(2007) Brides of year 2007

Oh icic, we din consider both Mandarin Hotel as we din like them. Meritius ballroom funny shape, alot of pillars too.
Marina Mandarin just attended someone's wedding there, din have good impression. Sorry din meant any bad just mayb that nite the service staff bad mood.

hi need advice.... can a red EG match with champagne shoes?? cos i have already bought the shoes (fall in love at 1st sight) do i need to get another pair to match my EG??

have u gals choose your wedding venue??

Hi Compassrose,

I suppose it might stratch more or less since the EG is so long. Hopefully it'll not be so bad till the BS penalise me. Taking some risks here ;-P

On the parents meeting up note, mine have not met up with FH's either. Yah lor, tats one of the more 'scary' things. What if dun get along? It happened to my sis, so I am a little worried there too.

On ala carte, we calculated and it seems that it might come up to more than getting a package leh. Still looking around. I just had my first gown trying experience yesterday.
Wah, cactus! saw tat your gown DIY? Very interesting leh! If I could sew well... hurhur... i might have considered a DIY one too!
FH dun like those bustier tops kind of gowns which seems to be the design that BSs have the most. We'll have to look around some more.

hey ppl... hws the preparations goin?? ive been too buzi with my changing of job... dats y i seldom post in dis thread liao...

Chere : ur new hse @ bedok oso?? hehe... mine oso leh... can noe which part of bedok?? mayb nxt time we r neighbours ;P

I didn't sew my own gown lah!
Not so talented. I didn't even take home econs in school leh.... I meant I had DIY-ed my bridal package.. meaning alacarte lah.

Dun worry about the bustier top gowns. See if any BS can attach a collar to it. My wedding gown and 1 evening gown is bustier. I was told if I didn't like bustier, I can attach a sweetheart or a halter top to it.. but eventually I didn't... cos I thought bustier suits me more. Check with the BS. I'm sure they will be willing to help!!

hi moon! my new home will be at chai chee. You? First appointment in late sep. How about u? gotten the keys, renovation?

Hi Jenn,
if it's not too troublesome for you, could you please change my BS to "Alacarte" instead of "DIY"? My description wasn't clear before. Sorry for the trouble!!

hi viv,
jesdreamz is right. esp when 17th nov is a hot date! visit the wedding shows coming up, get a feel of the hotels, then u'll know what you like. or bridal mag can help too.

hi jesdreamz & jonic,
i'm also staying at sengkang.
jes, who have u selected for VG? reasonable price?

anybody knows of any websites that have nice make ups and hair styles. I am looking for my BS next week. At least i find something i like and can show my make up artist.

Me so excited now.. went facial yesterday.

Thanks Mel. If u cannot find, it's ok..

ya.. cos i was looking at that ballroom also at 1st..

My ROM was supposed to be at the poolside but it rained in the morning.. then the floor was not dry in the afternoon.. so I have to hold it in the function room where the buffet is lor..

HAllo Ladies,

Mei... What are those small things that we need to prepare? I think that there is a 1001 things that re so minor that we tend to overlook on it!

I m getting so stressed up on the wedding & home preparation plus my job! Quoting jhoo's words, I want to get 1 mth leave to rot at home!

Diaodu, wow... U still hvnt found a BS yet? My BS already chasing me to fix a date to alter my gown.

Hi Tulips, my friend is having hers at Orchid Country Club (also got about 55-60 tables) So u can consider there. Oh, do you mind emailing me ur silverlining package? Thanks heaps! [email protected]

Hi wp, u got mail!

Anyone else want package info? =P

haha kaye..i went see doc yest telling him im very stress and to give me medicine to relieve stress. so im given relaxer and one day mc since im having bad headache too...

mm, let me go thru my list:
1. buffet for AD at both side
2. rememeber identify ur jiemei and bro, allocate duties for them
3. bring stationery over for the banquet so that guests can write on the guest book
4. prepare all the songs
5. prepare AD program
6. check whose car will be following u that day. ensure all have enough seat, and also ribbons to tie onto it
7. bridal car
8. text for the invite
9. can start source for printer
10. si dian jin
11. honeymoon, change currency, prepare luggage for HM and also hotel stay
12. change ur address on ur NRIC
13. if have flower girl, page boy..rem their clothing, accessories
14. list out the angbao to give out that day, how to identify which angbao is for who
15. from the old time, have a booklet to write down the ang bao amt from the guests
16. cakes for GDL. May need voucher for those relative who might not be around in sg
17. VG, PG and also tell them ur schdule on the AD
18. Hubby's shoe, socks, belt, etc etc for AD, Bride's bag, shoes etc etc
19. Red wine
20. prepare speech for emcee

