(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi alicia,

We plan to go for a short trip but still not sure where. maybe NZ, maldives, intially wanted to go Australia but u say it is too hot. so might give up the idea.. if i really spend too much on the wedding, we will go to bali...

Compassrose:
If you only have 15 tables, you can try using the Asian Civilisations Museum for your dinner! I checked it out, it can take a max of 19 tables
It is a gorgeous gorgeous place, and cocktails can be overlooking the Singapore river! Beautiful

Yes, MM food is supposedly not bad, I've not tried myself though. Hee..

Huiz:
I also seriously think that you can start an online biz
Maybe you can start by making for friends, then go by word of mouth. Another idea is that instead of selling, you may want to rent out some of the stuff. eg. Ring Pillow & Ang Pow Box
I think pple will be interested, esp those who don't really want to keep these things after the wedding. I make lotsa accessories and have been doing them for friends' weddings. Maybe after my wedding (when have more time), I may want to go full swing into it too
See how lar...

Wah Huiz...

you're amazing. I want to say domestic goddess, but you know what i mean lah. you must be really fast at crocheting! I like making scrapbooks and cross-stitch and jigsaws, but your albums really look IMPRESSIVE. the cover picture of your ROM album is cross-stitched?

Compassrose,

I chose chendol cos my secondary sch fren gave me a leetle bunny that was straw coloured - I still have it (on my office desk as i type) and i thot it looked like chendol dessert colour, until i realised chendol refers to the GREEN STUFF *fainted*

Hi Li Hong,

If you can wait, I think Aug will have better stuff coming out for WIS. When I called HDB they said new ones released every 15th of the month, or the nearest Monday to the 15th of the month. my fiance went to queue at 5am before, and there were already 10 couples in front of him (they obviously camped overnight). We din like the WIS on offer, so went for resale in the end.

Hi think_thrice,

Actually I took quite fast to choose MM..
cos just love the ballroom and the lightings..
went to see GWC, Mertius Mandarin & Marina Mandarin only..

so of all the 3 u went to see, which one u like best?

hi xy,

your new home is in boon lay??

me also looking at 20 sept.... and my new home is in jurong west (not very far from boon lay interchange)....

but i havent confirm on anything yet....

helo girls, yest went hubby's convocation. During a speech from one of the first class honour student, alot of memories came back and a touching moment seeing my loved one in stage after waited for 7 years

Im going taiwan for honeymoon. dont intend to go too far as need to come back quickly to work. At taiwan, we dont have to worry on language and furthermore, not expensive and hope to keep it as $2.5k

Hi Corsage,

Hmm, yes, many of my friends are gonna get married soon and it's a good idea to start helping them first to perhaps boost some of my confidence. I wanted to make myself some accessories too, but wah, the beads (if u are doing beading) are sooo tiny I really have difficulty stringing them together! Hmm, u have some pics to share?

Hi Twinkle,

Thanks for your compliments
Nope, the ROM album is not cross stitched. I pasted some pinky paper flowers above the pic and some plastic flowers on the "branches" of the paper and wrapped the whole cover with organza. So basically all the deco is underneath the organza. And yes again, I lurrrvvve to crochet. Hands always get itchy and I can't stop hooking!
Haha

I also went for resale. Where are the WIS flats located nowadays?

Hi Corsage,

Heh, think I got what u mean now ;-P The PM pic on the ROM album is not cross stitched. It's a colour print out of a pic my friend made for me (with both my hubby and my names and ROM date included) and posted on her blog.

Hi melody,

My new home is at jurong west st 64.. sorri used to call it boon lay (my current place). I took 669B from HDB, WIS.

i also looking at 20 sep, actualli not confirmed yet too. if not then 20 dec... sigh prefer 20 sep actually.

