(2007) Brides of year 2007

smilez

Kaye, Claire is so cute! Feel like pinching her chubby cheeks

So fast!! Last day of confinement

Jazol, good to hear tat! Eat more nutrious food b4 trying again.

Piglet, long time din hear from u. Very bz with Work? Do take care too!!

iceblue27

halo jovi, u mus jiayou try to get ur invitation thgs rdy. food tasting bet settle soon too.

my things mostly done liao, cake/buffet latest by next wkend. montage jus waiting for my bridal photos rdy then b complete.

tdy settle my ballrm theme liao also.
hee think i quite kiasu ppl plus i quick tempered, if last min do thgs, i wil fel fed up de.
hee u faster settle then u can relax lik bubblepearl too.jiayou

iceblue27

hi think thrice, yup we can go test our stuffs.
its bet to test out ur songs cd/montage b4 wedg day. on wedg day then u ry out the system, test the mikes etc.

jus tel ur coordinator u 1 go test ur cds, make sure its wrkg, compatible etc.
i alrdy make appt wif my coordinator tdy to do the testg on 1st wk of dec

hazuki

law: my bb is healthy current at 5mths...

graceyong: i also had a horrendous customary...

BS forgot to put my bear on car.

Emcee neglected his role as sound system control causing music to go haywire.

Coloured pens were bot last min by frens for signature book purpose as bestman forgot to buy.

At church, I walked in w/o covering my veil.

Bridesmaid was videoed trying to *throw* my veil over me while marching in.

Stopped in the middle of march in to cover my veil.

Bestman n buddies ran away during *tekan* session, causing HB to be dead drunk.

Relatives talking bad abt HB as he was drunk, HB was escorted to hotel room, practically hugging the toilet bowl throughout the nite while i sat on the bed wif my parents trying to sort out the AngPow $$ to pay for the banquet.

HB cause he being drunk, was talking nonsense throughout the nite while my parents were in the room. Trying my best to shut him up while counting $$.

HB slept throughout the nite till next morn... Totally wasted & ruining our wedding nite...

I almost cried...

think_thrice

Cynthia - Is it possible to convert the windows media maker to DVD format? How? My friend is helping me on this and is using the Windows Media Maker.
Ya, Cynthia, relax. There's bound to be pple who din turn up last minute. Just trust them that they really had something on. I felt a bit quite sad when my closer fren (who nvr likes to attend wedding dinner) tells me that she's having a trip but I just realise that she didn't!! I still thought she would come for me. Sad, right? But nevertheless, don't let all this spoil your BIG DAY.

Great idea!! Once I got my montage and the songs ready, I'll burn to a DVD n get it tested. Thanks!

Elchwong, how does your pyjamas look like?

Ann T - Glad to find someone with the same date!
For me, I'll be wearing WG, then Kua, then most likely a tea dress (due to the sequence of the tea ceremony).

babymiki2003

hi, i wan to ask how many songs are needed for the entire wedding.

everything from montage, to video express highlights etc. i'm dying from searching for songs.

my wedding's on the 2/12/2007!

think_thrice

babymiki - If I'm not wrong, you will need at least songs for 1st & 2nd march in, champagne pouring, and the first dish presentation. That's all I can think of.

Gals, what do you think of having someone to play piano instead of songs?

kayemoss

Smilez, the CL likes her also becoz of her cheeks. My hubby called her cheeks, "Hamburger face"

Finally confinement is over. Actually, i m kinda stressed as i m going to move to my Mum's place and now i have to think of the stuff to bring over. Just Claire stuff is enough to send u shivers!

Plus, Claire almost made me crazy and worried today. First time, i saw her puked the milk via her nose & mouth at the same time. She is one greedy pig... she drunk too much. Her fussy mood lasted 2 hours... After that, i was so exhausted!