Hi Cactus! Oh really? could they do that? But does that apply only to MTM gowns or could they do that for OTR gowns too?
So far those I tried all bustier ones... so I dun have any other cutting to compare with so going to look around at other cuttings for now.
Sigh, BS shopping are can really quite intimidating sometimes though... Esp if they think you are going to sign up with them the minute you step in. scary.. :S

Yup..I agree that BS shopping can be quite intimidating. And I've heard so many horror stories about BS going back on their words, not being clear in the written contract, and eing pushy, forcing us to upgrade the no. of photos, and not delivering on the photos or MTM gowns... so in the end, alarcarte loh..

I'm not sure if it applies to MTM gowns.. cos I bought my gowns eventually. I selected my gowns from OTR collection, and requested for some extra detailing, flower corsage on the wedding gown, etc. So although it is not MTM, it is a gown which suits me. The BS offered to add the collar for me but I didn't like it... also cos my kua is very high collared and my 2nd evening gown is speghetti strap already.

It won't hurt to ask the BS if you could add the collar.. cos I was under the impression that it can be easily sewn on.. and probably taken off also.

Hello Kaye,

Sorry, i typed wrongly. I am having my bridal shoots next Monday. Got my gowns already. :p
Am looking for nice makeups and hair styles to show my artist. Just an indication of what I like.

Wow.. Jhoo, that was long list. U better take care. I think my bf is suffering from stress also. He cannot relax and always worry about our house renovation. Cos he quite persistent on his design and always reject my ideas. In the end, i kind of dump everything to him... Now i feel a bit guility .. aih.. but I am glad he can take care of this part cos I am doing my school assignments and it will be difficult managing.

He doesn't care about the rest of the details so maybe my nightmare will come soon... most of the things Jhoo listed, i have not done yet.. oh god!

hi shugar,

welcome to the Sep-07 BTB group! if u ask me, i prefer package cos ala carte can means saving but when u really require all the stuffs, a package cost is actually more cost-savings.. also, for some un-used stuffs inside the package, u can use them to exchange for photos.. it's more cost saving liddat.. furthermore, when u sign package, u will more or less be able to gauge ur budget and try to spend within a certain amount.. for inexperience BTB, i'll suggest package more than alacarte.. it's only when u're confident u know exactly what u need n estimated how much the cost is, then u take ala-carte.. erm.. when i say experience, it means u done alot of research or u had helped out in many weddings.. this is jus my opinion.. ^_^

hi cactus,

no worries.. i'll update urs shortly..

hi snowie,

for my parent meet up, it's kinda planned.. we arranged our parents to meet-up only on our ROM date.. of course, prior to that, we consulted both parents la.. both wanna save trouble n tot meeting up on such happy event is a very good idea.. both our parents are ok.. didn't touch much on our AD but our intention was jus to make sure both met.. we plan to arrange another meet-up either end this yr or during food-tasting.. u may find it too late esp on ur invitations n angbaoz distributions.. what we did is we prepare for the worst senario.. we cater at least 50% of the overall banquet cost in order to handle the angbao lost.. for guest list, we just take down the max no of pple they will invite to book the banquet.. end of the day when my parents finalize on the no of table (tentertively 8 tables + 1 VIP), we will either ask my parent to pay the balance no of table or we keep the angbaoz.. i've communicated this idea to my parents n they are open with it.. i feel communications are very important.. i've helped out many weddings n i know there's little chance we can finalize everything before booking BS & Venue.. so.. i take the worst senario as reference and book! it's subjected to individuals la.. do whatever u feel comfortable in.. dun pressure urself too much BUT u need to make sure ur FH is cooperating with u and support all decisions made ya! ^_^