Hi Huiz, I love ur ROM Album...
Anybody here know where to get the softcopy of precious moments wedding pics? I downloaded from PM web, but very limited.

hey I think I am maddd... so blur.... sorry ah, my message before this is meant for Twinkle, not Corsage... paiseh

Hi Compassrose when is your AD?
Another option if you have 15 tables is Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. They have 3 other smaller ballrooms beside the grand ballroom. I will use one of the small ballrm (Waterfront ballrm) with min 18 tables. The Riverfront Ballrom min 15 tables max 20, the smallest one is Galleria Ballrms min 10 tables max 16.

Hehe, that's rite and was touching at that moment, seeing we are sailing smoothly right now. All the rough sailing was over

Oh yah, din think of that, i shall go check later, keke

diaodu, tks for the mail!

jhoo, wow 7 yrs!! congrats.

alicia, we hv not planned where to go also, depending on $$ haha. but like u, i dun really like the hot, so hope to go somewhere cool/cold.

Serene,

thought hyatt will be more ex. regent for weekend is already 900+ & require 35 tables, i think. perhaps you might want to pass me the contact for Hyatt? :D
are you looking at weekends or weekdays?

jhoo - 7 yrs congrats....it is a long run :P

smilez - we are planning Hokkaido as well ... it will be winter but the person say it is a good season to go coz there is when can eat crab , seafood n c snow :P

when r u all booking HM? i tot of booking during nata in sept .... any idea for Japan/ Hokkaido which agency is better?

Smilez, it will be a cooling season at Taiwan, GREAT!

originbaby & yuki, thanks!

Hope i can view my layout next week and collect my portrait too

it seems like all of you are very prepared for the March wedding already. I havent started anything. See list below:

1st appt with BS: Mid Aug
PS with BS: Mid Oct
Reno for flat: Late Dec - Jan

Basically I am still relaxing, dun feel gan cheong yet...hahah..i thinkwe will have more to share once it comes to oct/nov/dec. Oh yah, I decided to buy the guest book from city link, this shop which sells loads of papers.

xy,

you got your unit from the recent jurong WIS??
my new home is @ jurong west st 93... got it fro mthe recent WIS....

hope you get the date you want!!

haha.. so now got more choices..
Yuki, any idea wat will be the temperature in Hokkaido in Jan? scared too cold.. mi quite fragile.. :P
am planning to book honeymoon during NATAS travel.. saw in the website that its open to the public on 1st Oct.
But also clueless as to which agency is better.

wah sei!! jhoo so fast can take ur photos already? mine nxt wk dan gg for 2nd fitting. ha!
Thanks for the Taiwan tip.. will consider as well.

Nicole,

You are talking about Prints @ Citylink (near Vnc shoe shop) or Bookbinders design (also in Citylink i think)...

I saw the accordian books at Prints and was considering those. Simple but would need to buy pens with ink that looks nice on black paper. A bit lazy, so thinking of using one side of the accordian for church wedding and the other side for dinner!! haha.

I think I'll most likely postpone my honeymoon till springtime around April, also feel it's too cold in January. So right after my wedding, I think we'll just go for a relaxing trip to some beach resort like Maldives or something.. we have not really discussed & planned our honeymoon yet.

So happy.. just ordered my ring pillow & matching guestbook for my ROM.

hi ladies, so happie to see that the thread is so active! very paisay tt i have nothing done..all the invites are nil, no theme in mind..haha ..

keep the ideas comin in

My first fitting with the BS is only in Nov! Can die waiting man. PS is only in Jan. Really hope the PG can deliver everything sui sui on time by Mar 07.

I haven't seen the guest books at Prints before. Nicole, do u have some pics to share?

dun hv plan for honeymoon now... probably go short trip. dun noe how much $$$ will be left after customary leh... sigh...

Here's mine:

Nick Name: Dorymiki
ROM & AD date : 130707
ROM Venue : Raffles the Plaza
BS: Whitelink
PS Photographer: White Link (TBC)
AD Photographer: Kelvin Koh
AD Videographer: TBC
Make-up artist: Cecilia
love nest: Still sourcing

Thank you =)

Hi Dorymiki!
Welcome to this thread! Do share about your wedding preps! Where are you searching for with regards to your love nest?