Anyway, i told myself to take one thing at one time... Dun stressed myself too much!

hi thrink trice
my cousin volunter to play piano for me while i sing..but the problem is to get a piano to the ballroom may be too troiblesome for the hotel people...

we need songs for
1) 1st march in (the song must be long enough for cake cutting)
2) 2nd march in
3) champange pouring
4) montage(s) - if you have more than 1.

producing montage using Windows movie maker..make sure you need to have a burner to save its as DVD format.

1) after you complete doing your montage,
2) then you need to save them to yuor PC.
press ctrl P.
3) the will ask you which format to save..
choose "other settings" - high quality video.
4) then you need to have a burner to save its as DVD format.

5) if suay suay dun have, either you buy a software for montage making OR you link the projector to your laptop to play.
(this method 100% work one)

kyra

i'm always peeping into this thread too.

*hug hug all*

for us, we both were totally stressed out at work for months of august & september. some crisis happened at work which caused me to cry alot in office. it was so bad that hb offered FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME, that perhaps i should quit without a job and just focus on the wedding first.

on the day (16 sept) when both families were supposed to go shopping for GDL items together, i was stranded in office for the whole weekend: saturday worked from 9am to 2am!!! then sunday from 9am to 7pm!!! hubby went with both mothers, my sister and godbrother tagged along and they had to MMS me the pictures of the items which i want.

then just 1 week before our wedding, both of us fell terribly sick, hb saw 3 doctors in all, MIL almost wanted to send him to a chinese sinseh. i was given MC but i came back to office even. 1 particular night, i was coughing and running a fever until my mum kept checking on me. i slept on the sofa and overheard parents discussing in worry - aiyo jialat, this weekend wedding liao then she fell so sick etc etc.

alot of things were not settled until the very last minute: eg, programme and emcee script only out 2 days before wedding whereas seating plans only out the night before! and on AD itself, we were both still coughing

but deep in my heart, i kept telling myself, no matter what we went through beforehand, no matter how it turns out on actual day, i'm just gonna sit back, relax, act bimbo, stay pretty and enjoy myself! and i kept reminding hubby the same thing....that things will just unfold by itself on that day.

so on eve of wedding day after sending my precious dogs to my friend's place, i really really totally relaxed. after all the customary rituals at home, I went to bed and fell into a deep sleep by 12midnight. Hahaha!

and i totally enjoyed my wedding day! no major hiccups (i think) and no matter what people said, i could only remember alot of - congratulations, hello, thank you etc etc etc

following that, we received many compliments from relatives & friends that they enjoyed the wedding as much as we did and that the whole event went very well

about 1 week later, MIL was telling us casually there was some unpleasant exchanges between her and her own MIL (aka hubby's grandma) over seating arrangements for some old relatives at the ballroom. i was shocked and i told her i only remembered whole night alot of HELLO and THANK YOU...she laughed out loud too.

i remember those days and posts when all of us were fretting over the details and timeline. and among us, some exchanged notes, some lent listening ears, some became friends, some gave words of encouragement. WE ALL SURVIVED!!!!

our weddings are O-V-E-R. dont brood about it anymore. the wedding is only a one-day affair but the marriage is a lifelong one!

ALWAYS STAY HAPPIE!

suika

HUGZ gals.....dun drag on to those unhappy events liao....it's all over althought i did not too happy abt mine too but afterall......it's all done

4placesbride,
sorry to hear that your grandfather passed away...but based on chinese custom, it's true that either u do it within 100days (so call his soul is still ard...meaning not gone yet) if not hv to 'shou xiao' for 2-3yrs like that....
look on the bright side....at least he's still ard to witness ur marriage rite.... *pat pat*

dun b sad liao.....let us all work hard on our life ahead of us ba.... *wink*

graceyong

First of all, thanks girls so much to let me know that i am not all alone there who had a bad day, but am glad that you girls at the end of those unhappy events, can tell out proud that I HAD A GREAT TIME at my AD. I tried but just couldn't. Too many hurdles to go with.