hey shugar,

one good way to stop the BS from pestering u is to tell them upfront u're only looking around, not signing on the spot! if they became pushy afterwhich, jus stand firm on ur dun-wanna-sign-now decision n dun go back again.. from what i heard, the after-sales service of most pushy BS is very bad.. in short, they only wan sales.. service is not up to standard one.. so.. dun feel shy or paisey n think that if u tell them u're here to compare is wasting their time.. i'm sure they anticipate such pple b4.. i'm one of them! ^_^

relax n choose ur BS carefully.. one decision not only cost u a few thousands dollars, it's gonna affect how beautiful u look on ur AD.. make sure u get one that u're very comfortable with.. frankly speaking, u're giving them sales.. u dun owe anyone anything.. if they push u n u give in, they will take u for granted aftertat.. for those who dun push n give u lots of advices, u can consider.. what's important is u can communicate well with ur coordinator making sure they know wat u wan n wat suits u..

Thanks Jenn!

I think you pointed out very rightly that package is more suitable for couples who don't have much time to scout for the various things required for the wedding. It is also very possible to exchange unwanted items for things that you want in the BS package.

Shugar,

If you dun want a photoshoot album (developed one) and are happy with just soft copies of the photos, you may want to put in some effort to shop around to see if you can put an ala carte package together.

For my case, we definately didn't want a developed photoshoot album and all the BS-es we went to said they won't let us remove this item from the package (although a friend of ours managed to do this subsequently at a BS we never enquired at.) I also wanted a silver threaded kua for my tea ceremony which is not with the dragon design... so very few BSs had this. my fiance and I also wanted more control over the package.. like.. we had a budget for each item and we wanted the best quality of course within each budget...so ala carte was the way to go for us. It was a bonus to know that we spent less on your ala carte as compared to our friend's BS package without development of album photos.

Our friend paid $2.5k, without tea dress but 4 changes of attire for photoshoot which includes indoor photoshoot but all attire is rented. Our's cost $1.9k. Own everything (1 wedding gown, 2 evening gowns, 2 suits for my fiance), rental of kua for me, but no development of album photos and no indoor photoshoot (only outdoor).

hey all!

the updates..

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">BTB</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-AM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DAY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DAY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">VENUE</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-VG</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AGE</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">NH</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">EMAIL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">sphire</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">08th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">08th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Oriental</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jenphua</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wed</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wed</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rivervale Crescrent->Buangkok Tivela</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">xy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilo-Chris</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">669B Jurong West St. 64</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">mymelody</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jurong West St. 93</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">rainie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritius Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Woodlands</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">wen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kai Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lighted Pixels</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yuppies Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">stickymouse</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Sentosa Resort &amp; Spa</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Beetles @ Work</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">puroland </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22nd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yishun Lake Garden Resturant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">kate</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">23rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Plaza ParkRoyal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">juju</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fri</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fri</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Oriental</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ngjoan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hiltop Garden</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3D Lab</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3D Lab</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bukit Panjang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">au yong</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Central Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Relative-(Photographer fr Kowloon Bridal)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">taRea</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Novotel Clarke Quay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jawn Happy.Ever.After</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">LeoNard Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Edmund Leong Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilo-Chris Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">cactus_79</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ala-Carte</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Freelancer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">John Tan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">kyra</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago Wedding Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago Wedding Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hougang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ham ham</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holiday Inn Park View</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CCK Crescent – w/hubby</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">faithz1528</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">shugar</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">snowie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">minne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">huijuan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></td></tr></table>

May I add to Jenn's post:

1) please book your mua when you confirm the package cos mua can really affect how you look on the wedding day. most muas are freelancers so it's very important to book them in advance. put it in writing. Look at portfolio to decide if possible. If not, rely on friends' recommendations.

2)make sure you also confirm your photographer and ensure that that same photographer will be editing your photoshoot photos.. cos after spending so much money on photos.. you want to make sure you are comfy with the photographer. if you are not comfy, it may take longer to break the ice and look natural in the photos.

Although I eventually didn't take up a package, these tips were given by friends who did take up packages.. so hopefully they may be of some use to BTBs.

Ic, it gd tat you had ur ROM already. I still got long way to go.