Hi nicole, no worries, I'm less prepared than you
My 1st appt with BS is end Aug. Haven't planned PS date yet and haven't found a place to stay =p heh

Prints has great stuff!
I love their stuff, Huiz, you should go check out and get more ideas

here's a mini photo of a Swarovski Necklace and Earrings set I made for my friend's wedding. She wanted something va-va-voom, so I used really large crystals. Sorry I don't have anything clearer!

(how to load pics?
I dunno how..anyway, tried so many times already...grrrr...here's the link)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y12/budding_corsage/mycreation.jpg

Huiz, u r indeed veri creative n gd in handicrafts!So envy... Seriously, u can consider doing online thro reco fr frenz. But no chance to order fr u liao. Hee...
Can teach me a trick or two, if u dun mind?
Would like to do an album for my ROM so tat I can displace out during my banquet. An Ang Bao box, Corsages, n something to deco the car. Definitely won't be knit out such cute bears like u do! Love the gown on ur bear, wow... so beautiful!

Mona, u r also talented to come out with a creative ring pillow. Nice!

Compassrose, will u wan consider restaurant? U can try Peony Jade. Nice plc n fd!

Me waiting for the next WIS for Punggol area, so tat leaves me rather relax, haha...
I hv went for my 1st gown appt, sad... (Posted in this thread bef)dun wan repeat my story again. Going for my second next wk. I also wondering wat theme should I go for? Pirates of the Caribbean???Haha... Thinking of a fairy theme, but hv nt finalize yet. Maybe c if I can get props relating to this theme or nt first. Looking into march-in songs also, will consider using chinese or korean songs. Once finalize then update u gals!

kaya - going to BS after work today for the design. Was asked to bring pictures of gowns that I like and show the designer but she got specify that her style is not to copy everything. I like the unexpected so I am ok if don't turn out like the pictures. What I want is something that compliments me and I trust the designer on that.

I heard that Allure Charix got nice gowns too but never got a chance to go down and see cus I was so fixed on my designer.

I suppose that I should be one of Sept brides too. Actually planned AD in June with my bf but due to some preference by FMTL & FFTL, I have to compromise to change it to Sept. Rather unhappy

Hi corsage, the necklace n earing look very nice
Is it difficult to make? How long u need to make it?

The BS lend me necklace also for my ROM, i like it and thinking of making similar thing my self, but dunno how to start

390620.jpg

Hi SnOwie,
I'm probably going to be a Sept 07 bride too.Like u,I had planned to have AD earlier.
Our solemnization is on 7 Oct 06.We actually changed our dinner solemnization to lunch solemnization so that we can have the wedding dinner on the same day... but cos fiance's brother's getting married in Dec 06, fiance's parents said cannot get married in the same year... so our solemnization is back to a dinner in Oct this year.. AD is now Sept 07. Exact details not finalized yet although tea ceremony will be on 29 Sept.

Initially I was rather upset but subsequently, when I look back, I'm quite grateful AD is not Oct 06 cos really no time to put everything together and would need to "fight" with other couples for wedding necessities like venue, photography,gowns as 2006 is supposed to be a very auspicious year for marriage (as opposed to 2007 which has "no spring")and 7th Oct 06 being one of the more popular dates.

With the extra 1 year of time, fiance and I can look for housing at a more comfortable pace and our savings are earning interest in fixed deposits so I see it as a benefit.

Hi Cactus,

Yah, I also try to see it on a good side that I have ample time for housing and another 3 mths of savings.. Feel rather unhappy at first.

Dunno why, the elders kept saying we are not the "pan dang" type but the fact that I think they are more superstitous than us. FMIL says that lunar 2nd, 8th & 10th mth is more suitable for marriage so no choice lor, even bf also agreed so what can I say.. I see it as - for our own good, just 3 months so I let it be just to make them happy...

