(2007) Brides of year 2007

hi winnedy,
welcome
Have you booked your hotel, PG, VG? Must really go source if you haven't done so!
When is your AD?

morning Jas, weekends are usually very quiet but I guess more so lately =) Maybe everyone out doing xmas shopping or BS shopping or flat shopping. Like me, I tot i finished my Xmas shopping then now got to get for my FFIL and help my mom buy for my FH. *faaaint* Luckily I finish my own list already..heh

Morning Gals!

It was quite a 'dramatic' weekend for me. Saturday went to the shop to try my teadress.. turns out my dress is still on the plane from Shanghai & the lady forgot to inform me that it has not arrived in the shop yet, waste my time leh. Then after that we went for dinner with some of our JMs & bros. In the middle of our fun, my SIL called my hubby & said MIL went bonkers again.. apparently she is mad at me. So, we had to cut short our dinner with our friends (really anti-climax ok!) & go home... I had a talk with her & it has been resolved.. walau.. really drama mama, & waste our time only.

Sunday we ordered our GDL cakes which is an assortment of 8 different small cakes like green tea mousse cake, tiramisu, apple turnover, etc in a red Xi box & went to chinatown to buy the Xi stickers. I completed writing all the invitation cards for my side already & I am going to post them all to my friends today. My parents have started giving out the invites to our relatives too.

Hi Emily,

Normally there is no Ang Bao given to the couple for the ppl sitting at VIP tables. Bcos these are your close family or in-laws. U will hv to pay for your bros and sisters share. These might b able to recover if your frens tables AB are BIG or your relatives AB given during tea-ceremony

kaye, $980 for a wedding EG is actually ok.. only thing is if it's quite dramatic, then really can only wear once only. So your mum bought another piece of fabric, is she going to make a dress for you?

Regarding my MIL dress sense... it's scary.. she still hope I'll change my EG.. she showed me a dress design from Shanghai Tang.. OMG.. looks like those Empress dress.. with the long swinging sleeves & long coat.. I really hate it & I'm not going to be a laughing stock.. our wedding theme is Oriental Chic.. more like the 'In The Mood for Love' kind of theme.. more modern shanghai, but I think she don't get it & thought it's the martial arts era.. *faint*

jhoo.. my wedding favour (subject to MIL's everchanging mind) is potpurri pillow & topped with a huge deep red peony flower.

piglet.. you accomplished a lot this weekend.. bravo.. that is great.
Your GDL cakes look really lovely. I hope you are feeling better already.. I'm sure you know quarrels are inevitable during the wedding preparations.. all of us here have quarrelled with hubby at one point or another.. take it as a time to have a deeper understanding of each other & strengthen your bond. Giving up is a common feeling.. I have this feeling before too but not anymore. Cheer up ok?

morning gals!!

so tired.. yesterday night i scan my hubby photos till so late.. this morning dun feel like waking up.. yawnz...

Mei, wat happen? she angry over wat now?? when is ur dress arriving? how come they never call and tell u that it has not arrived?

Hi Everyone!

I'm a Nov bride-to-be too.
Our tentative wedding date is set on Nov 17th and we have no firm plans about the venue, studio etc. yet! Do we really have to make plans that far ahead? :P Hope you all can give some advice as the FH and I have not seriously started looking yet.

Oh yah, congrats everyone!

piglet.. she is forever angry over this & that. She is angry with me as last tues she called me to go down & see the dress but I told her I am not free & she asked me when I am.. I told her PROBABLY thurs or fri.. but nothing was confirmed mah. Anyway.. she is angry coz she said I never turn up on thursday & I am very disrespectful.. walau.. never even confirm anything how I turn up. Moreover last few days I off my phone & she is mad as she can't contact me.

My teadress will arrive on tues.. so I'll call her again to confirm before I go down. The lady forgot.. only when I went down & she saw me then she realised it!

hi Emily Ong,u r the bride,u be sitting with ur FH's family and not ur own family.
u have to tell the hotel b4hand how many VIP tables u have.

as for the VIP tables payment,it will depends on who's paying for the banquet
if ur FH's family paying the whole banquet,the guy's side will give
u a few tables,eg 8,so u can include the VIP tables in it.more than 8,usually
the gal's side have to top up their own.

