(2007) Brides of year 2007

Oh yah, another 2 big things I need to do (besides finding a house), is
1. Wedding Bands
2. Invitation Cards

heh..have you girls done those yet? I'm still deciding on what colour scheme I want! =p Not easy since I'm not particularly fond of any colour.

funny thing is suddenly most of the 17th mar brides also online now. there's another one, Kelvin right? but he kinda disappeared from the thread.

compassrose,

is your nick after the spot that's now called equinox? hubby proposed there ah?

Ok, here's the teddies for the angpow box.... just completed last night

390303.jpg

390304.jpg

Another pair of teddies. Maybe for the car....

390305.jpg

More to come... the darn Photobucket is soooo slowwww....

I like the bear's WG in pic 1. How you do it? Where you buy the materials. I'm thinking of DIY 1 pair myself, coz I wan monkey couple, cant find it anywhere, most of them are bears. So I want to buy monkey dolls and make the clothes myself.

Hi Mona,

I just bought lace and anyhow wrapped around the bride's waist... hehe. As for the top, I use organza ribbon.

Yup, I've got my wedding bands designed at Fairy's Inc. Sth different from the mainstream shops, in my humble opinion (IMHO).

Not yet done invitation cards. my church fren has kindly kindly offered to design for me. i'm quite happy to use the same general design of another fren whom he also designed for. so that one can settle nearer end of the year.

Colour scheme!! YES. major headache.
kao_dizzy.gif

I think i should discuss with florist for church, since flowers would have to blend with colour scheme.

Actually, my fav colour is lavendar,but too common for wedding i thot. so steering clear of that.

Recently hit on brainwave to use dusky pink, but fiance dun like.
kao_cry.gif

He said not bright and happy enuff. SIGH! But I like what!!! :P

Hey gals -- teddies super cute! Doesn't matter that they don't look so 'normal cuddly' cos you MADE them!! I luff the lace. Wah you anyhow also anyhow until so nice.

The monkey is a kipling *TM* monkey! So cute!

My ring pillow (if i ever finish my crossstitch) will have a precious moments bride and groom as the base. then just tie some ribbon for the rings.

twinkle:
Your last line made me laugh! hehe... Yup, I'm having headache with colour scheme coz I want everything to match, from flowers to invitations to bridesmaid's dress etc etc... =p Very troublesome I know. But I'm a very visual person, so it matters to me!

Ah, Fairy's Inc is not bad, I've heard
So probably not just your opinion! hehe
I'm considering customizing mine too..at Canary Diamond Co. also at Delphi Orchard. I love their work and service.

Actually if you like Lavender, you can consider having Yam coloured roses - they usually come with lush large heads, so they're very gorgeous looking. Am considering that too

Ok, here's the invites.... this is not the final version. Have changed the colour and ribbon... will put up tt pic tonight....

390331.jpg

Hee... actually i prefer my standing bears to the sitting down ones

I would love for everything to match too. my bridesmaid likes dusky pink, so i thot "battle won!" but then fiance come and repeatedly express 'reservations'. hiyah. not like I'm asking him to wear a dusky pink tie or cravat....!

oh yar I've heard of yam coloured roses. actually when i was pondering colour scheme was also very attracted to the happy brightness of sunflowers. but no way my bridesmaids gonna want to wear sunflower yellow dresses. or pastel yellow, since it looks yucky on asian skin.

yesterday a fren getting married in Jan 07 asked me what my 'THEME' was. i said 'no theme lah'. then he said every vendor he's met asked him what his 'theme' was. i guess cos they are very atas, so thinking he sure has some theme like 'lord of the rings' or 'in the mood for love' etc.

I can't even come up with colour scheme, how to think of THEME?! *fainted*

Huiz:
Another great creation of yours!

Twinkle:
My theme is Faith

On the contrary, certain shades of Yellow can look really good on Asian skin
Another friend had a yellow theme and all the jie meis wore yellow..heh. Yellow's not me, but I must admit that it was not bad.

Twinkle:
For those who are fairer, pale yellow on light material can look quite angelic. For me, I'm tanned, so I look better in strong pastel yellow. But although I look better in that shade of yellow, I wore a bright yellow dress with purple stripes..haha...
The bride let us wear our own clothes, so the dresses were all different. Looked nice in the photos though!