Hi corsage....

The pic a bit small so cant see clearly leh. U can save the pic to your desktop first and place the cursor at where u wanna post the pic in the message box here, click the upload attachment button, hunt for the pic and click ok.... this should work lor.

Hi Cutie Gal,

Well, honestly speaking, I am a rather big fat copycat. What I do is that I surf the net for ideas and if I can, I modify. If not I just copy wholesale lor. Haha. Surf the US websites for ideas. They are great! And also use more of those sweet sweet materials like ribbons (I love them! Does wonders), organza, satin, lace etc. They create good dreamy feelings.

Mona, this is the kinda necklace I wanna try making but die die can't! I see the pattern books I get confused liao. Gotta string the beads in so many ways. I think beading is really not my cuppa tea.

And oh, I managed to dig out the pic of an organza bouquet I made. I had the silly intention of using it for my PS (in addition to the fresh flower bouquet) but decided not to in the end coz I think it looks kinda strange ....

390630.jpg

390631.jpg

390632.jpg

Hi taRea,

Who is your designer with Jawn? Cos, I have already booked an appt with them next Sat. So popular.. (BTW I called them up yesterday to reserve a slot)

Hi SnOwie,

Yah... it helps if we remind ourselves of the benefits of the delay. I used to complain to my fiance.... cos he proposed in Dec last year... so it seems like it's a very long wait to AD.. but then again, when we are busy with wedding preparations, time passes by very very fast... actually our solemnization date was decided in Dec last year.. and it seemed like SOOO long for Oct 06 to come. But it's just about 3 more months from now.
I'm now very grateful we didn't rush the AD prep...

My future inlaws are rather superstitious but if I can avoid conflict with them by delaying AD, I would gladly. Cos I dun want to put my fiance in a difficult position. He actually wanted AD in Oct 06, and even shouted at his parents about it.. but eventually, we both decided to delay by a year cos didn't want further conflict.

this thread is movin so fast... thanks toffy i think i knw where is that place... should be the one that is quite near to a pharmacy right?

celestial> yah i oredi got some of my girlfriends to be my jie meis. I'm still thinking bout their clothes though.

btw, i read somewhere that jie meis should not be in white? cause i thinking of my jie meis to be in white and gold like my wg.

Hi gals, actually we have cut down alot on our wedding in order to go for a honeymoon..

we r not getting a videographer, photographer also very cheap, only $550.. as for banquet, we got my parent to help pay for half the cost & also the bridal package half were paid by my parent too..

1 thing is we r staying in his parent hse cos our new hse won't be ready till 2009, hence save up on renovation too.. thats y we can go for a honeymoon..

Short holiday is a good idea too.. cos some of us may not able to take so many days leave horr..

Rene,
me looking for weekday. a Thursday hehe cos weekend realli too exp for me and moreover i m inviting more close friend and relative so i guess most of them can come. And thursday is not the start of the week so abit relax already. My table looking at 25. Hyatt is more exp but i tink the service is better and the set up also very nice.(the black themes). My sis had her wedding there. It was perfect. i m looking into waterfront and marina mandarian also.
Ohya, regent sale manager-soo ting call me up to arrange a met up. but i havent confirm the date to met her yet cos my hubby so busy with NDP.
Actuali i also faced problem with the date cos not realli confirm to have AD on 18 Oct....in law wants to wait for the tong su to be out. Hai... a lot of things cant confirm.

smilez - i am not too sure of the temperature there ...will be checking it out soon ... 1st Oct then open to public ... seem so long ...keke :P
wonder if can know the package in advance so can decide ....keke :P

jhoo - u looking at layout already ..so good ...my PG say our PS photo ready for viewing but he is quite packed this week so will be arrange to choose photo next week....hope i dun topup too much :p have you discuss with Christoper on montage yet? he was saying tat there are quite a number of style but unable to show us .... i tot of choosing songs but so lost now ...