Hi all, am going down to BS to discuss abt my mtm EG. I will be taking PS in early feb, so the process is like 2 mths n less only.... I wanna take PS early to space the finances out as well as to buffer in case there is some prob with it.....

Hi strawberries,
I have asked a few MUA to give me their quotation for AD and their rate are quite competitive so not quite sure which one to choose.

Mei, ignore her lah.. she just wan to create a havoc to make everyone think u are at fault ignoring her.. anyway u not going to change ur dress so dun care abt her.. hee..

ya remember to call the shop lady b4 u go down.. if not waste time again..

hi girls, last weekend was busy with home (cleaning the home, setting up the christmas tree!)and not wedding coz this weekend is the move-in house ceremony, and some of u will be the GDL

everytime go out and back home, always, da bao xiao bao...just got the iron, iron board, stationery etc etc

piglet yes u have done alot, all of us girls progress is excellent

Me and hubby is also taking our own sweet time liao, haha and hubby still got the time to have afternoon nap, still got the time to play games, which i let him coz we have done alot and its time to slow down our pace, hehe

mei, u mean tml it will arrive?

morning everyone!

I'm sick! Down with bad throat and dry cough
Hope I'll recover in time for my ROM this Sat.

On another note, it's confirmed. My FH & I will be getting the Blk 246 unit & yes, it's diagonally opp Compasspoint. abt 6mins walk to the MRT. hehehe

Finally our search is over!

kaye, for the dress u really like it? if u really like then discuss with ur hubby.... ya is ur mum going to sew u a dress??

jhoo me meeting aaron next weekend.. e-mail him and ask him again.. me see the favour then tell u wat m hotel give..

anyway i also manage to finalise the layout for the album on fri.. hopefully can get the album and photos soon.. hee..

hehe, went to check email, aaron replied..we will meet him on 29 dec... so piglet, let me know what will be discuss that day k :p

hi quack!
U got the same AD as me! seriously when i m searching for venue 3 mths back, alot of places are booked. If u r fixing of this date, U got to start to look ard for venue fast!

I hate shopping. I hate Christmas Shopping. I hate Christmas Shopping for others.

ARGH

*scrooge around*

p.s. Shopping is only bearable when buying stuffs for my wifey. (Phew! Covered my own a**)

jhoo, me also clean abit of my cupboard.. so that i can start moving things in.. this weekend will try to clean again.. will get parttime cleaner in to clean the window.. i think end of the month. then i will wash up all the curtains.. then the house more or less done.. then beginning next month will start to move in my clothes..

ok after discuss with Aaron then i update u again..

ya lor.. drea..
u so fast finish ur xmas shopping ah..
I havent start yet.. must faster liao...

junie.. did u see the doctor?
will recover faster..
drink more water..
dun worry u will be fine on sat..
today only mon..

jas> tks, maybe i will see the doc later.

i hvnt start my xmas shopping yet also. too busy to even shop.

must save $$ for house, so xmas budget cut cut cut.

Hi CL,
Welcome back! Hope you're enjoying the whole "home-building' process though it will be tiring... do take care! Hope you will be able to find a good ID!
As for AD PG & VG, personally i feel it's more important to like the style of the photographers u chose. Personally, i am paying about more than 2k for mine.
Also one of the reasons why i scrap off the VG. I would have my VG if i am havign my solemnisation that day which i am not. I feel that all other things on AD can be captured by PG. So video would not be necessary. just my personal views.
Since it's once a lifetime, i feel it's worth it as long as you you like it!

Hey Quack! Welcome! Hmm... yeah think you should really plan ahead especially for venue booking. If you have read through the thread, you would have realised alot of our brides have already problem findng location. Nowadays, couple more and more kiasu. Heh... like for me, i booked my venue more than 1.5 yrs earlier. First thing to decide is to approximate the number of tables you have. Some hotels does have two ballrooms, so if your table fit just right, you might be able to utilise the other one. So act now. Secure your venue first then you can relax a bit. As for Bridal Studio, depending on if you want a OTR or MTM gowns. If MTM, will be better to confirm your BS about 6 months before your AD.
Another thing to book would be your PG and VG for AD. Since 17h Nov is quite a "Hot" date, it'll be good to start sourcing too in case the PG you like is taken up already!
Yup! Alot of things to worry and think through! So set yuor budget now and start your sourcing! Need help just ask here. Nov 07 brides are all helpful lot! Right gals?