Oh, another friend (you see i have SO many friends who got married this yr!) had a Sunflower theme. She had I think 2 or 3 in her bouquet, and had them as church deco too. Her invitation cards also had Sunflower pictures
But this friend's bridesmaid wore the usual white.

Wow - so sweet your save the date cards...

I sent out one electronic save the date card from theknot.com. But most of the frens i sent to were overseas ones to inform them early. think only a handful will turn up. but i did get a number of warm wishes over email! which was nice.

kao_cry.gif
Actually good practice to inform ppl early. one of my good friends (but no time to keep in touch regularly) just found out my AD yesterday. and she can't make it. cos already booked to go wedding in US.

Thanks corsage! Will keep in view... if I can't get my dusky pink... *meef*
kao_sad2.gif

Hmm...oh dear..maybe I should do save the date cards too =p eepy eep..so many things to do!

twinkle, if it is any consolation, my fiance is NOT into pink too =p I once got him a shirt with some dusty pink stripes (I thought it looked quite trendy and 'in') and he NEVER wears it unless I bug him too =p

Huiz,
I don't think you are kiasu at all!
I think you are a very creative and conscientious bride! You'll look back at all your creations in the future and have beautiful memories

Actually I love to do crafts.... so this is a good time for me to get my hands busy lor
.... I am trying to crochet the hand corsage.... hope it turns out well.

Ok that's all I have for now.... post my latest invites tonight. Time to zoom home. See ya gals tomorrow and thanks for all the sweet comments!

<font color="119911">hey jaslyn, oh... your AD on sat eh? I thought Vanda Ballroom is the smaller one? I went there and the ballroom is very small, max at most 30-32 tables.</font>

Hi lyons,

yup.. my AD is on sat.. urs?
ya.. Vanda Ballroom is the smaller one..
I m taking the bigger one on Level 1..
u need how many tables?

Hi Gals, since we r all January brides, would like to do a survey here..

Where r u gals planning to go honeymoon to?

I wanted to go Korea but happen that Jan is their winter and may reach to -6 degree leh.. Hence pretty worry that a lot of places will not open for tourist during winter..

Also Australia is at its hottest season in January.. Me &amp; my husband dun really like hot sun.. We went Bangkok once &amp; only shop in Chatukchak for less than 4hrs cos we kept sweating.. hahahaa..

So, gals, where will u be going for your honeymoon in Jan??

I'm back with my invitation card. Decided to change to a reddish one as the earlier one the paper is not easy to cut. I will print an insert and tie it up. The ribbon here is sucky as it is all that I can find at the moment. Will change to something better la....

390396.jpg

Dear Rene,
me looking into Hyatt and waterfront. but a bit more exp than regent. Hyatt got one bottles wine for per confirm table. interested??? rate start from 780(for small ballroom) as for 25 table like mine...tink the rate is 828nett

annabelle, i'm thinking around $2K+ for 1 WG, 2 EG, 2 suits, hair &amp; makeup X4, hand bouquet, corsages, accessories, veil...because we're having 2 dinners on 2 separate days. If there's extra stuff like suits for fathers/groomsmen it'll be best too of course. Is that too much to ask? I'm ok with either OTR or MTM, renting or buying, i have not much preference. Just that we must like the gowns and the quality must be there lah. Is this too much to ask for? I know I'm very greedy lah, what also want, but don't want to pay much...ooops!

As for AD VG and AD PG, I was thinking of less than $3K in total. we'll probably need 2x express video highlights instead of the usual 1x and thinking of having those magazine style/coffee table album along with AD photography (by the way, magazine style/coffee table album style is the same right?). Errr...is my budget too low?

Thanks in advance for all your advice. I've just started BS shopping now, so we want to take all this into account loh.

Toffy - thanks for the encouragement..hahah
when are you going to start designing?

er alicia
no money leh. all spent on hse, reno and upcoming wedding... mayb just a simple short trip to nearby countries.
do u know FH &amp; I got lost in chatukchak market for over 2 hrs and another singaporean couple was waiting outside for us for that 2 hrs! so embarrassing, so i dun like bangkok loh. and also when we went to see the tranvestites show, they were pawing all over my FH! 1 SG couple laughed and said cos my FH tall so they like these type of guys. yikes

Hi alicia,

We are planning to go Japan for honeymoon
Considering Europe too but scare AD spend too much already leh ...

