is having VG for AD really not necessary?