(2007) Brides of year 2007

i love the color too. My color theme will be pink.
I like the pink color of the flowers. Anybody know that kind of pink is called what? shocking pink? dusty pink? coz when i said darker pink to the BS for my ROM flowers it turned out light pink

mei, i bought aussino quilt cover set and join as their member. bought additional as i need it for housewarming...with their discount and also birthday discount, its cheap!...thanks for telling us. now im also waiting for the warehouse sales at expo..see got any cheap cheap things to purchase. Is ur red bedsheet with xixi wording?? i saw it there

jhoo.. Olive Suite is located at Delphi Orchard, they have lots of gorgeous dresses of different lengths. Not sure of the price.. originbaby, how much is the range?

Yeah, being a Aussino member is quite worth it.. the discounts are really attractive for members. My red bedsheet comes with Xi word but it's not obvious, it's like printed on & you can only see it at an angle.. so it's not as chinese looking. Mine's from the previous season.. I think it's no longer available. The new red bedsheets the 'Xi' word is in yellow sewing.

Yes Yes, sage green and pastel pink will be soooo beautiful! I once saw an eyeshadow palate in that colour combi.

I was thinking dusky pink and _________. Haven't decided what ________ should be. Gold? (i have a perfumed pillow that has a ribbon in those colours). Dusky pink and brown? Dusky pink and darker pink (e.g. colour of ribbon on dress for contrast).

Mona,

I think that pink above is closer to bright/fuschia pink.

Corsage,

How many bridesmaids are you having? I'm having two...

corsage - tt was the colour theme i always wanted too! just a perfect spring wedding color

but i am still hesitant coz the color don seem to go well with my ballroom which looks spendid in red and gold *sigh*

oh, ok..yah, the one i saw is the wordings using yellow sewing. good choice to buy those that is not obvious as u can use during normal day..

how many thread count is consider good? the one i buy is 300

thanks for the tips, jenn!!!
they are most useful to a blur-queen like me....

i've heard of many "scary" stories about how they try to pester and psycho people to sign up for their package.... that's why im a bit hestitant to shop for BS....

i like to look at gowns and photos... every time we pass by a bridal studio and start to look, they'll come over to us and talk to us.... even though we said we're just taking a look, they'll tell us that their designers are inside, can talk to them... i know they're being friendly... but sometimes a bit too friendly.... kinda intimidating.... like you mentioned, all sales people are very nice when we're shopping.... maybe not all... but the few that i've encountered are that way....

im not the firm type.... very easily influenced.... but luckily my bf is the firm one... so he'll be the decision-maker....

Mona: I think maybe you should show a picture
Better than describing the colour perhaps?

Twinkle: I love Pink and Brown! But my church pews are brown so I can't go for that. Otherwise it's a gorgeous combi - you should consider!

Schnauzie: Oh, this combi is mainly for my church wedding
I haven't decided what to do for the dinner yet, but you can try deep reds - very classic. I considered that first, but coz my church pews are brown, red does not stand out, but I think will be lovely for dinners

Compassrose:
Yes, red and black is great!
esp if the venue u are using has white (eg. white pillars etc) I LOVE strong colours!

Twinkle:
I haven't decided now many bridesmaids! =p I've a problem coz I have a lot of cousins and friends but if I have one I'll need to make room for all! I am thinking of just having my sis walk down the aisle, then for the other friends/cousins, to wear coordinated colours =p Dunno yet though!!

Hmm, I haven't really thought of a colour theme. But I should be thinking along the line of cream and pastel pink. I love pastels!

I'm sooo sleepy now. But still have to hang on till class ends at 10 tonight!

Ok, time for me to scuttle away to school now. Talk to ya gals tonight/tomorrow.

Barney, I say go for the TED Collection... after going to quite a few places... TED Collection gives me the confident while those shops out there jus wanna u sign up their package... what piss me big time is their package for gown; they can only say "shouldn't be a problem or "can talk to their designer"... now who's wedding is this sia... the feeling I got from them is to get u sign on the dotter line... thereafter, you're at their mercy... for wat?!?!?!

This is my person comments....

For those who are thinking of holding the big day in the month of October 2007, consider 19 October 2007... its a auspicious date... you will find it being mention in the new release of "Ton-Shu"...