Hi Andrea, you got mail.
Thanks for the info, but we are only considering hotels. Thanks.

chere... hehe... my 'new' hse is my ah lau's existing hse... at bedok north... haha... my hse is @ bedok res... so everyone says my ah lau very 'heng' cos go fetch mi only 1 overhead bridge across... hehe...

chaichee izzit new flat? wah... u getting marry den get hse sure spend alot of money rite??

hi shugar &amp; cactus,

my package costed me $3988.. it includes :

Gowns:
Wedding Gown (MTM-Rental)
Evening Gown (MTM-Rental)
Tea-Dress (OTR-Rental)
Tea-Dress (OTR-Rental) -> Bridesmaid

Suit:
1 set (MTM-Rental)
2 set (OTR-Rental) -> Fathers
1 set (OTR-Rental) -> Bestman

Makeup &amp; Hair styling:
4 sets (including Trial)
Ampoules &amp; Fake eyelashes for ALL sessions (including PS)

Bridal Car Deco:
1 set main
5 sets bridesmaid and groomsmen car (can add more upon request)

Bouquets:
2 sets (1 for PS &amp; 1 for AD)
6 Corsages (can add more upon request)

Photography:
26 pcs (+10) x 15R in 15R size album
1 set of mini album with exactly the same photos (selected negatives returnable)
2 dozens of 4R prints for relatives or/ 50 pcs of name card sized photos
1 pc of enlargement 16x20 (framed) or/ 1 pc 3-in-1 photo (8 x 10) enlargement
5 different looks for the PS (Extra gowns rental - FOC for the photoshoot)
2 sets of suits for groom
Transport to &amp; fro outdoor

Also, if i can take OTR instead of MTM for my gowns or my hubby's suit, i can exchange up to 4 photos for every swop.. i know i will wanna keep the photos, so i target for total 50 photos (ave 10 for each PS outfit).. i've checked with the BS on the per photos cost n estimate to spend below $4.5K on the BS..

$4.5K may seems like alot of $$ but when u compare with other recently-married or BTB, most package is at the ave of $5K.. try to minimise as much as u can..

u can base on the list above to check which are the items u can omit n which are the must-have.. go some BS to compare the price with ur essential list n from there, u'll be able to gauge whether ala-carte or package is more suitable &amp; cost-saving for u.. ^_^

oh! pls take note that my package doesn't comes with bridal car.. i will be either loaning from my bro-in-law or rent one.. if rent, the cost is around $500 per day.. depending what car brand/model u want..

Yup... if you go with BS package, you can ask them to throw in rental of parents'/in-laws'/bridesmaids'/bestmen's attire. But make sure such rental comes with free cleaning and alteration. That's one of the benefits of going with BS... if alacarte, dun have so many attires to borrow.. even our photoshoot attire is limited to my 1 wedding gown and 2 evening gowns and kua.. and my fiance's 2 suits. My friend who took up the $2.5k pacakge without development of photos has up to 4 changes of attire including malay attire, jap, korean and western!

Hi Jenn,

Wow your worst senario - 50% of the overall banquet? That's alot but its much safer this way, maybe 0(zero) risk. My bf worked out this formula: Loss = (6tables x $x) + [(14tables x $x) x30%].
6 tables = what my mum has asked for and 30% of 14 tables as our losses. So in this way we work backward to estimate our budget for the hotel. (of cos that does not incl the wine &amp; beer prices)

Talking abt the meeting up with parents, I've spoken to him last evening and he said will arrange for them to meet up as soon as we got the dates and when his mum is back from tour. hai... He's worrying that my mum might increase the no. of tables for ang pao collection on that day so he wants me to sound my mum out and I am caught in the middle. Hopefully my mum can be understanding enough not to take away my pals &amp; colleagues ang paos..

Hi Snowie,

Eventually, whatever venue you get for your wedding, I hope u won't have to compromise cos wedding is once in a lifetime affair. You may try to cut down other things like have OTR gowns instead of MTM. Have fewer photos in your album and don't top up to cut cost. Buy cheaper wine on consignment than the better types.. You can afford to stinge on such things but have a nice wedding.

I feel the most important part of the wedding is the tea ceremony dress and the wedding gown. The evening gowns are not so important. Of course, the venue of the wedding dinner is important too. The rest I can compromise. Don't know if you feel the same way.

