(2007) Brides of year 2007

smilez & piglet.. you can buy more fitted sheets rather than quilt cover as we'll change the fitted sheet more often.

My cards are done & collected. It's at my hubby's house now.. as I am not going to his house anymore, I'll ask my hubby to pass to me this weekend then I can start writing my invitations liao.

no leh... I don't know the name... I think it's near the ferry terminal, and it's quite a long drive in... trying to source for a place that can accomodate about 50 ppl, preferably outdoor but with shelter =)

Precisely! Kinda sad that my jie mei ain't doing anything much. Seems like most gf are very attached to their bf nowadays. Just like yesterday when I meet a gf, she cut short our outing to meet her bf though they meet 3-4 times a week liao.

drea, yeah, it's near the SRCC's sailing sports center lor.

Dear, haha...knew u'll say that. Up to u lor, but SITEX sure crowded too.

Jas, I long time ago cleared my leave le :p I only came in not long mah, so my last year's leftover leave very little.

As for Vivo, hmm, there's some shops which you won't find in town lor. Like Gloria Jeans (coffee). keke, I didn't walked the entire VC, after 2 hrs with the crowd, it was getting on our nerves. So we left.

My BS is providing a Merc E210 for my AD. I don't really mind cos i'll feel a bit "paiseh" borrowing a luxury car from relatives. Besides, will have the trouble of deciding who to drive the bridal car if it's borrowed. At least with the BS bridal car, they'll provide the fuel & driver.

Hi Jess...welcome!

oh yes, i will be getting my banquet invites tonite and prob start writing as and when... cos sm of my frens will start to meet me from next week onwards.

Hallo ladies,

Jes, dun need to be sad... I think its a phrase of life.

Talking about flower gal / boy, i almost forget one thing.. Please find those who re not shy... That time i wanted to ask my "little son" to be my page boy... My Mum says better not coz my ILs have grandchildren... Must give priority to them.

My IL's grandchildren... either shy or dao... Rather not hv flower gal/boy... especially when they re not close to you and dun listen to you.. Not like my little son!

yah, jes, dont be sad..ur wedding is only a mth away, cheer up

Kaye, who's ur little son??

I shall be expecting good bonus coz boss said my performance is good...will recommend promo

jes, it's like that lah... don't be too upset.

kaye, I agree with you.. I am not having any flowers girls & page boy too, I find it troublesome. Unless it's my own favourite niece or nephew, then it's a different story.

jhoo.. Congrats!!! At least all your hard work has paid off! Can enjoy your HM even more now.. can shop more.. keke.

jhoo, congrats! Looking forward to a treat from you! Hehehe! *Evil laughs*

My "little son" is going to be 7 next yr. He s a boy that my Mum used to babysit. Both of us are close coz a few yrs back when i was unemployed for a few mths, I helped my Mum to look after him.

If not, when my Mum wants to go for her mahjong session on Sat. I will be the standby nanny! I always bring him out so ppl will automatically assume that he's my son lor....

Anyway, Hendrik is quite cute.. he will call me 铿‰‡å…¬ä¸» and when i m down.. he will ask me, "Who bully you!" The best part is he dun like my husband coz he feels that my husband bully me.

Yeah, I guess so...
Wonder are your jie meis all very involved in your wedding planning? I'm upset partly because I've made plans to treat the jie mei to spa & put in a lot of effort to plan for the wedding so was hoping someone will spring a surprise for me mah =P

Hi all, me too! Here are my particulars!

BTB : Jen
AD-AM/PM : 16th Sep 2007
Venue : Merchant Court Swissotel
BS : WhiteLink
PS : WhiteLink
AD PG : Edmund Leong(PG)
AD VG : MirorCreations (VG)
NH : Jalan Bukit Merah

Hi Wendy, realised you'll be having your banquet at merchant court just one day before me!

wah kaye, u never help ur hubby 'xi zhui'? Ha!!
Jes~, in my humble opinion, I tink we shd treat the JMs for willing to help out on our AD. If expect something from them, we might be disappointed. But if they r ur very close frenz, I m sure they will have some kind of programs line-up. If got its a bonus, if not they r doing us a favour. Then we won't feel upset by it

Thanks for all the words...