Hi Jenn,

Yup exactly, even my bf also strongly sense it. That's why we just decided to strike them out from our list.. Not going to condemn them cos a few of us also taking up Divine. (Divine takers, please dont be offended cos this is only my personal experience

Hi Melody,

Just take your time to choose and work with the one whom you feel comfortable after chatting with them esp the designers if you're taking MTM.. and I always highlight to the designers that "please be honest with me if I'm don't look good in that particular design" as some designers can be very patronising and says "wow, you look so pretty or the gown looks elegant on you.." just to wrap up their job fast.

wow! thanks Jonic & Jesdreamz for your advice.. It's really help !

U gals seems to be very fast hor.. i think im the most lay back one.. aiyo...

hi hubbit,
my new house is at buangkok too, still waiting for it to build.. haha.. which project is yours?

hey hubbit, jesdreamz, jonic & viv,
yah, think we can meet up easily, so near to each other! but i won't be moving in till 2008 i guess... BTO mah... very long... reno must be so fun & exciting!

hi viv,
i think i paid ard 2.5k too, for the deposit. my colleague is holding his banquet at goodwood in oct. if u can wait, i can give u feedback then.

Mei - thank thanks for the info ...i go Citylink check out on the shop 'Prints' :P

u all member with Aussino ... me not member leh
is their things exp?

anyone goin for SA / Chan Bro In hsu travel fair this weekend?

viv, no worries, me also juz s jialat.. i have my solemnisation & ad next yr.. till now not yet apply for my lovenest haha.. mayb have to sleep under the bridge liao :P

jhoo.. threadcount of 300 is of good quality already.. I have some sheets of threadcount of 200+, I find it ok also. Just touch the sheet & you can feel it's really smooth.. so long as it's not prickly, it's ok.

yuki.. there are other outlets too.. you can check via their website www.prints-international.com

It's easy to get Aussino member. Just spend $250 in combined receipts within 3 months & you qualify as their member. $250 is very easy to hit especially now we're buying stuff for our new home/room.. a quilt cover set & fitted sheet set can easily get that amount already. Go get the membership, really worth it.

jhoo n mei, the dresses tat I tried on at olive suite cost 300+ - 500+ each. gorgeous cutting n material, although the designs r actually very simple ones. mostly knee length. the moment I tried the 1st one, I was in love with it already!

I not Aussino member too but love their bedsheets.. next time can borrow the member card? hehehe

hi jameson,

are u new to this thread? i dun remember seeing ur name here before.. if so, when's ur wedding date? i'll update ur info once u update me.. ^_^

hi melody, snowie & shugar,

really gotta take ur time.. dun rush into one since we are slightly more than 1 yr before our AD.. so.. take ur time.. as i said earlier, i'll do updates every now n then.. u can check out our BS and find out more from us if u need any info or feedback.. ultimately, we are existing customers liaoz.. should hv a clearer picture.. ^_^

sometimes, within a BS, there're good n nasty ones.. we will help by warning each other who are the good n badz... ^_^

mei, i din spend more than $250 to be member. in fact, i buy the membership card at $15.00..however, due to several discount cum birthday discount, its almost FOC. i can still accumulate the amount to $250 within 3 months and can sign up another person to be member.

Wow, originbaby, that's expensive, hehe...

Guess i will give a miss to the fair coz hai, i have pj to do...

Hi Jenn,

Yes, agree. However, we have to finalise on BS by the end of this year
in order to rush for those MTM WG or EG for Sept brides.. Umm this is according to the estimation of BS whom we have visited so far..

And yes, I really appreciate those who have given much kind advices and those who shared their personal experiences. We'll continue to help one another..

hi moon,
yeah stayin @Bedok... my industry is telco... yrs? which blk in chaichee? ah, think we both can mit up first liao... maybe at JumpStart Cafe in Chaichee compound for drinks!~

I tried to watch wat i eat and exercise regularly loh. So i guess these helps slowly. BTW, chaichee oso got gym leh, not dat marvellous one but better than non... :P

hi moon,me staying further down,not opp the res,me near eunos there.

i been posting for quite some time liao,but not very good response,only 1 or 2.wow,u hot cake sia,gt 2 offers.
Dun mind can pm me ur agency number?must we pay them if we get e job successfully?Txs

me also slimmn down,if u see my previous postings,i on a meal replacement programe.if u wan,can gimme ur email address,i send e the meal replacement details.i lose weight 2 wks b4 my ROM and is quite effective.

pro i will buy e corsets for my Jiemeis,me not really so creative as in crafts,lazy also la,heee

hi snowie,

So sorry to hear that. So far the divine brides are pretty happy. My designer is Jessica. I guess its just so not right of them to see ppl like tat. When i was there she was very nice to me, allow me to try this and that. Ask me to try more even i say its okie.. she didnt even push me to sign up at all. But, i signed up with her immediately. previously i was with JAzz bridal, i onli paid a min deposit of $300 so i decided to give up.