Where are u going korea? after AD or resting a while first?

warm welcome to clueless, belsi and crazibee!

long time no post.. had been so busy with work.
well, havent done anything much for wedding preps also.

hey chere, I'm most prob not having PS too. Will definitely be taking outdoor shots on AD. Planning to make some arrangements to the program to take earlier in the morning so that it is not so hot.

Huiz, u should consider starting your own business and start selling your handicrafts.
Looks like you have more of the things sort out.. That's great!

Twinkle, maybe you can do a mixture, say pink and lilac (quite closer to purple? Just a thought!

Mona, your ring pillow is very unique.

yea, have to finalise my venue soon.. Ladies, i just can't make up my mind.. Our tables is very little, not greater than 15 tables. Guess should be quite easy to have Polaroids taking session. Ha ha.. maybe i can set up a booth to sell the polaroids pics.. Ask my guests to donate to my love nest funds.. hmmm... how ladies?

Seems like 17 march is a hot date in march...

Bingo twinkle. Our first date was at compassrose.. haha..
why chendol? sorry, getting nosey..

Corsage,attended a MM wedding show. The food is great.. I m sure u will enjoyed it too. So you are having 2 different wedding dinner. Must be quite tough on u? More things to plan..

yoz....

can add me to the list too?

most prob.. not firmed up yet is 20th Sep. Thurs. HOtel : duno yet. BS: Divine Couture. PS : Unknown. AD-PG/ VG : unknown. age: 25 NH: Boon Lay

seventh month i tink ends on 10 Sep if i'm not wrong

Oh.. u guys decided on the march in songs? And the music to played thru dinner?

I like that song from the movie - wedding singer - grow old with u..

Lyons, Four Seasons have a nice ambience but package ex. Furthermore the price quoted is with minimum perks. However, I do think the coordinator is frank enuf to tell us some of the things to take note, i.e. no hidden cost.
Jaslyn, I've went to GWC, Royal Park Plaza, MM. So how long did u take to choose MM?

hey lynda..

hmm..so far still quite ok..think yoko is very nice and patient.. i read all the good reviews abt her oso.. heard tt leslie does nice pthotography oso.. my wedding gown will be mtm but it will only be ready in dec..crossing my fingers.. hmm bliss doesnt have much choices in their evening gown.. this one is a big headache..hopefully they will have nicer evening gowns soon.. but i'm quite sad coz my husband might have to be away for the PS in dec.. haiz.. so might have to push back the date.. hmm.. so not feeling really excited abt the PS at this moment..tsk..

Hi Compassrose,

Actually I did think of starting some kinda online biz... but then again, no guts la.... haha. And afraid tt I can't deliver in terms of quality.

Twinkle, my friend had her bouquet in pink, lilac and white. Beautiful! U can consider that too

Heh, so seems like Mar 17 is a good date yah?

March in song is still my headache! No idea yet leh. I actually thought of "love changes everything" by Michael Buble but hubby thinks its too grand leh.... any idea gals?

hi all...I'm also a March 07 BTB

FH and I have no flat of our own yet. Anyone has any tips on how to get a good queue no. during WIS? We always got few hundreds for our queue no. despite subscribing to e-alert.

kaya, hmmm 2k plus think u can look for Allure Charix their gowns some are quite nice and cost is reasonable too should be able to get nice gowns and EG there... for BS think should be able to get wat u want too have to ask ard and bargain with them... go ard to several BS to compare first.

3k for AD VG and PG is like abit too much wor unless u include pre-wedding shots too... if not think abt 2k will be reasonable bah than e extra 1k can go into ur BS shopping get them include more stuff...

<font color="119911">hey jaslyn, mine's definitely on a sat but everyone says dec hot time to get married so they will not be flexible with the perks... we were looking at any of the saturdays in dec lor. But still not sure exactly which date. I need about 25-30 tables max.

Hi think_thrice, ya.... i know four seasons extremely posh and nice but too bad, so ex. What you mean by hidden costs ah? Like must pay for wine/beer etc?</font>