I guess I will be out of this thread soon. I'm considering whether to be a Oct bride or Jan 08 bride now.

Nice knowing all of you. Whichever month I choose, I'll still come back this thread and "busybody" a bit hehe....

thanks thanks.... no problem for treat but then that's provided i got the money in my pocket first, haha

jes, could it be ur jiemei inexperience, that's why they dont know... wow spa, must be expensive...im treating all my helpers to my new home for lunch end of dec, treat them, brief to them, and also let them view my albums, wedding slideshow etc since they will miss out all these on the AD

congrats, jhoo! cn enjoy ur HM and spend more.

jes, i had treated my jiemeis to dinner bt we got nthg much to tok cos i barely know them for onli 2 yrs as they my FH's good frens... n nt sure if they are not very involved in our wedding except for throwing in sm ideas here n there

I have not been to VC yet. But I know there 1 Gloria Jean also in City Hall. Still very crowded there ah?? Think really got to wait till later then can go.

Esther: Like that ah, u might be waiting till dunno when. Coz I dun think all the shops are opened yet...so the "fad" might only die down after that.....I think VC got this other new place called "Boost" It's this juice place from Aust, not bad...dunno if they still got the Boost card here though.

smilez, my husband guilty as charged. So no need to help him in front of my little son.

Wow, jes I want to be your jiemei!

Anyway, I m just thinking of treating my jiemei to a meal and mabbe going out for the hens' night.. That's all!

jes.. you are really generous!

For me, I am sponsoring my JM's dresses so it's part of my thank-you gift already. After the wedding is over, we'll probably meet up with all the bros & sisters for a meal. I have never thought much of hen night, never expected my JMs to organise for me as I know everyone is busy. My JMs have been very involved, always calling & smsing me if I need help, just say so. But so far, nothing lah.. coz I got a 'wedding planner' (you all know who lah) mah.

Like smilez.. if they do plan something for me.. well, then it'll be a nice surprise & bonus for me.

Yes guess my jiemei are inexperience cos they're still single.. Supposed I shouldn't expect too much from them. But no one to share the joy of planning for wedding except to speak to FH & you gals mah =)

Anyway, for those who's brainstorming for ideas to treat your jiemei, I can share the Andana spa treat package I got.. thought it's very nice if I'm the recipient =)

Mei, thought it's a very nice idea to sponser JM's dresses. At least they got something tangible in return for helping.

oh ladies, remember me mentioning tat one of my FH's fren hv the same wedding day as us.... today one of 2 sisters told me tat as we had informed them 1st so they will attend tat fren's solemnization thn cum for our banquet and offered their help too..hehe... see its good to inform ppl early....

thanks for all your help and for responding so fast! think we'll have to go and check the place out to find out if it's what we're looking for...

andrea: wah a proposal there muz be v. romantic! =)

Actually, come to think of it... I dunno what to ask my JM to do... coz my family will settle the stuff for me.

Except that i know my jiemei will help out if i open my mouth... but so far, i dunno what they re supposed to do except to tekan my husband! HEHE! *EVIL LAUGHS*

jazol, i hv somehow similar situation like you...

My younger cousin supposed to get married in Jun 07 but that idiot choose to get married in Dec 06. One month earlier than me, ended up most of our relatives complaining coz most of my relatives are in Msia and HK mah....

Like Jazol, my wedding date was announced way b4 him... So some of my relatives choose to attend mine instead of his.

Anyway, this cousin of mine... WE all feel that he s pushing himself into debts coz he has no fin'l stability and yet choose to get married!

kaye, your JMs' job is to tekan your hubby & extort money from him.. then follow you around & serve you coz the gown is so big & cumbersome.. so movements more difficult mah... then blot your face & help you... hehe. They are also responsible for things like bring your EG, shoes, etc.. to hotel lah, make sure your angbaos are safe.. things like that. Then banquet, just be recept lor.