I hope things work out well for you.

Today I'm like a zombie... woke up at 445am to fetch FH to the airport.

yuki, ang bao box is quite easy to make.. just make one that goes along with your colour scheme.. here's another website to inspire you. http://www.dreamweavers.com.sg

diaodu, I chanced upon this BTB's website where she put in pictures of bridal hairstyles http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/eileen_diamond42/album?.dir=/cc80 You can also go to www.theknot.com I get lots of ideas from here... US websites have more wedding stuff. You can also look through magazines, tear out those styles you like &amp; show them to your MUA.

diaodu, I'm still digging for the stuff you need.. couldn't find them at home yesterday. Get back to you soon, ok?

kaye, I meant small things like ang bao boxes, corsages.. these are things we can get done first way before our wedding. There's one thing I think most brides might forget... the wedding night lingerie, LOL! I bought mine already
There are also many things I think I'll forget.. reading jhoo's list makes me realise I have not done a lot!

jhoo... things like AD buffet, GDL &amp; all that si dian jin stuff I know nothing, so I leave it to my mum &amp; MIL.. wahaha.

originbaby, when's your ROM?

So excited, my tailor just called me, my ROM dress will be ready by next week.

Hey Snowie,

Can I share something with you? When I tried to speak to my mom on these "sensitive" issues some time back, my mom asked me why I was "siding the guy's family"... that caused alot of strain on my side. I subsequently saw it fvrom my mom's point of view cos in the past, the guy's family wll pay for everything so really no need to save money for them. If gals save money for the guys, it's like loss of face for the gal's family. Like, the gal is desperate to marry the guy. So when you speak to your mom, try not to sound as if you are speaking for the "benefit' of your fh's pocket... instead, try to get her to see the larger picture.. once she sees its all coming from you and your fh, she may take it better. Or even better, try not to speak with your mom about this. Tell your fh it's very difficult for you to speak about it and it's better if your parents speak with your fh's parents... sometimes, when parents speak they tend to be very very polite.. so won't ask for so much. There's also this psychology thing - my fiance offered my parents 10 tables, including ang paos (that was unspoken cos it is tradition that guy will give gal's parents all APs belonging to the tables the guy gives the gal's parents - but of course the gal's parents may only invite immeidate relatives to sit at those tables loh): my parents only took 8. So the more the guy appears to be generous, the more the gal's side won't be upset and would accept.

Hi Jenn and cactus!

Wow.. thanks for the great advice! yeah, actually now shopping around to look-look first. I think I still have quite enough time to afford that?
Coz might be able to get my photographer friend to take our pics and use his studio so tats y cannot decide if shd go for package or ala-carte. When I asked for the photo bit to be removed from package, the BS said its only a less of $300! I guess they r trying to minimise their 'loss' that's why.
But if can find a good BS with good service and package, I think we'll go with package lo. Coz feels 'safer' with someone organising the whole lot of stuff for us.
For me I am a bit softer, so find it very hard to get out of that kinda cornered situation.
But luckily FH is like what Jenn said...dun wan means dun wan, 'thank-you-for your-time-now-we-r-leaving' kind. Heeheehee....

But did u all go BS shopping alone? Or with FH?

I went with my fiance. One tip is to go with fh and at least 1 other girlfriend. Let the girlfriend help in negotiating. Dun let your fh be cornered by the sweet talk cos they may put pressure on the guy... say your wife so pretty, need very pretty gowns..or take more photos loh!

Was surfing around and came across some photos. Isn't this to die for? Think the couple is american hawaiian...
397129.jpg

I love the colours of her flowers!

397130.jpg

It abit rush for us to have it this yr.
Cause we had planned a diving trip to Maldives end of July this yr.
So abit rush to have this yr Aug.

Yo Melody,

I tink u shd start looking out for Wedding pacakges too. now that u have settled your venue. Its important... lock in the prices this year. Save money! ahaha

moon, nope it's resale not new flat. my fh also staying at Bedok Res.

That's so convenient for you. We're currently staying quite fara apart, so he gotta travel quite a bit to fetch me

Yup, damn broke already. Plus my ROM in sep, so more expenses. . . so not planning of honeymoon yet. Can only dream about it for now. haha