Jenn is right, i cant resist their sales talk, keep pushing. But when i went to Jazz bridal, they are still nice, after sales service not bad. Why i changed my BS was because i decided that i realli made too rash a decision when i signed with Jazz. I want to look at more, and i realli like divine gowns when i see them on the magazines.

So when i go there, i was so happy with their services, and their gowns fit me i decided to sign immediately. Jazz bridal is having mroe gowns now. BUt my advice is dun go to French Bridal, Jazz is under them but different management. Sorry to French brides, but i find their services simply horrid! want to try gown keep asking me to pay more and pay and pay and pay!!!! realli get on my nerves, was so afraid that Jazz is like tat, but they are not. so dun worri. I hope i still can ask for something out from the $300 like get Father's suit or something.

If u go to divine thread, out of 20, there is one unsatisfied customer.. mainly we love their gowns and services. I spoke to one bride, she is sooo kind to me, and she intro jessica. So i decided to use jessica as my designer. Maybe because i told her i am the bride's friend. You know that bride went down to try 3 times before signing up? And jessica takes into consideration wat the bride wanted even though it was OTR. the bride is so happy now, her gowns are beautiful.

For the rest of the brides who hasnt got your BS yet, pls shop around. Dun be like me spend unnesseary money.
But now i am happy lah.

Snowie,
I tink TED collection is not bad. Also blush blush services are good! Tan yoong is EX, my fren uses him, but his gowns are EXCELLENT! so depends on your budget

Hello girls!

suddenly this thread has become very active...
My new home is still under construction-Tivela...its near to the MRT station..will only be ready in 2009..
so will move in with my in-laws first...they staying at rivervale....
such a coincidence that most of us will be living around that area...
btw, Viv...I am currently staying in AMK...have you moved into your new home already?

My deposit is also 2.5k as I am also with HIPV...i think the deposit ranges from 2-4k...

jaspire : mine is an jap mnc co... erm... blk wise i dunno leh... haha... cos only tomolo den i wil b goin down to sign the letter of offer. ya once start wkin there mayb we can mit up for the gym together... hehe

babystarlet : mi last time oso stay nearer to eunos... @ Jln Damai... but shifted to opp res... haha... been living in bedok for all my life man.. hehe... ive already pm u my agency no... my agent very friendly one... tel her ur expectation den she can help u find accordingly... we dun need to pay her anything cos she will liase wif the company... juz dat once we take up the job there r terms n condition n penalty if we quit.

hope u can email mi the meal replacement infor. my email [email protected] .
im actually tinkin of goin to c doc for med again but tink its really harmful to my body... dats y nw i stop takin the med... cos everytime i eat liao will feel like dying... cannot breathe...

It's ok Mei. I like the Xi bedsheet too but my bf didnt like red colour. It's too strong for him, tried to persuade but to no avail.

Hi originbaby, I think it's really ex but sometimes, if you realy like it, maybe it's worth? afterall, it's a once a lifetime event.

Yuki, where's the fair going to be held?

Jhoo, sorry, i replied to yr email already. Let me know how i can help.

Hi Jenn,
Yup, our AD is on the same day

Can you pls update
Venue - Grand Hyatt
Age - 29

xy, dun thk we met the same lady at Jazz. I was checking out their package during a roadshow n I asked the lady if i could go down to the shop to take a look at the gowns n probably try on 1 or 2. She replied i can't cos all the gowns are "new"... after i signed up the package, then the designer will choose a gown tat is suitable for me. I am not convince by her as other BS does not act this way.. can you share how much is your package at Divine? Thanks.

diaodu - Chan Bro is at Suntec (sat n sun), SA is at suntec too but only on sun ....think is in function rooms ...i not too sure ....but can they will display i think

Jhoo,

Saw yr water feature in another thread. It's nice. U mentioned it's at Joan Road? Do u have the exact address and shop name? my bf is eyeing the water feature at natural living but it costs S$990 and it's really huge, take up a lot of space. WE need to give that up...