I guess for me, it is not that i want to drag on unhappy event. i feel like giving up on my church and ROM ceremony. Family and Friends seem to be all worked out over my customary and feel that is enough already (they did flew over to indo and travel to malaysia). ROM - Just go to the office and sign, Church just walk in get blessing from the father/pastor and walk out. NO need any decoration. No one attending. THats it, what is there to expect or to make a fuss about? Thats how i am getting the impression.

I don't feel like a bride on my customary. Thats the thing. Don't feel at all like "oh so happy to get marry to this guy" on that day. Yet, i blame myself for not being more persistent in checking with things and fear the in-laws would complain that i am too bossy and demanding; which result a lot of miscommunication. AD is in Indonesia where my in-laws are.

But really thanks girls for all the comforting words, really make me feel i am not the only one out there.

suika

we're always here to lend our ears or rather eyes n hands in this case....heehee

n here's a plc maybe to let out our stress etc ba...

shermane

Hello Jovi,

i will be wearing kua too. what shoes will u be wearing?
btw, chk wz u on the guest list, for the guest list, is it better for us to invite the no of guests up to max no of tables? just in case, ppl fail to turn up.. eg, i have 32tables max (inclusive of reserve)
thanks ya.

dodob

Hi Jovi,
well, my bridal studio can lend me a kua but i dun tink its v nice plus i tink i look strange in it! as in, my face is too modern for it or something...
shucks.. will have to shop ard again then...
incidentally i never knew that u need a separate song for champagne pouring...oops :p

jellyfield

janice,

haf fun in perth!

cck,

yup. they haf an outlet in citylink & bishan j8. hehe.... i wld want to buy dresses dat i can wear after delivery as well. i'm a size s, but now i gotta buy size m. AHHHH!!! oooh.. the designer at mu is nice. will go thr n chk it out soon. hehehe..

hi shermane
sorry for being busybody...
in my point of view, just confirm the minimum number of tables. then for your finalised guest list, book tables to fit 80% of the confirm guest.

shermane

Hello Cynthia,

thank you for your lovely reply. noted. hehe..
so wat hv u done so far? or rather wat ther still left to be done?
i havnt know when m GDL, still waiting for MIL, hvnt order GDL cakes and stuffs, still confirming guest list, sme invitations sent. hmmm... hvnt settle on catering for AD morning. well... luckily album had collected. AP box done.
hahahaha...

hi shermane

i think all the can be done has already be done. my GDL aka engagement is this coming sunday...so this is like a preview for my AD.

my AD only invite relatives, so my wedding card will pass to them during my engagement lunch.

my engagement lunch is mainly for my friends only...

puroland

End of the day, wedding is 1 day event but marriage is a lifetime. Dun let the bad feeling of that 1 day event coming into your lifetime.

We cannot control wat people want to say. Cos we cant be doing things that satisfy everyone. During my tea ceremony at the groom side, the relatives all come late! Bui tan han...worse to worse case already planned to cancel off the photo taking, but my HB was stern on timing, he insist that we should just go ahead with the schedule, if they are late then they missed it loh. Hahaha... In the end, when we are about to leave the place, one last couple arrive then we just chop chop get done with it and go.

For banquet, I already remind all freds and relatives to come early. Cos I dun want to start the dinner late. By 8.15pm still got a couple of relatives not here yet, from my family side, one of it is my mum's bro. Consider quite big in term of ranking lar. I just bo chap... already tell them liao still wanna come late, we just proceed with the start of banquet without them! Hahahaa... In the end I saw them at their table during the walk around session, but dun know when they come in de....hahahha...

Given this kind of situation, maybe some elderly will feel that its like no respect lar and stuff, but we cant satisfy everyone de. Just let them think and say what they want. Cos we already try our best liao.

Throughout the whole planning esp when concern of siting arrangement of relatives and elderly, we try to push all the responsibilties to our parents....hahah....cos they will know how to arrange, wat to avoid and wat to do....When ppl come and ask us, we just say, go tell my father...hahaha

shermane

hi Cynthia,

wah.. this sun? Congrats to you!