I been JM many times.. being JM very fun one lah.. nothing tedious to do. It's actually the brothers who cheong around like mad during the banquet to make sure everything ok.

oh ya... i tink most couples r spending alot for their wedding whn they r aware of their own financial status... like one of my cousin who got married in Oct had spent alot.... and got herself into alot of credit cards debts... thk God tat her mum returned her all the ang baos for the dinner so tat they wont lose out... though said tat her husband gave her the tables...

oh yes, agree wif mei...

bt i m nt sure hw to ask my JMs to help me lei cos very pai seh as i dunno them well unlike my own buddies....

I have just went for the 1st try at the BS last saturday. Um.... was a great experience with 3 hours just trying out gowns at the bridal shops. In the end, managed to choose 2 bridal, 3 evening and a 'kua' which are all for PS in 1st Jan only...
As for the AD, I will need to go down again and choose another set of gowns ....
Managed to add some more photos in exchange for the items I dont want.....
But one thing, I need to check with you all... whether there is surcharge for make-up on AD before 7a.m.?? Cos since my FH will pick me up at 7.30am hor, the MUA will need to reach my place at 5a.m. .... so early ....... whew.... So each hour before 7a.m., the MUA will charge me $20 per hour.. .which in the end will need to pay $40 just for early makeup.
Feeling heartpain leh.

Thanks Mei!

Actually, my sis will be the one following me in & out. Most likely during the banquet, I will be getting my MUA to stay throughout so that she can help me in changing my clothes etcc...

So, being jiemei is not so siong coz they just help me here and there... Heheh...

Yup, alot of couples overspent and ended up in debts for their wedding. My husband told me that he dun want us to argue and quarrel over $$$.

ya lor.... tats why we try to settle our wedding stuff thru cash if we hv if nt settle the cards asap... cos $$$ is devil and cause prob between mankind

helo helo ladies!!! today damn busy sia.. keke so no time to say good morning to all...

hmm seems like that topic is more or IKEA(tampines) and Vivi City ya..

haha, think hor if u all wan to go this weekend, sure pack like hell one... dn tink can even move ard.. keke

For vivo city, ya lor a lot of ppl...but most go there see see look look lor.. tink the crowd will tone down after a few mths ba.. singaporean are like that, got new hangout sure all go chiong to that palce..same goes for IKEA.. keke

jess, i didnt wan to ask my buddies bt cos my buddies are mainly fm church and they r aldy helping me in church so didnt ask them anymore... except for one buddy frm sec sch: there's a long story to tis person,

we r good frens since sec 1 except tat there's a break after leaving sch then got together few yrs back thn recommended her to my FH's good fren.. guess wat she told her bf... she say actuali bth of us r not good frens and my bunch of sec sch buddies r just making use of me so tat they hv someone to poke fun at... thn i did ask her she oso rejected saying tat she had been JMs alot of times.. afraid tat she cnt marry...

so at the end i leave to my FH to decide and got this grp of JMs as we are good frens bt nt buddies.. bt cause i dunno them well so dun dare to ask for more as they are temperamental gals.

hope i m nt too naggy

jazol.. oh dear.. that is really strange of that girl to behave in this way. I do agree it's hard to ask them to do things for you when you are not that familiar with them. & I don't see any sense in the remark of having someone to poke fun at.. what kind of friends are these?

For me, I just call my friends & delegate stuff to them.. like evil like that.. haha. But mostly for my JMs.. during the wedding preps, their job mostly is Aunt Agony to me.. for me to complain about MIL to them.. I think that is a taxing job already.

thanks jesdreamz and gelaine, after motivation from both (and the rest in this thread), i will be viewing My Bridal Room and Silverlining over these few days. i shall post up my reviews on them soon.

HL - Nice to know you and sorry to hear abt the clash in dates with bro in-law.. In my case, my FH is also something like him, copying his elder bro and family members in certain manner, and that irritates me as well - like why cant he be more mindfully independent?? Momo is right, it is for the purpose that we decided to marry the one we love, not the family! And a happy bride always shines! So try to keep a positive perspective!