Tks in adv.

hi hushy..
ya ya..pls give me feedback on goodwood park, cos i will be going down only in oct only when my fh is back than.. cos he is working overseas, so i need to wait for him every 2 months to get all these things done..

hi hubbit, me will be buying amk cos my parents stay in amk too..
and we have yet to confirm bcos still looking ard leh..

I'm currently also staying in amk leh.. i stay in ave 10.. how abt u?

Hehe...ya...this thread is becoming more active...which is a good sign

Jesdreamz, I haven't collect my keys...actually suppose to collect it this month but FH is working overseas and we dun intend to move in before AD so HDB agree to defer the collection to Jan 07. Another reason is FH unwilling to pay for the monthly conservancy fee since we are not staying there yet :P

Hushy, actually BTO wun take very long to complete...most likely it will be completed before the expected completion date HDB give. Mine is also BTO...ECD HDB gave was April 08 but I can actually collect my keys this month already. So you have to go HDB website to check the probable completion date for ur BTO from time to time.

Viv, U r welcome. Most willling to share with u gals the things I know. I used to stay in amk ave 10 too! blk 558...hehehe

this week has been a busy week for me.. hvnt been doing much for the wedding.. hehe...

seeing u gals preparing so much for the wedding makes me feel guilty...

ya.. its good to be active ma.. so we can encourage each other and walk towards our big day

jonic, yr FH also working overseas ya? so how you prepare all your stuffs? I find it so difficult cos i have to wait for him to come back once every 2-3 months..and its so coincidence we used to stay a few blks away..i'm staying in blk 561

hi diaodu,

here's the one: Goodwood Florist
565 thomson road singapore 298184

just dig out my bill and the total cost is only $305. However, there's discount during the time when i purchased. not sure if they have any more discount now but u can call and check it out.

Viv, ya.....same as urs.....he went for abt 2 mths then come back for a few weeks and then go back again.....hopefully his company doesn't need him to go back again.....

Hmm.....I'm the one who is doing all the research.....for example, our venue.....I shortlisted a few.....wait for him to be back.....quickly visit the venue and decide.....cos he's not fussy.....to him all the venue are abt e same...
...e only thing he is concern is the price.....

So maybe u can discuss with ur fh what are both ur concerns when selecting ur venue.....then u can start researching and shortlist a few.....maybe can also start to email those u have shortlisted for their quotations and make appointments.....visit them when he's back.....cos I feel researching also takes quite alot of time to do...

I add u to my msn, ok?

Jhoo, what does ur florist provide u with?

I took up the package with Greenpoint Flowers, coz they tied up with Margaret Brides. It costs me $350, and the package includes: bridal bouquets for photo shoot & acutal day, corsages for the groom... 4 for the parents, car decor and ribbons for the jiemei car...

Piglet Dun feel guilty, i also hv a lot of things not done... Think Jhoo & Mei more organised than me!

Now, i m going to panic again.. My PS in Oct and I still hv not done any exercise to lose weight.. Just dunno whether i can fit into my gown!

Hushy dear, u be staying at rivervale with ur in-laws? me staying at rivervale now with my parents.. hehe.. really coincidental that we all gals stay so near and all came in to this thread at the same time..hehe...

Jonic : Yalor.. i also feel abit dumb to be paying the conservancy fee but me no choice cos i bought the flat in Dec and 2nd appointment in APril so cant defer much too..

hi moon,thanks 4 e agency.

i shall send u e meal replacement contents shortly.
wanna lose weight,must lose in a healthier way,e way u doin a bit scary,makes u cannot breathe,tht's nt healthy

originbaby
If the dress costs $300+, it is still ok, especially since it fits you so well & you look great. Moreover, you mentioned the cutting & material is really good.. so you're really paying for quality. This is what I believe in. I agree with diaodu, ROM is still an important event afterall, it's worth spending on. Plus, you can still wear the dress for other occassions after your ROM.

jhoo
I didn't know we can pay $15 to be their member.. when I asked them how to get the membership, the staff only told me about the accumulation of receipts.

diaodu
You get get those more subtle designs that don't scream chinese red but still looks oriental. I am not really into red bedsheets too but I think having oriental bedsheets adds to the feel of a chinese, customary wedding.

kaye
Think I'll also consider taking up a package for my bridal bouquet with Greenpoint as they also tie up with Ted Wu. Their creations are lovely too, I saw in the magazine.

Me too.. a bit panicky as my PS is also in October.