My engagement is in Apr, already over. hehe it was also a close friends & immediate family event.
i wish my AD will be over soon too. so much things to do. sigh..
hahahaaha///

shermane
i am different from u...engagement is for friends only...
AD is for close relatives and friends..actually i only have one close friend...

graceyong

well... have anyone got the situation that the vip table next to our wedding dinenr table is totally empty? Some say it is hard my in laws side have no experience so and only my father in law doing everything (hb has a step mom). The uncles and aunties were like, you don't ask us, we don't dare to do anything attidude. my hubby totally didn't do anything or do any checklist with his family, as he feels he is very easy going and i am the one who is YIM CHIM (bossy and demanding)

Yes marriage is a lifetime but it makes me withraw back very often whether should i sign that paper. Eventhough the wedding is 1 day event, but i am not expecting princess diana wedding and relly put my expectation to the minimum. Then gf say, oh what to do you got so short time. But I feel at least hubby or family could support and really look forward in the church wedding or ROM and to celebrate that 2 ppl are going to be as 1.

haha here i go again.... complaining haha

shermane

hello cynthia,

oic. hehe i have a grp of close buddies.
yeah it Friday, gg to knock off soon. haha.. weekend again. Yeah!
so which bridal studio did u book?
u hving ROM & wedding in Mariott?

suika

I've got a table empty which is juz right next to the stage there and worst part is, it's at my parent's side....and my FIL kept asking why that table empty why empty why no body turns up har....coz my cousin shifted my relatives together as some no turns up so in the end we open 1 table lesser la... but he kept asking throughout the dinner....till i wana tell him off...ask so much for wad la...we the 1 paying not u...so what really 1 table empty, he's not gonna pay for us...

HAHAHA....but in the end, i drop the idea and just repeated the ans again n again n again

haizzzz

law_len

Yeah, same for me...my VIP table (my parents side) is only a few ppl...n when they went around entertaining guests, the table also quite empty...guess should be quite normal?

4placesbride, I think ur hubby and family will sure support just that they have a different way of expressing themselves. Like my mum, she was so heck care before my AD and everythng is also "anything" to her....even tea ceremony also say can do without it. During that moment, i felt that she really dun treat her daughter's wedding as an impt event and was rather upset. Only nearing AD, then she begins to help me alot of things, coordinate with relatives to meet at hotel for tea, help me buy GDL stuffs. So, dun worry k? Maybe some parents are being tradition, and dunno how to offer help ba...

denjan

dear all....

i lost my count..... how many peggies here??

im wondering if u gals still remember that i was holding a western style wedding party in sg in july for engagement...... 22nd dec ( which is also lunar date of tong1 zhi4 ) will be my actual day heheee.... but then seems that i am doing nothing...cos all settled by my parents... all i need to do now is jz wait and appear in front of relatives that day.....
wondering if all of u can share some tips.... at least i can expect wat's is going to happen on that day

hubby and i always like kids very much....maybe mainly because my working environment have to deal with children.... too bad we r not planning to get pregnant within 2 years as we both bz for own biz.......... .... recently i have read a lot of posting by mum-to-be here making me feel tat how i wish i could be a mummy soon also....

graceyong

oh what i mean empty table is not that. it was totally empty at the start of the ceremony throughout the night. it wasn't like ppl seating (not even a few) attach a pic. on the right of the table is the main table
565801.jpg

My mom was the same as u lawlen, totally didn't care at all and tell me she has no mood to do anything and very tired at the start until 20 days before the wedding and start to chase me with the GDL list as she don't want to do it wrong and lose face..etc etc... but she did help me out a lot, dealing with the GDL things, getting the house ready. which i am really thankful.

maybe the church or ROM my family and friends would support me and make it a memorable day and my hubby would really make it our special day. *cross fingers*

think_thrice

Cynthia - hmmm, for my case, my hotel does have the piano and can be arranged to place in. but for our case, it's definitely a no-no to sing. Haaaa, don't wanna scare my guests away.

I've just settled my mother and sisters' MUA. Now left with mil side.

vysweetapple

Hi all Mrs,

Can anyone share with me their experience with the actual day photographer & videographer?