Hey Junie, congrats on the flat.

Hope you checked with the neighbours about the unit already? At least ensure that the current occupier did not borrow from loan sharks.

6mins from SengKang Mrt. *jealous*

Well, I'm 6mins away from the SEA! :P

congrats junie! =)

Jas: Have to coz i also need to wrap all the pressies and now I so involved in church n stuff I don't really have time to shop plus I hate to fight with crowds...so quickly get it over n done with.

I also down with flu n sore throat now. weeps...

Morn ladies,

Piglet, i like your cakes! Looks yummy!

No lah, my Mum not sewing a dress for me. She is sewing for herself! Hehehe... That $980 evening gown design is unique but not dramatic... However, the skin tone dun match mine so i din like it either.

My MIL dun like the dress she tailored made for herself. My Mum saw the dress coz we went to my MIL's tailor and check out the price of tailoring an evening gown mah. My Mum says my MIL dress is not nice and she kena chopped by the tailor. My Mum super stressed, she dun dare to wear too drama mama liao....after seeing my MIL dress

Mei, that Shanghai Tang design is more for your MIL not you lah! Btw, where did you order your GDL cakes from? Sounds yummy also!

hi CL, glad that u are back, tot u bz with hse liao. i was at my new hse over the weekend cleaning the hse, now i understand y u all have to clean the hse. my mum sprinkle the rice and salt all over and the salt melts....eeeee.....anyway now its better already.

i had a serious discussion with my FH and we have decided to hack the kitchen, really cannot stand it. and yes, we alwaz wanted to put a glass door at the entrance.

i went around 'peeping' at most neighbours house, most are actually doing the almost same thing, but they chose sliding door instead.

my FH has designed the kitchen and that is 1 thing down, so we will start work very soon. if u are free, do come by.

hi quack, welcome to the thread. initially my mum wanted this date too. its a very popular date. but most of the hotels that i wanted already booked, and when i found GPPR i die die dun wanna let go...haahaa....and finally decided to change my date instead. its really best to plan early, anyway its only the AD, all the rest still can take your time. happy searching

HI macjoe,I thought of that as well,but FH says those boxes seems a bit too big

other than me and jaspire,any1 else interested to go arab street together?

Hey Quack and Jo! We share the same date!
17th Nov 07!

Yes Quack it is an ultra hot date. Many couples booked the venue 1.5 years in advance! I also have hard time sourcing for suitable places.. only confirmed mine recently.

For PG and VG, Jo.. any recommendation?

regarding PG & VG, im not sure abt the rest of the people here, but its the most impt thing to me for the entire wedding, esp PG. it is only thing that is left after your wedding is over, the rest are just memories. while it is the most impt thing, i still feel heart pain paying more den 1.5k for the service since u know that u can get one for half the price. but PG is very subjective, if u like it den go with it. i found mine at less den 1.5k and i love his works. but of coz if u feel that PG is not impt, it is also not wrong. there is no right or wrong, coz its your wedding!

i didn't checked with the neighbours leh...but one thing for sure is I know the current occupiers are selling the flat cuz they are recently divorced.

6mins from SEA? Good mah, then u hv seaview. hehee

kaye, I agree.. that dress design more suitabel for her!

I ordered my GDL cakes from Pine Garden at Ang Mo Kio, I also ordered my lychee martini wedding cake from them for my ROM too.. I love their cakes. They have various GDL sets.. mine is the exquisite set at $8.80 per box of 8 cakes, the cakes are more modern type. They also have mini fruit tarlet set, butter cake sets as well as traditional cake sets.

But it's always better to check with the neighbours wor, if you are free lah

One of the reason for divorce is cause of money issues. Better to be safe then sorry.

Hope you don't mind I saying this, I always remind my friends to do that when buying resale flats, heard too much horror stories of Ah Longs.