We are looking for someone who can bring out the mood of the day but not sure which one is good. Thus we hope those who have engaged one share with us their experience.

law_len

Good luck to u gal! I am sure they will support u! Just take your time n start planning now. At least u wont be easily frustrated at the end, rushing through things. Do let us know if you need any help from us ya! We will try our best!

piggydon

Janice: If m not wrong, should be four mummies-to-be eh ..

Whats your religion? My religion is taoism. Mainly, I remembered waking up as early as 5 for the MUA to arrive, follow by the PG. Then, Jie Meis will come and prepare the gate crashing stuff. Basically, most of the time will be waiting in the room for make up to be done and for hubby to arrive

Then, I took some pics at home and left for hubby's home. From there, we chose to proceed to take outdoor shots first as his relatives still have a handful yet to arrive for th tea ceremony. Lastly, back to my parents' side for tea ceremony before going to the hotel with the booze and gowns.

Do you need my program list? I try to dig out the softcopy for the day plan
leave you email here.

yuene

Janice: Yup, mine was more or less the same as CCK's, just that I woke up at 7am instead. Again, MUA will come over, then PG/VG and jiemeis. Usually during the period of waiting between the MUA doing your hair and make-up and the arrival of the groom, will have the prep and stuff such as corsages, prep of tekaning materials and family and friends shots.

On the guys' side, they will tie on the ribbon decorations on the car before setting out.

Then after tekan, will take bride over to guy's parents house and tea ceremony. Then if have a kua/cheongsum/tea dress then change and then go over to bride's parents house and tea ceremony there.

Then after that head over to the banquet venue and prep. Usually you should try to reach your banquet venue 3 hours before you're supposed to go out and greet the guests, so that you and the groom can have time to rest, or redo make-up and hair (like mine; morning and night were totally different). Try not to reach your banquet venue less than 2 hours before start time, cuz if not it might be very rushed for you. In the meantime, your emcees and chief jiemei should have a meet-up with the banquet coordinator to run through the sequence of the whole thing and iron out kinks.

You just have to sit back and relax during the whole day, let everyone else do the running for you ya?

Then at banquet, for my wedding we had a coordinator on the venue side

vysweetapple

Congrets, all of you have graduated to be in the MRS club. I am a bride from March '08 in this forum to search for valuable tips. Care to share with me your experience on the actual day videographer & photographer? My ideal one was taken up, thus a bit loss on who to engage now.
My e-mail is: [email protected]

hee, katherine n blurblur, i enjoyed myself too...bound to have hicupps but ok lah..hee
Nov BTBs, enjoy yrself on your AD! All the best!=)

blessing_ind

Hi Think Thrice and Ann T,

My wedding dinner is on 8 Dec too. But my tea ceremony and solemnisation is on 3 Dec

Our Big Day is drawing near. My best wishes to all the December 2007 brides out there!!

joekatherine

Hi to all the December 07 Brides,

As the date is closer I believe that everyone is getting excited and nervous.....haha just like me.

My BIG day fall on the 19 Dec 2007....didnt see any bride is on the same day.

May all BTB have a great and memorable wedding in December..... : )

hi, i oso just have my AD yesterday. is very tiring but fun & enjoyable. everything goes on quite smoothly. hehe. i have some post wedding sales. pls pm me if interested. tks.

1) Jiemei Corsages 4pcs - $18
566914.jpg
566915.jpg

2) DIY Guest Sign-in Pen 3pcs (Pink) - $4
566916.jpg

3) DIY Angbao Box - $18
566917.jpg
566918.jpg

4) 36 bottles of Red Wine

law_len

Hi June,
My PG is AM.PM Photography, i would say he is great! Alot of my friends and relatives were all praises about him. VG is Mirage Pictures, not bad either...both of them are very friendly and humourous...

eemoo

hi gals...

glad to know that you all have enjoyed yourselves on your AD...mine is just a week away..so excited now...