Actually we also worried abt Ah Longs when we want to buy resale flat but we don't want to think so much abt it.

We only went there twice & each time the neighours' door always closed one leh.

Anyway, I hope & pray all will go well.

Hi Jo, Momo, Smiles & Gelaine, OMG! YOu gals are making me panic!! Why is the 17th of Nov so hot??! FH and I chose it because it's the closet saturday to our anniversary ('pak-tor') date. And we were still thinking that to secure a venue by Feb should be okay!!! *Alarm bells ringing*

Does the date have special significance to you Smiles & Jo?

Also hor, how do we actually go about visiting venues? Can just walk in and ask to see the manager in charge? Or do we have to make appointments before hand? What if we want to rent an outdoor venue? Also have to be so kiasu?

We were actually considering holding a garden party of sorts, mostly because we have dogs (who are the loves of our lives) and we want the dogs to be there. Other than an outdoor venue, I really doubt any hotel will allow 2 doggies leh.

How like that? Any advice?

quack: no particular reason or special significance to me. its a date selected by my IL according to the eight characters. Was told its a very good date for marriage.

I got dogs too! hee.. but cant include them in my wedding. Was tinking of bringing them for my PS if I manage to get a nanny for them. From what i know, even hotel garden, dogs might not be allow to enter. I know that Four season hotel allow dog in their room. Can try four season hotel for their outdoor party? U can try to phone in to ask if the date is available for u to host the event. Get a shortlisted list of the hotel and call. its easier than to walk in every venue.

Hihi gals

So busy last 2 days.. U gals are really well prepared. Less than 1 mth to go for me and I haven't settled the GDL stuffs yet. Only just collected by invitation cards on Fri. Here's the sample =)

433142.jpg

Piglet, your cake look sooo pretty.

Mei, is the Chinatown shop loacated at Pagoda Street? How much is the xi sticker too? I need to get it too

Btw I recall someone here also using X-Zen, who is it huh?

Kaye, ur also got very expensive taste

Jhoo, u jialat. chocolate u melt them, pepper n salt u break them. So moral of the story dun buy too ex favours :P.

Piglet, u have achieved alot of the wkend. Those cakes are yummy. Feel hungry while staring at them.. are they ex?
Ya, esp now its very near to our wedding. Stress will definitely increase. Talk to each other patiently, I m sure everything can be sorted out. Judging from the things u do over the wkend i m sure u will have less stress nearer to the wedding date

Mei, I really curious wat ur MIL will wear. If I eng, I shall go n c her dress for 'self-entertain' purpose (*evil luffs*)

Gals, I have a question. Rem our things e.g new clothes etc. Do we move them in as n when we want to? Or these things can only have shifted after our GDL?

jes, I bought my stickers from the temporary market beside outram mrt station, it costs $1 per piece (20 stickers per piece, around 10 cent coin size).

smilez.. hehe.. sure will wear super drama mama one lah.

ya junie.. better go see the doctor..

Franz.. I also never thought of that.. Loan sharks..

drea.. better take care..
go see a doctor also..

jez, wah ur invites is nice..

smilez, the cakes are at $10.80 for a box of 9 mini cakes... they are frm sweet secret. u can go to their website to for more details. http://www.sweetsecrets.com.sg/

smilez, i think the new clothes are part of dowary.. so once GDL can move over.. but i hvnt buy.. so i think i will only move in as and when...

smilez, our fault to break the pepper and salt, but then chocolate not my fault..i don't think its nice to eat at the bqt then throw the box there, and who knows it melt inside...luckily it din dirty my bag or my hubby's car or my head will be chop off...so if noon bqt, dont choose chocolate..night is possible...i have a hard time cleaning my keys coz chocolate contain some oil

some of my xi stickers i bot from market..jurong east. the mkt near my mum's hs also have, but more expensive by a few cents only. by the way, where should we paste? i will paste on the main door of my new home, my mum and IL's hs...

Hi Emily =)
If u have a particular design in mind, go for MTM. if not I think the OTR ones are nice too, u can see the effect of the dress on u immediately. u cannot guarantee that u definitely like the MTM one =) my 2 cents